EDFL Premier Division 2014

I'm not 100% on that, I know there was an outcry in a country league previously with a Roosters player playing both VFL and locally over the one weekend to qualify for finals so I'm sure it can be managed if Abers want to get a little creative.
Similar situation arose in Northern League last season. Bit of argy Bargy about it on their Big Footy thread just prior to 2013 finals. Rhys Magin was picked to play with both Bendigo in VFL and Montmorency in last round of NFL season. He needed 1 more game to qualify for NFL finals.

Montmorency tried to run the line that as 1 of the games was on the Friday it did not constitute the same weekend. NFL did not buy that, consequently Magin did not qualify to play finals.

It will be a very interesting final two weeks with the race towards finals. So many things need to go right for Greenvale to make finals.

1) They need to win against Keilor this weekend, so they can be a game out of the top 4.
2) They need to win against Maribyrnong Park next weekend and hope Keilor doesn't win against Avondale.

Even if Greenvale did make the finals I can't see them getting past the first week, but anything can happen in finals. When was the last time that Greenvale didn't make the finals? Both Greenvale and Keilor will come out firing this weekend. Will be a good game to watch!

It will be a very interesting final two weeks with the race towards finals. So many things need to go right for Greenvale to make finals.

1) They need to win against Keilor this weekend, so they can be a game out of the top 4.
2) They need to win against Maribyrnong Park next weekend and hope Keilor doesn't win against Avondale.

Even if Greenvale did make the finals I can't see them getting past the first week, but anything can happen in finals. When was the last time that Greenvale didn't make the finals? Both Greenvale and Keilor will come out firing this weekend. Will be a good game to watch!
Greenvale were promoted to top division in 2003. They finished mid table that year. In the 10 seasons since then they have undoubtedly been the powerhouse of the league, with 4 premierships, 4 runners up, and 2 thirds.

Financially stable and very professionally run club, who have utilised a mix of home grown talent, and very astute recruiting of players who have played at a higher level.

Greenvale were promoted to top division in 2003. They finished mid table that year. In the 10 seasons since then they have undoubtedly been the powerhouse of the league, with 4 premierships, 4 runners up, and 2 thirds.

Financially stable and very professionally run club, who have utilised a mix of home grown talent, and very astute recruiting of players who have played at a higher level.
That is an amazing record for a club that 12 years ago was in B grade. Bruce and his committee have done an amazing job. If I was Avondale I wouldn't want the Jets sneaking into 4th. Keilor v Jets this week will be a beauty.

I doubt it differs much from club to club in all honesty every club has pie nights or pizza nights or BBQ's after training on Friday nights... Every club has the occasional AFL player come down and take a training session

Some clubs may have the money to give free shorts socks training singlets and personalised footy bags which may attract kids

I'm interested to hear what abers douttas Greenvale do differently to any other club
I bet it's more than just pie nights.... Money attracts money.

Stax great work but of the home grown talent in last weeks team how many players experienced U/16 and under playing Greenvale junior football

Not sure of those stats Blue and Yellow. I don't support Greenvale, but have watched them frequently and admired them since their promotion in 2003. Perhaps someone with closer involvement with the Jets would have a better idea.
BlueJet???

From the week's team you ask? I'd say Clifton, N. Maric, Stillman, Burns, J Rohan, Lenne, Josh Smith, Dean Smith, Sardo, Farchione, Huckstepp, Jacob Thompson, Jayrd Thompson, Zumbo. What am I up to 14??

It's funny coz your from Abers. You'll have what 4 max this year line up in that first final. If it does end up being against Greenvale I hope you've done better research on them than that.

After speaking with a mate he confirmed they had 13 players that had played junior football at Greenvale.

Also players like Potter, Matt Smith, Kuret are players who have played for the club for 5+ years

From the week's team you ask? I'd say Clifton, N. Maric, Stillman, Burns, J Rohan, Lenne, Josh Smith, Dean Smith, Sardo, Farchione, Huckstepp, Jacob Thompson, Jayrd Thompson, Zumbo. What am I up to 14??

It's funny coz your from Abers. You'll have what 4 max this year line up in that first final. If it does end up being against Greenvale I hope you've done better research on them than that.

Jett not having a crack at your jets but a simple query, also you do need to research a bit better, FYI 10 home grown player represented Abers in the first final when your arse got kick and yes i think only 8 players when your team did kick arse in the main game so I'll save you the trouble of replying.

Not sure if this is a reliable source, but according to this twitter user the EDFL will play the Semi Final 1 on Sunday, 31st August, instead of Saturday 30th.

Not enough venues?

Abers have had 17 homegrowns play seniors this year with about 7-10 playing regularly. I reckon that stacks up ok. Great effort to have 14 at jets. How are some of the other clubs doing? As I guess I would say:

Douttas - 20 with 10 regular?
Avondale - under 5?
Marby - under 5?
APW - have no idea
Strathmore - 10 regular?
Northern - 20 regular?
Keilor - 10 regular?
Pacco - no idea

Does it matter?

