EDFL Division 1

Struggled for games at finals calibre sides on Prem div, should be good enough to make an impact at the lower grade. Tulla in all sorts by the sounds of it, funny for all of the talk that half the side was leaving due to him, a decent number have left anyway, with a number following him to Lancefield (or so I'm told).

Tamer will be good value in Div 1. Bilal Allouche is a very good pick up, although I'm surprised he's left the Saints. Good young player.

I'm with those who think Douttas will start favourites. If they can retain enough players from their 3 senior squads they'll do well. Nipper Jordan will be a distinct advantage as I doubt many sides would have played on a ground that big. They will have a few 18s who will handle the step up to Div 1 well too.

If I was calling an early top 4 I'd go, EDS, Westy, Eagles and Glenroy. EK and Hillside to fight it out for relegation. Should be an absolute belter of a comp.

Struggled for games at finals calibre sides on Prem div, should be good enough to make an impact at the lower grade.
Tulla in all sorts by the sounds of it, funny for all of the talk that half the side was leaving due to him, a decent number have left anyway, with a number following him to Lancefield (or so I'm told).

It is surprising re. the Tulla situation i.e. Manning sh*t-canned and then they follow him. Can't have been all that bad.

Tamer will be great for Westmeadows - proven at that level two years ago when Northern Saints captain - came to Abers in 2014 and he was up against the likes of Grub and Cubby - sorry but he couldn't be a regular senior player unfortunately. When he was given opportunity he held his own and actually played more senior games than reserve games.

However he wasn't impressed with playing reserve footy on Grand Final day hence the move.

Whoever said Peverill to Douttas - are you serious? 100% line coach at Abers again in 2015.

Tamer will be good value in Div 1. Bilal Allouche is a very good pick up, although I'm surprised he's left the Saints. Good young player.

I'm with those who think Douttas will start favourites. If they can retain enough players from their 3 senior squads they'll do well. Nipper Jordan will be a distinct advantage as I doubt many sides would have played on a ground that big. They will have a few 18s who will handle the step up to Div 1 well too.

If I was calling an early top 4 I'd go, EDS, Westy, Eagles and Glenroy. EK and Hillside to fight it out for relegation. Should be an absolute belter of a comp.

Tamer was comp medallist only 3 years ago, will be very good. Trewin has played in 2 flags in past 3 years and kicked plenty of goals in GVFL and WRFL div 1 with Deer Park, I would think would be in the top3 goal kickers in comp in div 1 .
Pretty spot on I reckon Auckmel, I would have it at this stage:
EDS, Westy, Eagles and Roys for top 4. To be honest in think EK may struggle as the comp will red hot. Raffle the rest and wouldn't be surprised if anyone made the 4..

Tamer was comp medallist only 3 years ago, will be very good. Trewin has played in 2 flags in past 3 years and kicked plenty of goals in GVFL and WRFL div 1 with Deer Park, I would think would be in the top3 goal kickers in comp in div 1 .
EDS, Westy, Eagles and Roys for top 4. To be honest in think EK may struggle as the comp will red hot. Raffle the rest and wouldn't be surprised if anyone made the 4..
The only way Trewin will be a top 3 goal kicker if he kicks big bags against bottom sides, will go missing against the top sides

Have watched Trewin over a number of years with Tatura in the GVFL as an opposition supporter.
To be fair, he can play a bit. Will kick his share don`t worry about that.

Agree, both very good pickups.

Predictions...

Westmeadows
Doutta Stars
Craigieburn
Glenroy

Taylors Lakes
Tullamarine
Oak Park
East Keilor

Going to be a great comp with most clubs having a red-hot crack at getting good players, which will give them the ability to play finals football.

Agree, both very good pickups.

Predictions...

Westmeadows
Doutta Stars
Craigieburn
Glenroy

Taylors Lakes
Tullamarine
Oak Park
East Keilor

Going to be a great comp with most clubs having a red-hot crack at getting good players, which will give them the ability to play finals football.

Hillside to not even finish the season hey?? ;)

Struggled for games at finals calibre sides on Prem div, should be good enough to make an impact at the lower grade.
Tulla in all sorts by the sounds of it, funny for all of the talk that half the side was leaving due to him, a decent number have left anyway, with a number following him to Lancefield (or so I'm told).

