EDFL moves Part 2

I hear what you are saying but if your theory is true, Aberfeldie did nothing but talk themselves up on here last year and got beaten twice by both Douttas and Oak Park. If they hadn't stole a couple of early games they were in real trouble.
Again Abers are talking it up, so can we expect another dismal preformance?????

Dismal is not the right word. Abers beat 3 of the top 4 including Keilor & two wins against Strathmore.

But yes abers need to be beating the teams below them if they are to improve. No doubt losing twice to douttas, craigeburn & once to oak park is unacceptable. Had we won even half those we were in for a shot at the top 4.

Abers people have a tendency to exaggerate their stocks but i think last year was the first time we had enough talent to challenge the top 4, demonstrated by our wins against teams above us. However, inconsistency & lack of ability to kill off games is the difference between us and the teams above.

Adding midfield depth & quality in van reit, huff, fitzpatrick & matt lucas will improve our chances of breaking the top 4.

But agree time for abers to deliver on field.

I think you will find Bricksta or anyone else from Doutta may not be forth coming with signings as there aren't any there.

This time last year they were very quiet on here which may have been seen as them wanting to keep perspective players away from richer clubs but when Round 1 came, there were no real signings. Come round 1 2009, they might struggle again.

Doutta, Glenroy, West Coburg and to a lesser extent Avondale all seem to be quiet on the recruiting front and that is why they will probably fill the bottom positions. Not really the clubs' fault at times as $$$$ can be hide to find at the moment.

As with 2008, there might be alot of interest and closeness in the relegation battle in 2009........

Why does everyone want to know about Doutta Stars?

they obviously dont have the money other clubs do so they will miss out on the big name players like Contessa and Hollow.

They will just get blokes who want to play footy and not blokes who are interested in taking money from clubs for one year then leaving the next to get more.

Why does everyone want to know about Doutta Stars?

they obviously dont have the money other clubs do so they will miss out on the big name players like Contessa and Hollow.

They will just get blokes who want to play footy and not blokes who are interested in taking money from clubs for one year then leaving the next to get more.

I dont think there would be much of a difference in the cash available to doutta's to lets say keilor! might sound ridiculous but wouldnt be far off the mark at all. From the players that have left, i can confirm that doutta's have made very little contact if NO contact what so ever with any of them. Very dissapointing really the few i spoke to are great blokes and can play the game i just dont think they have tried hard enough to secure the ppl that have left. If the club are going down the track of youth i support that but at this level its going to be very hard to stay competitive.

I doubt what you are saying very much, have spoken to the blokes who do all the hard work down at Douttas in reagrds to recruiting and i believe that they spoke to all the players who have left..
if you think otherwise then speak to the bloke who is doing it and he will tell you, had a long chat with him yesterday...

I doubt what you are saying very much, have spoken to the blokes who do all the hard work down at Douttas in reagrds to recruiting and i believe that they spoke to all the players who have left..
if you think otherwise then speak to the bloke who is doing it and he will tell you, had a long chat with him yesterday...

I hope your right DA BEAR... either ive been told fibs or doutta's have done there best to keep what they have.

I doubt that a club could attract a coach like Mic McGuane without paying him big money. Let's not kid ourselves, Keilor spend as much as Greenvale.

From the players that have left, i can confirm that doutta's have made very little contact if NO contact what so ever with any of them. Very dissapointing really the few i spoke to are great blokes and can play the game i just dont think they have tried hard enough to secure the ppl that have left.

I'm not really understanding what your saying, if someone has left a club they have left so why would you make contact?????? GONE SEEYA.
Great blokes and can play the game GREAT but they left.
You sound like a disgruntle ex doutta star, TRUE???

Well done to 2008 Aberfeldie player Carl Peterson on getting rookie listed by Hawthorn...he was the most talented local footy player I've ever seen, just ask Strathmore wingman Nick Gowland. Only played 3-4 games but he was a major reason why we beat Keilor and Strathmore...awesome!

Presumably all you people posting here have access to Club financial reports- post the player payment figures here and we can see who pays what.

Well done to 2008 Aberfeldie player Carl Peterson on getting rookie listed by Hawthorn...he was the most talented local footy player I've ever seen, just ask Strathmore wingman Nick Gowland. Only played 3-4 games but he was a major reason why we beat Keilor and Strathmore...awesome!

I would hardly call him a 2008 Abers player? He signed on big money and played 3 or 4 games and didn't turn up for 1 game? I ask you this then if going on talent- If Abers had 21 Carl Peterson's playing in 2009, would that result in an Abers Premiership? My answer is definitely no. Anyone care to try and refute that? Talented- yes. What it takes-????

i would hardly call him a 2008 abers player? He signed on big money and played 3 or 4 games and didn't turn up for 1 game? I ask you this then if going on talent- if abers had 21 carl peterson's playing in 2009, would that result in an abers premiership? My answer is definitely no. Anyone care to try and refute that? Talented- yes. What it takes-????
you are a flog
that is all

I'm not really understanding what your saying, if someone has left a club they have left so why would you make contact?????? GONE SEEYA.
Great blokes and can play the game GREAT but they left.
You sound like a disgruntle ex doutta star, TRUE???

Incorrect i am a doutta's man through and through this is why i ask the question. I think its a fair question to be asked considering the talent we have lost over the last few years..... something is not right! If you dont ask questions u never get answers.

I would hardly call him a 2008 Abers player? He signed on big money and played 3 or 4 games and didn't turn up for 1 game? I ask you this then if going on talent- If Abers had 21 Carl Peterson's playing in 2009, would that result in an Abers Premiership? My answer is definitely no. Anyone care to try and refute that? Talented- yes. What it takes-????

