EDFL Div 1 2014

Definitely don't have it in for the club just going on what I have been reliably informed. Although this was a preseason estimate so with a few guys leaving and plenty of kids being played you might be right.

Fair enough mate. When you look at the 18s there is a bucket load of talent there and it's easy to see why the club has used a lot of them. I'd even go so far as to say they'd be a top 6 U18 side in Premier division when all are on board. This side alone is enough reason for them to fight tooth and nail to ensure survival.

In all honesty I don't think we've played a really bad game since WM in the 1st round. Hillside was a blowout, but we were down to 18 midway through the 2nd 1/4. It won't be easy, but there's a belief that was lacking earlier in the year and I think that's a reflection of the work done by the coaching team to get this side playing winable footy.

I do believe crazyburn should be doing much better looking at the amount of players they have access to.

That's a fair call. I've spoken with a few people about that very issue. I know they find it frustrating and the club is working very hard to address that issue and get young ones especially back to the club.

But good luck to all the clubs and their committees because I am sure everyone is working them bums off to make their club successful.

Yep. Absolutely. :thumbsu:

I must chime in here for the sake of transparency and what REALLY occurred at the Crazyburn v WC game. I understand it's difficult for supporters to accept a loss when you had a real dip but to blame the umpires on the loss is exactly why Crazyburn is anchored at the bottom of the ladder.

I don't think the umpires cost us the game as we simply didn't have enough points advantage going into the last 1/4. I thought paying a 50m for a player saying "how is that 15" and the deliberate out of bounds were shocking calls which led to two goals and an inflated final margin.

Didn't see what started the fight, but each set of supporters will have their own view of what really happened.

I don't think the umpires cost us the game as we simply didn't have enough points advantage going into the last 1/4. I thought paying a 50m for a player saying "how is that 15" and the deliberate out of bounds were shocking calls which led to two goals and an inflated final margin.

Didn't see what started the fight, but each set of supporters will have their own view of what really happened.

My point was people shouldn't come on here and make claims that WC players started hitting players at random and state them as fact. You don't go unbeaten all season (thus far) by hitting blokes behind play and this is the first incident from memory all season. Both sides were equally at fault as I mentioned in my previous post. Both clubs should be unhappy about how their players handled the situation and we should all let the tribunal deal with it.

In regards to the umpires we can agree that some calls are bewildering at times but it goes both ways. Is there some rule that free kick counts need to be even to be considered fair?

My point was people shouldn't come on here and make claims that WC players started hitting players at random and state them as fact. You don't go unbeaten all season (thus far) by hitting blokes behind play and this is the first incident from memory all season. Both sides were equally at fault as I mentioned in my previous post. Both clubs should be unhappy about how their players handled the situation and we should all let the tribunal deal with it.

Good luck stopping that happening. People will see stuff and jump on discussion boards like this to talk about it rightly or wrongly. Unless I know exactly what happened I don't comment.

In regards to the umpires we can agree that some calls are bewildering at times but it goes both ways. Is there some rule that free kick counts need to be even to be considered fair?

I can't recall two more bizarre calls than those two and as I said, I don't think it decided who won and lost.

Amazing after all the hysteria from the wc v Craigieburn about belting each other and wc being thugs etc , all players were found not guilty.
All other edfl clubs should look at hiring the WC advocate, they always get off.

Will we be seeing the GF preview? last time WC played Tulla it rained all day and judging by the weather it might rain all day again, so those wanting to see these 2 play in the dry on a fast track may have to wait til September. Clearly the best 2 teams atm and only separated by 1 point first time around and currently their % is less than 2 different as well. Should be a classic but I think Tulla will sneak revenge and return the favour from Rd 4 and win by 1 point. The other 3 games shouldn't show us too many surprises Oak Park are a sneaky chance at home against the Lakers but I still think the Lakes will be too good. Cracking midfield battle with German & Pascu v Morelli and Desousa. Lakes by 24. Sharks v Tigers looks a one horse race and after their loss last week Westy cant afford to drop this one. Hillside seemed to have dropped right off the pace, westy by 8 goals. First time around Crazyburn got the choccies against the Roys but surely Lance's men have too much to play for and will win at Sewell. Roys by 20.

Really expect the weather to impact all games and am expecting a really slog for most of them.

I'll go with West Coburg only because it's at home by 8. TL by 10 over OP. Westmeadows over Hillside by 12 and the Eagles to continue their good form with a 4 point win.

Amazing after all the hysteria from the wc v Craigieburn about belting each other and wc being thugs etc , all players were found not guilty.
All other edfl clubs should look at hiring the WC advocate, they always get off.