Abdallah captained Northern Saints to the 2013 Div one flag and is a league best and fairest winner.

Bilal Alouch is young, pacy, tough and a great kid. Will be a solid addition

Was told today that kade Carey will sign on with westy cos of his good mates playing there
Looks like Westy have been very active so far this silly season. They can't all play at 2.00 pm so should create some good competition for spots. Their twos could be a real chance as well after playing finals this year.

Was told today that kade Carey will sign on with westy cos of his good mates playing there
westy already flag favourites i think if this is true they will be raging favs. Has it been confirmed div 1 will be a 9 team comp again with the 2 byes???The edfl's communication with clubs needs to improve i would of thought

I don't think so Carey well past his best & injury prone, Crazyburn are on the verge of signing another gun on baller from the northern league so l think they will be red hot favorites

exactly right:thumbsu:
Society as a whole seems to have a hard time with this concept.
They have to have ability to be in the best 21 and if they're not they suck it up and play 2's or they leave... Pretty simple really... Life doesn't award you with a job just because you applied for one!
Aah the old "everyone gets a trophy" era, short term mums and dads love it, long term it everyone's else's fault when little Johnny don't quite shape up

I don't think so Carey well past his best & injury prone, Crazyburn are on the verge of signing another gun on baller from the northern league so l think they will be red hot favorites
Not so sure about that they coming from nearly being relegated but do agree the QUALITY of the eagles recruits so far are better than anyones to date, would be top 4 tho. Any sides with several new players will take a while to gel also it never just clicks straight away. Is there a name to this gun?

N
Not so sure about that they coming from nearly being relegated but do agree the QUALITY of the eagles recruits so far are better than anyones to date, would be top 4 tho. Any sides with several new players will take a while to gel also it never just clicks straight away. Is there a name to this gun?
although they finished second last not sure craigieburn were that far away. They were within 10 points late in last quarter in many games including games against the premiers, westy that both finished top 4, the cloke brothers alone would have changed the results of those matches I would have thought.

N
although they finished second last not sure craigieburn were that far away. They were within 10 points late in last quarter in many games including games against the premiers, westy that both finished top 4, the cloke brothers alone would have changed the results of those matches I would have thought.

True, don't think it works like that though. Round 2 Westmeadows won by over 20 goals, don't think the Clokes would have done much that day ?

I don't believe Carey will be at Westmeadows. Don't think they have even spoken to him, hasn't played for a while. I heard EDS may be linked with him.

Hare from Tullamarine may have committed to Oak Park is the word on the street ?

Ramsey is staying at wm and will be there next coach when swan heads there

what dribble.. From what I have heard Ramsey was keen to stay but asked for double what he was on this year and was told no from WM. Therefore have parted ways.
I watched 3 or 4 games late in the year and he looked very slow, not sure if he will add that much value to EDS. Its a young mans game now. Interesting that his best mate Wilson has re signed with WM though ?
When was the last time Kade Carey played ?

what dribble.. From what I have heard Ramsey was keen to stay but asked for double what he was on this year and was told no from WM. Therefore have parted ways.
I watched 3 or 4 games late in the year and he looked very slow, not sure if he will add that much value to EDS. Its a young mans game now. Interesting that his best mate Wilson has re signed with WM though ?
When was the last time Kade Carey played ?

Kade managed a handful of games for Hoppers Crossing in 2013 before succumbing to an ongoing Achilles issue, Which has since been rectified. one of the best local footballers of the last ten years. Even at 32-33 will be a handful.

Ramsey played second half of the year at Westmeadows with a torn miniscus. Went under the knife at seasons end. Although he may have dropped some pace in his later years. There's no doubting he knows how to find and distribute the footy in close. Great stoppage player. An A grade comp medalist. Still plenty to offer provided his body holds up.

I agree it's a young mans game, the speed of ball Movement has increased dramatically. However experience and smarts is something that only comes with time. There's no use running a 9 minute 3km if you can't find the red leather thing.

EDFL Division 1