EDFL Moves Part 3

Heard on the grape vine dave callender is coaching Bacchus marsh next year in the ballarat football league......

Mate what about the Oakers in B grade they would have the best list in both comps young exciting and hungry would have played finals in A grade this year financial, great facilities, well run and coached, Get on Board.
Just wanted to see some opinions on the coaching scene for next year and a review of the season so far. Two weeks to go in the season and we are starting to get a picture of who has failed, succeeded and who has wallowed in their own mediocrity.

Greenvale- Nothing less than a flag will make up for undefeated home and away season's the last two years. The absolute benchmark of this competition. Super will be judged on whether or not the huge $$$ the club spends brings home a flag. Distastrous if Strathmore beats them this week.

Marybyrnong Park- Wall St crashed in late 08 because of Marby and the massive amounts they require to field this side. However, for the first time in years they seem to have spent in in all the right places. Holland would have been aiming for top 3 and so far have been a great success story for the EDFL.

Keilor- Well when you spend $35k plus benefits on the best coach outside of the AFL you expect results. And with a history as strong as Keilor's that means premierships. Were a challenger all year but after improving their list from last year's flag it would be a major disappointment that they bowed out by 10 goals in a final. Mcguane will no doubt have the boys back early to back up for this. B

Strathmore- Probably finished about where they expected to. But now they have given themselves a real shot. Have managed to hold on to a core of very goood established players as well as add some real class. Making it to second week is above average for mine.

West Coburg- Thereabouts. Lost some quality players and were never really going to challenge. With Callender they have a great brain and great passion. Still need to iron out some minor club culture issues. But great people and great pride will see them through that. B-

Doutta Stars- Another success story really. Performed well above most expectations. Won games they were not expected and narrowly lost to some very good opposition. Cant imagine Barnes is a magician tactically but obviously the boys have responded to his experience and comeraderie. B

Aberfeldie- For a club that has a great location, great junior program, supporters with plenty of cash, stable administration and a host a ex AFL players' kids playing at Clifton Park this club continues to fail to deliver. It is a bit like Richmond really. They are a sleeping giant if they can start to appoint the right people. On field another flop and come across as limp as Hugh Hefner without his viagra. D-

Craigieburn- The biggest disappointed IMO this year. Have a huge area with no competition to recruit players and juniors. Another one with big potential but in-fighting and some insipid performances have cost it big time. A few more footy heads and a few less woodstocks would see this team climb very quickly. D-

Avondale Heights- Pearce inherited a nightmare to be fare did a reasonable job with his hands tied. You cant lose your 7 best players when you finish 5-6 and not fall. With some smart recruiting from the new coach they will survive in A grade next year. D

Glenroy- It is a shame that this club became whipping boys of the competition. Manning lost his best players and it all fell away quickly. But did something no one thought they would do... win a game. Will recover in B grade and will have to prepare much better next time. D

Mate what about the Oakers in B grade they would have the best list in both comps young exciting and hungry would have played finals in A grade this year financial, great facilities, well run and coached, Get on Board.

They have been fantastic this year. Keeping that list together was an achievement in itself. They have proved themselves an A grade side. However... two things. First, they are outspending the other B grade teams by miles (not a criticism, just fact) so a flag is expected and second, dont kid yourself in thinking they would have made finals this year in A grade. No chance. they would have been very competive but around the Douttas/West Coburg mark.

Oak park are an outstanding team to watch play footy.. I know they have not had much opposition this year but i do think they would have been better than WC and doutta s this year in A grade and knocking on the door for top 4. IMO..

i've been to finals at both Windy Hill and Coburg this year and both surfaces are great (especially after some of the grounds used for the season but thats no club's fault) but I reckon coburg is a better viewing ground as it is raised the entire 360 degrees around the ground, so especially Grand Finals when more people are there its easier for everybody including the little tackers to see - although any bets Moreland Council have some extra ticket inspectors out next weekend???

Oak park are an outstanding team to watch play footy.. I know they have not had much opposition this year but i do think they would have been better than WC and doutta s this year in A grade and knocking on the door for top 4. IMO..

