EDFL Premier Division

All good mate only kidding..

Interested to see people's top 4 predictions after round1. Has anyone had any second thoughts. Do we think Pacco and Greenvale should finish in there, barring any major injuries so who goes out??
Great season it's going to be!!
Yes, it should be another bumper year in EDFL. Turbos, who do you think will be Pacco's opponents in the Grand Final?

Hey Stax,
Let's take it 1 week at a time mate. Still a bit of work to do but it's exactly what they needed to get of to a good start. 10 goal first quarter probably tells us something about the group.
From all reports its Abers to lose so the Pacco boys are keeping a lid on it.
It's great for the league to have so many sides going well with Pacco being one of them.. Also great reward for the club people, as you will notice most of the coaching group have long been Pacco people driven by David Morgan..
Other clubs spend a lot of money on coaching staff so it's great for the club..

Yep just taking the piss, it's actually tomorrow.
Cmon tipsters it's Pacco by 25pts as I'm feeling more confident each day..

Ben Warren to kick more that Galea & Rose.. I also backing he will take a hanger in his EDFL game..

Go the Pacco Panthers..
You where pretty much spot on , warren kicked a bag and took a hanger except they won by 14 goals

The news only gets worse for Northern, Nat Caruso told the playing group after the game he is out for the year as he requires a knee reco.

Such a pity.

Hopefully this was just a case of Northern being caught on the hop, the next 3 weeks will tell the story and fingers crossed that is all this result was.

You where pretty much spot on , warren kicked a bag and took a hanger except they won by 14 goals

Hey mate,
I couldn't sound to cocky but thought it could blow out if they were on song.
As in an earlier post the Abers v Pacco game should get a big crowd. Even if you don't follow either side just to see these 2 midfields would be worth it. Some of the best players going around local footy.

Don't know how the edfl clubs get their money especially seeing there is no gate money but how have pacco and abers afford to get the players they have, more aimed at pacco now seeing abers have done it for a while.

Newbie to edfl.

How do they do it, throw in AVH also

How do the other clubs comete?

are the playing fields level?

Is it really only 6 real teams?

How does it het better

Don't know how the edfl clubs get their money especially seeing there is no gate money but how have pacco and abers afford to get the players they have, more aimed at pacco now seeing abers have done it for a while.

Newbie to edfl.

How does it het better

Ok let me have a crack at answering some of your questions but I have no offical involvement at any club.
-Yes Abers would have the highest budget and probably have for the past years. The next level would be working with high budgets in no particular order: Strathmore, Avondale, Greenvale, Pascoe Vale, Keilor. * I could guess an order but this would be heresay and could cause others to respond.
Just below them would be Marby Park. Then the other 3 clubs.
The money is generated via functions, sponsors, big junior bases which takes hard work to put in place and then maintain. Most of these clubs mentioned above have a number of junior sides in one age group.
So to answer the question the money is generated via hard work by each club.

- in all honesty these 7 clubs appear at this stage to be better placed than the other 3 sides to compete for finals. It must be said these 7 clubs have been in premier longer than the other 3 so have had time to build list management.

- let's use Pacco as an example. In 2014 a new coach took over and decided to review each player and in turn there was a big turn over of players. To my knowledge it was decided to pay players what they are worth and only keep those that want to play for the club and build a future. Some " good" players were recruited in, and all these players have stayed on after battling to avoid relegation in 2014. In 2015 they went and recruited some more quality players/people to build a competitive team. So the ones that did it hard in 2014 might see some reward for sticking fat.
Yes they are paying these guys but they are there for club success and like the place and people. A lot of these guys knew each other and that has also helped get buy in. A lot were offered more elsewhere so it's not solely money reasons.
Also the coaching panel would probably be the lowest paid out of the 7 clubs..

-the playing field is even and clubs need to work hard. There appears to be a couple of clubs that could struggle to keep up but once again I'm not going to name them.
But having 7-8 teams out of 10 that are competitive is better than most leagues. The other 2 are rebuilding..

In closing its a strong league and one of the best in metro/country. Once again this is a debatable topic but my opinion is the quality of the top 20 players in EDFL would be better than any other league around..

So in closing money is generated by hard work from dedicate club people building from the ground up. Juniors bring in revenue but also parents to become future club people. They also bring extra people on Saturdays which brings extra $$ through the bar, canteen, functions etc.

Hope this helps..

Northern have 9 new debutantes this week with two 16 year old's playing their first senior game. Club looking to a youthful future looks like. Hopefully they can stand up to an experienced outfit and rightly favourited West Coburg.

Saw this game. Actually there for most of the day. U18's seem to be made up of mostly 1st year players, with maybe 1 or 2 standouts, the rest have a lot of work to do despite age difference. A big job for the coach who has been doing it now for some time.

