Test (Early) Sri Lanka tour squad predictions

If he is picked at 7/8 then he is being picked as a Bowler IMO

Obviously his batting forms part of the reason he would be picked though
I think if you have multiple all-rounders, you can afford to have a batter at 7/8. If Australia were playing a team with all of Hardie, Green, Mitch Marsh and Webster in the top six, all fit and bowling, you wouldn’t be demanding a bowler at 8. Having Webster as a seam and spin bowling option at six certainly allows you to be flexible with your order.

You'd need another batsman after picking Mitch Marsh in the top 6...

Then if we’re looking at selection like that, Konstas might get tipped out.
I guess it depends on how much of a raging turner the pitch is. You could play Konstas, Khawaja, Lanuschagne, Smith, Head, Webster, Carey, Connolly, Starc, Lyon and Murphy. That gives you two frontline spin options, three part time spin options (Connolly, Webster and Head) and two seam options (Starc and Webster).

But yes, if you want two frontline fast bowlers, Konstas might have to give way and Head opens. I’ve said before, I don’t think it’s a major issue, Konstas comes back for the Windies and gets to build his experience and Connolly gets some experience as a horses for courses selection.

Someone tell me six batsmen that are batting better than Cooper Connolly. Yes I’m aware the only form we have to go off is that of the test XI incumbents and the Big Bash.

This is the tour to play him. His spin is a handy point of difference and combined with Webster would allow us to play an extra batsman.

Sorry but that's crazy. There are four players I'd have ahead of him as the third spinner and comfortably so. Kuhnemann (pending fitness), Tanveer, Swepson and Agar (in that order).
Last time we toured SL, test one in Galle they served up a pitch where we bowled them out twice in about 70 overs combined with Head taking 4 for 10 in the second innings. A pitch like that and an extra bat who can bowl some handy left armers isn't crazy.

I was impressed with Webster but reckon he’s just warning Cam Green’s seat. He will make way the moment Green is fit.

I disagree and reckon both can play in the same team

Webbie so far looks a natural number six I prefer greenie in the top four

Webster looked as good as any performance put in by Green in his 20 odd Test career.

He should have had three wickets had catches been taken and could have been man of the match had it not been for the Boland heroics.

Hopefully, they both play in the XI for the foreseeable future.

Head will open wont he? He looked so much better in India coming in against the new ball than he'd previously looked coming in to spinners in the subcontinent. Uzzy can play middle order if they want to stick with Konstas It'd be fun to watch Konstas and Head.
Sounds like Head is a chance to open, but you'd think they'd stick with Khawaja at the other end. Yin and yang they should call them.

Webster looked as good as any performance put in by Green in his 20 odd Test career.

He should have had three wickets had catches been taken and could have been man of the match had it not been for the Boland heroics.

Hopefully, they both play in the XI for the foreseeable future.
Webster looked good, particularly when others were falling around him. But Green’s high score is 174n.o. and he has a five-fer. It didn’t look as good as either of those.

If Green focused on batting, then I could see a spot for him, but if Green does return to bowling, I don’t see Webster on the best five bats in the country.

Honestly, given the WTC standings, if Smith were to miss I wouldn’t mind. Head to captain, Ussie to 3, labs to 4, Konstas and head to open
I would, the great man only has so many innings left. Would hate to miss any opportunities to see him bat at test level.

Webster looked good, particularly when others were falling around him. But Green’s high score is 174n.o. and he has a five-fer. It didn’t look as good as either of those.

If Green focused on batting, then I could see a spot for him, but if Green does return to bowling, I don’t see Webster on the best five bats in the country.

It’s not all about runs or wickets though.

It’s about the context of the match and the series and the pitch and the opposition (with the best bowler in the world on a good bowling deck).

Webster was one of the main reasons we won that Test and therefore the series. It was a massive performance when you take all that into account.

I’m not saying that it was better than a particular performance of Green.

I rate Green and think he has a future in the XI but I see no reason why they both can’t play if they perform well.

It’s about the context of the match and the series and the pitch and the opposition (with the best bowler in the world on a good bowling deck).

Green's 170 was a match winning innings on a tough pitch in NZ. He got us over 350 in the first innings - the next 3 innings of the match were under 200.

Webster was one of the main reasons we won that Test and therefore the series. It was a massive performance when you take all that into account.

I’m not saying that it was better than a particular performance of Green.

I rate Green and think he has a future in the XI but I see no reason why they both can’t play if they perform well.
I agree i think both can play in the same team as I said before .

Webbie to me looks a natural six....greenie has always been a top four batter for me

I agree i think both can play in the same team as I said before .

Webbie to me looks a natural six....greenie has always been a top four batter for me
They can definitely play in the same team, but it may have to wait until Smithy retires unless someone puts their hand up to open (outside of Asia). Marnus, Head, Smith, Green, Webster doesn't fit in 3-6. And Marnus and Head are the same age as Webster.

And by the time Smith retires, who knows how it's all looking.

Stating the obvious but Jayasuriya – the second fastest bowler to ever take 100 wickets – is reason for great concern. Esp given the bulk of his wickets he's taken in Galle. How we play him is key to this series.

