bestofbothworlds
Rookie
- May 20, 2023
- AFL Club
- Western Bulldogs
They have security because it is a pokies venue with a full gaming license
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
I was told they organised extra security for this game.They have security because it is a pokies venue with a full gaming license
And if they thought to add extra security then they should have also considered the 80-150 people apparently on the free piss from midday in a section outside near the club entrance. That’s just a recipe for disaster by 3/4 time when all this took place. I agree there is history and both sets of supporters can yell carry on etc but let the on field scuffles be sorted by the players and officials.I was told they organised extra security for this game.
This is the biggest thing that went wrong yesterday, anyone not playing or umpiring, no matter how upset you are about an on field incident can never enter the field and get involved. Being 3/4 time is no excuse. Clubs need to be held accountable for their members and supporters actions and anyone that can be identified should be punished accordingly.let the on field scuffles be sorted by the players and officials.
Hey mate, to be honest not sure any of that group went out first at 3/4 if at all. Why leave when you’re drinking and eating That’s a great little set up and can say hardly any bad words came from that section you mentioned. Pretty sure they enjoyed a hard tough physical game tbh.And if they thought to add extra security then they should have also considered the 80-150 people apparently on the free piss from midday in a section outside near the club entrance. That’s just a recipe for disaster by 3/4 time when all this took place. I agree there is history and both sets of supporters can yell carry on etc but let the on field scuffles be sorted by the players and officials.
You’re unbelievable Turbo…You need to stop with the accusations unless you actually know. Both of those who ran on from that side were from HS. Not “apparently”, definitely. I will not post their names but I know who they were and they are from HS.And one of those was from SA that tan from that side apparently.
Didn’t see any extra security at the game. The security bloke in the blue vest from the social club should be commended as he did a ripping job. One out and was prepared to stand up and be courageous.I was told they organised extra security for this game.
I am a local, non supporter of either team but what I witnessed from a Hillside supporter running onto the field at the 3 qtr siren was what instigated the whole situation.
Last year's captain of Hillside ran from their bench to get involved in the scuffle.
#16 Hillside in goal square disgusting
#28 came for the punches not the play
Not sure about canteen running out of food but I did witness a tray of pies etc being carried out...not forgetting a full bistro running inside
Close game that got called of 3/4 time....no sore losers in my eyes....good game thus far in my opinion.
good call by umpires
St Albans club managed situation very well. Again in my opinion, i felt Sharks came out wanting blood since players left to go to opposing club
Just like turbo and hillsideFor a “non supporter” you’re sure loving St Albans.
Think you’re as full of s**t as every post you’ve made here.
Unfortunately it looks like this is going to play 2nd fiddle to what happened this afternoon.
I thought when Kerbatieh went into the middle late the game started turning, but it was just a little too late.
Big wins for Moonee Valley and Westmeadows, while West Coburg keep rolling on.
And point out where I’ve written any untruths on what unfolded ranga? Let’s go!!Just like turbo and hillside
Well you did fire the first bullets stating SA supporters instigated the whole fiascoAnd point out where I’ve written any untruths on what unfolded ranga? Let’s go!!
Really, well let’s just say it was horrible scenes and I’ve never seen things like this in edfl. What happened post game was a disgrace.
The other game was kids as young as 15 being attacked by older men during a game. Grow up nuffy!!
what I can see is one person running from one direction and 50 formt he other... hmm interesting, but i did notice a dad with his 2 kids already out their kicking the footy, geez they must have ran out there fast....Sure looks like hillside bench running in/ ex captain
Meanwhile, young Coop kicked 10 for Roxy and is getting better every week. Kicked 1.6 and one out on the full last week... really should have filled his boots there, too. It has taken a bit to get him and Carroll to work into the Roxy system but it's getting better week by week. Very interested to see how we go against Tulla next week, a team we've struggled with in recent yearsI thought Stewart down back for Rupp was excellent and repelled alot of foward 50s ..deer park had an abundance inside 50s but the team plan to appear to have players flood back doesn't seem to work.for Deer park.you can't play one foward less at times .the playing of number 20 for deer park up the ground who is a gun back man backfired as rupo made most of their opportunities up foward..its early days and deer park are strong and have talent all over the field and will settle as the season evolves..west coburg look the goods at this stage
wow!! A committee member throwing punches at a player?? Is this legit?Facts
great game at StA yesterday until half way through the 3rd.
Cheap shot 100m off the ball by an ex hillside player from StA, (goal umpire report), ball went from a throw in, from the backline of HS to a shot at goal.
