EDFL Premier Division 2017

See Foster played for Pacco Saturday , didn't he get 4 weeks after the R5 game which would put him out R6,7,8 & 9? No Peart??
Pacco - c'mon Turbo WTF is happening
Great win WC at they're spiritual home
Doutta's - 210k for a coach 3 years with 1 x B Grade Flag with bought players and loaded up again only not to make finals in his final 2 years
AH - 2 good wins , ratified getting rid of their last coach(geez the Sunbury boy's aren't a big wrap for him, don't know the full story about his departure there but they were certainly happy to see the back of him), look like AV are heading in the right direction but too late for this season
Abers & GV - Looking ominous
Marby - Will be confident of doing damage in the finals

Great to see Avondale Heights get two wins on the trot, Donald McDonald and Craig Brittain have certainly made an instant impact. Craigieburn at home this week, then EDS away. Looking forward to seeing how they go against EDS on Saturday week.

Agree with earlier post on Cam Wood's form, he would be right up there in best in comp contention at the minute.

I see you're at it again little man.
From what I read you were an avid spectator at an APW game on Saturday moaning about hip and shoulders but also managed to see that Douttas were a couple of talls down against Greenvale.
I would hope Dean Wallis is coach of EDS next year and the club continues to improve with the good hard working people down there.
You should go and ask Dean what his plans are. Seems an approachable bloke. Or at least ask the person that you "hear the U19 are forced to train with a 50m arc on the top oval" from to have a chat with him.
You don't have to be Inspector Clouseau to figure out who you are ya FLOG
Name calling doesn't become you.

Midway point of the season. Let's get some predictions happening.

Top 4 - G'Vale, Abers, Strathmore, Marby
GF - Greenvale and Abers
Premiers - Abers
GF Best On - Reimers
Comp Medal - Maric
Goal Kicking - Galea
Most Dissapointing - Pacco
Most Improved - Marby

Midway point of the season. Let's get some predictions happening.

Top 4 - G'Vale, Abers, Strathmore, Marby
GF - Greenvale and Abers
Premiers - Abers
GF Best On - Reimers
Comp Medal - Maric
Goal Kicking - Galea
Most Dissapointing - Pacco
Most Improved - Marby
Too 4 - Greenvale, Aberfeldie, Marby, Keilor
GF- Greenvale & Abers
Premiers- Greenvale
GF Best On - Dempsey
Comp Medal - Maric
Goal kicking - Galea
Most Disappointing - Pacco
Most improved - West Coburg

Greenvale - Abers this week should be a cracker. I hope the rain stays away.

Hey boys what's been happening in the league. Been away for a few weeks with no reception to the web and lost my phone. Haven't had a chance to look back through this forum, as to busy getting back into the swing of things. Did pop into Pacco on my way back from the Airport but the shutters were down and there was sercurity people there, but I seen some local newspaper guys there so I drove straight past and went home. Called a few people but no one answering my calls. What's going on. I looked at the ladder but think it's not up to date surely..

Have no idea what would be happening there. Some very disappointing and surprising results. EDFL have changed the layout of the webpage, but stuffed it totally.

Any chance of EDS getting Zac Dawson, Jeremy Laidler or Dale Morris back next year. All would be very doubtful to be playing AFL.

Would be great as all 1 pointers but I doubt it as Dawson and Laidler live interstate and Morris should go around again. Heaven knows the mighty doggies need him.

Pacco have been flying Turbo, all their loyal "great bloke" players playing for the Jumper and not $$$ have been leading the way!

They must be playing in the seconds. At least they are in 8th. Time to write this season off Turbo. At least being away for a few weeks and off the grid has saved you the agony of living through the slide first hand. Two wins in premier, 3 wins in reserves and points from a bye and a forfeit only in under 19's at the half way mark does not look good. I honestly didn't think you were that bad but the results say otherwise. What's going on Turbo? A premiership in Div 1 might happen before a premiership in Premier Div one might think.