Seconds OK, but it's just seconds.

Seniors, well, I have watched the seniors on a number of occasions, I do enjoy watching their brand of footy, however, what I saw was noting like they have played in the past. In fact they look incredibly unprepared. They looked B Grade and West Coburg looked A grade. Such a massive difference since the last I saw them and now in a home and away match. I know they have a lost a couple of players, but the team's intensity was non-existent, they didn't seem to have a forward line, and their mids were uncharacteristically smashed. It's only the first game I know, but now having lost their best player, I fear that they will not be good enough to stay up, and will be most likely of all teams to go back down. Perhaps it's where they need to be, as A Grade you need dollars to compete and I heard they are spending less money this year than last year, which wasn't much anyway. Unfortunately in A Grade if you want to compete with the best, you need to spend big $$$. I don't like it but it's fact. I hope they can recover to what they used to produce, a free flowing frenetic very attacking game which was awesome to watch. By the way the 9 debutants are OK, but need to improve a hell of a lot for this division. the 2 young blokes did ok, considering they were only 16.

Ok let me have a crack at answering some of your questions but I have no offical involvement at any club.
-Yes Abers would have the highest budget and probably have for the past years. The next level would be working with high budgets in no particular order: Strathmore, Avondale, Greenvale, Pascoe Vale, Keilor. * I could guess an order but this would be heresay and could cause others to respond.
The money is generated via functions, sponsors, big junior bases which takes hard work to put in place and then maintain. Most of these clubs mentioned above have a number of junior sides in one age group.

- in all honesty these 7 clubs appear at this stage to be better placed than the other 3 sides to compete for finals. It must be said these 7 clubs have been in premier longer than the other 3 so have had time to build list management.

- let's use Pacco as an example. In 2014 a new coach took over and decided to review each player and in turn there was a big turn over of players. To my knowledge it was decided to pay players what they are worth and only keep those that want to play for the club and build a future. Some " good" players were recruited in, and all these players have stayed on after battling to avoid relegation in 2014. In 2015 they went and recruited some more quality players/people to build a competitive team. So the ones that did it hard in 2014 might see some reward for sticking fat.
Yes they are paying these guys but they are there for club success and like the place and people. A lot of these guys knew each other and that has also helped get buy in. A lot were offered more elsewhere so it's not solely money reasons.

-the playing field is even and clubs need to work hard. There appears to be a couple of clubs that could struggle to keep up but once again I'm not going to name them.
But having 7-8 teams out of 10 that are competitive is better than most leagues. The other 2 are rebuilding..

In closing its a strong league and one of the best in metro/country. Once again this is a debatable topic but my opinion is the quality of the top 20 players in EDFL would be better than any other league around..

So in closing money is generated by hard work from dedicate club people building from the ground up. Juniors bring in revenue but also parents to become future club people. They also bring extra people on Saturdays which brings extra $$ through the bar, canteen, functions etc.

Hope this helps..
Pretty accurate (and balanced) summary.

Newbie to edfl.

How does it het better

Hope this helps..

Probably should have mentioned that by working on your junior numbers in the area brings in parents, grandparents, uncles etc which can then become involved in the club which bring new ideas to continually move the club forward.
If they get involved then you have more numbers at raffles, club annual ball, bringing in new sponsorship etc..
We shouldn't be potting these clubs in any way with regards to paying players big money as long as they keep to within there budgets and pay players on time.
The league should be trying to educate other clubs how to get to this level. But I lot depends on your area and club culture.

Saw this game. Actually there for most of the day. U18's seem to be made up of mostly 1st year players, with maybe 1 or 2 standouts, the rest have a lot of work to do despite age difference. A big job for the coach who has been doing it now for some time.

Seconds OK, but it's just seconds.

Seniors, well, I have watched the seniors on a number of occasions, I do enjoy watching their brand of footy, however, what I saw was noting like they have played in the past. In fact they look incredibly unprepared. They looked B Grade and West Coburg looked A grade. Such a massive difference since the last I saw them and now in a home and away match. I know they have a lost a couple of players, but the team's intensity was non-existent, they didn't seem to have a forward line, and their mids were uncharacteristically smashed. It's only the first game I know, but now having lost their best player, I fear that they will not be good enough to stay up, and will be most likely of all teams to go back down. Perhaps it's where they need to be, as A Grade you need dollars to compete and I heard they are spending less money this year than last year, which wasn't much anyway. Unfortunately in A Grade if you want to compete with the best, you need to spend big $$$. I don't like it but it's fact. I hope they can recover to what they used to produce, a free flowing frenetic very attacking game which was awesome to watch. By the way the 9 debutants are OK, but need to improve a hell of a lot for this division. the 2 young blokes did ok, considering they were only 16.

