EDFL Division 2 2017

The bravest players put their head over the ball each time and never give up. These are the ones you need to have a good club. These are the types that make great captains and can inspire others to go with them on the journey. These are what you call tough players. Think some people/clubs get carried away with thinking otherwise..

Last season at roxburghpark the so called leader of the club, belittled people who he felt was below him, went for the easy pick of the bunch to get a laugh out of his mates in front of large groups and made people feel like shit.

Don't disagree but in a margin so close in a game so big certain moments and brain faids that cost scores against. They are things that can be helped. You will take skill error in high stake games but he lost the plot and the cup at the same time.
If capuano hadnt of hit the post in the dying stages things could have been very different!

I reckon ,
Pressure & expectaion , can bring out the best & worst in people .
unfortunately for us , not many in the situation of 'the big stage' , could produce their best. To blame individuals is pretty weak.
The whole snr group & coaching staff take the blame for our failure that day , something we'll have to live with forever now.
So now in this situation , individuals have to make a choice.
The ideal voice is ;
Stand up , accept the responsibility of past failures & prepare better than ever for 2017, leave no stone unturned & give it everything I have from day 1 , to right a wrong!

Now looking at those moving on I'd say 2-3 won't play at all , 2 will miss a season through injury & remainder had committed from the moment pre season kicked off.
The problem is 10-15 others didn't.
Excuses & more excuses from a group of 'contracted' snr players , (whose priority isn't football ,
not everyone loves it) , held the club to ransom in some way (spending/recruiting etc) & forced the hand of the committed , desperate blokes = to move on. Their dream depends on another 21 blokes having the same dream & unfortunately saying it isn't enough , you have to show it.

So to bag some of these blokes leaving is completely wrong , the problems at Roxy seems to be more about some of the ones staying.
Possibly a couple of steps back , & some hard calls on some players , to again move fwd - may be necessary.
But I still believe list is strong enough to play finals , but gona take a big effort now , to get to a point where it's deserved.

These types of players cost big $$ too. worth it for sure , but if you don't have it.....

I know for a fact that the boys that are staying that have been "heavily" chased are the ones that want nothing but success for the club.
With the recruits we've brought in, and the couple that Trav the new coach has bought over, as well as the depth of the club 19's, the club is still as strong as ever.
Still wouldn't right us off.

As far as some of the blokes leaving, a few didn't even return calls or talk to the club about there decisions...

Its happened to us once before where there was a massive walkout of players it hurts like hell but we will rebuild, there's to many good people at the club to let this kill us it might take a few years but the club is always bigger then the individual

Far out lots of talk about Roxy on here.
Couple of questions:
1- Why wasn't McGill the captain of Roxy? Surely he "was" one to take them fwd I would have thought..Always liked him as a person and player.

2- Is #23 leaving for Glenroy? If so what I've seen of him I think his more suited to div3 footy and will struggle at the higher level.

Thoughts???

Couple of questions:
1- Why wasn't McGill the captain of Roxy? Surely he "was" one to take them fwd I would have thought..Always liked him as a person and player.

2- Is #23 leaving for Glenroy? If so what I've seen of him I think his more suited to div3 footy and will struggle at the higher level.

Thoughts???
McGill is one of the better defenders in the comp. And from the out side looks to be the heart of Roxy. They prob had a few players to choose from to take over captaincy. Only the inside people would know how it come to that the last captain was selected. But agree with your point turbo. Is that the reason his clearnece has been knocked back twice already interesting.

Couple of questions:

Thoughts???
The real question is how are the roxburgh park executive so gullible

Sorry someone hacked my phone

McGill is one of the better defenders in the comp. And from the out side looks to be the heart of Roxy. They prob had a few players to choose from to take over captaincy. Only the inside people would know how it come to that the last captain was selected. But agree with your point turbo. Is that the reason his clearnece has been knocked back twice already interesting.

Yes mate agree, and for him to want to leave things must have got bad down there. A guy like him deserves some respect and they should clear him. His done all he could and probably wants a fresh start and to focus just on his footy. Agree his a good defender and more than capable of playing a higher grade if he so chooses. Gives his all and courageous.

His dad was president down there a few years back and did his best to turn the place around but some people didn't want to follow his lead and move forward..

On a positive they have appointed a good coach in Trav to steer them although the last coach also seemed pretty good to from the outside..

Yes mate agree, and for him to want to leave things must have got bad down there. A guy like him deserves some respect and they should clear him. His done all he could and probably wants a fresh start and to focus just on his footy. Agree his a good defender and more than capable of playing a higher grade if he so chooses. Gives his all and courageous.

His dad was president down there a few years back and did his best to turn the place around but some people didn't want to follow his lead and move forward..

On a positive they have appointed a good coach in Trav to steer them although the last coach also seemed pretty good to from the outside..
Well you'd expect Ricky to return calls to the president and player advocate down there then wouldn't you? WRONG.

He has every right to leave, the club allowed the captain and his mates to stab the coaching staff in the back, they have now lost the only good coach they have had at the club as well as some great players like dimech/blackley/dimeski and have not replaced them

W
I know for a fact that the boys that are staying that have been "heavily" chased are the ones that want nothing but success for the club.
With the recruits we've brought in, and the couple that Trav the new coach has bought over, as well as the depth of the club 19's, the club is still as strong as ever.
Still wouldn't right us off.

As far as some of the blokes leaving, a few didn't even return calls or talk to the club about there decisions...
who has Trav bought with him? From kilmore?

EDFL Division 2 2017