• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

EDFL moves

Was watching the Greenvale Strathmore game on the weekend, good game Greenvale just ran over the top of them in the end.

the most entertaining thing was watching Dale May make an absolute di ck of himself by trying to punch on with the coach of Greenvale in the rooms after the game, some Strathmore people moved him away realising that he was being a complete dic khead.
Only for Dale's old man come storming in and try and blue MacPherson as well.
MacPherson did the right thing and just stood their not aggravating the situation at all.
What a Sh it for brains family that is.
There is no possible way any one can defend what those Wan kas did if the club doesn't have words with them about the incident then they are condoning that sort of behavior.

can anyone shed any light on this?

Was watching the Greenvale Strathmore game on the weekend, good game Greenvale just ran over the top of them in the end.

the most entertaining thing was watching Dale May make an absolute di ck of himself by trying to punch on with the coach of Greenvale in the rooms after the game, some Strathmore people moved him away realising that he was being a complete dic khead.
Only for Dale's old man come storming in and try and blue MacPherson as well.
MacPherson did the right thing and just stood their not aggravating the situation at all.
What a Sh it for brains family that is.
There is no possible way any one can defend what those Wan kas did if the club doesn't have words with them about the incident then they are condoning that sort of behavior.

AHHH..... Local Footy - don't you just love it !!!

Douttas, Marby, Crazyburn and now the Mores all appearing on this thread in the last 2 weeks involved in feral incidents, and by all reports the umpires are getting worse.

Yep ..... Local Footy - don't you just love it. - I Do

The Umpiring over the weekend was a disgrace. The inconsistancy between these guys is bad. Marbo Park were very hard done by today. It was like the umpires wanted a close game for the crowd sake and Avondale Heights got everything. Marbo couldn't buy a free. So were Douttas yesterday. Some umpires actually want to influence matches and it is shocking.
The standard has definately dropped. Other than the football standard the entire E.D.F.L seems to be struggling....

the only reason why avondale had way more free kicks is because they frustrated marbo into giving silly ones away. avondale were smart about it!

dead set it was one of the best games in local footy i have witnessed:thumbsu:

money doesnt buy those type of games i tell ya :D

good on avondale an awesome effort

SEN just said Kade Carey would play for Geelong this wk

If true a huge blow for Doutta as looking at the ladder they need to win this week against the Heights or Oak Park away the following week to get some relegation breathing space.

Very hard for them to win either game without him as shown on the weekend when they lost to Craigieburn.

Hopefully the forecast rain this week might help some of the grounds too as most are in terrible condition.

the only reason why avondale had way more free kicks is because they frustrated marbo into giving silly ones away. avondale were smart about it!

dead set it was one of the best games in local footy i have witnessed:thumbsu:

money doesnt buy those type of games i tell ya :D

good on avondale an awesome effort

Agree with you entirely...remus junior off the mark if he believes umpires cost Marby the game. Obviously seeing the game through gold and maroon glasses.

Is it just me or has the standard of umpiring in the EDFL gone significantly downhill in the past few months?
I know its a hard job to take on and full credit to them because they take a fair bit of stick week in week out , but fair dinkum in the recent weeks some of the umpires ive seen wouldnt be over 16 years old and wouldn't even have the experience to be officiating B grade magoos let alone A grade seniors?

Something you may find interesting...I have been backing up for the Supers on a Sunday for the last few weeks and notice a massive difference in the umpiring standards from the regular games to the Supers games. The umpiring in the Supers is fantastic. They really let the play go on and only really call the obvious free kicks.

They have a great relationship with and approach to the players even though they still cop sprays from time to time.

I know there is a lot less pressure and pace etc...etc but this doesn't change their ability to spot and call frees.

I assume these guys are also backing up after Saturday duties so it's funny why they appear to do a much better job in the different environment. It really is some of the best umpiring I have ever seen in local footy.

If true a huge blow for Doutta as looking at the ladder they need to win this week against the Heights or Oak Park away the following week to get some relegation breathing space.

Very hard for them to win either game without him as shown on the weekend when they lost to Craigieburn.

Hopefully the forecast rain this week might help some of the grounds too as most are in terrible condition.
I think you will find that Kade will be at Douttas still............as he is some getting over hammie!!!!