They must be playing in the seconds. At least they are in 8th. Time to write this season off Turbo. At least being away for a few weeks and off the grid has saved you the agony of living through the slide first hand. Two wins in premier, 3 wins in reserves and points from a bye and a forfeit only in under 19's at the half way mark does not look good. I honestly didn't think you were that bad but the results say otherwise. What's going on Turbo? A premiership in Div 1 might happen before a premiership in Premier Div one might think.[/QUO

Huge culture issues you would have to say.
They have brought in a heap of high paid recruits, they have also brought in some talented fringe players and looking at the club on paper early on, they looked pretty dangerous.
But standing back and having a better look they have lost a heap of homegrown. Their 19's are a shambles all this because they have burnt the local kids in their quest for a flag. And now the fringe players are putting in transfer requests left right and centre.

It will be hard to build from here too. All the players they need to piss off are 1 pointers. Harris, Urquar etc. Then they have to replace with 3-4 pointers.

Surely you know what's happening Turbo. You need to explain what's happened with this implosion at Pacco !!

Didn't realise Hillside was that far off the grid.

Hahaha. Good one boys. Just trying to raise some interest in this thread by applying some banter. But honestly they do seem to have a reasonable list but just can't string some wins together. If they would have beat Strathmore they would have found oxygen again but agree the season is over.

Interesting comment regarding keeping certain players. Oh yes the points system is great in that you are probably forced into holding players on low points and paying them good coin as you can't replace with outside players.
On the subject of homegrowns who have left, most have left because they don't want to commit to playing premier footy and sought dollars above their value.. It's a 2 way street in that you can't bow down and pay them overs..

Yes the so called bigger clubs are doing well again but they should be under the points system. But is this what people want to see??? Do players want to play for sides that win every week or would they prefer to create some history and great memories that last forever if they could get a "medium" club a premiership.. Thst to me is a lot more special now and in years to come. If not why doesn't every player just go to the clubs with the biggest spending budgets like Deer Park (WRFL) Balwyn (EFL) not to mention 2-3 clubs in our EDFL comp.

I don't begrudge these clubs as such, but don't like some things that go on behind the scenes with enticing players.

How many clubs can afford to play someone like Alister Kefford in the reserves! and his a 1 pointer..

And for 1 or 2 imbeciles who have made comments regarding "it couldn't happen to a nicer club" you have little idea on the league or footy. Spend an arvo down at Pacco amongst the inner circle and then go to some other clubs (beside your own) and then comment independently or would you rather some clubs come up from other divisions?? Lol. Nothing worse than reading comments from people who hang off others at the footy and have little idea of what happens..

Hahaha. Good one boys. Just trying to raise some interest in this thread by applying some banter. But honestly they do seem to have a reasonable list but just can't string some wins together. If they would have beat Strathmore they would have found oxygen again but agree the season is over.

Interesting comment regarding keeping certain players. Oh yes the points system is great in that you are probably forced into holding players on low points and paying them good coin as you can't replace with outside players.
On the subject of homegrowns who have left, most have left because they don't want to commit to playing premier footy and sought dollars above their value.. It's a 2 way street in that you can't bow down and pay them overs..

Yes the so called bigger clubs are doing well again but they should be under the points system. But is this what people want to see??? Do players want to play for sides that win every week or would they prefer to create some history and great memories that last forever if they could get a "medium" club a premiership.. Thst to me is a lot more special now and in years to come. If not why doesn't every player just go to the clubs with the biggest spending budgets like Deer Park (WRFL) Balwyn (EFL) not to mention 2-3 clubs in our EDFL comp.

I don't begrudge these clubs as such, but don't like some things that go on behind the scenes with enticing players.

How many clubs can afford to play someone like Alister Kefford in the reserves! and his a 1 pointer..

And for 1 or 2 imbeciles who have made comments regarding "it couldn't happen to a nicer club" you have little idea on the league or footy. Spend an arvo down at Pacco amongst the inner circle and then go to some other clubs (beside your own) and then comment independently or would you rather some clubs come up from other divisions?? Lol. Nothing worse than reading comments from people who hang off others at the footy and have little idea of what happens..

Turbo , you know there will always be people to bag your club. It's just the way it is. You have to agree that the list you have regardless of how much or how little you are paying or points being used is under performing. The concerning thing for you should be that it is not only at senior level, but reserves and u/19 as well. You cannot begrudge some of the better performing clubs and say they entice players underhandedly as its a tactic that all clubs have used at one time or another.

