• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

EDFL moves

Been flat stick Drebster! Here it is the quick version!

Marbi v Douttas

Douttas at full strength for the first time all year and word has it that every opponent on the ground will have a tag except of course the big unit in the Number 6. Guernsey. Pilling for Kade but he will cop a much more in form unit than the one he matched up on in Round 1. Was disappointed big BK was a late withdrawal from the luncheon today as a few of the boys had a plan to get him on the sauce, having said that I'm sure Benny (in hot form also) will treat Mick Stapo with contempt. On ball match ups will be harder this time around for the Parkers as Shagga Broadbent is out again with his groinal region unfortunately and Heath Ayres is back in. Butters (overseas) will be missed as he has been one of the more consistent Marbi players this year. Crawford, Brown, Ziros, Karavias and Matty Towner have been in great form but i just don't think it will be enough to get them over the line. Brian Grey is a super coach and will have most bases covered. In an upset i think Douttas by 3 points

Greenvale v Keilor

Keilor did start last weeks game with a bang and Houlihan had 3 early ones before hurting his hammy, he will be missed and things could have been different if he didn't get hurt. Superstar Ricky Marcy will be missed after saying "f*ck" last week - how bad are our umpires, embarrassing!!!!
Hursty has been getting plenty of pill in the early game and was ok earlier in the season, he should come back in whilst Kieran Prowse is certainly proving what i said from day 1 - he can play!!
Keilor really did come with a late surge in round 1 and failed to get over the line and just shows that Greenvale started the season not to dissimilar to Geelong and have now put the foot on the pedal in the lead up to the finals. Greenvale's 3rd quarters this year have set nearly all their games up and with Randello, Wheels, Kuret and Lenne getting plenty of footy they are going from strength to strength.
Greenvale are unchanged from last week and although i did make a mistake (last week i said Vinny Randello was overseas) they are still without Sedat (overseas) Rhys, Bicer and Obst.
They are an awesome outfit the Jets and with young players such as Thompson and Provenzano having an impact the club is going to struggle to lose a game for 5 years!
Greenvale by 37 points

Craigieburn v Strathmore

Craigieburn must win if they are to have any chance of staying in contention for their first A Grade finals series, they would be demoralised after leading by so much last week only to be overrun by the comeback kings from the river.
Strathmore have certainly regained the form that have made them such a good team over the past 3 - 4 years and the likes of Winter, Robson and Becker have definitely added that. I think that although many feel the trip up to Sth Sydney is a daunting one it will actually work in Strathmore's favour in the style of footy they play. Craigieburn aren't ideally suited down back to combat the big 3 in Harvey, Winter & Dooze and with Poorter being banished to the seconds last week to make way for Piggott it could be a bleak day for the Eagles.
Strathmore by 19 points

Avondale v West Coburg

West's have lost their last 6 and Avondale regained some touch last week against Abers. I can't believe Whitney played Rayza Harrison on Shep and left him their for so long, i can't remember a game where he hasn't smashed Abers - he's a great player. Leave Harrison and Trewin deep in the forward 50 and put the pressure on the Burgers defence. Rabee will be hard to stop again and although Aparo was quiet last week he needs to shut him down. Johnny Angel certainly didn't have his kicking boots on last week and if he can slam a couple home early it could set the tone for the match. Elvy is the man for West's and when he's played this year he has been awesome, big Bori deserves first crack and is still playing great footy so why not. I can't believe Ash Flavel and Nicko played in the 12pm game last week, it astounds me and they should be back in this week however i don't think it will be enough. Avondale by 19 points

Abers v Oak Park

To be played on Sunday at Abers for all you keen local footy fans. Simply Abers must win and with both sides struggling big time at present it's hard to tip a winner, of course it's not - i can never tip against the two blues and the lights will be on by 4pm as Sunday afternoon could get real dark. Abers by 9 points
Puffpuff.....think you might had to many free beers last Friday....but always enjoy reading your post and what happen down at Abers? !!could you be looking at B grade too!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Whinge Whinge Whinge,

Marby too good in Round 1 and in round 10

now go on and have a whinge once again

North, you would have to agree with the comment's about marby's club rooms.

