• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

EDFL Division 1

Any news on where Mitchell day from eds is at with his footy? Have seen first hand how good of a player he is. Probably the best junior player I've seen when he was at jacana/eds but hasn't been a weekly starter in the ones the last few seasons. Injuries? Work commitments? Maybe not as keen as he once was
Would love to hear where he's at. A lot of potential

Any news on where Mitchell day from eds is at with his footy? Have seen first hand how good of a player he is. Probably the best junior player I've seen when he was at jacana/eds but hasn't been a weekly starter in the ones the last few seasons. Injuries? Work commitments? Maybe not as keen as he once was
Would love to hear where he's at. A lot of potential

Mate he played at Lara last year and now off to Geelong Ammos. Not sure how's his been going though..

Big signing for Hillside-Premier Divisions 3rd highest goalkicker Matt Stocco
Just recently walked out on the VFL with Williamstown

Poor Northern. Looks like they're getting decimated, but a great pick up for Hillside and that puts them right up in the finals mix.

That's massive news along withe clokes at C'Burn. stocco and Ferraro massive combination in this division

Really going to tighten up the race for finals. If Hillside can get enough games in for the gun youngsters they have, then anything can happen.

Should be some fantastic games coming up this year.

All these guys along with Trewin at Westmeadows who has been a goal kicker in GVFL over the last 5-6 years , this should also take the pressure of Roden Aldrige too who has been their main target for years.

There are some great forwards in this division now.

Yeah good get by the Sharks. Believe he couldn't commit to the 4 nights training at Willy at this point of his life. Left on good terms and might have another crack at per season next year. From all reports is pretty fit and raring to go and should like the bigger Hillside ground.

Ross Weightman from West Coburg has also gone back to Hillside. His getting on in age but his experience could be invaluable. Once again another player who is very fit and versatile.

Shannon Ball ex Shark junior who played at the western jets about 4 years ago has returned to footy. Big strong kid who if committed will be a massive get. Plays ruck and if at his best could play a major role..

Looks like they are going under the radar..

All these guys along with Trewin at Westmeadows who has been a goal kicker in GVFL over the last 5-6 years , this should also take the pressure of Roden Aldrige too who has been their main target for years.

There are some great forwards in this division now.

Trewin on $1200 a game didn't get a kick at Deer Park in 2013(why do you think he only lasted 1 season?). 2014 went to Avondale and played 2's, left half way through the year back to Tatura where he played 2's. So he hasn't got a kick or hasn't been good enough to get a game in the 1's for 2 years! Good luck Westy if you're relying on him!
EDS, Crazyburn,T.Lakes and Hillside(now with Stocco who can play) to be there at the pointy end.

Trewin on $1200 a game didn't get a kick at Deer Park in 2013(why do you think he only lasted 1 season?). 2014 went to Avondale and played 2's, left half way through the year back to Tatura where he played 2's. So he hasn't got a kick or hasn't been good enough to get a game in the 1's for 2 years! Good luck Westy if you're relying on him!
EDS, Crazyburn,T.Lakes and Hillside(now with Stocco who can play) to be there at the pointy end.

2013 - played every game in the seniors at Deer Park & kicked about 55 goals in a premiership season

2014 - played the first half dozen in seniors at heights and was second fiddle to Rose and Galea. Went back to Tat and onlyy played 1 or 2 games before having second half of year off.

So you are a fair way off the mark

2013 - played every game in the seniors at Deer Park & kicked about 55 goals in a premiership season

2014 - played the first half dozen in seniors at heights and was second fiddle to Rose and Galea. Went back to Tat and onlyy played 1 or 2 games before having second half of year off.

So you are a fair way off the mark

Cat, I have nothing against the bloke but you need to look further than stats

2013 - You will find he kicked majority of his goals against the bottom teams, when DP would bully them as they simply could compete against the money machine. If you want an honest assessment of that year ask the coach of DP, I have and at best it was serviceable(he was not going the bag 1 of his premiership players but the proof is in how quickly DP cleared him!
2014 - He would've been lucky to have played 3 x senior games at AHFC

I hope he plays well and I'd like to see Westy up there in the finals as they have a huge following and it's been too long since they've really competed. But it annoys me when players are made out to be something they're not and that needs to be pulled up

From memory Stocco kicked around 70goals and Ferraro around 40goals in premier division last year ( but I stand to be corrected) so could be a handful in this division.. Also understand they demand "fair" match payments so it's great for both parties..
The question will be the delivery from the mids.. I'm not sure they have the quality of mids but who knows..

