EDFL Premier Division 2016

Pascoe Vale V Ess Doutta Stars V Greenvale

Greenvale
Highlights
Round 14 - 17 victory against Keilor at Keilor backs against the wall smashed last couple of times out against good teams (pacco & douttas) great effort.

Round 1 - 83 point victory against pacco. Really announced that they were going to improve on a hammering in 2015 grand final. Things have changed as the season has gone on.

Low light
Round 7 - 61 point loss to Aberfeldie completed a stretch of 3 consecutive losses and an absolute hammering by the premiers in what was built up to be something special. Unfortunately they didn't show up.

Other than abers this week which if other results go against them could make the favourable couple of weeks to finish very interesting.

Agree Robbie probably not coach of the year just yet however their improvement has been significant on last year.

Their season is certainly alive, more wins than last year already, they've had no 100 plus point losses (last year three), they've beaten Greenvale both times (last year lost both by 100 plus) and they've improved their defence by 5 goals a game.

They're in much better shape than last year.

You would have to guess that Marby's playing list budget would be anywhere between 25-50% of teams in premier beside maybe WC & APW. Could be on par with APW when they had Cupido, West and co.

It's going to be interesting to see how premier teams deal with this salary cap. Has the AFL come up with a figure or will they wait and then clubs will deal with the mess. Surely there is a number. I thought I heard 250k..

I heard 350k on the weekend from a Board Member, but haven't seen it written anywhere in print, and there were certainly no links to any particular number in todays press release from AFL Vic.

Keilor - fair last qtr!!! Got to give it to APW, takes a lot of courage to not give up till 3qtr time!!!! Bang.............

Just on something unrelated - At this time of the year where clubs look to resign players for next year(as pathetic as that is due to no loyalty from players), what is everyone's thoughts on how clubs should deal with players holding out and not committing? Surely in majority(if not all) of these cases the players are not committing as they want to get a better deal from somewhere else, therefore showing no loyalty or commitment to their current club so why would a club continue to pay these mercenaries where that club cannot make finals but not get relegated(Strathmore,West Coburg, Avondale in Premier , T.Lakes, Roys, Haddy in Div 1)....

And don't give me this crap about unsure on coach ect. ect/ ect... Players PLAY for the CLUB

Exceptions given to players who are open and honest about them wanting to leave due to out-side factors such as moving suburbs, higher standard, not committed to hold up standards of the club...Other than that , I wouldn't play(PAY) the bast*rds!!!! BANG BANG...............

Loyal players are few and far between these days. The problem is that they are not held accountable by the sides that they play for in the first place. These guys need to remember that at the end of the day, they are involved in a paid position, no different to having a part time job, and the way some of these clowns act, or train, or worse, don't train, any other employer would sack them as quick as look at them. If you are going to take money from a club, be prepared to live up to your end of the deal.

I heard 350k on the weekend from a Board Member, but haven't seen it written anywhere in print, and there were certainly no links to any particular number in todays press release from AFL Vic.

Surely not! What's the point of having a cap at $350k? That's $19,500 per week which equates to an average player payment of $885 per week. I'd be surprised if there was a club paying over that this season. People will jump on and say Abers are paying more than that, but in reality even if they are they could easily get under that figure without it weakening their list, as coudl any other club that may be over $350.

The cap will be determined by AFL VIC and the EDFL will have to agree. As per the points last year where the EDFL applied for a higher figure than every other comp but that was flatly rejected. $250k - $275k would be a reasonable cap IMO

Surely not! What's the point of having a cap at $350k? That's $19,500 per week which equates to an average player payment of $885 per week. I'd be surprised if there was a club paying over that this season. People will jump on and say Abers are paying more than that, but in reality even if they are they could easily get under that figure without it weakening their list, as coudl any other club that may be over $350.

The cap will be determined by AFL VIC and the EDFL will have to agree. As per the points last year where the EDFL applied for a higher figure than every other comp but that was flatly rejected. $250k - $275k would be a reasonable cap IMO

If they're fair dinkum want to make it an even playing field $200k next season reduced to $175k 2018 down to $150k 2019.
What are Abers & the Mores gunna do with the surplus $$$, how about fixing the change rooms up you muppets... Bang Bang

If they're fair dinkum want to make it an even playing field $200k next season reduced to $175k 2018 down to $150k 2019.
What are Abers & the Mores gunna do with the surplus $$$, how about fixing the change rooms up you muppets... Bang Bang

What I believe is that I the clubs have set the parameters on recruiting players and paying a lot of money in the pursuit of glory and also in the pursuit of simply being competitive at Premier level. I listened to the head man on the radio the other week and he wants the best standard and players possible in this league, that will cost money. I have heard ( rumors only) that there have been instances of players over the years not being paid there contract ( Oak Park and others ? ) I would say the commitment required to play Premier football is like a second job and the players have a strong right if they show the right commitment to explore there best options. I am personally all for loyalty but it is a two way street and in some ways in local footy the clubs hold most of the cards imo

I think there definitely needs to be a balance. Obviously no one thinks that everyone should be on $2k a game, but at the end of the day it's easy to say blokes should run out on a sat for $50, from the sidelines. Supporters and punters alike rock up in the EDFL and watch some quality ex-AFL/VFL players for FREE.

Some of these players dedicate 3 nights a week to training/recovery sessions + the whole Saturday + the extra gym/physio that goes into being able to compete week in-week out. There needs to be a balance, I just don't want players choosing to not play, or not put in the effort if it financially isn't applicable. It really is like a second job, and should be looked at like it is.

I think there definitely needs to be a balance. Obviously no one thinks that everyone should be on $2k a game, but at the end of the day it's easy to say blokes should run out on a sat for $50, from the sidelines. Supporters and punters alike rock up in the EDFL and watch some quality ex-AFL/VFL players for FREE.