You are a fool, he just got drafted to the best team in the land so I'd say he's a pretty damn good player. And yes I'd call him a former Abers player considering he wore a number 9 Aberfeldie jumper and played on the wing in 4 games, 3 of which we won!

You are pathetic racist loser who is too gutless to say things in person.

Depends how much money his old man coughs up to ensure his son gets a game then he will spit the dummy/

what is meant by this daringclass? if this isnt a ridiculous and immature personal attack on a bloke then there must be some substance to it? please add to it???.....

Incorrect i am a doutta's man through and through this is why i ask the question. I think its a fair question to be asked considering the talent we have lost over the last few years..... something is not right! If you dont ask questions u never get answers.

if your douttas through & through you should know the answers.
every club has lost talent over the years and this will go on for as long as big bucks are paid. HARD TO KEEP.

if your douttas through & through you should know the answers.
every club has lost talent over the years and this will go on for as long as big bucks are paid. HARD TO KEEP.

It's funny to see the A Grade clubs complaining about losing talent to the $$$. It's the law of the jungle boys. I wouldn't be sooking too much. You have been doing it to B Grade clubs for years.......Kharma

who's sooking bender, its a money game.

Billy....sooking may be a little harsh. But from reading a few of your previous posts you seem somewhat despondent about the fact you have retention issues and that players who you relied on are leaving for better offers.

My post is more a tongue in cheek swipe at the A Grade clubs who covert talented B Grade players and poach them on the basis of higher player payments and a better standard. All factual. No argument there.

It just appears from the context of some of the resent posts you are now dejected that other A Grade clubs are now circling your club picking at the last piece of meaty flesh....

Merry Christmas all...........

Big Signing also at Keilor with Ex Richmond player Brent Hartigan to join them in 09, should be massive for the club.

have also heard that pascoe vale have recruited well this year, can anyone shed any light on this?

hartigan the mount alexander road king!! looking for him on a saturday night u will find him there lol...on pacco i saw on another sight they have picked up ash flavel, fida ahmed, sam young, disipio? and sipthorpe? and corey bakker is basically a new player with missing last season

Been a little while between drinks so here is my latest look at how sides are travelling so far and where teams will end up:-

Greenvale:- have lost a few but will gain some and are in heavy talks with some VFL types. Will bounce back. Actually doing a pre-xmas training component which they haven't done in years.
Keilor:- Will excel on their last season under Mighty Mick and be more of a push for top spot throughout the H and A season.
Marby Park:- Good recruits with more to come. Reasons for being at the club are the biggest ones for not getting any higher and the top 2 will be a few games clear of 3rd.
Strathmore:- change of an era but will grab a few more recruits post xmas and be thereabouts with Marby.

Avondale Heights:- Have stepped up the recruiting and while lost quite a few prominent players have signed some more than handy replacements. Won't mix it with the top 4 but will go ok.
West Coburg:- lost a few and pretty quiet on the recruiting front so will drop a few rungs but bigger bodies will scare/intimidate younger teams like Abers, Doutta's and Glenroy.
Craigieburn:- Have got a few but really need some luck with getting a big name or two to boost entusiasm. Have lost a couple and will be no real threat for top 4.
Doutta Stars:- tankard gone now along with a few others and will really struggle to mix it.
Aberfeldie:- Have signed some new recruits and much needed onballers at that but losing their height/strength in Maplestone, Cartwright, Shepherd-latest big news around town. Will be hard to replace!
Glenroy:- Not getting many new names/leads and will be a long year. B grade in 2010

Been a little while between drinks so here is my latest look at how sides are travelling so far and where teams will end up:-

Greenvale:- have lost a few but will gain some and are in heavy talks with some VFL types. Will bounce back. Actually doing a pre-xmas training component which they haven't done in years.
Keilor:- Will excel on their last season under Mighty Mick and be more of a push for top spot throughout the H and A season.
Marby Park:- Good recruits with more to come. Reasons for being at the club are the biggest ones for not getting any higher and the top 2 will be a few games clear of 3rd.
Strathmore:- change of an era but will grab a few more recruits post xmas and be thereabouts with Marby.

Avondale Heights:- Have stepped up the recruiting and while lost quite a few prominent players have signed some more than handy replacements. Won't mix it with the top 4 but will go ok.
West Coburg:- lost a few and pretty quiet on the recruiting front so will drop a few rungs but bigger bodies will scare/intimidate younger teams like Abers, Doutta's and Glenroy.
Craigieburn:- Have got a few but really need some luck with getting a big name or two to boost entusiasm. Have lost a couple and will be no real threat for top 4.
Doutta Stars:- tankard gone now along with a few others and will really struggle to mix it.
Aberfeldie:- Have signed some new recruits and much needed onballers at that but losing their height/strength in Maplestone, Cartwright, Shepherd-latest big news around town. Will be hard to replace!
Glenroy:- Not getting many new names/leads and will be a long year. B grade in 2010

You seem to think Doutta have lost a few can you tell us who they have lost????

hartigan the mount alexander road king!! looking for him on a saturday night u will find him there lol...on pacco i saw on another sight they have picked up ash flavel, fida ahmed, sam young, disipio? and sipthorpe? and corey bakker is basically a new player with missing last season

Heard that he is very undiscipled at times and can be a handfull, but very good player and pick up for Keilor.

He wore a number 9 Aberfeldie jumper and played on the wing in 4 games, 3 of which we won!

No doubt he is going to a club with great tradition, but according to your club's presentation night booklet (I attended as a guest) Peterson actually played 6 games and kicked 5 goals for the season.

No reason to doubt the stats as I understand your club secretary is amongst the league's best so I was told. So did he play in 4 games or 6?

Enquiring minds want to know.