Abers have had 17 homegrowns play seniors this year with about 7-10 playing regularly. I reckon that stacks up ok. Great effort to have 14 at jets. How are some of the other clubs doing? As I guess I would say:

Avondale - under 5?
Marby - under 5?
APW - have no idea
Strathmore - 10 regular?
Northern - 20 regular?
Keilor - 10 regular?
Pacco - no idea

Does it matter?

Jett not having a crack at your jets but a simple query, also you do need to research a bit better, FYI 10 home grown player represented Abers in the first final when your arse got kick and yes i think only 8 players when your team did kick arse in the main game so I'll save you the trouble of replying.

ha ha champ all you do is have a crack at other teams. This teams rubbish, that teams a rabble or refugees etc etc So you were having a crack you just got it wrong...again

Last year I remember Toy, Fahey, Moylen, Mango and Cattapan but your reliable so I'm sure there were 8.

Good luck for the next 6 weeks. Hopefully you will have something 'of meaning' to get on here and actually rubbish us all about

ha ha champ all you do is have a crack at other teams. This teams rubbish, that teams a rabble or refugees etc etc So you were having a crack you just got it wrong...again

Last year I remember Toy, Fahey, Moylen, Mango and Cattapan but your reliable so I'm sure there were 8.

Good luck for the next 6 weeks. Hopefully you will have something 'of meaning' to get on here and actually rubbish us all about

Yes, Abers certainly reversed the result from earlier in the season in pretty emphatic fashion. I see that Kefford, back from Essendon VFL kicked 6, and Tom Hislop also got 6.

I reckon some of the other teams in the 4 will be starting to have nightmares at the prospect of trying to contain come finals time, an Abers forward line of Johns, Kefford, Hislop, Daniher, McNamara and Reimers.

It's not as if the ball won't be coming down a lot either, with big Blake in the ruck, and on ballers Cubillo, Patak, Oswald, Lynch, Zac and Jake Hislop etc, etc, etc. Their back line looks pretty handy as well with Toy, El Houli, Davis, Craven, Allan and others.

If ever Abers are going to break that premiership drought this will be the year. They are getting close to their strongest team on the field, and are peaking at the right time. Last 3 weeks they have blown the opposition off the park.

not many home grown players on this list ! a lot of people getting a lot of money doesn't equal a premiership ? remember last year and the year before.

Avondale - under 5?
Marby - under 5?
APW - have no idea
Strathmore - 10 regular?
Northern - 20 regular?
Keilor - 10 regular?
Pacco - no idea

Does it matter?
Not particularly, whether you go out and recruit a whole side or field a side comprised solely of juniors from that club, people will still take shots.
Ultimately Premierships are bloody tough to win so credit to whoever does go on to win it.

EDFL coaches have their say on the fancies for this year's Dick Reynolds medal - http://bit.ly/1sWWWn2

Are they on the money?

I agree that Joyce and Browne will go well. I also agree that Urquart is noticeable with his awesome kicking ability. What about Horne from Strathmore? He looks to me like a player that will poll well but have only seen him once this year. Can't think of many stand outs at abers but Cubillo should poll well. Blake is another who should poll well. If Cravino hadn't got injured surely he would be a chance?

I
I agree that Joyce and Browne will go well. I also agree that Urquart is noticeable with his awesome kicking ability. What about Horne from Strathmore? He looks to me like a player that will poll well but have only seen him once this year. Can't think of many stand outs at abers but Cubillo should poll well. Blake is another who should poll well. If Cravino hadn't got injured surely he would be a chance?
I reckon Joyce and Browne could take votes off each other
I don't think Northern have won enoguh game for Curuso to get enough votes to win.
If Cravino didn't get injured he would have been tough to beat.

Penultimate round of Premier footy and still so many things can happen. The obvious big game is 4th v 5th Keilor v Greenvale. I still think the Jets can make the finals but Keilor have the chance to shut the door this week. The type of season it has been I think it will go down to rd 18 Jets by 20. Aberfeldie look like they have found some form and I think they will stitch Marby up by 70. Avondale to be far too strong for Pacco who have done very well to get enough wins to be safe but Avo by 37. APW v EDS can EDS pull off one more miracle? they have been so close to winning so many games this year but like the Kangaroos in the AFL last year they have not been able to get the job done. I reckon they are a chance in this one but AW to win by 13. Northern v Mores how can anyone be anything but impressed by the efforts of Northern this year? but they copped a reality check last week and they might just get another one this week. Mores by 50.

I agree regarding Greenvale - they're basically back to full strength this week and although McPhee is still not back in town and unlikely to return until September (by all reports) their effort to date has been huge and they're peaking at the right time. Former Rilla Jorgo back in this week will assist them greatly.

Maric and Zumbo likely to return to the VFL this week however they've still had to leave out 4 - 5 of their regular reserve players.

Greenvale will beat Keilor this week by 3 - 4 goals
Douttas will beat a disinterested Airport West by 7 points
Strathmore will smash Northern by 80 points
Avondale will beat Pacco by 17 points
Rillaz will beat Marby

Castellano, Langwell, Romanyk, Kefford & Ratcliffe.

That makes 10.

EDFL Premier Division 2014