EDFL Div 1 Discussion 2023

News story in yesterday's Herald-Sun reports that even before Saturday's incident, the EDFL had a "special meeting" planned for tonight (Wed 25/5/2023) to discuss bad behaviour. See the article below. Watch this space.

===================================================================

Police called to local footy match as players and spectators brawl​

Video of a wild local footy brawl has emerged as the league prepares to meet with clubs about “increased” worrying behaviour. See the incident here.

Ben Higgins and Brayden May

2 min read
May 23, 2023 - 2:50PM
Brimbank Leader

New footage has emerged of a local footy brawl in the Essendon District league on Saturday afternoon.
The Essendon District league Division 1 clash between St Albans and Hillside at Kings Park was abandoned at three-quarter-time as a result of the incident.

Before that clubs had already been summoned to a compulsory “special club meeting” on Wednesday night to discuss the “ongoing and increasing behaviour” of club representatives.

Just days after the meeting was called, the Division 1 clash between St Albans and Hillside at Kings Park was abandoned at three-quarter-time due to the violence on Saturday.

But it can be revealed, league officials wrote to clubs last week demanding their attendance at a “special club meeting” on Wednesday, May 24.

“This meeting has been called to address the ongoing and increasing behaviour of club officials, players and supporters towards umpires, opposition players and supporters,” the email said.

“This meeting is compulsory for club representatives to attend. Failure to attend will result in the club being fined a significant amount.

“Club officials required to attend 1. president 2. secretary and 3. a junior representative e.g. junior Coordinator; junior coaching coordinator or similar.”

Since the incident, Victoria Police issued a statement to Leader saying no violence would be tolerated at community sporting events.

“It doesn’t matter whether it happens on the field, on the street or in the home, any form of violence is unacceptable,” it said.

“While we appreciate that there is an edge to contact sports which can result in some natural levels of aggression between competitors, there is a line and it is completely unacceptable for anyone to be punched, kicked or violently assaulted during a sporting match.

“The community can be assured any report of an assault will be investigated thoroughly. In order for this to happen, a report needs to be made to police so that it can be investigated.”

Police were called to the scene at the weekend, breaking up the fight and escorting both parties out of the venue.

In a statement, a police spokesperson said no official complaints had been made at this stage.

“Police attended a football game in Kings Park on Saturday, 20 May,” it said.

“It is understood players from both teams and spectators were fighting at a sports ground on Gillespie Road and police arrived and separated the parties.

“There were no official complaints made to police and no one was taken into custody.”

Hillside were leading the match at the time it was called off, 9.5 (59) to 5.11 (41), and have been provisionally awarded the four points.

The EDFL is still investigating the incident and is yet to speak publicly.

Only two quarters of the game have been made available for viewing online.

Scott Greenhough DP ruckman would be close if not best in league.
Was sensational on the weekend.

Craigieburn by 24
West Coburg by 62
Moonee Valley by 22
Deer Park by 10
Roxburgh Park by 28
Rupertswood by 60

Interestingly the Podcast don't discuss the last game.

WRFL Div one crowds don’t behave like you guys , spectators hitting players, players threatening to kill people, what a rabble !
Haha. Maybe not hitting players but definitely don’t mind the odd crowd blue in that WRFL comp.
Ultimately it’s a minority of idiots just trying to be hero’s as all were cheap shots from behind. Not much courage that I could see in the vision. There were a few good people trying to calm the situation as most football people with any intelligence know you don’t go after the players and let them leave the arena without incident. It’s really people at the game for the wrong reasons who were carrying on having a crack at the HS player.

Lets start a list of the stupidity of this board
1. Inclusion of WRFL clubs
2. Handing out Premierships during Covid
3. Letting clubs become unfinancial within the competition without penalty
4. Losing Rowan Sawyers from lack of support from the board
5. No tribunal results on webpage
6. No player point tallies for each weeks games
7. Minimal penalties for salary caps breaches
8. Allowing Premier Division clubs the ability to have their U18 sides ruin the Div 1 competition
Just a small selection of points I can throw together
And the clubs put up with it .
Please join in

This is where it upsets me , the likes of Turbo, Horse Whisperer, Up the Rox just to name a few who Id suggest have a real good general interest for the competition actually couldnt care less about the overall running , decision making and future of this once great league .
Instead lets worry about the canteen or whose in the best players in Div 1 , honestly who cares once the league is found on its knees because of the way its been run into the ground over a period of years.
Dont bother questioning the decisions being made, dont bother looking at 10 years time to see if the decisions being made may affect the quality clubs , dont bother to show any real educational skills and ask " why " to all these ridiculous changes .
If you are all fair dinkum start asking your club "why " before its too late

This is where it upsets me , the likes of Turbo, Horse Whisperer, Up the Rox just to name a few who Id suggest have a real good general interest for the competition actually couldnt care less about the overall running , decision making and future of this once great league .
Instead lets worry about the canteen or whose in the best players in Div 1 , honestly who cares once the league is found on its knees because of the way its been run into the ground over a period of years.
Dont bother questioning the decisions being made, dont bother looking at 10 years time to see if the decisions being made may affect the quality clubs , dont bother to show any real educational skills and ask " why " to all these ridiculous changes .
Why ask our clubs? we have no say, they have no say, the EDFL board are puppets run by the 3 powerful clubs. End of story. the people that support a Roxy, HS and any other insignificant team aint going to change anything. period.
Just have to put up with what's going on, if you have been around the league the last 10 years you will see thats how it operates and how it will stay.