As you know I follow Greenvale and to a lesser degree Craigieburn a perfect example of two opposites. Both played with 31 and 28 points respectively. Each had 4 players that were not a 1 pt player. Greenvale on top beating one of the preseason faves by 50 pts who fielded a side at 48 player pts. The players at Greenvale are trying to create lifelong memories and the majority have played together through juniors. Why would they want to go to a medium club, large club or any other club if that can play there? They have lost a few who couldn't get a game in a strong side to other sides in the comp which is unfortunate but such is life. They also have a number of players offered much bigger coin to play elsewhere who chose to stay for less. Culture and loyalty are important.

The teams who have tried to recruit big to get a flag and are playing at maximum or near maximum points includes Pacco, Avondale and Douttas. In doing so you risk burning your homegrown talent because once the high price recruits arrive they don't play so they go elsewhere then once the high price recruits/ mercenaries leave the cupboard is bare. Case in point Craigieburn. They pulled out all stops to win Div 1 and then when the big names left the well was dry.

Points, money, it all amounts to nothing if your team is not performing. It becomes a real issue when lack of performance is across all grades indicating that the talent pool to draw from is getting thin.

some people should be out looking for u/19 players for their own wonderful caring and sharing clubs rather than be wasting time on here slagging other clubs ......
Nice of you to contribute in such a constructive fashion as usual.
Where did I slag your club?
What did I say that is not the case?
Oh and we will have a under 19 side next year. Over half of the boys for that side are currently on top in the thirds comp and the others are playing in the under 17 comp this year and going up.
I was simply making an observation and backing it with facts and not with self opinionated dribble. Unlike some I like to get fact behind my argument and not shoot my mouth off and make myself look silly. But each to their own.

Calling me an imbecile? Bit rich. Been to plenty of games over the last 20 years turbo. Been to a fair amount of those that don't represent my club. Would hands down say that Pacco are getting what they deserve. Elitist attitude, with a very good list. But yet again, have nothing to show for it.

And FYI turbo, if it wasn't for loyal people like moth and dougie, who do it for love, then Pacco wouldn't be anywhere near A Grade. There wouldn't be many senior players at your club who would know who they are.

Oddball, I was keeping my words to a minimum with that comment as wanted to say more. NOW another stupid ridiculous comment towards Pacco. I can probably guess who you are..

Everyone there knows those 2 people you mentioned. Both good loyal people who go out of there way to say hello and help with things. But there are a few others there that spend countless hours helping the club they love, like what happens at other clubs. But they do need more helpers. They have worked extremely hard on building juniors and now have 3 under 11 sides going quite well. Let's not forget these volunteers..
It's a great club who treat people with respect but not one of the bigger powerful clubs who seem to get bigger numbers into there rooms on a Thursday & Saturday. It seems you don't like that they are trying to battle it out with these bigger clubs (well really they were forced to after other clubs in premier went crazy spending $$) however it's a bit like David v Goliath..Why would anyone criticise them for having a crack is beyound me.

With regards to there position on the ladder it's very disappointing and changes need to happen but I won't go into my opinions on that other than to say they probably didn't recruit the right players in someway. Maybe they were hoping Hardingham was going to do it ALL up forward but they lack a tall strong "old fashion" forward (Wells / Tydell would be handy) to help him, and a big bodied midfielder with body strength (like a Cachia/Schroder/Cubilla type) and it would make a huge difference. There backline has surprised me as they probably lack a permanent fullback.. Plus there "marquee" players do need to lift at times and stop these last quarter goal differences. That's all I will say without going into specifics..

Can you name any homegrowns playing for other clubs that would slot into premier league standard. Divine at Tulla?? Meroli at Glenroy?? I'm not convinced however one of those Meroli boys got my attention playing for Pacco in 2014. He looked ok playing CHF / CHB. Wouldn't M.Watson make a huge difference, but he still harbours ambition to play higher and good on him.

They do seem to have a decent batch of kids in some lower grades but this points system has come in at a bad time for clubs like Pacco. Some clubs are paying junior coaches and hearing payments not limited to coaches. Not all clubs agree that is the best path to follow..

Oddball, I was keeping my words to a minimum with that comment as wanted to say more. NOW another stupid ridiculous comment towards Pacco. I can probably guess who you are..

