Rumour Eade Called By Collingwood

Pretty safe to say the club doesn't need 2 Directors of Coaching, we already have someone contracted to do it. It's media fantasy yet again. Eade is no Malthouse we don't want him. Let other clubs settle for less.

If Malthouse didn't end up taking the job, I'd be pretty happy with Eade taking it. That being said, Malty is contracted, has committed to doing it, so I imagine that is what is going to happen.

Basically it comes down to whos lying, Neil Mitchell or MM and Eddie Mcguire. I think I could take a good guess as to who it is.

wouldn't surprise me. The club is, as Eddie is happy to remind everyone, a multi-million dollar business; and due diligence is a necessity for any professional organisation. I'm sure Collingwood don't want to be left with their metaphorical dick in their hands in the unlikely event that Malthouse leaves.

All good organisations would have a Plan B - I agree.

I think the Pies rate Rocket, so it's quite possible they've talked to him along those lines.

If MM or any other club official doesn't want to stay, and if they are anything less than 100% committed, then i'm sure most would agree that it best they go.

Having said that, I reckon MM will want to stay and will be 100% committed, and hopefully he'll assimilate in to his new position well...though it may not be as easy as it sounds.

Wonder how it works out in the wilds of nature or in the farmyards, when the older bull makes way for the younger one? :)

FWIW a mate of mine told me about this rumour Sunday night. Neither of us know much about how much truth there is, but it is interesting that this is the second time I have heard it within 5 days.

Last week it was Paul Roos, now Rodney Eade.

I'm guessing next week it will be Leigh Matthews, or you never know, Jock Mchale or Norm Smith.:p

Anything Neil Mitchell says about Collingwood should be taken with a grain of salt, the bloke is one of the biggest Collingwood haters out there, and his sources are about as reliable (and real) as Caro's.:cool:

Seriously get with it people. There is a long list of Collingwood haters in the Melbourne media and Neil Mitchell is in that list.

They all want to see Malthouse leave Collingwood entirely and have tried all sorts of angles on this.

They just hear something from some w***er and then give it air time with the aim of hopefully distracting the club.

Its incredible how this just seems to go on and on.

Ok what's the next rubbish.

Does Neil Mitchell ever give us any Melbourne rumours? Plenty not right about that club as we all know.

All good organisations would have a Plan B - I agree.

I think the Pies rate Rocket, so it's quite possible they've talked to him along those lines.

If MM or any other club official doesn't want to stay, and if they are anything less than 100% committed, then i'm sure most would agree that it best they go.

Having said that, I reckon MM will want to stay and will be 100% committed, and hopefully he'll assimilate in to his new position well...though it may not be as easy as it sounds.

Wonder how it works out in the wilds of nature or in the farmyards, when the older bull makes way for the younger one? :)

Agree with this.

We need a plan B if things don't work out.

Will be very interesting to see whether Mick can keep his ego in check and whether he has the maturity to take a low profile as Bucks has done over these past 2 seasons.

Optimal if Mick stays. But if his heart is not here and he can't handle not being in charge. Get the next best alternative in who wants to be here.

Seriously get with it people. There is a long list of Collingwood haters in the Melbourne media and Neil Mitchell is in that list.

They all want to see Malthouse leave Collingwood entirely and have tried all sorts of angles on this.

They just hear something from some w***er and then give it air time with the aim of hopefully distracting the club.

Its incredible how this just seems to go on and on.

Ok what's the next rubbish.

Does Neil Mitchell ever give us any Melbourne rumours? Plenty not right about that club as we all know.

The truly glorious thing about our man Mick is that even if he had at some stage considered leaving to coach elsewhere, he will not just to get up the noses of these arseclowns because he hates them more....:D

Could be some truth to it.
I've found it a bit strange how much Ed has back-peddaled on the whole 'Mick has a contract, he will be at Collingwood or else etc etc.' in the last few weeks.

Not saying it's Eade specifically, but maybe Ed is realising he might need to have a back up plan just incase.

If MM goes, who takes this role will depend on Buckley.

He is not going to want to work with someone he does not know/trust.

If MM went I reckon there would be more chance of Mathews taking the role.

Candidates for the director of coaching role:

(As MM might leave, and Ed said we would have a director of coaching regardless of whether it is MM or not.)

I has it a guess it will be someone who has coached before and has a fair bit of experience, thus these i reckon are the options:

Neil Craig - Would be a nice to get him but i think he likes the adeliade fc and will be there in some kind of position.

Rodney Eade - would also be good to get him, he strikes me as a person who would be easy to get on with which would be a good thing

Leigh Matthews - doubt he would leave the media

Paul Roos - dont think he would be interested

Dean Bailey - i thought he was a clown and i think the club proabably feels the same way.

Matthw Knights - no chance in hell given his record

Terry Wallace - see above

Dean Laidley - was highly rated by MM himself and has proven to be flexible with how he works based on the skype experiment with port. But just dont think it will happen

Mark Williams - could be a slim chance.

Grant Thiomas - no chance in hell but wouldnt perform badly if given the nod i recon.

From this i would think rocket eade could be our director of coaching next year. I think MM will go. But if i was chosing i would go after neil craig the most, just think he is more switched on to modern footy compared with eade.

thoughts???

One person who wasn't mentioned by Mattyspies was Denis Pagan. There was plenty of duds mentioned but Pagan is one who has some form of merit. Comments anyone.

I wouldn't be against Dean Laidley. Bucks knows him and was coached by him. He has a very astute brain.

Bucks wont feel threatened and Laidley will know his place. Liadley wants to be involved in footy and can get a nice little job here without all the pressure that comes with coaching, if he cannot jag an unlikely head coaching role.

Denis Pagan.... ummm .... no! Not a chance. The game has completely passed him just as it has Sheedy. The days when you use to "just kick long down the guts!" are over. Denis Pagan left carlton in an absolute mess. And brought them their first of three wooden spoons ever.

If MM walked then Eade would not be a bad option to consider, having said that, I would say the rumor is pure journalistic mischief and fantasy.

Rumour Eade Called By Collingwood