Yes, I was there as well. All very disappointed. Lucky the club can re-load and hopefully make some significant improvements. The loss of Nat Caruso will not help but hopefully all the current players lift to cover for his loss, otherwise it will be back to Div 1 for the club. It's only round 1, the club has got the kick in the pants it needed. Pre-season wasn't great, now they have to improve on the track and take it out onto the field.

As Turbo states, successful clubs have a lot of people that get involved and care about the direction of the club. The Saints need that badly.

Cracking game and weather down at Abers today. Riemers was out of control in the last qrt and was the difference. Goal of the day, a screamer/goal then the match winner. I guess every dog does have his day.

Very high quality game compared to Good Friday. Not sure how abers can be beaten this year. Greenvale looked in control all day but Abers got there in the last 20 seconds. They have heaps to come in as well as I didn't see Blake, Mark Austin, Hislop, Courtney Johns, Phillips, Prestia, Daniher, El Houli, Cubillo or Patax when I was there. Not sure if they are all playing or where they will all fit. Greenvale seemed to be missing Jorgenson and Clifton. They had a lot of new faces as well to replace some of the older guys they had lost. Deluca for me was their best.

Greenvale seemed to play the way they have for a decade with that grinding consistent style but without the Xfactor of abers.

They carry on after the game is why people can only chuckle at Abers. I listened to their debut coach gather his team then lead them away from the rooms over to the drunks on the hill. Then the players literally celebrated like it was the last day in Sept. High Fives. Players in group hugs over the fence. It was absolutely bizzare.

Are you serious Hutchy! Surely the coach didn't lead the playing group across to the 'Aber's Hill' to engage in celebrations that are best left for that one day in September!

Maybe that is why he is listed as a rookie coach!

Are you serious Hutchy! Surely the coach didn't lead the playing group across to the 'Aber's Hill' to engage in celebrations that are best left for that one day in September!

Maybe that is why he is listed as a rookie coach!

Does it matter what they did once the siren had sounded? They got the 4 points, they can do what they want.

You are right 'bangfrom50' as a club they are entitled to do as they please once the siren has sounded. They are also entitled to hold the mantle as the club that everybody loves to hate.

I'm sure there would not have been any other senior club coaches leading his charges over to a herd of drunken supporters to engage in September like celebrations after a Round 1 victory. Sounds as if there may be a hint of insecurity there!

You are right 'bangfrom50' as a club they are entitled to do as they please once the siren has sounded. They are also entitled to hold the mantle as the club that everybody loves to hate.

I'm sure there would not have been any other senior club coaches leading his charges over to a herd of drunken supporters to engage in September like celebrations after a Round 1 victory. Sounds as if there may be a hint of insecurity there!

Must be doing something right if everyone hates them

How did northern saints adapt to their new attacking game plan,
The scoreboard says it didnt work.

Will they win a game this year.?

Some of the posts above reflected the game accurately. They didn't win, but offcourse you know that. Offcourse they will be trying to win, it will be hard naturally, odds very much stacked against, but hope there will be improvement in the squad, and be much more competitive, just as everybody wants from the coaches to the supporters and the players not the least.

Strathmore at $6 is very good value, especially with ex Carlton player Jarryd Cachia clearance going in today:thumbsu:

Could come down to depth & Greenvale set the bench mark in this space?

My Tip: I'll go with Aberfeldie at this stage

Strathmore at $6 is very good value, especially with ex Carlton player Jarryd Cachia clearance going in today:thumbsu:

Could come down to depth & Greenvale set the bench mark in this space?

My Tip: I'll go with Aberfeldie at this stage

Mate let me tell you Jarryd Cachia won't play any games with Strathmore this year. His captain of Richmond VFL and they will not be releasing him throughout the course of the 2015 season. It's written in his VFL contract.
Jarryd still has hopes of getting re drafted and should still be on Carltons list as they could use him now. At least he has a crack.
I can tell you that when he gives up hope of getting redrafted, he will probably go back to the SANFL for a few years. But if he decides to play local full time every EDFL club will chase him hard, that I guarantee you.
Now if it's true Strathmore paid him a sign on for the 2015 season then they are desperately hoping he pulls the pin on Richmond VFL otherwise it's throwing money away. Not real smart boys, but then again if they are throwing it away why shouldn't he accept it. He has no ties to them.. "I just can't believe it, really"

What's changed down at Strathmore this year as usually they spend money wisely. This year seems to be different..

View attachment 124105

Haven't seen Greenvale's one completed yet... Is it finished?

Here's a couple of pics from the weekend of ours...

Looks good Puff.. Only problem is now I will need to stand on the other side to see it. Lol.

Are clubs paying for these or do council pay. I heard the one at East Keilor cost plenty about 10 years ago now. Think it was 25k. It's a lot of money! Can it house a recruit inside it?? Lol

EDFL Premier Division