They are shocking, you cant even get changed in the away room's.
I use to love when the coach was addressing the players before you head out onto the ground, there was always some bloke sitting on another guy's lap..........:eek:
People need to remember, it's also the council's fault.
I commend the people at the club (marby) who have got the club to the position it is at the present time, the standard has lifted both in A and B grade.

I don't know what the council were thinking with new car park design, you could fit more cars in the carpark before, the money should of gone towards new rooms etc in my opinion.
In time, IF marby stay up in A grade lm sure these issues will be addressed! Well, you would hope so!

when you get the pill as many times as our midfield did on saturday a couple of errant kicks are probably to be expected. Don't think it really hurt us on the scoreboard though did it? By the way when joey kicked the ball the wrong way it was actually in to YOUR forward line, hence being the wrong way!

Douttas people are very good at taking the moral high ground when it suits, hopefully you mugs ban your 2's coach from the club for life after his disgraceful effort on Saturday.

Drebster, I'll agree with you on of your points though - the Marby Barby - best burgers in town :thumbsu:

Mate not sure what your beef is, I was clearly having a crack at Dottas inability to move the ball forward and praised Marby.

North, you would have to agree with the comment's about marby's club rooms.

They are shocking, you cant even get changed in the away room's.
I use to love when the coach was addressing the players before you head out onto the ground, there was always some bloke sitting on another guy's lap..........:eek:
People need to remember, it's also the council's fault.
I commend the people at the club (marby) who have got the club to the position it is at the present time, the standard has lifted both in A and B grade.

I don't know what the council were thinking with new car park design, you could fit more cars in the carpark before, the money should of gone towards new rooms etc in my opinion.
In time, IF marby stay up in A grade lm sure these issues will be addressed! Well, you would hope so!

Yer, nar Marby away change rooms are not up to scratch similar to a football ground just off Melville Rd :)

$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$
you wont be in A grade in 2 years .........lets wait and see hey!!!!!! and their no sour grapes you were to good.

$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$
That's right mate we have plenty of these. :D And if we not in A grade in 2 years at least we will get to play you duds again.

Yer, nar Marby away change rooms are not up to scratch similar to a football ground just off Melville Rd :)

I wouldn't comment on grounds, marby has two and seem and the club seems to use the one that has cow's on it Friday night before a game! :eek:

It's one thing to have bad club room's but a ground also...........might be time for a new location!

West Coburg FC will be around alot longer then marby park,here is some history for you, they are the oldest club in EDFL and money can't buy that!
They seem to have the most junior teams in the comp too!

I wouldn't comment on grounds, marby has two and seem and the club seems to use the one that has cow's on it Friday night before a game! :eek:

It's one thing to have bad club room's but a ground also...........might be time for a new location!

West Coburg FC will be around alot longer then marby park,here is some history for you, they are the oldest club in EDFL and money can't buy that!

Think you may have failed history EDFL man.
West Coburg are obviously an old and very proud Club with a long history, however according to the EDFL website they field 11 Junior sides, Keilor 15, Strathmore 14, Aberfeldie 13, Pascoe Vale 13, and Greenvale 12, along with others.
As for being the oldest Club, according to the EDFL 75 year book, West Coburg was formed in 1927, Keilor was playing football in 1894 and won Premierships in 1926,27,& 28

Thought I saw EDFL man in the outer at Airport West on Saturday but I was wrong.I walked over to say hello and realised it was Danny De Vito :D

Dottas can have all the passion they like when your sitting 3rd last.:D
ill take passion any day clown...what satisfaction do u get out of purchasing a premiership? why don't u work on using some of the players that have come through the ranks in your club?? ohhhh thats right they r pathetic...what an awesome club! ur 18's would be beaten by an under 10's girls side..enjoy!

