EDFL Premier Division 2016

Firstly let me wish Clarke a speedy recovery, under no circumstances do you wish anyone this type of injury. Can anyone add to the Umpire reports of Wallis (half time) & an EDS guy named Mark (3/4 time)? Seems the EDS bench was well & truly wound up - one questions whether this had some effect on the players? Can confirm a Keilor player left the ground under blood rule and another was sent off at start of last quarter for wearing some type of jewellery (automatic 1 week penalty). Keilor do not video every game. Didn't see the incident so cant comment.

I'm not sure the video would have captured the incident anyway as no.32 for Keilor was having a shot for goal and I would assume the camera would have been on him. On the player sent off for wearing jewellery, did he put it on at 3/4 time? I suggest not, so how does it not get detected for three quarters? It has been a long time since I was involved in match day activities but do the umpires still check the boots and hands before the game?

Firstly let me wish Clarke a speedy recovery, under no circumstances do you wish anyone this type of injury. Can anyone add to the Umpire reports of Wallis (half time) & an EDS guy named Mark (3/4 time)? Seems the EDS bench was well & truly wound up - one questions whether this had some effect on the players? Can confirm a Keilor player left the ground under blood rule and another was sent off at start of last quarter for wearing some type of jewellery (automatic 1 week penalty). Keilor do not video every game. Didn't see the incident so cant comment.

I sat on the Douttas side of the ground and the problem was, they thought that the Keilor player was yellow carded when it was actually due to blood rule, so they were frustrated as to why Keilor was allowed to kick for goal after what they thought was a yellow card, had not resulted in a free kick. Simply mis understanding but does not excuse the abuse hurled at the umpire at 3/4 time. Yelling abuse from the sidelines is bad enough but to approach the umpire like they did was not a good look.

I saw the 3/4 time report, He and a number of EDS supporters/officials (I am not sure who any of these people are) were extremely aggressive towards the umpires, swearing and carrying on. The umpires escort had a big job to do, it was probably the most threatened I have ever seen an umpire and that sort of behaviour at local footy is not acceptable. The incident was ugly, and I honestly thought the umpires were going to call the game off as the umpire escort was physically holding back one man (the man that was reported) but eventually the umpires escort managed to get them away.

I sat on the Douttas side of the ground and the problem was, they thought that the Keilor player was yellow carded when it was actually due to blood rule, so they were frustrated as to why Keilor was allowed to kick for goal after what they thought was a yellow card, had not resulted in a free kick. Simply mis understanding but does not excuse the abuse hurled at the umpire at 3/4 time. Yelling abuse from the sidelines is bad enough but to approach the umpire like they did was not a good look.

I saw the 3/4 time report, He and a number of EDS supporters/officials (I am not sure who any of these people are) were extremely aggressive towards the umpires, swearing and carrying on. The umpires escort had a big job to do, it was probably the most threatened I have ever seen an umpire and that sort of behaviour at local footy is not acceptable. The incident was ugly, and I honestly thought the umpires were going to call the game off as the umpire escort was physically holding back one man (the man that was reported) but eventually the umpires escort managed to get them away.

Absolutely disgusting and NOT ACCEPTABLE at any level. If EDS have any pride in their club they need to get these clowns up before the committee and discipline them. Otherwise don't expect any RESPECT from any opposition or Umpires in future..
Bang out!

Hey mate, I'm pretty sure they do video each game but it's set up on the wing near coaches box not behind the goals so probably wouldn't capture it. Even if they did capture it they wouldn't say they did..

Absolutely disgusting and NOT ACCEPTABLE at any level. If EDS have any pride in their club they need to get these clowns up before the committee and discipline them. Otherwise don't expect any RESPECT from any opposition or Umpires in future..
Bang out!

Here we go the Keilor village idiot trying to change the focus of a sickening cowardly act. I suppose you were in the toilet with all the other KFC supporters and didn't see a thing. If you expect respect from other clubs your coach and committee would be up at Windy Hill first thing Monday naming the cowardly thug.
Bang out.

Here we go the Keilor village idiot trying to change the focus of a sickening cowardly act. I suppose you were in the toilet with all the other KFC supporters and didn't see a thing. If you expect respect from other clubs your coach and committee would be up at Windy Hill first thing Monday naming the cowardly thug.
Bang out.
C'mon simmsy , not trying to change the focus at all but 1 bad act doesn't even up another bad act..
There is no excuse for that type of behavior towards Umpires full stop , no possible reason could justify it. If EDS were fair dinkum they'd be up at Windy Hill this morning naming the cowardly thugs being aggressive towards umpires.
In regards to the player who was injured I hope he makes a speedy recovery