The tribunal has always been soft, not sure why any player would ever take a set penalty when if they take it to the tribunal they will more than likely get off.

Great result for Oak Park which takes them out of the relegation picture I think. Glenroy were much better than the first round and could still threaten the top 4. Eagles played well again, but only for 3/4s. No surprise to see WC get up at home and a vital 4 points for Westmeadows.

The Greenvale v Craigieburn U/18s match has been moved to Friday night, according to the website.

Yep, clubs agreed to it a couple of weeks ago.

Should be a very good game. Greenvale are actually a pretty good side and I commend them for coming up to div 1 when they could easily have stayed in div 2 and most likely have won a flag, while IMO Craigieburn at full strength are the best side in the comp.

It's been interesting watching this division in 2014. There really is some very good players going around which I might just touch on a bit later on.

Should we just give the cup to the Burgers now? Or can Tulla make up the 3 sausage rolls? Can lakes or Westy cause an upset? Burgers will go 16&0 and have a % of 180+. Hopefully Tulla can make it a challenge. Crazyburn to get relegated. Dulic & fitax to tie for the medal. This weeks matches lakes to flog Haddy by 50. Westy v oaky is interesting. Can oaky still make the finals? If they beat Westy then Roy's (possible) they play the bottom 3 the last 3 games. Westy and Roy's both play oakers, Tulla and burgers ( both could lose all 3) oak park by 1 point just to keep it interesting. Roy's need % and they will get some this week they will beat the sharks by 65. Tulla may not be in a friendly mood after losing last week. They will smash crazy by 60

Glenroy smashed by Hillside who will be safe from relegation now. Eagles and Haddy both badly beaten and one of those two sides will get relegated. Top 4 sorted now I think.

I thought Tulla were very good today. Well structured side who make very few mistakes. No doubt they'll play West Coburg in the Grand final barring a miracle.

Surely Glenroy can't be fair dinkum? No disrespect to the effort of Hillside(great effort to stay up) but how can Glenrothes get beat by 10 goals? Absolutely disgraceful from a side who played in the big dance last year. Massive fall from grace. Haddy and crazy to fight it ou for relegation. Top 2 and 4 now set in stone

Strong rumours yesterday that big lance may be retuning to ds aitken as senior coach next year
First of all not sure lance is setting the coaching world on fire this year. Roy's gone from chocolates to boiled lollies. Second assuming lance is wanted why would he go to div 2?

Tips for this week? who cares really top 2 is sorted top 4 is sorted and rumour is no team will be relegated. Hopefully someone gets relegated because it adds to the excitement of the season. Westy to smash Haddy although Haddy need to preserve their % because their last month has been horrendous. For a club with such good juniors they have underachieved imo. Westy by 50. Oakers v Roys clash of the underachievers, both touted as potential Premiers by the experts preseason. Could be a nil all draw. OP by 1 point actually scrap that a DRAW. Crazyburn v Sharks virtually last chance saloon for the Eagles. If they lose this one then they are gonski. All depends whether the Jets boys are playing. Sharks by 20 points. Burgers v Lakes should be a tough physical battle. Burgers still aiming for 16 & 0 and they wont lose this Burgers by 30

Westy, Oak Park and West Coburg comfortably.

Huge game at DS. I can just see Pete Bugden's face when he would've seen who one of the umps was. 3 out of the last 4 weeks is pretty harsh punishment.

Agree with fj in that a loss will most likely spell an end to the Eagles and Div 1 footy, although I would hope common sense prevails are we aren't left with 9 teams again. I just don't know who will win this one. If the Eagles aren't blown off the park again, they may just jag a win.

well well Crazyburn has thrown the relegation wide open again. Even Oak Pk are still in the mix to go down but they have 3 winnable games. Haddy have 2 winnable playing Hillside and OP in the last game. imo crazy have only one winnable and that is versus OP so all teams will have the chance to stay up. I can see it going down to the last game. Lakes beating the Burgers? Just a blip for the Burgers maybe the loss they needed. Should give Lakes a bit more confidence going into finals. still think it is a 2 horse race but you never know

Congratulations to Andrew "Tank" McLean on 400 games at Westmeadows this weekend. A great achievement and should be a great day for all associated with the
Westmeadows Football Club (day coincides with 30 year celebration of clubs 1984 premiership).

Hey Rhino180, how are Ramsay and Wilson going since mid-year pick up from Rochy? The word is Rama struggled on the big grounds in the GVL. (Potentially injured?) While Wilson servicible but a bit slow.

EDFL Div 1 2014