Dyson Heppell - The Best

Conca will be a better player than Heppell and anyone who says otherwise is derailing the thread and will be met with abuse.

1617295-i_see_what_you_did_there_holyshit_super.jpg

Agitated? Please. You made a point which I sought clarification for. You claimed it a remarkable feat that Selwood cracked the Geelong side in his first year. The fact is that no matter how dominant the side is, to get a regular game you only have to be 22nd best (not saying that Selwood was 22nd btw)

Which player did Selwood keep out of the side in 2007 to make it a remarkable feat? I honestly can't think of anyone except Kane Tenace or David Johnson which is why I ask you since I believe you would remember the Cats' list of that year a lot better than me.

I just thought it was pretty funny you threw Joel Reynolds in there. It was actually Brent Prismall that would have gotten much more game time if not for Selwood pushing ahead of him. Probably the reason he left the Cats to join the Bombers, who snapped him up promptly. Not sure what your opinion of Prismall is now or his status in your side these days, but he was seen as a very promising young midfielder, and played some very good games for the Cats.

Geelong at that time were very conservative when it came to giving games to drafted players, rarely giving games to young players in their first seasons at the club.

Spot on, with only the exceptions of Hawkins (9 games 1st year), Stokes (9), Tenace (14), Egan (15), Taylor (21), Mumford (3) and NAblett (4), Geelong's draft picks rarely played in their first years....
Compare that to Smedts (0, so far) and Guthrie (2) and Horlin Smith (0) and Schroder (0), it's pretty obvious that it was some draconian policy of Thompson's.

This is being massively exaggerated as the years go by, obviously because Thompson is now the big nasty bogey man.
Fact is, every year he was there he played first years more than Scott has (so far)

Spot on, with only the exceptions of Hawkins (9 games 1st year), Stokes (9), Tenace (14), Egan (15), Taylor (21), Mumford (3) and NAblett (4), Geelong's draft picks rarely played in their first years....
Compare that to Smedts (0, so far) and Guthrie (2) and Horlin Smith (0) and Schroder (0), it's pretty obvious that it was some draconian policy of Thompson's.

Where did I say the policy had changed? Egan, Taylor, Stokes, Mumford and Nathan Ablett were all more mature age players when drafted. Pretty selective evidence you've used there, bravo.

Why not list his contemporaries Djerrkura/Hogan/Varcoe/Prismall (0)
Or West/Blake/Spencer/Thurley/Lonergan/Mackie/Playfair (0)

Looking at the numbers I was surprised a little that the class of 2001 got as many games as they did, but Bartel/Kelly/SJ/Ablett all only played around a dozen games in their first season.

This is being massively exaggerated as the years go by, obviously because Thompson is now the big nasty bogey man.
Fact is, every year he was there he played first years more than Scott has (so far)

Haha, I didn't say it was a bad thing. It often does players good to do a solid stint in the VFL. Look at you jumping at shadows :eek:

Where did I say the policy had changed? Egan, Taylor, Stokes, Mumford and Nathan Ablett were all more mature age players when drafted. Pretty selective evidence you've used there, bravo.

Why not list his contemporaries Djerrkura/Hogan/Varcoe/Prismall (0)
Or West/Blake/Spencer/Thurley/Lonergan/Mackie/Playfair (0)

Looking at the numbers I was surprised a little that the class of 2001 got as many games as they did, but Bartel/Kelly/SJ/Ablett all only played around a dozen games in their first season.
Or perhaps we can all just admit that it had more to do with the players themselves than anything else, that Spender/Thurley/Playfair probably weren't ready for games whereas Selwood/Stokes etc were, stop using it as some sort of evidence that Selwood broke down the Berlin wall all by himself, and move on?

So Selwood was ready for games, while lesser players weren't? Thanks for proving my point.

I'm not the one who brought up Selwood. I'm not the one who tried to say he got dropped several times in his first year of top level footy, or tried to denigrate his achievements.

Simon Goodwin said on the 14th July 2011

"I haven't seen a player come into the game and be able to playthe way he (Heppell) has played, his composure, the way he has trained and his attitude towards the game has been outstanding, he is a ver mature kid, I dont think I have seen anyone better or adapt to the game the way he has."

Also went on to say Heppell wont be rested because he is to of a important player for the team.

Also I heard that Prismall always rocks up to the beach 1st for recovery, but lately has been suprised to see Heppell their before himself.
Last year he also hired a sprinting coach to get his speed up to scratch.

These things just show how comitted he is, add the tallent he has, this will make a pretty serious player.

Simon Goodwin said on the 14th July 2011

"I haven't seen a player come into the game and be able to playthe way he (Heppell) has played, his composure, the way he has trained and his attitude towards the game has been outstanding, he is a ver mature kid, I dont think I have seen anyone better or adapt to the game the way he has."

Pfft. What would Goodwin know?

I'd much rather hear the opinions of overweight keyboard warrior experts on Bigfooty who have never kicked a football in their lives and enjoy knocking 18 year old footballers in their first season. They carry much more worth.

Some serious face palm posts in this thread.

Could not care less if he wins the NAB rising star.

Not sure why I keep seeing Judd & Selwood names in this thread?

Just glad he is playing some great footy. I can't remember the last time we had a player make an impact like Dyson has in his first year.

Pfft. What would Goodwin know?

I'd much rather hear the opinions of overweight keyboard warrior experts on Bigfooty who have never kicked a football in their lives and enjoy knocking 18 year old footballers in their first season. They carry much more worth.

This is the best post in the thread. Haven't seen anyone knock Heppell at all. Looks like a gun in the making, but he's being protected this year, which is fair enough.

Great article about this very subject today in the Herald Sun.

It's Heppy Hour at Essendon

853626-heppell.jpg

SITTING down to interview Dyson Heppell it soon becomes clear the most obvious question is the one he can't answer.

How can it be that Essendon's star in the making was overlooked by four clubs in last November's national draft?

How can it be that in an era of psychological testing, countless physical examinations and interviews, he was not snapped up?

He is the bookies' favourite to win the Rising Star award, but growing speculation he could win the club's best-and-fairest in his first year embarrasses him.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/its-heppy-hour-at-essendon/story-e6frf9jf-1226094856973

I really hope he fails. Especially considering he plays for Essendon. I'm sure that would please some of the expert masses who have contributed in this thread so far.

It's hilarious that you're getting so pissy about this, just read some of your work in the St Kilda and Dogs September thread. There is some proper invective, some fine main board trolling on your part.

PS I couldn't give a flying **** about Essendon.

It's hilarious that you're getting so pissy about this, just read some of your work in the St Kilda and Dogs September thread. There is some proper invective, some fine main board trolling on your part.

Go troll else where.

McCartney has been extremely impressed with Heppell's 1st 15 games, said normally with young players you see snippets of what they will be like in the future but with Heppell he just does it week in week out, Heppell is a incredably smart player who just stays in the moment.

You obviously give a flying **** about Heppell tho,dont ya troll :thumbsu::):p

My understanding is that he is now firmly on the GWS radar and they will table a mega deal for him.

Hope he stays with the Bombers.

I reckon that's probably everyone's understanding, mate.

Of course he'd be firmly on their radar, why the **** wouldn't he be. Like all draftees, he would have signed an initial 2 year deal, and be available to be claimed as an uncontracted player at the end of next year.

That's just elemental.

Money talks, but doesn't hurt he's been a life long Bomber fan living the dream.

Dyson Heppell - The Best