Next- scuffle broke out just before 3Qtr time siren, on wing (StA side), both teams heavily involved. siren sounds, 2 spectators from hillside side of ground ran over when they arrived so did officials from StA, the above mentioned spectator (cant confirm who he is, dont know him) pulled out a couple of HS players, and was then confronted and pushed by a StA offical from their bench, he then moved away quickly think he s**t himself....
Hillside then retreated and made it back the middle of the ground, by then hillside spectators made it to the middle of the ground and were confronted with stalbans players and spectators who were following hillside players (not staying on their side).
Umpires then walked off.
HS players went to their wing.
number 60 StA then charged towards the hillside spectators and was restrained by their water person and number 33 (stA). and dragged back towards their side of ground.
spectators from both side and STA players then started to push / shove and fight. seen no 2 punch a spectator.
security then showed up, and number 10 and 33 from StA were pushing their own players and spectators back toward their side. (good on them)
The entire incident that started 20m from the boundary ended up in the middle of the ground as StA kept coming at HS, even though the players had already left.
Hillside then left the ground, to which they were greeted with more hostility trying to get in their rooms, some got back in there others did not and had to retreat back on the ground, where they were met by any StA spectators.
28 from hillside was then pulled to the ground by a man with a handbag (looked cute) and was struck from behind by the StA VP multiple times to the body, then head. StA officals then dragged him away.
Back at the rooms, a couple of StA supporters then attempted to get into HS rooms.
cops were called. HS were not allowed out of rooms for 10-15 mins, and then escorted out by cops. (approx 25) great looks for a local footy game, this stuff is usually reserved for soccer!
what a fun day at the footy, great game of footy, followed by fight night.
I know it take 2 sides to fight, but it was well and truly one sided, with only 1 side wanting to fight.
believe me or not, but not a good look for all involved
A lot of great detail in there, certainly paints a clearer picture. Just need St Albans point of view now for some balanceFacts
great game at StA yesterday until half way through the 3rd.
Cheap shot 100m off the ball by an ex hillside player from StA, (goal umpire report), ball went from a throw in, from the backline of HS to a shot at goal.
Next- scuffle broke out just before 3Qtr time siren, on wing (StA side), both teams heavily involved. siren sounds, 2 spectators from hillside side of ground ran over when they arrived so did officials from StA, the above mentioned spectator (cant confirm who he is, dont know him) pulled out a couple of HS players, and was then confronted and pushed by a StA offical from their bench, he then moved away quickly think he s**t himself....
Hillside then retreated and made it back the middle of the ground, by then hillside spectators made it to the middle of the ground and were confronted with stalbans players and spectators who were following hillside players (not staying on their side).
Umpires then walked off.
HS players went to their wing.
number 60 StA then charged towards the hillside spectators and was restrained by their water person and number 33 (stA). and dragged back towards their side of ground.
spectators from both side and STA players then started to push / shove and fight. seen no 2 punch a spectator.
security then showed up, and number 10 and 33 from StA were pushing their own players and spectators back toward their side. (good on them)
The entire incident that started 20m from the boundary ended up in the middle of the ground as StA kept coming at HS, even though the players had already left.
Hillside then left the ground, to which they were greeted with more hostility trying to get in their rooms, some got back in there others did not and had to retreat back on the ground, where they were met by any StA spectators.
28 from hillside was then pulled to the ground by a man with a handbag (looked cute) and was struck from behind by the StA VP multiple times to the body, then head. StA officals then dragged him away.
Back at the rooms, a couple of StA supporters then attempted to get into HS rooms.
cops were called. HS were not allowed out of rooms for 10-15 mins, and then escorted out by cops. (approx 25) great looks for a local footy game, this stuff is usually reserved for soccer!
what a fun day at the footy, great game of footy, followed by fight night.
I know it take 2 sides to fight, but it was well and truly one sided, with only 1 side wanting to fight.
believe me or not, but not a good look for all involved
McPharlane is a gun. Good to see him in this division. Should be playing Premier (or even higher) in all honesty.Meanwhile, young Coop kicked 10 for Roxy and is getting better every week. Kicked 1.6 and one out on the full last week... really should have filled his boots there, too. It has taken a bit to get him and Carroll to work into the Roxy system but it's getting better week by week. Very interested to see how we go against Tulla next week, a team we've struggled with in recent years
On SM-N985F using BigFooty.com mobile app
McPharlane is a gun. Good to see him in this division. Should be playing Premier (or even higher) in all honesty.
Does the Edfl video all games??A lot of great detail in there, certainly paints a clearer picture. Just need St Albans point of view now for some balance
You’ve tried to lag in a few StA players, maybe someone can jump on and lag some HS players too!!
Love to see some footage or a neutral view. Can probably just call off the return fixture now and leave the cops to do more important work