EDFL Premier Division 2016

I guess judging by this post you have little idea of just what someone like Putt is on. He was almost out the door at the end of last year but was convinced to stay. As I said good luck to KFC on the win and their recruiting this season, but you have the most expensive coach, ruck division & full forward in this comp. Is the beer free as I might pop down for a few...

Turbo, I find it funny you put Keilors win down to its expenditure.
Pacco are top 4 spenders in this league with the second most expensive forward in Warren. What did they achieve this season ? Definitely not value for money.
Keilor on the other hand have.
So if you're spruiking Keilors spending and recruiting then you need mark Paccos pretty poorly.

Exactly the whole Keilor spent money is just dumb.. They would have been the lowest spender of all top 4 teams... All teams need to spend money simply to be competitive in A grade.. And Abers shows that just by spending the most doesn't guarantee success.

Will Abers reload again? Who are they likely to lose??

It's funny that each of the finalists will point their finger the other for being big spenders but honestly who gives a damn?
Provided that their giving their local fellas a chance and are financial - what difference does it make..

Sent from my SM-N915G using Tapatalk

Question regarding 2017
With Avondale v Airport West playing on queens birthday weekend who do we think should get the right to host the stand alone Queens Birthday clash in 2017?

Exactly the whole Keilor spent money is just dumb.. They would have been the lowest spender of all top 4 teams... All teams need to spend money simply to be competitive in A grade.. And Abers shows that just by spending the most doesn't guarantee success.

Will Abers reload again? Who are they likely to lose??

Lowest of top4 teams. Give me a break. Easily in the top 3 biggest budget in this comp. Do the maths mate. Cmon I'm all for spending some decent money and good on them for winning but it is usually who spends the most wins. But they are not the highest but easily in top 3. I also think a top 3 club club missed the finals completely.

Oh let's move on the as I think I've made my point..

Lowest of top4 teams. Give me a break. Easily in the top 3 biggest budget in this comp. Do the maths mate. Cmon I'm all for spending some decent money and good on them for winning but it is usually who spends the most wins. But they are not the highest but easily in top 3. I also think a top 3 club club missed the finals completely.

Oh let's move on the as I think I've made my point..
I think we can all agree old mate Turbo is that the sides who finished 2nd to 5th would be relatively similar in terms of spending. Ill take a stab and say 230-260K...... Then the team who finished on top would have these sides covered by about 100-120K. As Jet said who gives a shit let's move on hey

I'm sure deer park are content winning flags by 20 goals, doubt they would be interested in getting challenged on a weekly basis in the EDFL
From what I can gather, Deer Park's funds are limitless. That says something in the current climate.

Oh sh&&, maybe I should

Sh@@ my mistake I didn't mean to write that as I do know his not a full time coach. But he does clean the rooms and toilets if you read his contract lodged with AFL vic for the salary cap. Haha
as they say you pay peanuts you get monkeys. Lets look at his efforts and successes. You joke about his U10s coaching but you know how important that is to him and what time he put in. 3 teams in the grand final, do you know what Mick did with them during the year and on GF day? Firsts and seconds premiers, no comments needed grom everyone has dore that. He deserves every $ he gets

Will be interesting with salary cap across all footy with clubs having to submit contracts and at end of season having to provid PAYG slips for each player
That will be interesting ......

as they say you pay peanuts you get monkeys. Lets look at his efforts and successes. You joke about his U10s coaching but you know how important that is to him and what time he put in. 3 teams in the grand final, do you know what Mick did with them during the year and on GF day? Firsts and seconds premiers, no comments needed grom everyone has dore that. He deserves every $ he gets

I've said many times Mick is the best in the business. I guess the stigma of the incident v Douttas has put Keilor FC offside with a lot of people (incl me), and then to see the player at the club celebrating with the players & committee is not a good look. That whole saga should have been dealt with in a more professional way by KFC. This was not the only incident during the year either so I'm not sure it's all roses down there.

I must say I was surprised by Keilor beating Abers 3 times this season and the ease in which they won the GF. Pacco beat Keilor at Keilor by exposing them for pace with fast & accurate ball movement. That's the way to beat them.

Bring on 2017 I say.

Over & out for season 2016 for Turbo. Loved the banter & humour and wish you all well for the festive season approaching.

Early prediction for 2017 - Pacco to take home the chocolates. Haha
Abers, Keilor, Douttas & Strathmore to be thereabouts again. Think Greenvale might focus on developing their younger group in 2017.

Could be wrong but I'm pretty sure sign ons are not permitted. Payments for finals are not permitted either

If this is accurate, wont take long for a group of players to band together and challenge it legally and they will win. AFL VIC surely can not impose restrictions that restrict a players potential to earn.