Bang out.
Or possibly the kfc supporters like 95% of the people at the ground were watching the play unfold at the opposite end of the ground?
How about we all let the investigations play out by the appropriate people (EDFL officials, police, whoever it may be) when it's proven what actually happened I'm sure the correct punishments will be handed out
Debating the topic on here won't help either club or anyone involved

Or possibly the kfc supporters like 95% of the people at the ground were watching the play unfold at the opposite end of the ground?
How about we all let the investigations play out by the appropriate people (EDFL officials, police, whoever it may be) when it's proven what actually happened I'm sure the correct punishments will be handed out
Debating the topic on here won't help either club or anyone involved
Agree LB , good call. I think we should all move on

Seems like there will be some major fallout from the Douttas/Keilor game at the weekend

Firstly, wish Clarke a speedy recovery. It's never good to hear of these things happening on footy fields in this day and age

I wonder what ramifications this will have on Keilor's season. I don't profess to know what happened but if a Keilor is to face an investigation and a spell on the sidelines it may well be season over for the player in question. Even if a suspension was to start this week a 4 week spell could well be season over.

James injury also leaving them another key defender down & Essendon's VFL form means Nash Holmes could be unavailable for the finals series.

To top it all off Ogden getting sent off for 15 minutes for wearing jewellery wouldn't have gone down well with Mick. By all reports Ogden's ego isn't easy to manage and the coach & senior players are said to be less than impressed by his latest "individual" effort!

Hey mate, I'm pretty sure they do video each game but it's set up on the wing near coaches box not behind the goals so probably wouldn't capture it. Even if they did capture it they wouldn't say they did..
They don't video every game due to costs but on further investigation there was a video but as has already been pointed out it was filming the Keilor forward fifty when this incident took place.

The EDFL is fast losing the plot

How does an Abers player get reported, a 50m penalty applied and the reported player yellow carded and sent off as the Greenvale player was down. Then low and behold that player was replaced and then the same player actually came on less than 5 mins later! When a head count was demanded the umpire refused and told the captain (and about 4 others) that you need 2 yellows or a red to be sent off for a period of time???

Then at half time the story changed and the umpire tells the team manager when questioned that they "rescinded the yellow card" magically during play.

Laughable. The three umpire system just doesn't work at local footy. There aren't enough good umpires, way too many different interpretations and the free kick counts have doubled. When was the last time an AFL game had 75 free kicks paid to the sides in a game. Statistically is happens regularly in the EDFL.

By the way this is not an Abers issue (nothing to do with them) and they are still the best team in the comp. Players shouldn't be getting sent off in senior footy unless they are out of control. Marby had a player send off last week that probably cost them winning by more. Abers pilled on about 10 goals to 0 in last yrs Grand Final against 17 men ( yes the game was over well before)

First off the GV player deserves an award for his acting - that was a disgrace and I'm sure he'd be embarrassed with his staging. The vision highlighted it and we can only assume the umpire acted on the back of his Oscars performance!

Your correct there was confusion and we thought our player was sent off with a yellow card. We continued to check and had confirmed by Calvin he could return as a yellow isn't a send-off at senior level - only a red card is.

He returned to the field at that point having been off for approx. 5 minutes.

First off the GV player deserves an award for his acting - that was a disgrace and I'm sure he'd be embarrassed with his staging. The vision highlighted it and we can only assume the umpire acted on the back of his Oscars performance!

Your correct there was confusion and we thought our player was sent off with a yellow card. We continued to check and had confirmed by Calvin he could return as a yellow isn't a send-off at senior level - only a red card is.

Interesting that the umpire told ya that puff! Yellow card is 15 mins off, can't be replaced. Red card is off for the whole game and can be replaced at the beginning of the next quarter (from memory) perhaps the unpire should have referred to Marc Turri's article in the EDFL record from a week or two ago!

Hey Puff, I'm sure a yellow card is a 15min send off (and possible report) and a red card is the whole game send off for the player and report. Can be replaced depending on the severity of the incident.
2 yellow cards to the same player in one game equal a red..

All yellow cards I've seen are 15 mins off the ground..

Yellow card is a report and 15 mins of playing time off the ground. Can't be replaced.
Red card is a report and off for the rest of the game. Can be replaced after 15 mins of playing time.
Playing time doesn't included quarter breaks. So if it's 4 mins in the second then they must sit out 11 mins of next quarter.
2 yellows is automatic red and the the red card rule applies.
A player that has been reported must be given a yellow card in Senior Football only.
In the lower divisions a player maybe be yellow carded but not reported.
If a player is reported by a boundary or goal umpire then that player is shown a yellow card at the beginning of the next quarter.

Who's this Calvin dude??

Cmon Puff, think you knew it was 15 mins off for the player..