I think you'll find AFL Victoria runs the umpires for all Victorian Leagues out of Victoria Park. They have at times over 200 umpires training down at Vic Park and in order to have umpiring at a level we should all be happy with they all train together.

I doubt the standard is the EDFL's fault.

Sorry Tess, you are barking up the wrong tree. AFL Victoria is the overriding body but most leagues have their own Umpires Association or Body which in turn has its own advisers who coach and appoint umpires to their own league's games. Any umpires deemed good enough are invited to train with AFL Victoria and they are then allocated to VFL games etc and, again if good enough, go up the chain from there.

Some umpire associations have affiliations with other umpire associations (e.g. Riddell and VAFA, and previously Riddell and Ballarat) and therefore cross boundaries with appointments.

I must admit that the standard of umpiring in the senior game Doutta Stars and Craigieburn which I attended on Saturday was one of the worst I have seen (and I have seen some dreadful umpiring over the last few years in the Northern League). Some of the decisions were just mystifying.

EDFL Man:- Not trying to be too facetious here. After reading the above, do you still think money has bought class and a higher level of football to the EDFL??

Last week Doutta's 2's coach getting wacked after running on the ground now this.

Bender, maybe you can answer that yourself! You already know my answer to the question.

Every week there are going to be players in the lime light for a one reason or another, that's the nature of the game.

The umps would still be shocking, nothing would have changed there.
The best umps are the ones you dont notice in my opinion.
If l had anything to do with umpiring system, l would be paying them top dollar, in return you would getting the best umps from around all area's to umpire in the EDFL.

I know it's easy to sit here and say it but really the EDFL are making a s hit load of coin, make no mistake they are cashed up big time.

Time for the EDFL to get serious about the comp, if not step down and let someone younger take charge of the comp.

Get the footy show back, promote the comp etc and get the just rewards for the community/players and supporters.
If it's good enough for a local club to pay 200k a year for there players then it's good enough for the EDFL to put back into the comp.

By the looks of things it's been a one way street for a very long time.

Bender, maybe you can answer that yourself! You already know my answer to the question.

Every week there are going to be players in the lime light for a one reason or another, that's the nature of the game.

The umps would still be shocking, nothing would have changed there.
The best umps are the ones you dont notice in my opinion.
If l had anything to do with umpiring system, l would be paying them top dollar, in return you would getting the best umps from around all area's to umpire in the EDFL.

I know it's easy to sit here and say it but really the EDFL are making a s hit load of coin, make no mistake they are cashed up big time.

Time for the EDFL to get serious about the comp, if not step down and let someone younger take charge of the comp.

Get the footy show back, promote the comp etc and get the just rewards for the community/players and supporters.
If it's good enough for a local club to pay 200k a year for there players then it's good enough for the EDFL to put back into the comp.

By the looks of things it's been a one way street for a very long time.

The problem is that few YOUNGER people are around who are prepared to put their hand up and stand for a position on the Board of the EDFL. It is very hard to find independent personnel that are not in some way connected to a club and we need to reach a happy medium. Yes, the EDFL is well and truely cashed up and the future seems secure. Maybe we need to become more pro active and submit positive ideas to the right people in WRITING as to what direction the league should take. You can't blame the older guys for continuing to hold office if there is no opposition. In regards to the footy show and all aspects of the media I totally agree with you. I think you know where I am coming from, having been a part of it for many years I am of the opinion that regardless of what the EDFL Board think, the league needs exposure and no other league has had the exposure that we have had over the last 14 years (Radio) and 5 Years (Footy Show) that we have had. It needs a revamp and maybe some new faces and YES the EDFL Board must loosen the purse strings if it is to eventuate.:thumbsu:

Agree with you on all points Eagle One.

Maybe some fresh idea's is what the EDFL need.
Let's start with the footy show, get that back on the air along with a match of the round on radio, KD would be ideal for that in my opinion. :thumbsu:

Agree with you on all points Eagle One.