I've said many times Mick is the best in the business. I guess the stigma of the incident v Douttas has put Keilor FC offside with a lot of people (incl me), and then to see the player at the club celebrating with the players & committee is not a good look. That whole saga should have been dealt with in a more professional way by KFC. This was not the only incident during the year either so I'm not sure it's all roses down there.

I must say I was surprised by Keilor beating Abers 3 times this season and the ease in which they won the GF. Pacco beat Keilor at Keilor by exposing them for pace with fast & accurate ball movement. That's the way to beat them.

Bring on 2017 I say.

Over & out for season 2016 for Turbo. Loved the banter & humour and wish you all well for the festive season approaching.

Early prediction for 2017 - Pacco to take home the chocolates. Haha
Abers, Keilor, Douttas & Strathmore to be thereabouts again. Think Greenvale might focus on developing their younger group in 2017.
Turbo, I haven't been on this forum for long and I must say that I enjoyed reading your comments very much. I'm passionate about local footy and may things I have read has helped me to enjoy the game even more.

I agree, Mick did a great job and recruited well. Abers completely under achieved for the money they spent or owe?? Strathmore, Doutta and Marby will be stronger again in 2017. Greenvale, depending on the coach, There are still some good local talent that are on a path to be on 1 point and low match payments that will provide great depth with a bit of recruiting. Any names on coaches that would be after the Greenvale job? Also heard Tulla coach moving? Merrygoround begins!!

Your right Turbo but the problem Abers had is they could not hit a target all day by hand & foot

Full credit to Keilor - deserving winners and they we're quite clinical on Saturday

There's no doubt the injuries during the game to McLean and Reimers hurt Abers chances of mounting a comeback but the damage was already done. In the 2 finals both sides played Keilor were able to get off to a flying start and Abers weren't able to make up the difference. Galea paid himself off with his effort on Saturday. His ability to take a contested mark was the difference between the 2 sides when going forward.

Keilor's ability to shut the game down after half time was just as impressive. Browne was able to sit in the hole and it stopped Abers ability to try and get the ball in quickly and give their forwards any chance of a one on one contest. Browne once again dominated Mabon.

Abers would be disappointed with their leaders. I though Cubillo got sucked in to often and gave away numerous free kicks in the first half, and their ball use and ball handling were quite poor. It seemed like the occassion may have got to them and once Keilor got their tails up there was no stopping them. i thought the Keilor pressure was first class and didn't allow Abers any time or space when they had ball in hand

It will be interesting to see what happens Abers form here on in. They undoubtedly have one of the stronger junior programs with their 18's again victorious. I'm not sure what their list will look like next season but with the cap coming in next season you'd have to think they'll shed a few players and give some home grown players more of an opportunity

It's also good for the comp to see a different premiership winner for the 4th year in a row.

In the last ten years we've had 5 different clubs win flags. Greenvale with 3, Marby, Strathmore & Keilor with 2 and Abers with 1. Oak Park being the only club to play off in a GF in this period and not to win one

Full credit to Keilor - deserving winners and they we're quite clinical on Saturday

There's no doubt the injuries during the game to McLean and Reimers hurt Abers chances of mounting a comeback but the damage was already done. In the 2 finals both sides played Keilor were able to get off to a flying start and Abers weren't able to make up the difference. Galea paid himself off with his effort on Saturday. His ability to take a contested mark was the difference between the 2 sides when going forward.

Keilor's ability to shut the game down after half time was just as impressive. Browne was able to sit in the hole and it stopped Abers ability to try and get the ball in quickly and give their forwards any chance of a one on one contest. Browne once again dominated Mabon.

Abers would be disappointed with their leaders. I though Cubillo got sucked in to often and gave away numerous free kicks in the first half, and their ball use and ball handling were quite poor. It seemed like the occassion may have got to them and once Keilor got their tails up there was no stopping them. i thought the Keilor pressure was first class and didn't allow Abers any time or space when they had ball in hand

It will be interesting to see what happens Abers form here on in. They undoubtedly have one of the stronger junior programs with their 18's again victorious. I'm not sure what their list will look like next season but with the cap coming in next season you'd have to think they'll shed a few players and give some home grown players more of an opportunity

It's also good for the comp to see a different premiership winner for the 4th year in a row.

In the last ten years we've had 5 different clubs win flags. Greenvale with 3, Marby, Strathmore & Keilor with 2 and Abers with 1. Oak Park being the only club to play off in a GF in this period and not to win one
Any reports on the push and shove that occurred at the after match celebration at Windy Hill between the president of the Edfl and a couple of long serving ex Keilor players

Just heard in the lunch room said Edfl president also took aim at Mighty Mick and an assistant coach before being dragged out by two family members

EDFL Premier Division 2016