Ha ha puff. I'll bite. Do Abers players do anything wrong? Minor yes but when you jab blokes to the head 5m away from the ump then hey you only have yourself to blame. Amazingly you can attack/blame G’vale players if you like. It wasn’t the point of my post.

The situation was absurd. You have confirmed the version of events that the umpires had no idea and did in fact clearly issued the yellow card. You have also confirmed that the umpire has 100% concocted a story at half time realising this issue was blowing up when he refused the head count. He has 100% changed his story saying he cancelled the card at some magical point in time. Your version of events matches what was said to players out on the ground.

I must have seen 10 blokes get sent off this season alone with yellow cards and the team play with 17 players.

I never said Abers did anything wrong. Clearly Abers would have checked as every supporter at the ground saw the player leave the ground with the umpire standing there with the yellow up in the air.

Clearly you watch a lot of football and are articulate (even if you are a little biased like most). You must have been stunned?? Giggled almost as I'm sure you have seen many yellow cards including the GF last year.

Ha ha puff. I'll bite. Do Abers players do anything wrong? Minor yes but when you jab blokes to the head 5m away from the ump then hey you only have yourself to blame. Amazingly you can attack/blame G’vale players if you like. It wasn’t the point of my post.

The situation was absurd. You have confirmed the version of events that the umpires had no idea and did in fact clearly issued the yellow card. You have also confirmed that the umpire has 100% concocted a story at half time realising this issue was blowing up when he refused the head count. He has 100% changed his story saying he cancelled the card at some magical point in time. Your version of events matches what was said to players out on the ground.

I must have seen 10 blokes get sent off this season alone with yellow cards and the team play with 17 players.

I never said Abers did anything wrong. Clearly Abers would have checked as every supporter at the ground saw the player leave the ground with the umpire standing there with the yellow up in the air.

Clearly you watch a lot of football and are articulate (even if you are a little biased like most). You must have been stunned?? Giggled almost as I'm sure you have seen many yellow cards including the GF last year.

You're a sook!! The bloke deserved an award for diving. Now you're blaming the umpires. Move on sook!!!

Regardless of if he took a dive or not. Once you give a yellow card, the card must stand. You can't then cancel the yellow card. Sounds like the umpires made a big mistake. Greenvale should ask the league to investigate the situation so that this doesn't happen in a final.
I wasn't there but if the captain ask for a head count then the umpires have to stop play and do a count. Sounds like Abers were lucky not to have there score wiped if they had 18 on the field when they should of had 17.

Abers weren't lucky. They didn't do anything wrong. They didn't just decide to send the player back on themselves

What the umpires were doing is anybody's guess. And it will happen again as nobody as any real idea of the rules anymore.

Interesting that you'd opt to go the man given your blatant failings with comprehension.
Jett made no attempt to discredit Aberfeldie, he just highlighted what has been described to me as well as an umpire not knowing the appropriate protocol.
I do agree with your sentiments regarding diving however.

Card or no card our player shouldn't have been off the ground. It wasn't a jab to the head either and as said the vision shows that it was great acting!!

I said there was confusion hence checking. We acted on umpire instructions and he returned to the ground.

What's the point of last years send off in the GF? An undisciplined act from one of GV's senior players that wouldn't have changed the end result which I don't think you're suggesting?

Card or no card our player shouldn't have been off the ground. It wasn't a jab to the head either and as said the vision shows that it was great acting!!

I said there was confusion hence checking. We acted on umpire instructions and he returned to the ground.

What's the point of last years send off in the GF? An undisciplined act from one of GV's senior players that wouldn't have changed the end result which I don't think you're suggesting?
Puff, nobody is trying to take away anything from Abers, it's a good club and is currently looking a very strong chance at going back to back.
The issue here is that a yellow card is a send off - that a senior ump doesn't know the rules is the cause of bemusement.

Puff, nobody is trying to take away anything from Abers, it's a good club and is currently looking a very strong chance at going back to back.
The issue here is that a yellow card is a send off - that a senior ump doesn't know the rules is the cause of bemusement.
The EDFL thinks it's one of the most professional leagues in Melbourne if not Victoria then they should seriously lookout having a interchange steward from each club who has a understanding of the rules so these issues don't keep popping up , I know a lot of grounds have their interchanges set up on the opposite sides of the ground but they may have to move them to the same side so they can accommodate this issue

Abers weren't lucky. They didn't do anything wrong. They didn't just decide to send the player back on themselves

What the umpires were doing is anybody's guess. And it will happen again as nobody

I get that BJ - an error made and we move on.

There's plenty of umpire bashing that takes place at all levels - I know I'm guilty of it in the heat of the moment and certainly not proud of it.

They make mistakes like we all do and I think they could do with more support.

EDFL Premier Division 2016