EDFL Div 1 Discussion 2023

I hope they get the person who was tugging on hair of the Deer Park person and ban them for life.
We can’t even get a tribunal outcome published. The league will move into cover up mode first thing today and look to sweep it under the carpet as soon as possible.
Johnston has been a toothless tiger and puppet for the board, a group of out of touch back slappers completely oblivious to the current state of the competition. Change is needed, urgently!

I hope they get the person who was tugging on hair of the Deer Park person and ban them for life.

So will they get a 20-25k fine? The league set the standard.

Yes interested to hear if Phil Cleary makes a statement on this. Would hope his consistent with his views!!

Interesting as this could have gotten very messy so well done to Deer Park on not reacting in the crowd as they had big numbers.
Seriously what makes people in the crowd want to be involved? If a DP supporter approached them can assure you they would run away as fast as.

Interesting to note: no mention of the absolutely disgraceful incident in West Coburg’s match report on Facebook (with comments disabled on the post) nor a statement acknowledging the incident or apologising to player/DPFC.

Gloury’s dad normally puts out a post-match video too… might be waiting a while for that one!

Interesting to note the West Coburg FC post on the clubs Facebook page summarising the results from yesterday thanks the offender for his efforts as assistant coach during the year. Any club with good culture and a serious approach to ‘getting better’ would make no mention of the lowlife.

I thought footy was well past this stuff. Surely there could be charges considered as this is assault.

Trust the Deer Park player is ok. Heard from someone there yesterday who thought Deer Park were exceptional in how they dealt with this crap.

West Coburg were rubbish when I had a stint in the league many years ago and it looks like nothing has changed. The EDFL curse continues. It just regularly attracts this stuff.

I think many Premier Division clubs would have been very happy Deer Park won yesterday.

For all it matters, they wouldn't have had to play on the Soccer Pitch at Shore Reserve in 2024.

Let’s see what the edfl do with the “optics” of the Gloury incident. If I am not mistaken, this was a significant reason for the penalty given to the clubs earlier in the year.
Has been all over the news and social media
Same same but???

Surely someone’s in control of their account is in the sauce and forgot to log out. Horrible take from them on behalf of the club. Quite a few club officials been digging the boots into West Coburg. Not real smart
Yep - it's absurd.
Cleary has devoted his life to raising funds and awareness of issues around violence in our society - I doubt his stance differs greatly due to the actions of his son's teammate.
Hillside & St Albans were rightfully called out for their embarrassing behaviour earlier this year but rather than taking on board the lessons from that incident, some buffoon has felt victimised and served up that rubbish..

At the end of the day this is the most important thing. But after all the awareness on the coward punch that clubs and players have received, it baffles me that West Coburg people were defending the action.

To call Deer Park soft is a joke as well. Who are they kidding to think they are tough by king hitting the opposition.

I’m all for second chances, but the first step is acknowledging your wrong doing and learning from your mistakes. Seems like they think they haven’t done anything wrong. That shows you what type of club they are.
There isn't anyone I know at WCFC that is defending that disgusting act.

How will Deer Park fair in Premier? I can see them maybe 5th or 6th depending on how well they recruit. Can anyone see them beating Keilor or Strathmore?
Deer Park will definitley push for top 4. No doubt they'll be speaking to heaps from the WRFL who they've spoken to in the past that didn't want to leave their home club, but they may consider signing for Deer Park again given now they're in EDFL Premier.

Wow wee. Deer Park absoutely creamed West Coburg yesterday. Beaten comprehensively in every postillion on the field. As they say the actions of a few can cast a very long shadow and the weak gutless grub act by the self styled he man Jordan Gloury was not only embarrasing to himself but would also be embarrassing to any quality people at West Coburg. Number 2 Baravi is also a joke of a human. Runs in from behind pushing and shoving and when ball is in hand and is going to be tackled gives it off like a scared meer cat. No 10 Cleary gave his guts for West Coburg and was let down by thugs like Gloury and Baravi. Just on Gloury if West Coburg had any decency they would ban him from the club for life to set an example to anyone else who may contemplate such an act going forward. Gloury parading around post game like a wounded warrior with muscular atrophy was laughable and emabarrassing. Can someone confirm if he even had one possession for the day?. It was fortunate for him he is a gutless coward because he would have got soundly nailed toe to toe. In saying that, should I send the box set of Sons of Anarchy Marked ATT: J Gloury to the club or direct to HM Barwon Prison because in my life experience scum who behave like that in the sporting arena quite often partake in the same behavior off field and at home.

Last edited by a moderator:
There isn't anyone I know at WCFC that is defending that disgusting act.
Silence is a form of defence. Failing to acknowledge and apologise shows the true colours as does the fact they scampered away to their rooms rather than acknowledge the winners as they were presented with their medals. I mean I dare say they didn't have to be at the Post Office hotel by 6pm to celebrate their dismal performances in the reserves and seniors. Did they even gather somewhere last night as a club or did they run and hide?

Gloury isn't playing on next year so thought it was a free hit, I think.

Pretty s**t decision it was and won't do West any favours. Not great for anyone really to see that, no idea what he was thinking.
I can tell you what he was thinking. He was thinking this was his moment to become a hero. Similar to the day he decided to adopt the false persona of the tough man with the gait and sleeve tatts. Never met the bloke but he reeks of insecurity in almost every respect from what I have seen.

Yep - it's absurd.
Cleary has devoted his life to raising funds and awareness of issues around violence in our society - I doubt his stance differs greatly due to the actions of his son's teammate.
Hillside & St Albans were rightfully called out for their embarrassing behaviour earlier this year but rather than taking on board the lessons from that incident, some buffoon has felt victimised and served up that rubbish..

What are you on about?
When you are a public figure and make commentary about issues such as this, and if I remember correctly made an assertion that because a post was put out about unsociable behaviour by the HS president, that he assumed it pre meditated!!! BUT what about this incident?
He made a comment that we need to stop this kind of behaviour otherwise the “game will not survive”.
You make your bet and lie in it.

Here is to him giving out stern commentary about this in the coming days.

Interesting to note the West Coburg FC post on the clubs Facebook page summarising the results from yesterday thanks the offender for his efforts as assistant coach during the year. Any club with good culture and a serious approach to ‘getting better’ would make no mention of the lowlife.

I thought footy was well past this stuff. Surely there could be charges considered as this is assault.

Trust the Deer Park player is ok. Heard from someone there yesterday who thought Deer Park were exceptional in how they dealt with this crap.

West Coburg were rubbish when I had a stint in the league many years ago and it looks like nothing has changed. The EDFL curse continues. It just regularly attracts this stuff.
Read the post mate and it did congratulate both Deer Park and Hillside on their victories but I think they should have touched on the incident that happened. Agree probably could have refrained from mentioning the senior assistants as it does appear they condone the incident and are supportive of the actions.

EDFL Div 1 Discussion 2023