EDFL Premier Discussion 2024

I reckon it will be a little clearer after round 9. Right now APW need a win or two
APW more than capable of staying up, they will be flat about their start under new coach and pre season expectations and think they are still in the hunt to survive. They will be livid dropping to Deer Park, game they should have won at home.
Deer Park, Airport West, Avo Heights or EK
Deer Park for me, but Avondale not flying either. Reckon EK would need to completely implode to drop, they have enough good players and not out of the finals race either.

By cheating the salary cap. Paying an ex afl player $2.5k a game. So if he plays all 18 games that’s $45k which is about 1/3-1/4 of the allowed salary cap.

It might be cheating on the outside but if the league doesn’t do anything about it then what’s the point of a salary cap. It’s an absolute FARCE
Given all the unsubstantiated claims constantly spewed out on this forum, I thought I might check the facts. (Yes, folks there are actually facts that can support allegations). So, what did I find to prosecute the unscrupulous Keilor Football Club. Well, last Saturday there were 13 A-Grade players who never came through Keilor juniors- (leaving 9 who were Keilor juniors)

7 came to the club as senior players, none from EDFL clubs,

3 played Junior football at other EDFL clubs where none played past U14 level, all these players have been at Keilor for 8 or more years. Obviously a very long-term plan.

One came from St Bernards Juniors in 2005. (that’s 19 years ago for the mathematically challenged.)

So that leaves 2 players who were “pillaged’ from other EDFL clubs at U16 level and they’ve been at Keilor since 2016. Never let the truth stand in the way of a good story hey. It could possibly appear that Keilor’s success may possibly be due to decades of hard work and stability, hardly characteristics of some other clubs featuring on this forum.

Given all the unsubstantiated claims constantly spewed out on this forum, I thought I might check the facts. (Yes, folks there are actually facts that can support allegations). So, what did I find to prosecute the unscrupulous Keilor Football Club. Well, last Saturday there were 13 A-Grade players who never came through Keilor juniors- (leaving 9 who were Keilor juniors)

3 played Junior football at other EDFL clubs where none played past U14 level, all these players have been at Keilor for 8 or more years. Obviously a very long-term plan.

One came from St Bernards Juniors in 2005. (that’s 19 years ago for the mathematically challenged.)

So that leaves 2 players who were “pillaged’ from other EDFL clubs at U16 level and they’ve been at Keilor since 2016. Never let the truth stand in the way of a good story hey. It could possibly appear that Keilor’s success may possibly be due to decades of hard work and stability, hardly characteristics of some other clubs featuring on this forum.
Well done
But that has nothing to do with them cheating the cap. If you pay 1 player 1/3-1/4 of the salary cap then blind Freddie could do the maths and say that they are well over the cap for season 2024 unless they get significant injuries to their top paid players

Well done
But that has nothing to do with them cheating the cap. If you pay 1 player 1/3-1/4 of the salary cap then blind Freddie could do the maths and say that they are well over the cap for season 2024 unless they get significant injuries to their top paid players
Spot on. All teams if given the opportunity would use what they could to get ahead. Known fact and will always be there at some level. The world is corrupt by nature, so any fool who believes a local footy side or organisation won't push the limits are kidding themselves.

Ironic how success deprived clubs ( or supporters) will point the finger at clubs who got the chocolates calling them mercenaries, only to be doing the same without success is laughable. Plenty of whinging comments on here with a select few quick to throw 💩 at particular clubs only to be following clubs doing the exact same thing without success. Glass houses some of you Muppets.

The only clubs under the salary cap in most cases are the ones without it to spend. FACT!!!!
Been a president and been on sporting committees so this comes from experience and knowledge from many conversations most of which come to light years down the track especially on the frothies.
$$$$$$$ speak all languages.

Anyways..... have a great day peeps!👍

Good job Indian. It's nice to see someone on this forum actually go through the process of critically analysing the data instead of making unsubstantiated claims because their own club's long term stategy hadn't reaped the rewards it had hoped. The tall poppy syndrome is alive and well in local footy just as it is in many fields of endeavour.

Well done
Just curious Horse, do you have any proof that 1 player is getting paid that much or does your research limit itself to what you read on Bigfooty? I would have thought that if the average BF forum reader know this as a fact, then the EDFL and AFL Vic would be able to use the same sources to prosecute the offending club. My take would be that the claim is scuttlebutt emminated from this forum rather than fact. Seems unfair to me to be making accusations that can't be substantiated.

Spot on. All teams if given the opportunity would use what they could to get ahead. Known fact and will always be there at some level. The world is corrupt by nature, so any fool who believes a local footy side or organisation won't push the limits are kidding themselves.

Ironic how success deprived clubs ( or supporters) will point the finger at clubs who got the chocolates calling them mercenaries, only to be doing the same without success is laughable. Plenty of whinging comments on here with a select few quick to throw 💩 at particular clubs only to be following clubs doing the exact same thing without success. Glass houses some of you Muppets.

The only clubs under the salary cap in most cases are the ones without it to spend. FACT!!!!
Been a president and been on sporting committees so this comes from experience and knowledge from many conversations most of which come to light years down the track especially on the frothies.
$$$$$$$ speak all languages.

Anyways..... have a great day peeps!👍
A well made point. Well said.

Just curious Horse, do you have any proof that 1 player is getting paid that much or does your research limit itself to what you read on Bigfooty? I would have thought that if the average BF forum reader know this as a fact, then the EDFL and AFL Vic would be able to use the same sources to prosecute the offending club. My take would be that the claim is scuttlebutt emminated from this forum rather than fact. Seems unfair to me to be making accusations that can't be substantiated.
There wouldn’t be proof. Because I’m sure what’s written on the contract is different to what the player actually gets paid. But I have spoken to family of this certain player and they told me what he was being paid. So unless this person lied to me(not sure why they would) then I believe the figures that I was told to be 100% correct.

Not one club in the top 5 in each of the EDFL divisions is paying the salary cap, they are all over - FACT
Its just the only way to compete

Looks like mick mcguane is on big footy after all. Shouldn’t you be worrying about Pat tomorrow?

Correct you are. If any reader on big footy doesnt think that at least one club in every Metropolitan or Country league isnt over the cap by a dollar or two, they are living in dream land.

Tom Silvagni named in 2s tomorrow.Played seniors last night week so presume dropped?Be surprised if clearance not lodged before deadline.

Caught a half of the game last week, and ... without wanting to pot a young fella playing local footy.......

Let's just say he needs to work on a few things.

Where’s big Shaun McKernan at? Still not named for the mores

EDFL Premier Discussion 2024