Unofficial Preview Early Thoughts - Round 16 Sydney v Hawthorn

Hawks are a shit interstate team North and West of the border.

Bring back McGlynn, we need his energy.

Towers can go, bring Heeney in for him.

We'll win but it will be a stressful game, bring on the 50 cigarettes during the game. Swans by 10.

Someone to knockout Hodge please.

Hawks are a shit interstate team North and West of the border.

Bring back McGlynn, we need his energy.

Towers can go, bring Heeney in for him.

We'll win but it will be a stressful game, bring on the 50 cigarettes during the game. Swans by 10.

Someone to knockout Hodge please.

Even if it is to play the sub role I would consider McGlynn. Towers can go, Heeney back.

We have missed McGlynn. He's not our best player but he tries soo damn hard all game and I think it rubs off on the other guys.

He was huge against the Hawks in Round 8.

We have missed McGlynn. He's not our best player but he tries soo damn hard all game and I think it rubs off on the other guys.

He was huge against the Hawks in Round 8.

I just have no idea how his injury is and whilst I would love him back (providing he only plays forward of the centre in the majority), we have 2 big games in a row, so maybe the NEAFL this week, and the game against WCE is more realistic. He has missed 6 weeks hasn't he?

Towers is already in the team
I keep pressing "like" but it only goes up to 1

Looking forward to a cracker next week. I reckon those saying we'll get blown out have rocks in their head because Sydney just don't get blown out - except for, well, yeah :(

Our form doesn't look shit hot because of our nasty habit of playing down to the opposition but thankfully, we generally turn up for the big dogs.

I'd love to see Heeney and Nankervis back so that the young pups including Robinson and Jones can get a taste of a real finals intensity game that I reckon this will be.

We'll be under the pump early but I'm backing Buddy to have a ripper. He's had too many quiet games this year and he seems to like ANZ (2.7 notwithstanding).

Shaw loves the big games and Nick Smith will bounce back.

Stick Mitchell on Mitchell, McGlynn can pester Hodge (sorry Jakey but you miss out) and we win a squeaker.

I'm one of those glass 9/10ths full kinda fans.

Hope the guys continue to lower their eyes and try to hit targets rather than bomb it in long. Saw JPK try to do it against the lions and sometimes he didn't execute properly but the fact he was trying was encouraging!

Will we use Buddy as a decoy again?
Would love to see Buddy playing more through the middle and further out from goal. Leave Tippett and a crumber closer to goal.

I just want to see an early flare-up then the boys pile in and knock the Hawks around - then continue that for the rest of the game.
The umpires will brutalise us anyway - may as well get penalised for a genuine transgression.

If we go in hard, one-on-one and put the heat on them, Hawks will get rattled.

I'm genuinely scared for this game after what they did to Fremantle. In saying that i don't think Fremantle have actually been that good over the season overall. Yes they beat us but that was after a dominant one quarter.

Hawthorn are very good from back to front and have the team that is flexible to move into other positions and cover losses. This will be a cracking game that I unfortunately won't be going to as I don't think I will be able to back up after Rosehill.

What betting sites are safe to us while living outside Australia? I've been in the US for three years so I don't think I can select Australia as my place of residence.

The reality is that there is easily a case to be made that Hawthorn could be undefeated this year. However if you look at how to beat them then i guess the starting point is score restriction.

They failed to get 100 points 5 times this year- 4 of those they lost and the other one was v the suns in Tassie and from memory it was a horrid day down there.

So 1- keep them under 100 (wow easy)

2- take your chances - the sides that beat them all had conversion above 50% GWS went at 57% in their win but in the other 3 losses the hawks opponents averaged 68% conversion (not including shots that did not score) so we wont beat them kicking 9.18 or anything shit like that, make your forward entries count.

3. Keep the ball out of Lewis Hodge and Mitchells hands- these are still their three most prolific ball winners imo and most damaging, we simply cannot allow all 3 of them or really even 1 to get off the chain- if all 3 get 30 possies have hawthorn ever lost? especially in recent times? i doubt it.

4- win the tackle count- every time they have lost they have been out tackled, keep the pressure on, they dont crack under pressure by any stretch of the imagination- but if we take anything out of round 8 it as that they can be put off their game and rattled if you are aggressive and tackle, make them stick- teams that beat hawthorn take them on

they are some simplistic thoughts while i avoid work

What betting sites are safe to us while living outside Australia? I've been in the US for three years so I don't think I can select Australia as my place of residence.

Bet 365 would be one.

Ladbrokes, Waterhouse would probably do overseas clients too.

I don't know for a fact - just suggestions mate.

I would be very surprised if you couldn't get set in the US anyway. Some bugger will offer markets over there for sure.

The reality is that there is easily a case to be made that Hawthorn could be undefeated this year. However if you look at how to beat them then i guess the starting point is score restriction.

They failed to get 100 points 5 times this year- 4 of those they lost and the other one was v the suns in Tassie and from memory it was a horrid day down there.

So 1- keep them under 100 (wow easy)

2- take your chances - the sides that beat them all had conversion above 50% GWS went at 57% in their win but in the other 3 losses the hawks opponents averaged 68% conversion (not including shots that did not score) so we wont beat them kicking 9.18 or anything shit like that, make your forward entries count.

3. Keep the ball out of Lewis Hodge and Mitchells hands- these are still their three most prolific ball winners imo and most damaging, we simply cannot allow all 3 of them or really even 1 to get off the chain- if all 3 get 30 possies have hawthorn ever lost? especially in recent times? i doubt it.

4- win the tackle count- every time they have lost they have been out tackled, keep the pressure on, they dont crack under pressure by any stretch of the imagination- but if we take anything out of round 8 it as that they can be put off their game and rattled if you are aggressive and tackle, make them stick- teams that beat hawthorn take them on

they are some simplistic thoughts while i avoid work

Not trying to be a smart arse but that pretty much will do any team over.

It ain't rocket science this stuff is it?

Not trying to be a smart arse but that pretty much will do any team over.

It ain't rocket science this stuff is it?

whats that hard about rocket science anyway

but yeah they are just indicators we need to hit, true against most sides.

I guess to be more specific to the hawks

Hard tag on Mitchell- he doesnt like feeling disrespect- rough the prick up, where as Lewis seems to thrive on that stuff more.

Dont let Hodge play loose in defence he will rack them up all day.

create space forward- make Lake take buddy one out and see if he can outmark him without giving away a free (Stevic out please)

I wouldn't really mind if we select Towers and then instruct him to punch every Hawthorn player in the face. He can get years for all I care.