EDFL Premier Discussion 2022

where are you reading fixture from.
Fixtures have been recalled and EDFL doing them again
They released the teams to the clubs
7 teams in Prem, 8 in 1 and 11 in 2
still no fixture in 18 girls yet either EDFL taking there sweet time! juniors prob wont be out till late next week the way the league are going!!

Fixtures have been recalled and EDFL doing them again
They released the teams to the clubs
7 teams in Prem, 8 in 1 and 11 in 2
still no fixture in 18 girls yet either EDFL taking there sweet time! juniors prob wont be out till late next week the way the league are going!!
That’s understandable with clubs struggling for numbers & having to pull out of comps

what needs to happens starts at junior level{10s to 16s} limiting the number of teams the big boy clubs have. how is it East Keilor Avondale heights/moonee valley cant field teams {18-5s} and neighbours keilor Abers strathmore have two and marby park had two last season. why is it AH/MV isnt now fielding a team.Is it because they went from div 1 to premier. Who wants to play keilor 1 when they have six TAC boys in squad. The chopping block nature of these games has to stop and the real solution can be if a club has two teams, then the talent pool is split evenly amongst those two teams and they play each other as a normal fixtured game. There may actually be some competition that is enjoyable and boys may want to stick around to play footy. If keilor Abers and Strathmore played two teams in premier the problem is solved.
Glenroy and Hadfield are neighbours but no 18-5s but a newer club like Coburg districts( a neighbour to the other two } is fielding 18-5s this year. Why? It stems from difficulty getting juniors. Glenroy for second year has no 16s.
How Coburg districts got their u18.5 is easy to answer but harder to accomplish it has been 10 + years of hard work by the club to attract juniors and their families and create an environment where they hang onto families and players and people want to be around and play for the club. Thats not knocking Glenroy or Hadfield ,I do know Hadfield are working really hard on reinvigorating their junior programs , not sure about Glenroy

With the season approaching and most player transfers in, this is how I see the year playing out

1. Keilor
2. Strathmore
3. Aberfeldie
4.Pascoe vale
5. Marby park
6. East Keilor
7. Avondale heights
8. Greenvale
9. Glenroy
10. Doutass stars

Watched EDS take on Deer Park last Saturday and was very surprised with the young team and I think they will do much better than what most of us think. Some of the new recruits looked right at home and I believe they will take a few games to gel. Noah Smallacombe from Strathmore and Andre Srour (returning junior) looked awesome and apparently EDS still have 5 senior boys to come in for Round 1.

1. Keilor
2. Strathmore
3. Pascoe Vale
4. Aberfeldie
5. Marby park
6. Doutta Stars
7. East Keilor
8. Greenvale
9. Avondale Heights
10. Glenroy
Yeah , no worries champ

Watched EDS take on Deer Park last Saturday and was very surprised with the young team and I think they will do much better than what most of us think. Some of the new recruits looked right at home and I believe they will take a few games to gel. Noah Smallacombe from Strathmore and Andre Srour (returning junior) looked awesome and apparently EDS still have 5 senior boys to come in for Round 1.

1. Keilor
2. Strathmore
3. Pascoe Vale
4. Aberfeldie
5. Marby park
6. Doutta Stars
7. East Keilor
8. Greenvale
9. Avondale Heights
10. Glenroy

What position did you play in the game ? And did you get a knock on the head ?

Listening to the latest EDFL tonight podcast and can’t help but think it could be such a better program. 7 years in and it’s still pretty amateur.
Tara is pretty limited other than the knowledge of the Womens league and Adem Saricaoglu has less idea now than when the show first started. They really need solid guest panelist’s or a permanent expert that knows the competition really well, even a person per division. I think it would add a lot more to the show.
I still enjoy listening to it but just think it could be a lot better for a big competition.

Anyone else think the NFL has overtaken the Edfl and is a superior competition

Think a lot more clubs in the NFL have car dealerships as sponsors. But who cares, we don’t play inter league games anymore. Hopefully we get to watch a full season of a bloody good standard of football.

With the season approaching and most player transfers in, this is how I see the year playing out

1. Keilor
2. Strathmore
3. Aberfeldie
4.Pascoe vale
5. Marby park
6. East Keilor
7. Avondale heights
8. Greenvale
9. Glenroy
10. Doutass stars

Watch Doutta Stars against Deer Park last weekend and what I seen I think they will be far from bottom of the ladder. The structured style of footy they play will make them hard to beat.

Hold there own did they mate?

How's the numbers at training going(apart from the big clubs that are always ok)... More like EDS , Roys, AH , teams that have struggled in the reserves for a while now

EDS will field Reserves and 18’s no problem but depth quality might be an issue. I’m optimistic about the Seniors and think some of the late recruits have given them a boost. Don’t want injuries but I’ll back them to stay up and surprise a few early.

Tips for round 1:
Strathmore vs Avondale Heights - Strathmore 7 goals
Abers vs Marby - Abers 3 goals
Keilor vs Greenvale - Keilor 10 goals
EK vs Douttas - EK 2 goals
Roys vs Pacco - Pacco 6 goals

EDFL Premier Discussion 2022