• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

EDFL Division 2

Could be a big crowd down at Keilor Park for the 5pm twilight match vs Roxburgh Park this Sat.. Will be a close game. Don't think these 2 teams get along all that well, so will be a very physical first 5 mins I'm guessing..

Went and watched Roxburgh park vs Wyndham vale the other week, Roxburgh park getting up by 4 goals against a very big and strong side who are one of the flag favourites in div 2 WRFL(Roxy had 7 walk up starts that didn't play). Roxy looked very quick and skillful, players impressed me were(sorry don't know names) 24 big full forward, 17 big mobile forward and number 26 big bodied midfielder, if this is the standard of football in edfl div 3 I might have to make an effort and watch a few games.

Popped in to Keilor Park about 15mins into the first and stayed till half time. Game was pretty close but KP giving away a free kick and 50mt penalty just before half time cost a goal in a tight contest as the ball was in the KP forward 20. I do see that Roxy ran away with it after half time.
Disapointing start for KP but Roxy Park side was taller than KP and definityly had a bearing on the result. I'm sure Roxy will be top 3.

Couple of points why I don't enjoy div2:
-Umpiring in this division is very poor. They lack fitness and can't keep up. But it's div2 I suppose and at least there is umpires..
- Roxy had a shot for goal on the half time siren and all the Roxy coaching staff and interchange players entered the ground and got very close to the players. This is not allowed in any footy I know. Could almost have lost there score if you go by the rules.
-some cheap shots still being handed out from the weak hearted. Mostly elbows that don't seem to be penalised as the umpiring is poor.
-people in the crowd still want to get very close to scuffles near the boundary and then carry on. I was very close and nothing happened but a bit of wrestling with no one getting hurt. "But" the crowd do seem to make there way over.. The mentality of some people never amazes me.. It only takes one idiot and it's on..

Other that that It was a big crowd there and plenty of support from both sides... A lot of Roxy supporters there for an away game...

Anyone know who Jacana's best players were on Saturday? not listed in the results. Wondering how Morrison and a few others went
From what I saw Morrison maybe have been kept to two goals with Nasra and mckercher keeping him quiet, beau was handy and just a few other players were ok....

Maybe , just maybe , Roxy played very well..
Hard to believe for some on here , that last seasons grand finalist might actually be pretty good..

Roxy have a good balance of talls, mids & smalls. The talls look to be reasonably fit, not overweight.

Looks like Roxy & Hadfield should be in the top end of year but who is going to fill the other 2 spots?
I see Keilor Park were competitive for most of the game against Haddy. Might be a case of their new players fitting in and getting used to the game style or they lack a bit of fitness??

So two games in what do you all think the top four will be on seeing scores over the past two games mine is
Roxy
HF
MV
Coburg
All the hype on coburg over the summer is just hype. From seeing them play they are to slow for sides like roxy and MV who like to run the ball.

Coburg V roxy game what happen out there was the wind blowing like hell or did coburg play very bad

I think you'll find that ES also had their better recruits missing on the weekend against MV also. I think they will be a strong side to beat come seasons end.

Anyone slightly disappointed in Jacana's start to the year? Thought they'd win by significantly more against the Bears on the weekend following a 100 point defeat.

Hadfield clear stand outs IMO, seen parts of the Roxy v Coburg game, and i dont think Roxy were that impressive but Coburg were horrible. For a side with such an experience coach they lacked total structure and didn't have any way of moving the ball into there forward line. They have couple of big talls that look like they can play a bit, but the ball was simply not getting to them.

Hate to see Roxy on a good day then...

I think you'll find that ES also had their better recruits missing on the weekend against MV also. I think they will be a strong side to beat come seasons end.

Anyone slightly disappointed in Jacana's start to the year? Thought they'd win by significantly more against the Bears on the weekend following a 100 point defeat.
Jacana have moved forward off the field but on the field the go forward a few steps one year and back a few more the the next they need to get the even blance of players that will okay both 1s and 2s they also need to get the 18s stronger only cos there is there depth in years to come the same could be said for burnside and east sunbury and moonee valley another side that has gone backwards in recent years.

Heard jye Collins from jacana is set to leave jacana and take his talents elsewhere, heard a few country teams and div 1 clubs are interested in him

Watching ch7 news and Burnside vs Haddy u18s all in brawl as player knocked out. Police called to game and kid going into ambulance.
Ah things never change..

I wasn't there but interested to see if the league shows some ticker, and suspends the whole club who initiated the trouble. Give players open clearances for this season. All incidents are due to club culture, they are not 1 off if everyone gets involved..

Watching ch7 news and Burnside vs Haddy u18s all in brawl as player knocked out. Police called to game and kid going into ambulance.
Ah things never change..

I wasn't there but interested to see if the league shows some ticker, and suspends the whole club who initiated the trouble. Give players open clearances for this season. All incidents are due to club culture, they are not 1 off if everyone gets involved..
Saw burnside Heights u/18s play last week, few very dirty players, one bloke ran from 70 meters away to knee a bloke in the head and then king hit him when he wasn't looking.

G'day mate,
I've wrote a post on the premier thread but this league is being tarnished by some weak individuals and clubs with bad cultures. It's the second incident to hit the news lately.

Yes punish the individuals but what are the coaches, support staff and club leaders doing about this stuff. Probably bugger all and some clowns still encourage it. I've coached juniors and you do see all things if you are in control.

Some clubs are to scared to lose players and don't have the strength to act..

Some clubs should be suspended for a length of time if you ask me. I read the record last week in where the league as told clubs they won't put up with it so let's see if they do anything..

In the end reality is, some clubs are in div3 for a reason. There is still a lot of gutless acts in this division from 18s up. Yes it's trying to get better and "some" clubs are working hard, but they often do not have the strong club leaders, on or off field, to make a stand against people who are only interested in starting trouble..

I recall watching a game of premier a few years back of Marby v Craigieburn and a small number of supporters where abusing some ex afl players with foul language and when the ball went out of bounds the captain of Marby, Heath Ayres walked over to them and told them to pull their heads in as it was bad for their club. They shut up after that, and I was close and thought wow this Ayres guy is a bloody ripper and not only loves his club but footy in general. That's a leader!!

MV v roxy I went down and saw a little bit of that game and all I can say is that MV are playing a very style of footy and the also have a few handy players there in there 1s there 2s and18s went well also

I called into Ormond Park Saturday just prior to quarter time , seen MV v Roxy high standard game played in excellent spirit , a credit to both clubs involved, with the valley hitting the lead with 5 minutes to go.

EDFL Division 2