• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

EDFL Premier Division

Hey mate your following me yeah!! Kidding. I actually like your replies..

I hear you but your using an example where 1 person jumped on board and changed them in relation to Marby. This is a one off case..

I know money is generated by hard working club people. It's also not the only thing that brings success. It's club management and having a plan. Recruit smartly, not just anyone but people willing to play for your club. Let me give some examples. If a player is paid well get him to attend some junior training nights.. If a player is injured get them to work on the bbq for 30mins to interact with supporters and understand what's involved in running a club.

I watched yesterday's game Pacco vs Strathmore. 2 clubs working to similar budgets and it was a 50point margin. Why is this?? In my opinion it's good recruiting not necessarily money. The difference being Paccos players maybe a bit younger and more desperate to achieve what Strathmore have achieved over past years..
I know people will dispute this, but Strathmore have a lot of good players that are very well paid, and possibly 1 of them is the highest paid player in the comp. is he a gun? the answer is no.. Do they need him? The answer is yes.. This is footy!!

You need to build a good list. Not everyone out there just plays for money.. Some players play with mates and for a "fair" amount as they are decent quality people.. Let me use a statement: Do we work for the highest paid company/boss or do you weigh up what else is important like work conditions etc..

Money is also generated by your membership base which includes juniors. Good clubs get around to everyone and get them involved. The crowd yesterday at Pacco was pretty big for a Saturday game..

I could go on & on but money does not necessarily mean a premiership..it helps but it's not everything..
Turbo, you should change your name to Turbos Opinion. So much of what you say is "mail" has to be debatable.
Your on all three div's threads flat out.
No one could possibly know so much about 30 football clubs.

Just seen that Abers beat West Coburg by 20 goals.

Cmon EDFL this needs to be fixed as our "premier league" is becoming a farce..

The worse season for one sided results since I know off..
out of interest what can the EDFL do other than a points system to fix this problem. All clubs have earnt the right to play in premier league you cant say to them youre not competitive your going down.

Tribunal count to date in the EDFL juniors with clubs in Premier Division; Pascoe Vale lead with suspensions totalling 8 weeks including a team official abusing and approaching an umpire in an abusive way. They also have had a junior player found guilty but given a reprimand. Strathmore 3. Other clubs 0
Anything you would like to add after Saturday's disgraceful exhibition ..... Was that four players ordered off for abusing umpires

There was actually 3, one was disgraceful on behalf of the umpire and the other 2 were the players fault. Watching the game I didn't think the umpires were bias at all, Airport West put there head over the footy and wanted it more. In my opinion for Northern to move forward they need to keep playing there kids and get rid of the blokes who aren't prepared to work hard for the club. Sometimes you have to go backwards to move forwards.

Pleased to see a reply, that shows you have a sense of humour, I'll be there.
I notice Cubby (club Captain) resuming in the 2's you must indeed be valued by Pots.
Pots is only there to organize the other 21 guys that have to run out with me.
He has to remind them not be awestruck when they see my displays of awesomeness on the field.
It's a big job for Pots. It would be a big job for anyone.
100% Mr EDFL Guaranteed.

He has to remind them not be awestruck when they see my displays of awesomeness on the field.
100% Mr EDFL Guaranteed.

This is very funny. Only thing funnier I have seen this year is Kyle Reimers taking a hanger in the last quarter to win the game against Greenvale in Round 1 and walk with his back to the goals with the ball raised until he reached the end of his mark a la Mark "Jacko" Jackson.

He then turned to the crowd and yelled "You're Welcome!"... when no one had said thank you.

100% Mr EDFL Guaranteed.

Inappropriate and offensive Shags... Adam isn't happy being misrepresented...

Turbo, you should change your name to Turbos Opinion. So much of what you say is "mail" has to be debatable.
Your on all three div's threads flat out.
No one could possibly know so much about 30 football clubs.
out of interest what can the EDFL do other than a points system to fix this problem. All clubs have earnt the right to play in premier league you cant say to them youre not competitive your going down.

Hey guys, happy to receive your replies.

LFDE -
First of all I do get around and watch a few games and have a few contacts but not all 3o clubs. My division 2 post was a broad overview at this early point..

Not sure of what you didn't think was correct in premier or the other divisions. Interested to hear your thoughts

Chickenonachain -
What I want to see happen is the league appoint someone to go around to ALL clubs and find out the issues for clubs and then try and help them in some way.
I'm not only referring to the struggling sides but also how to sustain success. Build a model!!
It's also important to put some resources into the under 18s as this "should" be the common pathway. I don't agree with a points system or salary cap as would rather the league resources go into the above mentioned..
An example- should clubs appoint a paid football manager to manage the football department? Is there any value in this? I think so..