I’ve mentioned a few things before and we hear about all the abuse and we can’t sustain umpires.
Well one example is to coach a junior side you just go online and sit a course for about an hour or so. FFS so any idiot can coach now! No wonder we are seeing incidents, umpire bashing, poor crowd behaviour, etc etc

It should be a course you need to attend and a fee included. The clubs will then need to think about who they appoint. The EDFL can put out some guidelines etc etc. Coaches can learn and be educated. Covid is over so why hasn’t this been introduced.
Most abuse stems from the people in charge! Players poor behaviour can be an indication of the coach and his poor standards. Fix the mess at the bottom I say. Seen plenty of games with supporters yelling abuse like 10 metres from the coaches box. Yet some laugh and think it’s a tactic. Step up and show courage and set standards. Player mucks up remove him immediately. Even if his the captain, best player whatever. It sets poor standards.

Rant over!

Why ask our clubs? we have no say, they have no say, the EDFL board are puppets run by the 3 powerful clubs. End of story. the people that support a Roxy, HS and any other insignificant team aint going to change anything. period.
Just have to put up with what's going on, if you have been around the league the last 10 years you will see thats how it operates and how it will stay.
Could not have explained it any better myself, 100% correct.

I agree mate. It’s an absolute circus. Hopefully it changes before some clubs may move. We might even see one move this year.

Could not have explained it any better myself, 100% correct.
So 3 clubs have the say over the other 27!! Wait till next year when the newest board member becomes Chairman. It’s a done deal!
When the 2 new clubs presented to the board, one member abstained from voting as in their words “they didn’t know enough about football”!!
FFS all 30 clubs deserve what they get, so stop moaning and enjoy what you voted for.

But your club has the same amount of say as all the others. Since when can 3 clubs out vote 27 clubs . That is the exact problem with the Presidents at the clubs , they have no idea of working with each other for the betterment of the league and their own club outcomes .
If the majority of clubs dont want something to happen its a matter of them working together and getting the result they want.
Instead what they do is have their own club agenda , not take any risk , not upset someone , be complacent, be lazy and just let ridiculous decision be railroaded in by a board that is so far out of touch its just silly.
Oldone , Id suggest you have alot of time for this competition and would hate to see it go backward , that being said its time to ask your President " why " , ask why to the list I placed on here yesterday that the EDFL have bullied in , just ask " why

1. Inclusion of WRFL clubs
2. Handing out Premierships during Covid
3. Letting clubs become unfinancial within the competition without penalty
4. Losing Rowan Sawyers from lack of support from the board
5. No tribunal results on webpage
6. No player point tallies for each weeks games
7. Minimal penalties for salary caps breaches
8. Allowing Premier Division clubs the ability to have their U18 sides ruin the Div 1 competition
9. Employment of the last CEO ( that was endorsed by the EDFL Chairman ) without the correct advertising and interview process for better applicants .

10. Why ??????????????????

Been watching this chat from afar for a while and used to follow and be involved at Rupo before their move to the EDFL, I would like to ask, what are the origins of a comp having teams situated on either side of the ground? I’ve never seen it in any other league before.

Yes I agree with this. Especially as some clubs get an advantage as they put the opposing bench on the 50 or some even in the pocket on opposite end.
I’m mention this before along with why are the club runners wearing lime same as the umpires. To me they should be wearing all pink as it’s more professional. Plus I’m the juniors they will stick out if they are on the ground too much and not doing as they are supposed to.

Pretty disappointing not to be able to go on the ground on the weekend and listen to the coaches chat at 1/4 and 3/4 time. Have always enjoyed that part of sport since I was a young lad back in NZ.

Pretty fair to say the actions of a few have ruined it for all of us. The people I really feel sorry for though, are the small band of volunteers who all this will fall back on.

I don't know about anyone else, but for mine I think this is a pretty sad day for Local Australian Football in the Essendon league.

Pretty disappointing not to be able to go on the ground on the weekend and listen to the coaches chat at 1/4 and 3/4 time. Have always enjoyed that part of sport since I was a young lad back in NZ.

Pretty fair to say the actions of a few have ruined it for all of us. The people I really feel sorry for though, are the small band of volunteers who all this will fall back on.

I don't know about anyone else, but for mine I think this is a pretty sad day for Local Australian Football in the Essendon league.

This was in play well before Saturdays incident
As of last Thursday… news coming out of windy hill was that the three initiatives announced today were already approved by the board and ops team. What occurred on Saturday only solidified the above

Still doesn't make it any less disappointing.

Again, though, why isn't this on the EDFL website, twitter or FB page? The clubs doing first what should be done by the league. Could add it to the list of Potato Chops why questions.

I think you’ll fine this was only going to be for junior matches only. But last Saturday’s action made the league to decide to put it in place league wide.

Come watch the WRFL mate, you can listen to the coaches all you want 👌🏽

What punishments have been handed out to the St Albans and Hillside football clubs?
All you'll get is the sound of crickets and tumbleweeds out of the EDFL.
They should have come out first thing Monday morning and put out a statement about the weekend's incident and that it was to be under investigation. But nothing. The same silence when there were rumours about Deer Park & St Albans entering the competition. It seemed like everybody in this chat group knew except for the EDFL apparently. The place has gone downhill since Marc Turri left.

How are clubs going to get a volunteer to be a Match Day Official and who in their right mind would want to do it?
Pointless job in juniors and even more pointless in seniors. And job in the wrong hands could be like throwing kerosene onto a fire.

EDFL Div 1 Discussion 2023