EDFL "A" Grade - 2010

well my guess is they have training tonight. with no game this weekend, i would love to imagine what training the players will do this week or what type of punishments he is going to handout.

and in reference to the article, i love how they put emphasis on the "10 minute spray"

do you think what he did to the doutta boys is a bit disrespectful to avondale heights? he must think they're pretty poor to punish them like that. avondale looked much more polished than them

Mate you are not wrong Barnes is one big dill and can not coach, take a look at his record.
Its like a disease it passes on to the players, get rid of him Douttas before you end up in B grade.

Agree, was at the match against Greenvale and Douttas played the worse style of football I have ever seen

They were trying to hold onto the ball, chipping it backwards, sideways and hardly ever went forward, not the way to win games and the young players would learn nothing from this style of play

Also during the match he was more interested in yelling out to Lucas than coaching his own team

Also Balraj whats your obsession with player payments ? A little Jealous ?

If they are only there for money, there would be other clubs where they'd receive similar payments..
The fact is, it's an interesting move from Barnes, it'll be interesting to see how Douttas go next week as a result.

There next match is in two weeks against Abers, and no matter how much turmoil is going on behind the scenes, Doutta's always manage to get themselves up for this rivalry.

Also, can anyone confirm a Mt Road incident involving a high profile Edfl player and a younger fellow from another club on saturday night? I am not here to start rumours and innuendo, just want to know whether anyone else has heard a similar story.

i decdided to wonder down to douttas to see how chris johnson was playing and the way douttas played wasnt that bad i just think avondale were much more composed when they got the footy, chris johnson looked unfit yet still drilled 3 and led the team inspirationally in its first win of the season, good reward for a few close games they should have won, im sure that ah will win a few more i rekon they have now shown they shouldnt be relegated. can anyone tell me about number 22 looks like a gun he was very silky and always hit a target i dont remember seeing him when i last watched avondale vs marby? also i think his name is kert lang no.15 killed kade carey from what i saw.

john barnes clearly went overboard avondale were clearly the better side on the day dont carry on like a clown you only embarass yourself aswell as the players im sure a lot of players would have lost respect for barnsey after his actions after the game.

Think it might be about time we started a new forum...... we can call it

"HOW MUCH DO YOU THINK SCOTT LUCAS IS ON"

It will be the most used thread in Melbourne cause everyone either knows or wants to know.
Ill start it off and say 2 grand a week and worth every cent.
Can someone at Greenvale just ask him and post it on here so everyone just gets over it.

Getting back to the real stuff...........
The relegation battle is well and truly back on. No team in the bottom 4 at the moment is safe and as we saw with Oak Park a couple of years ago 4 wins might not save you. Think the winner of Abers Vs Douttas next week will be breathing a little easier. Lets hope Barnes flogs them for the next fortnight so the 2 blues get up.

can anyone tell me about number 22 looks like a gun he was very silky and always hit a target i dont remember seeing him when i last watched avondale vs marby?

there was no number 22 on the weekend but my guess is that you are referring to mat cannard who is normally number two but forgot to bring his jumper that day :thumbsdown:. gun player goes all day and yes with very very silky skills.

another guy who ran rings around doutta's was former essendon player rhys magin. do not think he missed a target all day. he has been very consistent this year too

Good coaches share the blame for defeats-JB is a renowned dill.He surely must accept that he is part of the reason for their loss.
I played for Essendon Tullamarine and used to hate Douttas but still respected them.This kind of shit is not helping Douttas-Des Tuddenham tried to do this crap 30(maybe 40 years ago) at Essendon making player do laps on there hands and feet or something like that-absolute bullshit

Overrated idiot Barnes-What was his penalty for the loss.

Gooday Russell Mcdonald-I used to go to school with you and others at Moonee Ponds West and know you and other former Doutta boys are trying to get Douttas back to where were in their halycon days.

Good luck to the real Doutta Stars people

Barnes obviously took lesson from Rexy Cairns back in the 70's

There next match is in two weeks against Abers, and no matter how much turmoil is going on behind the scenes, Doutta's always manage to get themselves up for this rivalry.

Also, can anyone confirm a Mt Road incident involving a high profile Edfl player and a younger fellow from another club on saturday night? I am not here to start rumours and innuendo, just want to know whether anyone else has heard a similar story.

I heard the high profile player won the fight, does that help? :D...why don't you ask your brother? He once told me that the high profile player was the best boxer he'd ever seen. I'm not willing to name him...

