EDFL "A" Grade - 2010

oak park 16.19 109 g/v 6.11 47
the boys made greenvale look slow today, great win and still some big areas that we can improve on as well, keep saying it but the boys pressure all over the ground is fantastic, made greenvale panic when in possesion which is a difficult thing to do, lead all day and looked very dangerous going fwd..... heard mcpherson at 3 quarter side say "i heard someone say at half time that they are shit, they are not not shit, they are making us look shit" youd reckon weve won a little bit of respect now...

Hey Joe im from Douttas and yes we were horibble last week :( but i can say that the Oakers are by far the best side we have played this year :) Still havent played Greenvale but on yesterdays result it would seem that you guys would definately be aiming for finals and not just to make up the numbers so good work.

And Douttas put in a pretty solid effort yesterday and did what they needed to do by having a good 9 or 10 goal win after last week,Kade was great but left ground early in the third hopefully just for a rest and no injury??? and we had one of our old players back in Johno Morris who was fantastic,i wish him well down at Coburg but would love to have him back for good :) big Ruckmen very good as has been all year and the younger small/mid size players were great as they are most weeks.Shame that Jimmy Hollow and Aiden George are out for a while as they are probably in our best 3 or 4 players but good to see some others guys stepping up.

And it would seem that she's a pretty even comp at the minute in terms of what teams will/could be in the finals!!!I would like to say we are in the mix but the next month or so will show that but Keilor,S'more,Greenvale,Marby,Oakers and maybe even the Crazies have all showed form that may get them there with the first four named all being pretty even.

THE DREBSTER

What a win from Oak Park. Going to go down and watch them this week to see what all the hype is. Will they sneak into the finals? I think a lot of the bigger clubs will be doing plenty of homework on them now. They have too!!! Mighty Mick might have to get the spy out of retirement.

ps Saw TK Pati at the G'vale Marby game last week with all the g'vale crowd. Is he playing this year? Is as important as Jackson Barling in my view.

Oak Parks ground is an absolute discrace.
The comp is in great shape, with ex afl players getting involved, and is let down by grounds such as Oak Parks.

what would you like us to do mate, a rain dance every week maybe?? yeah the grounds not in great nick, but we are the ones playing on it every second game

There is a number of grounds that are not up to standard not just OP's. Unless the councils are willing to actually irrigate them or spend the required funds to get them up to scratch, then the clubs have to deal with it.
Some of the problem is that the councils don't employ enough people with the expertise in this field to know how to repair and maintain them.

councils in the northern suburbs dont see footy grounds as valuable community assets and therefore don`t spend much time or money on them.......maybe players that get injured due to unsafe grounds should sue councils, might motivate the councils to do regular work on the ovals

Most of the grounds in the comp are not flash but what can you do .
Great Clubrooms and always a cold beer , company could be better though

councils in the northern suburbs dont see footy grounds as valuable community assets and therefore don`t spend much time or money on them.......maybe players that get injured due to unsafe grounds should sue councils, might motivate the councils to do regular work on the ovals

If people are happy to get on here and give the council a bake.... why not pick up the phone, call the council in question and do the same?
I gurantee if you get enough people ringing up and venting they will soon do something about it!

As for the watering, Council can only water what the water boards stipulate. For instance If a council has 40 sporting grounds and due to water restrictions 'City West Water' allows them to only water 1 in 4. That will mean that out of 40 playing fields only 10 will recieve irrigation. The grounds are then prioritised with the more high profile/use grounds getting the nod.

If people are happy to get on here and give the council a bake.... why not pick up the phone, call the council in question and do the same?
I gurantee if you get enough people ringing up and venting they will soon do something about it!

As for the watering, Council can only water what the water boards stipulate. For instance If a council has 40 sporting grounds and due to water restrictions 'City West Water' allows them to only water 1 in 4. That will mean that out of 40 playing fields only 10 will recieve irrigation. The grounds are then prioritised with the more high profile/use grounds getting the nod.

I understand the situation with the water. This is why the councils need to apply more funds to resurfacing these grounds with warm season grasses to drought proof them. Untill they do this, the grounds will always struggle when they are not watered

I agree with you there. The problem however is that as soon as football season is finished , cricket season begins. To resurface these grounds it will take a good 6 months or more (and a bit of tender love and care) to establish therefore someone has to play elsewhere for a season. Most footy / cricket clubs wont budge so where does that leave you?

It seems that this problem only lies with Hume/ Mooney Valley/ Moreland councils? Brimbank Council have Keilor, Keilor Park (albion, st albans, ardeer etc) which all seem to be in reasonable nick?

When do Strathmore play Oak Park, if both teams keep winning that could be one of the matches of the season, with both teams looking to grab that fourth spot. Does anyone have an opnion on who is looking to be the better side, or is it early days.

Which high profile Greenvale people punched on in the sheds at Oak Park
after the loss last week , seems one makes a habit of it after a loss ??????????