EDFL Division 1 2016

I'm interested to know how clubs are going with their recruiting and managing the points. If clubs are recruiting as many as 10 players surely this has a significant impact particularly if clubs are recruiting good players from higher divisions. In the last round of 2016 APW had a total of 40 points. The max. for 2017 is 48. Obviously clubs do turn lists over but still to get 10 new players worth on average say 3 points that's 30 points used for half a team. I would hate to be the person trying to work that out and will coaches need to play good high point players in the 2's in order to remain under the 48 points each week? Anyone on here dealing with this?
Some teams in other comps went over the limit and they just end up resting/rotating or playing in the twos if they're a couple over. You can't forget that for a year of loyalty players points go down, so getting players in is not really a huge deal. Plus they may not all play due to form, injury, availability etc.

It only really becomes a problem when you try and bring in several ex AFL/VFL players which this level doesnt really need to worry about.

Some teams in other comps went over the limit and they just end up resting/rotating or playing in the twos if they're a couple over. You can't forget that for a year of loyalty players points go down, so getting players in is not really a huge deal. Plus they may not all play due to form, injury, availability etc.

It only really becomes a problem when you try and bring in several ex AFL/VFL players which this level doesnt really need to worry about.
Agree with some of what your saying mate however 1 year of loyalty equates to a 1 point deduction. If clubs recruit within the same comp or division points are added. If players are top 5 in their club B&F points get added. Club leading goal kickers points get added. So my point is pardon the pun! New players points will be generally greater than loyal players being deducted. Don't get me wrong the points system is a good thing but just adds to the difficulty of recruiting players. Going to be great for clubs with plenty of junior depth and heaps of locals who can play

sross said:
The Gray boys have signed at Northern Saints

The Saints are delighted to welcome back the Gray Brothers back to mutton reserve, a place where their father Sean once roamed the turf menacing opposition teams.

Chris, Daniel and Matthew have all agreed to re-join the club for the 2017 season and beyond.

Chris, the elder of the boys was a former Fawkner Junior Ex Northern Saints player. Chris brings great leadership and voice and the will to win and push the club back to success. He has played a lot of footy in his time and... will look to bolster our our backline group. He will also work closely with the younger blokes at the club

Daniel Gray - "big Danny Gray", Danny was also a Fawkner Jnr and Ex North Coburg Saints , Danny joins us after playing at Hadfield this season . He is big, and bold and with a big pre- season Danny will see time in our back 6 and even pinch hit in the middle at times.

Matty Gray , former Fawkner Jnr and played at North Coburg Saints as a Jnr, played at Pascoe Vale Premier U18's. Matt has played in league rep teams , Calder cannons and won 4 best in comps, Inc U18's Premier league Best & Fairest. Matty is hard as nails with courage that's unquestioned. It is great having Matty back at the club with his brothers. Happy Birthday for today Matty. !!!

NORTH HEIDELBERG FOOTBALL CLUB SEEKS A RESERVES COACH

The North Heidelberg Football Club affiliated in Division 2 of the Northern Football League (NFL) is after a Reserves Coach.

Applicants will possess excellent communication skills & have the ability to work with our senior coaching panel & must display a clear focus on modern game styles and philosophies.

The position is open to either a playing or non-playing coach.

For an initial discussion applicants are asked to contact John McDonald on 0414 262 832 or you can email your details to football@northheidelbergsc.com.au.

What is a very good midfielder worth in Div 1 lads? $500? Winter was on a grand a game i heard last year as a gun forward and delivered peanuts. You no what u get with D. Ferraro he is a bull

Yeah but Winter was still very competitive with SM in premier 2015 so they would have needed to offer some good coin to get him over. Ferraro hasn't played higher than div1 so it's really not comparable.
Winter in div1 is surely worth around 800 as where do you find these big forwards. On the other hand did he deliver? Probably not, but the team was disappointing overall in season 2016. He can definitely play..

Yeah but Winter was still very competitive with SM in premier 2015 so they would have needed to offer some good coin to get him over. Ferraro hasn't played higher than div1 so it's really not comparable.
Winter in div1 is surely worth around 800 as where do you find these big forwards. On the other hand did he deliver? Probably not, but the team was disappointing overall in season 2016. He can definitely play..
Injuries ruined their season early , but were very competative in the second half of the year.

Winter was not on $1000. Fact
Give us the Fact then Foote... $900? $800?whatever the number he didn't deliver. Cam Cloke $1200? $1500? Did he deliver? In spades. Turbo do u watch Div 1 footy? If so is D.Ferraro a 500 mid i say 100% remember that mercenary who walked out of Westy mid year name? He was on massive coin and delivered zero. Back to my original question What is a top line mid in Div 1 worth? 5,6 800 i put it out there for you all to deliberate on

to put it in perspective, top line mids in div 1 are probably worth $1k plus. Before anyone criticizes me we are talking top line.. for example shylo smith in 2015, josh young, ryan bongetti. these types of mids are worth minimum 1k

Don't think you can afford to pay top line mids that much coin. I'd pay 600-700. Big fwds or ruckman are the only ones worth 1k but no one in divy 1 should be on more than that.

i think d Ferraro is worth $500 put him in a better side and he stands out even more. He missed all of last year came back this year and won a senior best and fairest. He's 24-25 and he's won multiple senior best and fairests and has made previous teams of the year. He is a bull and a consistent performer

EDFL Division 1 2016