Everyone there knows those 2 people you mentioned. Both good loyal people who go out of there way to say hello and help with things. But there are a few others there that spend countless hours helping the club they love, like what happens at other clubs. But they do need more helpers. They have worked extremely hard on building juniors and now have 3 under 11 sides going quite well. Let's not forget these volunteers..
It's a great club who treat people with respect but not one of the bigger powerful clubs who seem to get bigger numbers into there rooms on a Thursday & Saturday. It seems you don't like that they are trying to battle it out with these bigger clubs (well really they were forced to after other clubs in premier went crazy spending $$) however it's a bit like David v Goliath..Why would anyone criticise them for having a crack is beyound me.

With regards to there position on the ladder it's very disappointing and changes need to happen but I won't go into my opinions on that other than to say they probably didn't recruit the right players in someway. Maybe they were hoping Hardingham was going to do it ALL up forward but they lack a tall strong "old fashion" forward (Wells / Tydell would be handy) to help him, and a big bodied midfielder with body strength (like a Cachia/Schroder/Cubilla type) and it would make a huge difference. There backline has surprised me as they probably lack a permanent fullback.. Plus there "marquee" players do need to lift at times and stop these last quarter goal differences. That's all I will say without going into specifics..

Can you name any homegrowns playing for other clubs that would slot into premier league standard. Divine at Tulla?? Meroli at Glenroy?? I'm not convinced however one of those Meroli boys got my attention playing for Pacco in 2014. He looked ok playing CHF / CHB. Wouldn't M.Watson make a huge difference, but he still harbours ambition to play higher and good on him.

They do seem to have a decent batch of kids in some lower grades but this points system has come in at a bad time for clubs like Pacco. Some clubs are paying junior coaches and hearing payments not limited to coaches. Not all clubs agree that is the best path to follow..
Hey Turbo
I hope you don't think I was trying to have a crack as I think a strong and competitive Pacco is important to the comp as is a strong and competitive West Coburg and who ever comes up next year. It is demoralising to watch teams get flogged by 100 Pts each week. We want a more even comp. Two Years ago at this point we could have all gone home season done and dusted. Last year became a little more even and this year even more so with three sides all pretty equal on top and then the next three or four not that far behind. Aberfeldie is still the Goliath but others are catching up.
In order for David to beat Goliath he played smarter he used different tactics that Goliath didn't expect and came out on top. He didn't try and match Goliath. I know you will disagree but you tried to match the so called Goliath clubs by spending as well. A valiant attempt but all to no avail. You talk about the points system coming in at the wrong time we'll the leagues Goliath ( aberfeldie) fielded a side at only 35 player points. Last years Premier played last week at 37 points. So if the big money is being spent is it being spent on local homegrown talent at these clubs?

An interesting point you make about watching one of the Meroli in juniors and others now playing else where. Would spending money on keeping them there have been a better investment? Hindsight is a wonderful thing. It's encouraging to hear that the junior program is improving and hopefully the benefits of that flow through over the coming years.

The points system was brought in to stop clubs pinch hitting for a season or two, buying a flag and then fading into the background again. The salary cap will hopefully add to that though I have some doubts as to how well it can be policed. The idea is that the extra money is then funnelled back into junior development by the clubs themselves and seen as an investment into their future.

I haven't heard of clubs paying coaches as most teams are coached by a parent of a player in the side but having said that what is wrong with a club getting an experienced coach to develop the kids? Is that a better investment into the club than getting a mercenary in for a season paying them $1000's of dollars only for them to then bugger off at the end of the season because someone offered more money? I know with some of the parent coaches I have seen and heard on a Sunday I would happily pay a little extra to get an experienced, unbiased coach. My opinion only. We are all happy to send our kids to coaching clinics for a few days during school holidays and pay money for it but see it as taboo to do at club. I recently got an invite for my young bloke to attend a Northern Blues junior dev day $90 for the day. Guarantee it will be packed. If we as parents paid that on top of our fees to a club to pay a good junior coach would the players and the club benefit? Once again just my opinion.

Havent watched any EDFL this year, new baby and no longer living in the area but looks an interesting season. Abers & Greenvale were tipped to struggle this year, all the talk was that Chapman was a useless coach, but perhaps getting into a more professional environment at Greenvale has brought the best out of him. Abers were always going to have too much talent to slide. What is going wrong with Keilor?

EDFL Premier Division 2017