Some of these players dedicate 3 nights a week to training/recovery sessions + the whole Saturday + the extra gym/physio that goes into being able to compete week in-week out. There needs to be a balance, I just don't want players choosing to not play, or not put in the effort if it financially isn't applicable. It really is like a second job, and should be looked at like it is.

Agree. Currently, the points system is a good solid idea, it has merit. The salary cap is another issue, this is seen as impossible to (police) similar to amateur footy (no one gets paid ha ha), I believe it will only require the need for some creative accounting. The clubs rightfully will use it to try and alleviate some of the high commitment which may help initially but long term?

Totally agree Bang. Goulburn Valley League as one of the major country leagues has decreed 200k in 2017 with a sliding scale comparable to the one you advocate.

Further to that, is a salary cap likely to encourage EDFL clubs to charge spectators at the gate or is there a mandate in place that could never allow that? One of several key income streams for country teams is the gate. Is it likely grounds might be fenced in the EDFL post salary cap ...?

Totally agree Bang. Goulburn Valley League as one of the major country leagues has decreed 200k in 2017 with a sliding scale comparable to the one you advocate.

Further to that, is a salary cap likely to encourage EDFL clubs to charge spectators at the gate or is there a mandate in place that could never allow that? One of several key income streams for country teams is the gate. Is it likely grounds might be fenced in the EDFL post salary cap ...?

Sorry to disappoint you Silver, but no chance for the fencing, and that would lead to no chance for charging at the gate. The grounds belong to the councils and their aim is to remove wherever they can any fences around grounds, rather than fencing in grounds. With only two grounds in Premier being fenced, Greenvale and Keilor, it would disadvantage the other clubs, and to pass a vote to allow those two clubs to charge, would need the majority of clubs to vote yes, and that will not happen. It was put to the vote quite a few years ago, flatly rejected.

Cheers Deefer. You are not disappointing me ... I am simply a bloke who is interested in the health of footy. Upon reflection, a salary cap and reduced expenses for clubs probably lessons the need for charging a price at the gate. Anyway, I figured there might be council issues hence my point about mandates. (League or Council)

Douttas are sitting 3rd on the ladder and you can't find one Douttas player in the top 35. I guess what they say about a champion team is true.
Yeah says a lot about how they play. Vespremi, Day and i am a big fan of Andersen before he did his knee. Hughes but i have only seen them a few times so hard to form an opinion about how good they are as individuals. I am sure as they spend more seasons in premier they will start to have elite players in the conversation.

Allan, Smith, Veszpremi, Hartwig and Hughes would all be stiff not to be included in the best 35 players in the competition.

Cmon lets be serious here. Veszpremi is in the best 10 players in the comp. When his fit & firing no one can match him in this league, let alone any league outside AFL/VFL. Can play anywhere and is a clear match winner. That's not easy for me to say as he left Pacco for an opposition club, but it's based purely on players ability..

I only seen that Allan once but gee he was bloody good. Based on that 1 game his got to be included in the top 30 (if not top 20) somewhere. His a jet!!

Smith, although his a good player I'm not sure on where he sits in this league until I assess all players in more detail.

Hartwig & Hughes I havent seen enough off but clearly every team would like to have these bookends (FB & FF) and probably a big reason why Douttas are doing so well.

Cmon lets be serious here. Veszpremi is in the best 10 players in the comp. When his fit & firing no one can match him in this league, let alone any league outside AFL/VFL. Can play anywhere and is a clear match winner. That's not easy for me to say as he left Pacco for an opposition club, but it's based purely on players ability..

I only seen that Allan once but gee he was bloody good. Based on that 1 game his got to be included in the top 30 (if not top 20) somewhere. His a jet!!

Smith, although his a good player I'm not sure on where he sits in this league until I assess all players in more detail.

Hartwig & Hughes I havent seen enough off but clearly every team would like to have these bookends (FB & FF) and probably a big reason why Douttas are doing so well.

Vezpremi played almost a single hand on Saturday beating West Coburg. He was outstanding all day. Top 10 player in the comp easily. Allan is as well.
Pfieffer, Shylo, Hughes and Hartwig all very good players and in the level just below, call it top 40 maybe ?

Doutta's biggest concern is the injury list to their 1 pointers at the moment and with 2 more going down Saturday (Thompson & Brown) there bottom 6 players are the worst in the competition, APW aside.
Can the the big 5 drag them over the line in a the last 3 big games or a final ? I'm concerned the answer is no. Fantastic year for the club regardless of how it finishes and to be able to go to the footy every week hopeful that your team can win is great. That hasn't been the case in A grade for Doutta's in 10 years.

Yeah says a lot about how they play. Vespremi, Day and i am a big fan of Andersen before he did his knee. Hughes but i have only seen them a few times so hard to form an opinion about how good they are as individuals. I am sure as they spend more seasons in premier they will start to have elite players in the conversation.

You're right bigj. If you look at the best players over the last 15 games its a real mixed bag. The best and fairest count this year will be a ripper. Dean Wallis and his coaching staff have done an outstanding job with a young side. Keep in mind we don't have a recognised ruckman so our mids have done a terrific job. I don't know where we will end up come the end of season but I'm sure all at Douttas will be happy with where
we are headed.

You could make a case for any one of the top 5 players at every club bar AW that they are the best player in the competition. My list is based on how hard they are to stop from an opposition point of view. Vespremi is a star and probably should have included him in my original list as i have been plotting against him since TAC Cup days and still have no answer as to how to control him. As I said earlier its hard to form an opinion around other DS players as i have not seen them enough.

EDFL Premier Division 2016