Vegas pig you are a goose. are you trying to be humerous?? i think you don't understand the difference in standard between A grade and B grade. That is an absolute joke to say that oak park would have been knocking on the door of the top 4. i think you would find that they would be performing at about the same level as they did last year if they were in A grade...perhaps only being better than glenroy.

on a more serious note...i watched my beloved jets on the weekend against marby and as much as it pains me to say this...marby were good...and REALLY good. i'm finding it hard to see how the jets can turn this one around. marby won the contested ball, used the ball better, ran the ball much better and dominated every aspect of the game. they have a fantastic list (i know it is a very well paid list at that too!!) and they are looking the real deal at the right time of the year. jorgensen was the only one who could hold his head high for the jets.

Vegas pig you are a goose. are you trying to be humerous?? i think you don't understand the difference in standard between A grade and B grade. That is an absolute joke to say that oak park would have been knocking on the door of the top 4. i think you would find that they would be performing at about the same level as they did last year if they were in A grade...perhaps only being better than glenroy.

on a more serious note...i watched my beloved jets on the weekend against marby and as much as it pains me to say this...marby were good...and REALLY good. i'm finding it hard to see how the jets can turn this one around. marby won the contested ball, used the ball better, ran the ball much better and dominated every aspect of the game. they have a fantastic list (i know it is a very well paid list at that too!!) and they are looking the real deal at the right time of the year. jorgensen was the only one who could hold his head high for the jets.

mate no one is a goose hear but you, i dont think YOU understand the differance between a grade and b grade oak parks list is much better than last years wich in my opinion was very unlucky to go down in the first place, they lost s. boake, b.albones and c. hatch but gained r.harrison, r. cousland, n. mills, b. wilson, t .white, g. williams, s. shaw, j. mcdonald who has been injured in previous years, a. white and j.pascu, a.smith and p.tripp are all one year older, the list would be the just outside of the top four get your head out of your ass you can only beat who you play and they have done that comprehensivly all year ,if you think glenroy would be anywhere near them then you are a fool, oak park have been beating better teams than that buy more points all year

They would beat half the sides in A Grade and give th other half a run for their money on a good day. Would smash the Roys easily. Quality all over the park, and as Humble Joe said they were unlucky to go down in the first place. Look out A Grade next year!!

craigieburn- the biggest disappointed imo this year. Have a huge area with no competition to recruit players and juniors. Another one with big potential but in-fighting and some insipid performances have cost it big time. a few more footy heads and a few less woodstocks would see this team climb very quickly. D-

d

hahahahah

Here, Here!

Nice.....

They would beat half the sides in A Grade and give th other half a run for their money on a good day. Would smash the Roys easily. Quality all over the park, and as Humble Joe said they were unlucky to go down in the first place. Look out A Grade next year!!

How can a side that finishes a clear last on the bottom of the ladder be unlucky to be relegated? The only way to avoid finishing on the bottom is to win games and that was something Oak park could not do in A Grade 2008.

A Grade top 4 is very strong. Those below are terrible.

B Grade - the whole comp is terrible. Most that get promoted soon find themselves back down. The exception of course being the all conquering Marby Park who have the $$$ to be a power.

However, I heard loyal players (used very loosely) including Buttigieg are moving on to greener ($$$) pastures next year after they win the flag. Kyneton has been bandied about.

I wonder if a flag at Marby in 09 would mean as much as a flag at Keilor in 08 to former Keilor juniors Buttigieg, Whicello & Towner???

Who will win this coming sunday?

If strathmore get up it will such a massive waste of a year for Greenvale.

Undefeated all year and knocked out in straight sets, Steve Mcpherson will be extremely worried going into sundays clash.

Will he bring in Aloi, gazzo and play pekes who are all undery injury clouds?

Who will win this coming sunday?

If strathmore get up it will such a massive waste of a year for Greenvale.

Undefeated all year and knocked out in straight sets, Steve Mcpherson will be extremely worried going into sundays clash.

Will he bring in Aloi, gazzo and play pekes who are all undery injury clouds?

Tips are Greenvale in A Grade and Pascoe Vale in B Grade.