Maybe some fresh idea's is what the EDFL need.
Let's start with the footy show, get that back on the air along with a match of the round on radio, KD would be ideal for that in my opinion. :thumbsu:

I think there have been a few good ideas on here and the EDFL footy site as well. One of the earlier posts suggested pooling the best umpires from a combination of leagues to and awarding them with the matches of the rounds in the various competitions.
This would hopfully see the best of the best umpires officiating the best games in local footy. Would give the umpires something to strive for and help with the Victorian Umpires Association recruiting process.

I thought last night about the issue we have with A Grade competition at the moment. This may not be an original idea but I was thinking how awesome it would be to have a "Champions Leauge" for local footy.

The concept being (Year 1) :

1. The 2 Grandfinalist from each A Grade metro and local country comp are elevated to kick things off.

2. No A Grade team is relegated for the 1st year.

3. 2 Lower Grade Grand Final sides get elevated to the higher Grade for year 1.

4. After the 1st year the lowest placed team from each competition in the "Champions Leauge" is relagated back to the local leauge and the A Grade premier promoted.

So in essance this would hopfully eliminate 1 team domination for long periods.

I know there are a stack of logistics to consider to ensure the integrity of the local comps but it would make things pretty interesting I think.......just a thought

EDFL Man. We agree on something

An interesting article on the Kade Carey situation appeared today on localfooty.com.au saying he would play with Doutta but would be on the Cats' roster. Seems Geelong is certain their reserves will play finals, but they're still a little way off the mark! Nathan Ablett coming back too - so at least they're trying I guess

I think there have been a few good ideas on here and the EDFL footy site as well. One of the earlier posts suggested pooling the best umpires from a combination of leagues to and awarding them with the matches of the rounds in the various competitions.
This would hopfully see the best of the best umpires officiating the best games in local footy. Would give the umpires something to strive for and help with the Victorian Umpires Association recruiting process.

I thought last night about the issue we have with A Grade competition at the moment. This may not be an original idea but I was thinking how awesome it would be to have a "Champions Leauge" for local footy.

The concept being (Year 1) :

1. The 2 Grandfinalist from each A Grade metro and local country comp are elevated to kick things off.

2. No A Grade team is relegated for the 1st year.

3. 2 Lower Grade Grand Final sides get elevated to the higher Grade for year 1.

4. After the 1st year the lowest placed team from each competition in the "Champions Leauge" is relagated back to the local leauge and the A Grade premier promoted.

So in essance this would hopfully eliminate 1 team domination for long periods.

I know there are a stack of logistics to consider to ensure the integrity of the local comps but it would make things pretty interesting I think.......just a thought

EDFL Man. We agree on something

Not a bad concept Bender.
The EDFL would just put that one in the to hard basket!
What does an A and B grade team recieve if they win the flag in money terms? $1,000, 2,000 or 5,000?

I'm sure it wouldn't be much but considering what they charge come finals time i.e gate fee, hot food etc x 3 weeks..........there is only one winner here the EDFL!

We all just wish the EDFL officals would do something to spice the comp up.

As l said, let's start with the umps, better umps would entice better players in my opinion. We all know it's a hard job and not everyone is not going to be happy come 5pm Saturday arvo.
The flip side to this is there are actually a couple of good ump's out there but to rest that make the numbers up, it's easy coin for those nuffy's!

The EDFL have plenty of coin, l just wonder where it all goes..........:cool:

The EDFL have gone backwards 5 years this year.

No more Footy Show for our League!- Did not show any interest !:thumbsdown:
Umpire standard getting worse!:thumbsdown:
Seconds coach runs on field and gets involved in fight- Gets Off!:thumbsdown:
Not enough EDFL officials at games, especially when you need them around!

We were miles in front of other leagues but no longer!

The EDFL have gone backwards 5 years this year.

No more Footy Show for our League!- Did not show any interest !:thumbsdown:
Umpire standard getting worse!:thumbsdown:
Seconds coach runs on field and gets involved in fight- Gets Off!:thumbsdown:
Not enough EDFL officials at games, especially when you need them around!

We were miles in front of other leagues but no longer!
Agree with points 1/2 & 4 especially 4 have not seen an umpires rep all year at any game. Maybe Stan is saving for new car!!
Point 3 coach never crossed the white line, not condoning his actions!