Dont start the locals verus import debate again, its done to death- all clubs have their share of imports - I may not be 100% correct, but i dont recall many if any of theses guys playing juniors at Douttas?
Carey, Ramsey, Wilson, Philpott, Caccamo, Faraj, Turner, King, Davidson,Wooley, Kelly

Dont start the locals verus import debate again, its done to death- all clubs have their share of imports - I may not be 100% correct, but i dont recall many if any of theses guys playing juniors at Douttas?
Carey, Ramsey, Wilson, Philpott, Caccamo, Faraj, Turner, King, Davidson,Wooley, Kelly
but they are backed up by many home grown players: Cusack, Uren, kovac etc

Thought I saw EDFL man in the outer at Airport West on Saturday but I was wrong.I walked over to say hello and realised it was Danny De Vito :D

You make me laugh Old fella!

I would of pop down but l'm still waiting for your phone call in regards to playing footy this year.......I have only been waiting since Jan this year. :cool:

Never mind, yes lm 105kg - 25kg at the moment? :eek: Go figure champ.
Let me know when pre season starts this time, l might come down and run 3.2 in 11 flat!

Kade played under 18's for douttas !!!!!

Think you may have failed history EDFL man.
West Coburg are obviously an old and very proud Club with a long history, however according to the EDFL website they field 11 Junior sides, Keilor 15, Strathmore 14, Aberfeldie 13, Pascoe Vale 13, and Greenvale 12, along with others.
As for being the oldest Club, according to the EDFL 75 year book, West Coburg was formed in 1927, Keilor was playing football in 1894 and won Premierships in 1926,27,& 28

I stand corrected, l was going on last year's teams.

Interesting........So who is the oldest club in EDFL history?

Maybe you should check your history again, Kelior joined the EDFL in 1932....the rest l will let you do!

http://www.enet.org.au/historyonline/edfl/EDFL_homepage.htm

1930 -1939

The league started in 1930 with two teams St Johns and Kensington Methodists but was later joined by Ascot Vale, Flemington, Kensington, Essendon High School Old Boys, Northern Juniors, West Essendon and Woodlands. By 1935, 12 teams were competing in its one grade open age competition. The following season an under 16�s competition was introduced.

April 1937 saw the opening matches of the newly revamped competition. The senior grade comprised of Ascot Vale, Ascot Rovers, Don Rovers, Fawkner District, (aka Northern Saints) Flemington/Kensington, Glenroy, Keilor, Moonee Valley, Pascoe Vale and West Moreland. The junior competition consisted of Ascot Wanderers, Brunswick City, Brunswick, Sons of Soldiers, Catholic Boys Club, Essendon Imperials, Coburg Sons of Soldiers, Essendon United and Fawkner District, (aka Northern Saints). The office bearers of the competition were President Mr Reid, and Secretary Mr Dolphin. The EDJFL was sponsored by the Essendon Football Club.

The Ascot Vale football club celebrated its fourth successive premiership. The Club was formed in 1896 and since joining the EDJFL in 1932 it had met with considerable success

Correct on Keilor joining in '32, however if they are not the oldest EDFL Club, then surely they must rate as perhaps the oldest Club in the EDFL.
Keilors website -
"The playing of football by a Keilor team dates back to at least the 18th of June 1894, when Keilor played Essendon Juniors at Keilor."
It gos on to say that they played and won premierships in what was then the Keilor & Broadmeadows Association, prior to joining the EDFL.
Photos and a Cup in their rooms seem to verify that.

On another point - dare I say it - Doutta seem to have been the most successful Senior Club.:(:(

Went down to crazyburn on the weekend for the second time this year as i was playin on sunday and had a ball watchin it! it may not of been close game of footy but there were some great blews!!! crazyburn may hav lost the footy match but they won the fights!:thumbsu: 2 ripper uppercuts from the crazyburn number 8, and never mind the turner boys they luv it!!! strathmore played some good footy but shit the bed when it was time to fly the flag!!!!

true but you don't think kade could of turned the game around with the help of the midfield. douttas do have other options forward but not with the marking power and strength of carey.

Billy,

The reason they were down by that much so early in the game, was because their midfield were getting smashed. It didnt change in the 2nd half.