West Coburg

Craigieburn
Hillside
Taylors Lakes

Avondale Heights
Tulla
Roxburg Park
Moonee Valley

I think St Albans have strengthened their senior list and if they can stay fit they could be right up there. Probably only question is around the coach’s ability to develop a few different game plans as once they are behind they have trouble getting back into games. Oak Park building nicely and recruited the best of all clubs. Big gap to the rest I reckon but maybe Craigieburn based on the recruits and they had the best crop of 18.5s from 2024 so if the kids can hold up should see them challenge for 3rd or 4th spot. Coach doing a good job and from what I heard is putting time into developing from within and not scared to play kids and enforce discipline. West Coburg are West Coburg and always in top 4 on back of some classy players like Cleary and Martini.
Taylor’s Lakes on paper look ok but depth might be a concern. Hillside always around the mark but been quiet on recruiting this year and haven’t picked up anyone of note so will rely on what they have. Still haven’t got the big key defender which is a worry as per previous seasons. Will rely on Covelli again to having a big year to get them to finals.

^^ Not sure about St Albans finishing top. They lost in a praccy match against Newport FC from the WFNL. Take from that what you will…

[emoji[emoji6]][emoji[emoji6][emoji6]]" data-quote="footy[emoji[emoji6][emoji6]][emoji6]" data-source="post: 0" class="bbCodeBlock bbCodeBlock--expandable bbCodeBlock--quote js-expandWatch">
How have MV been rolled by glenroy?

Even if missing a fair few, the gap between D and mid table D should be massive…

So many comments on teams in praccy matches… if you’re reading anything into them you’re wasting your time.

I wouldn’t have St.Albans in my top 3 but it looks like it could be a very even division this season with many chances.
Hey Grem, along with Oak Park I believe they are the only 2 sides in div1 who have strengthened their playing list.
Taylor’s obviously have also but they are stepping up. Craigieburn as well I guess.

Thoughts??

Hey Grem, along with Oak Park I believe they are the only 2 sides in div1 who have strengthened their playing list.
Taylor’s obviously have also but they are stepping up. Craigieburn as well I guess.

Thoughts??
Oak Park have brought in some Premier quality in key positions, they slight favs IMO. Could throw a blanket over them, West Coburg, Craigieburn, St Albans & Hillside. I think that’s the five in some sort of order.

He is another question. Out of these 5 clubs who is most likely to want to go up to premier or have the best structure, list and finances to go up. Basing this on youth and points as well..

Hate to say it but maybe it’s Craigieburn if they are prepared?? Remembering you need a good 16s and 18.5 system to survive, unless your cashed up like Deer Park 😂

St Albans poor juniors that don’t play div1 footy
Oak Park not great juniors either if I’m correct.
West Coburg same as above if I’m correct.
Hillside 18s ok but 16s & 14s play low division.

Who will take a risk and play premier 18.5s to try and become stronger from within?? It’s called development.. Or take the easy option and play lower standard.

He is another question. Out of these 5 clubs who is most likely to want to go up to premier or have the best structure, list and finances to go up. Basing this on youth and points as well..

Hate to say it but maybe it’s Craigieburn if they are prepared?? Remembering you need a good 16s and 18.5 system to survive, unless your cashed up like Deer Park 😂

Who will take a risk and play premier 18.5s to try and become stronger from within?? It’s called development.. Or take the easy option and play lower standard.

Only one Div 1 club playing their u/18's in Prem Division, and that is Avondale Heights! And APW have put their u/18's in Div 1.....
Good on Avondale for doing that. Think others should follow. Maybe the league needs to make some allowances for div1 or div2 clubs to play premier 18.5s. Cheaper league fees or something. Not sure but it would strengthen the league I reckon.

Are East Keilor 18.5 in premier?
What about Douttas? Are they in premier this year or taking the weak option to play lower level footy.

Heard Hadfield 18.5s in div1?

Will Coburg Districts be in div1 again??

Good on Avondale for doing that. Think others should follow. Maybe the league needs to make some allowances for div1 or div2 clubs to play premier 18.5s. Cheaper league fees or something. Not sure but it would strengthen the league I reckon.

What about Douttas? Are they in premier this year or taking the weak option to play lower level footy.

u/18 fixtures are now on the website

Perhaps there is good reason why there are so many u18 teams this year. The highest ever recorded according to my sources. The league has kept up the momentum and stuck with the time slot, also allowed the opportunity for clubs to play in lower divisions when they needed to! Qudos to all clubs especially those with two sides.
The reason why EK are playing premier was due to them playing in Div 1 in 2023. Kept the team intact etc etc.
AW have won 1 game in 2 years and a huge average loss margin.
EDS playing premier
DP in Div1 - 1st time fielding a 18s in this league and all lower age.
Good on the league I say!

Dont reckon Districts have U18s this year they have lost heaps of juniors

Similar to the 18’s coach of past at HS refused to play premier 18’s and demanded they play Div 1. wanted a flag to add the resume. It’s about development of the kids not your resume.

Perhaps there is good reason why there are so many u18 teams this year. The highest ever recorded according to my sources. The league has kept up the momentum and stuck with the time slot, also allowed the opportunity for clubs to play in lower divisions when they needed to! Qudos to all clubs especially those with two sides.
The reason why EK are playing premier was due to them playing in Div 1 in 2023. Kept the team intact etc etc.
AW have won 1 game in 2 years and a huge average loss margin.
EDS playing premier
DP in Div1 - 1st time fielding a 18s in this league and all lower age.
Good on the league I say!

Yep. I’m hearing HS may submit a 2nd 18’s side this year but not confirmed. Seniors, reserves and had 2 x 3rd’s last season not sure if they will again this year. So numbers look up.

Hearing Craigieburn smashed by StMarys also. And fielded a slightly stronger team that beat whittlesea
Strange result, considering they beat a near full strength Whittlesea. But I suppose it’s only practice matches and we can’t read much into them.
Round 1 is around the corner now and that is the only indicator of where teams are really at.

EDFL Div 1 Discussion 2025

Write your reply...