Agree with points 1/2 & 4 especially 4 have not seen an umpires rep all year at any game. Maybe Stan is saving for new car!!

Have seen rep jason fisher at 2 douttas games this year, he was a good umpire in his day so lets hope fish is a good teacher.

An interesting article on the Kade Carey situation appeared today on localfooty.com.au saying he would play with Doutta but would be on the Cats' roster. Seems Geelong is certain their reserves will play finals, but they're still a little way off the mark! Nathan Ablett coming back too - so at least they're trying I guess

Not sure nath ablett will get a game with kade down the highway.:D:D

"He never crossed the line" :confused: what a joke. Regardless if he stepped on the ground or was outside the boundary, he still got invloved and shouldn't have. It's a disgrace!

Refer to previous posts:
Umpires Association whilst linked to EDFL operates independantly in regards to money paid and umpires selected. Effectively the standard of umpiring is a direct result of the people in charge of the umpires. Personally I think they are the problem but again the EDFL & Club Presidents should be saying something if it is that bad
Footy Show was let down by the Club Presidents - they didn'y want it nor did the EDFL do anything about the show.
Someone mentioned new blood for EDFL - late last year the opportunity presented itself to inject new blood - Club Presidents voted for the same blokes when there were 3 or 4 new blokes wanting to get onboard.
About a month ago the EDFL put out a request for feedback from clubs re POints System, Salary Cap and Odds/Evens for Under Age Competitions - only 8 of 24 clubs replied. What a F***king joke.
Whilst the EDFL is the governing body & certainly many have said that they are not doing their job - I would suggest the problems we are talking about are directly related to Club Presidents and their committees just sitting back passing the buck - it is very easy in the cheap seat.

Refer to previous posts:
Umpires Association whilst linked to EDFL operates independantly in regards to money paid and umpires selected. Effectively the standard of umpiring is a direct result of the people in charge of the umpires. Personally I think they are the problem but again the EDFL & Club Presidents should be saying something if it is that bad
Footy Show was let down by the Club Presidents - they didn'y want it nor did the EDFL do anything about the show.
Someone mentioned new blood for EDFL - late last year the opportunity presented itself to inject new blood - Club Presidents voted for the same blokes when there were 3 or 4 new blokes wanting to get onboard.
About a month ago the EDFL put out a request for feedback from clubs re POints System, Salary Cap and Odds/Evens for Under Age Competitions - only 8 of 24 clubs replied. What a F***king joke.
Whilst the EDFL is the governing body & certainly many have said that they are not doing their job - I would suggest the problems we are talking about are directly related to Club Presidents and their committees just sitting back passing the buck - it is very easy in the cheap seat.

You don't have to be the smartest bloke to work what the average cost of running the footy show on Ch31.

Yes clubs should invest money into the local footy show, but how many footy show's are there in a year? For the clubs that do invest, it's great and l'm sure Matthew Pillios thank them.
But on the flip side some clubs didn't even get a gig/show at there club where the kids can enjoy what the show is and about! The clun's can maybe make some money back thru the bar and BBQ that they put on.
Last time l checked there are there 25 teams in the comp, so at least have 25 shows so clubs get something for there money.

The EDFL should have gone 50/50 in the cost of the show after all it is promoting there comp, just maybe they didn't owen the rights to the show..........:cool:

I agree alot of hours go into the show, but think about for a second.
Someone wouldn't be doing it IF there wasn't any money being made out of it! Just maybe someone wanted to make more money and the EDFL were onto it and wanted a piece of the pie too!

dont forget , rightly or wrongly that a number of presidents rejected
supporting the football show due to the
perception that players were attempted to be poached through
connections of the show . although its been denied by those connected with the show
what's the opinion of all as to the standard of the
AGrade comp - whilst I think Greenvale have again lifted a level
Is the standard is as strong as it has been the past
few years
I know clubs are paying alot more money , And there has been a number of new names
introduced to the comp, but the trend seems to be
recruiting players from within the comp by paying over the odds
for example I don't know how the standard of the comp lifts by Marby paying
butters double what he was getting at keilor
All the Marby phenomena seems to have done is raise the price for a clubs
7th-12th best player to ridiculous amounts as abers have discovered as tehy have picked up abt 6 of them