Look a the rain fall now, could be a wet and cold weekend, glad Marby have the week off. :thumbsu:

How can a side that finishes a clear last on the bottom of the ladder be unlucky to be relegated? The only way to avoid finishing on the bottom is to win games and that was something Oak park could not do in A Grade 2008.

A Grade top 4 is very strong. Those below are terrible.

B Grade - the whole comp is terrible. Most that get promoted soon find themselves back down. The exception of course being the all conquering Marby Park who have the $$$ to be a power.

However, I heard loyal players (used very loosely) including Buttigieg are moving on to greener ($$$) pastures next year after they win the flag. Kyneton has been bandied about.

I wonder if a flag at Marby in 09 would mean as much as a flag at Keilor in 08 to former Keilor juniors Buttigieg, Whicello & Towner???

Probably because they won 4 games. When was the last time that a side won 4 games and got relegated? I think that is what the point was.

if memory serves me correct douttas had an upset win to stay up - OP had beaten douttas twice in the year and douttas finished second last so yes they were unlucky but the bottom 4 was very even last year os whoever fell coukd say they were ulucky, OP were also injury hit to some very promising juniors, although a season of domination in B grade may actually help their development by letting them ajust to senior footy without the extra pressures of A grade, although next year iwll be a big jump

It was very even last year and any of the bottom four could have gone down, the point was that oakers were clearly the best team to go down for a very long time as they had a decent list, were pretty good financially and have a very good recent history where they were more than competitive in a grade and they had beaten craigieburn and douttas twice each. They also lost 5 games by under 12 points the most notable being marby at home where they let an 8 goal lead slip( not an excuse just a fact).
They have made a marked improvement on last year with a much improved list and despite what all the shortsighted, arrogant and bigheaded people will say they would have been super competitive in a grade this year, there is a lot of upside in the list and they sould stroll in this year and be back where they belong.
I hope people like knowall and mike take that attitude into next year as they will recieve a big shock if it goes to plan, to call the rest of the comp terrible bar the "big" four is insulting and disrespectful, success doesn't last forever and the amount of people to stick by the club this year has been amazing

It was very even last year and any of the bottom four could have gone down, the point was that oakers were clearly the best team to go down for a very long time as they had a decent list, were pretty good financially and have a very good recent history where they were more than competitive in a grade and they had beaten craigieburn and douttas twice each. They also lost 5 games by under 12 points the most notable being marby at home where they let an 8 goal lead slip( not an excuse just a fact).
They have made a marked improvement on last year with a much improved list and despite what all the shortsighted, arrogant and bigheaded people will say they would have been super competitive in a grade this year, there is a lot of upside in the list and they sould stroll in this year and be back where they belong.
I hope people like knowall and mike take that attitude into next year as they will recieve a big shock if it goes to plan, to call the rest of the comp terrible bar the "big" four is insulting and disrespectful, success doesn't last forever and the amount of people to stick by the club this year has been amazing

Agree with this, well said. Oakers were ****ing unlucky but they are cleary going to come back and make a mark next year, dont think any other club would have turned it around so emphatically.

PS. This forum has descened into complete trash lately.

Agree with this, well said. Oakers were ****ing unlucky but they are cleary going to come back and make a mark next year, dont think any other club would have turned it around so emphatically.

PS. This forum has descened into complete trash lately.

lets just hope they dont do a marby of 2006 and get rolled on the big day this year?? hopefully the young side they have dont get to caught up on grand final day. would be disasterous for the oak park football club! :thumbsu:

Would be a disaster. However I can't see it happening. Marby of 06 were beatable. They have nothing on this Oak Park side. That is no disrespect to that Marby side either!

"An ordinary first three quarters backed up by a stunning last quarter to set first seniors grand final in a number of years. Will struggle next week though"
.....Talk about keeping a lid on it....

TAYLORS LAKES STANK!!!!! the second half of the 3rd quarter they seemed to drop off and the last quarter they were chasing tails, Paco deserve the grand final birth and along with most from the start of the finals, I reckon they are the side most likely to knock off oak park, however should paco go to A grade they will be back in 2011.