At the moment Doutta play a negative brand of football. Chipping the ball backwards and across the ground is noway to win a game. The team is full of young fit kids, let them run the ball down the ground and see what they can do. If your going to lose a game why not try a few things instead of trying to conserve percentage and maintain possesion. See what the kids can do

Here we go the Umpire wants to tell people how to coach woohooo:eek::D

there was no number 22 on the weekend but my guess is that you are referring to mat cannard who is normally number two but forgot to bring his jumper that day :thumbsdown:. gun player goes all day and yes with very very silky skills.

another guy who ran rings around doutta's was former essendon player rhys magin. do not think he missed a target all day. he has been very consistent this year too
yer i thought it was canard tatoos right?

agree magin is a gun unsure why essendon delisted him he has great skills on either foot very quick and hard to tackle bit weird but im sure avondale wont be complaining. was docherty tagged first 5 minutes he destroyed avondale but had barely any impact after that?

yes cannard with the tatts

and magin well he has a light frame but is as you said very very damaging. gets loads of it.

im not too sure who they put on to tag him in the end i didnt take much notice, but they sure did do a good job.

hardball....just a quick one u seem to no avondale quite well ive only been to a couple games this year can u tellk me a bit about no.39 not sure of his name very fast and talented also the bloke who played on carey 2nd half think its kert lang .15 and wat are your thoughts on how the heights will go in the 2nd half of the season? do u think they will stay up or go down? any new signings for the second half or not?

Yeah look like yourself I am just a spectator too and I’ll be honest I have probably gone to a few more games than you this year. Number 39 I really do not know too much about him but he is pretty quick and a good user of the footy from what I saw. Number 15 who played on carey, his name is Kirk Lang, he was recruited at the start of the season I believe. Has played a couple 2’s games but has mainly been in the one’s. did have a solid game on the weekend but from what I’ve heard carey was a bit underdone. He didn’t even complete barnesy’s 5 or 6 laps after the game he walked straight off.
2nd half of the season, well I would expect the heights to win a few more games. They’ve been a bit injury plagued this season as of yet and hopefully the break ahead gives some of those injured players time to get their fitness back and be ready for greenvale. I personally believe that Avondale will stay up. In a few of their games this season, they have been in winning positions and just have not finished the game off. Chris Johnson is slowly working his way back after injury and since his return the team have looked a 6 goal better side.
As I said I am only a spectator so I would not know much about what is going on inside the club in regards to any signings or anything.

Old Rexy..........my first ever boss in the 70s.........memories. Loved his sport. Now involved heavily in the croquet club at Windy Hill!
Surely Rex doesn't ask them to run "laps" of the rink if they lose.:D

Back to the original post when Russ's name was mentioned. Rex demanded the team to run laps after a bad loss (can't remember the opp) in 75ish. Didn't happen and Russ certainly wasn't too happy (with Rex) on the day.

BTW also another MPW both educated and raised in Bowen Street - god that's so long ago. Over in Diamond Valley now (NFL) following Mont and still enjoy my footy, frienship and the frothies.:rolleyes:

Mate you are not wrong Barnes is one big dill and can not coach, take a look at his record.
Its like a disease it passes on to the players, get rid of him Douttas before you end up in B grade.

No doubt Douttas have some very talented kids but they seem to have gone backwards at a rapid rate. Their confidence is at all time low and they are playing nowhere near as good now as they were at the start of the year.. they need encouragement and be ,told to take the game on in stead of being so negative... Hard to believe the directions they are given sometimes, but id say if they are allowed to have a crack and make a few mistakes, then they can quickly put some wins on the board, but if this negative style is continued they will go close to relegation. i cant beleive they dont move their players around either to see what the can do. very one dimensional coaching.. "madness is doing the same thing over and over and expecting to get a different result." Someone pass this on to thier coach JB.

Footy back this week, how was the week off for everyone?

Round 9 tips

Avondale Heights Vs Greenvale
Aberfeldie Vs Doutta Stars local derby clash will bring out a good crowd
Craigieburn Vs Marby
Oak Park Vs Strathmore, another local derby game
West Coburg Vs Keilor

Go Marby!

Avondale Heights Vs Greenvale
Aberfeldie Vs Doutta Stars
Oak Park Vs Strathmore, (expect to Strathmore to come out hard after their last performance)
West Coburg Vs Keilor

noticed that 'Rayza" Ray Harrison's clearance has gone through, will be an awesome pickup for oak park going into the second half of the season

oak park by about 7 goals over strathmore, great win considering the mores were almost playing for their season today, shaw, gleeson, grayhem and smith were the best for mine, numbers 16 and 3 tried hard for strathmore and doering also had a pretty decent crack.....
would imagine some of the backers down the mores would be asking some pretty healthy questions of the playing group this week, some big recruits but they havnt been getting the results
Ray Harrison kicked five for the 2's in a ten goal win also which is good as it shows the depth is there for a decent run at the finals

doutta the last team to go back to back from B to A

I have a great little feeling about our chances this year, the boys are playing some fantastic footy and one thing you need to win finals is quality defence which we have as well as high scoring forward options

great to have Rayzor back today in the scoobies also - hasnt missed a beat

How did lucas play this weekend?

i heard he has been slacking off at training because he's only playing for money now and doesn't care about the game.