All clubs will need to tag Shylo Smith from Douttas otherwise he will provide their forwards with plenty of good delivery..

I also see that Jack Barnes has gone to Douttas. Interested to see how Jack goes as been disappointing at Pacco and previously at Keilor... The kid looks a million dollars but lacks that grunt needed to survive in local footy when you play ruck/key position.
This recruiting has interested me as Kite, Barnes, Prado all lack that physical presence so they better hope Kade survives the year and gets up for finals as they could fall down at the last hurdle.. The 3 mentioned above have not done much in big games in the past, so can they preform on the big stage if they get there??

Yeah good get by the Sharks. Believe he couldn't commit to the 4 nights training at Willy at this point of his life. Left on good terms and might have another crack at per season next year. From all reports is pretty fit and raring to go and should like the bigger Hillside ground.

Ross Weightman from West Coburg has also gone back to Hillside. His getting on in age but his experience could be invaluable. Once again another player who is very fit and versatile.

Shannon Ball ex Shark junior who played at the western jets about 4 years ago has returned to footy. Big strong kid who if committed will be a massive get. Plays ruck and if at his best could play a major role..

Looks like they are going under the radar..

Great pick up for Hillside.
I don't understand why a bloke who is training at VFL level but then pulls out through time constraints, which is perfectly understandable, would not go and play at the next best level ie. A Grade/Premier Division. Especially if the quote above is true and the door has been left open for him to join pre season again next year.
No idea about what he is getting at Hillside but reckon there would be a few A Grade clubs who could have matched Hillside's offer if money is a factor.
I maybe off the mark in this case but in general there is a huge amount of big fish, small pond type of footballers floating around these days.

From memory Stocco kicked around 70goals and Ferraro around 40goals in premier division last year ( but I stand to be corrected) so could be a handful in this division.. Also understand they demand "fair" match payments so it's great for both parties..
The question will be the delivery from the mids.. I'm not sure they have the quality of mids but who knows..

All clubs will need to tag Shylo Smith from Douttas otherwise he will provide their forwards with plenty of good delivery..

I also see that Jack Barnes has gone to Douttas. Interested to see how Jack goes as been disappointing at Pacco and previously at Keilor... The kid looks a million dollars but lacks that grunt needed to survive in local footy when you play ruck/key position.
This recruiting has interested me as Kite, Barnes, Prado all lack that physical presence so they better hope Kade survives the year and gets up for finals as they could fall down at the last hurdle.. The 3 mentioned above have not done much in big games in the past, so can they preform on the big stage if they get there??
Prado has done the same thing to Douttas as he did at AVONDALE. Walked out already!
Hillside quickly becoming one of the stronger teams and finished 5th last season I think so not coming from far back

Prado has done the same thing to Douttas as he did at AVONDALE. Walked out already!
Hillside quickly becoming one of the stronger teams and finished 5th last season I think so not coming from far back

Hillside finished 7th with 5 wins. 4 games + % outside the 4 so still some ground to make up.

Having 2 good Fwds will help but can't see there good 18s playing much as they will be too age this year at jets. So that will hurt. And they don't have a lot of depth to cover them

I already felt hillside was a big smoky this year, this get imo puts them up with the favourites, u could nearly pencil in 100 goals between stocco an ferraro. Competition just getting stronger and stronger

Fabio Dilizia staying there?

There could be goals flying in this season
What a group of forwards!
C.Cloke
J.Cloke
K.Carey
A.Kyte
M.Stocco
R.Ferraro
F.Dilizia
C.Trewin
R.Aldrige

Could be some serious shootouts between EDS C'BURN WESTY and HILLSIDE. Some massive scores against weaker sides unfortunately

There could be goals flying in this season
What a group of forwards!
C.Cloke
J.Cloke
K.Carey
A.Kyte
M.Stocco
R.Ferraro
F.Dilizia
C.Trewin
R.Aldrige

Could be some serious shootouts between EDS C'BURN WESTY and HILLSIDE. Some massive scores against weaker sides unfortunately

I can't see how Aldridge has made this list, seeing as he only kicked 17 goals last year.

Do not know why douttas would recruit him in the first place, the lad refuses to play ruck despite being an obvious ruckman. Loose cannon. Douttas better off without him

EDFL Division 1