Am I the only one surprised that Uzzie hasn't been called into the office. 38, slow and out of form, so what if he plays spin well, these tests should be used to blood the kids in preparation for WTC and ashes. Get games into konstas, Connelly and mcsweeney

its funny how they left him out for years due to him being crap against spin and then when they finally gave him a shot they realized he is good against spin lol

I've just heard from my mate who's currently my forward scout for the Sri Lankan Tests.

He met with the Pres of the Galle Cricket club about an hour ago and the short version is day membership is 10000LKR, around $55. This includes lunch and a choice of 2 "areas" to sit in, the enclosed bar area or ground level right on the rope.

Bear in mind this is in GCC members and there are probably numerous other options available, and likely much cheaper. But hang the expense, we're gunna be members!

It appears that tickets will become available for the rest of the ground about a week from start at https://srilankacricket.lk/

The photo below is looking back to the members from the boundary rope

View attachment 2206522

This one is between the members and the rope, I imagine it will be set up differently for the Tests
View attachment 2206521
Thanks for this great info & pics Boris

On Redmi Note 8 Pro using BigFooty.com mobile app

Important update to the entry membership at GCC, my mate actually got it for 7500LKR/Day/Person for 3 of us for first 3 days. so about $40/Day/Person.

Just got off the phone to him, he's pretty happy - got an official receipt and all!!!!!

So a member ticket is bought physically at the ground & is fairly straight forward? A day in that area looks rather comfortable.

Important update to the entry membership at GCC, my mate actually got it for 7500LKR/Day/Person for 3 of us for first 3 days. so about $40/Day/Person.

Just got off the phone to him, he's pretty happy - got an official receipt and all!!!!!
Coincidentally i actually called GCC yesterday and was told 7500 rupee too. Still wasn't sure if there was a non-lunch entry option as that is indeed exxy for Sri Lanka (ie more expensive than my accom). Worth every cent with that said, and cheap by comparison for a day at the cricket in Australia.

I was told it was easy enough to buy on the day for the members, but do you reckon it possible to buy online or only if you're in Galle?

So a member ticket is bought physically at the ground & is fairly straight forward? A day in that area looks rather comfortable.

Coincidentally i actually called GCC yesterday and was told 7500 rupee too. Still wasn't sure if there was a non-lunch entry option as that is indeed exxy for Sri Lanka (ie more expensive than my accom). Worth every cent with that said, and cheap by comparison for a day at the cricket in Australia.

I was told it was easy enough to buy on the day for the members, but do you reckon it possible to buy online or only if you're in Galle?
Lads,

The 7500LKR includes lunch I'm told, and yes it's not "cheap". But I'm up for donating a bit of cash to a good cricket club, as you say.

My mate has bought 3 days for 3 of us a couple of days ago. He got them direct from El Presidente!. He spent a couple of hours in there roaming around etc and really liked it. The initial 10000LKR actually came from a dodgy character who "claimed" to be the Secretary. :D .

Fortunately my mate saw another bloke who looked important and sussed him out, who proved to be the Pres and gave previous old mate a fearful bollocking I'm told. :p

As far as lobbing up on the day, I have no idea. But it won't hurt to try and my mate actually had lunch there on a non cricket day, said it's a bit like an RSL without pokies. Anyone can get in and have a feed and a beer on non cricket days.

I'll know more when I'm on the ground and can see for myself, and I'll feed that back here when I've had a look. I get to SL late on 24th so I've got some time to look and I'm staying only about 25 km north of the ground initially.

As I said previously, there's other stands and clearly other ticketing options which allegedly become available a week before start.

We're also probably going to have a crack at one, or both, of the Colombo ODI's. No idea how that works yet. But again, I'll know when I'm there.

Really looking forward to it, should be a great run.

Lads,

The 7500LKR includes lunch I'm told, and yes it's not "cheap". But I'm up for donating a bit of cash to a good cricket club, as you say.

My mate has bought 3 days for 3 of us a couple of days ago. He got them direct from El Presidente!. He spent a couple of hours in there roaming around etc and really liked it. The initial 10000LKR actually came from a dodgy character who "claimed" to be the Secretary. :D .

Fortunately my mate saw another bloke who looked important and sussed him out, who proved to be the Pres and gave previous old mate a fearful bollocking I'm told. :p

As far as lobbing up on the day, I have no idea. But it won't hurt to try and my mate actually had lunch there on a non cricket day, said it's a bit like an RSL without pokies. Anyone can get in and have a feed and a beer on non cricket days.

I'll know more when I'm on the ground and can see for myself, and I'll feed that back here when I've had a look. I get to SL late on 24th so I've got some time to look and I'm staying only about 25 km north of the ground initially.

As I said previously, there's other stands and clearly other ticketing options which allegedly become available a week before start.

We're also probably going to have a crack at one, or both, of the Colombo ODI's. No idea how that works yet. But again, I'll know when I'm there.

Really looking forward to it, should be a great run.
Ha, what a cheeky bugger that 'secretary' is. Nice try, mate 🤣. You just know he'll try it on with another unsuspecting guest, though – so that's great intel thanks. Will give it a shot Day 1, but failing that another day. Looms as a cracking series, even if i do think we may lose with Cummins out of the picture.

Test (Early) Sri Lanka tour squad predictions