Speaking to a couple of guys yesterday looks the club is now taking things seriously by getting rid of players who keep embarrassing the club and themselves. They know they aren't travelling to well but will be playing kids who they hope will fast track their development and players who are not going to continue the crap that a handful of players seem to just dish out week after week. I think it is good that the club now look seriously. They have good people there but they need to make the changes for the club to go forward, even though they will be smashed over the coming weeks, the positive is that they are making changes for the betterment of the club. Stick with it Northern, make the changes.

If this is correct then that's the best way forward and can only be seen as a positive . It's not easy but playing youth is the way forward. The guys causing issues should be given there marching orders for the betterment of the playing group.

What's happened down there as last year they were competitive in a lot of games however this year seem to be getting beat by some big margins which might be causing frustration. The West Coburg game was a big surprise..
I understand the club budget is not near some other clubs but the club didn't seem to replace the players they lost during the off season. Is this due to money or the club had trouble recruiting players.

Interested to hear your thoughts..

Just wondering if people have heard that there is some unhappy players at Strathmore. I here there could be 3-4 players wanting out before clearances close at the end of the month. Did see toniolo cleared to Tulla last week could more follow him

I think they all would have been unhappy having their pants pulled down on Saturday ...... From all reports not many players or officials hung around too long either

If this is correct then that's the best way forward and can only be seen as a positive . It's not easy but playing youth is the way forward. The guys causing issues should be given there marching orders for the betterment of the playing group.

What's happened down there as last year they were competitive in a lot of games however this year seem to be getting beat by some big margins which might be causing frustration. The West Coburg game was a big surprise..
I understand the club budget is not near some other clubs but the club didn't seem to replace the players they lost during the off season. Is this due to money or the club had trouble recruiting players.

Interested to hear your thoughts..

From what I'm told it's both. Money is a problem, which is the case for some clubs, but new recruits bawk at going because of the stupidness of some of their current senior players. I feel for the club, but enough is enough, get rid of those blokes that just don't want to comit to the standard. Caruso boys would be livid, but by the same token they love the club, and will be part of the change that needs/will take place at the club. Are they playing pack this week, if so Pacco may want to rest a number of players, no disrespect, but it could be kids playing men.

Just seen that Abers beat West Coburg by 20 goals.

Cmon EDFL this needs to be fixed as our "premier league" is becoming a farce..

The worse season for one sided results since I know off..

Couldn't agree more. We spruik that we have the best competition in metro football yet the last few years we have put in poor performances in the metro championships now at competition level we have 3-4 sides who are 130 points of the rest of the premier sides. I understand money is a huge factor in the differential but something needs to implemented to ensure we get a somewhat balanced competitive competition back.

Good to see Luke Blackwell having a huge impact since arriving from the WAFL.

Couldn't agree more. We spruik that we have the best competition in metro football yet the last few years we have put in poor performances in the metro championships now at competition level we have 3-4 sides who are 130 points of the rest of the premier sides. I understand money is a huge factor in the differential but something needs to implemented to ensure we get a somewhat balanced competitive competition back.

Good to see Luke Blackwell having a huge impact since arriving from the WAFL.

Blacky has been outstanding for the club - as a bloke and player as have all our recruits and graduate Under 18 talent to date..

It was a very even competition last season with only two games seperating 7th to 10th and some of those teams upsetting the top six throughout the season. The margins were also a lot closer though - Douttas average losing margin was only 5 goals for memory and had about 5/6 losses under a kick..

Unfortunately Northern's average losing margin so far is 15 goals and they've already played two of the bottom four..

At this point it does appear the gap from 7th down has widened but prefer to review once everyone has played each other once.

Blacky has been outstanding for the club - as a bloke and player as have all our recruits and graduate Under 18 talent to date..

It was a very even competition last season with only two games seperating 7th to 10th and some of those teams upsetting the top six throughout the season. The margins were also a lot closer though - Douttas average losing margin was only 5 goals for memory and had about 5/6 losses under a kick..

Unfortunately Northern's average losing margin so far is 15 goals and they've already played two of the bottom four..

At this point it does appear the gap from 7th down has widened but prefer to review once everyone has played each other once.

This week might see 4 big one sided if results go as per the first 4 rounds.

I also think there is a trend showing a difference between 4-7, so there is becoming a gap as per 1-3 4-7 8-10.

Not only have West Coburg been beaten by 120 pts in the last 2 rounds they have only managed 2 goals which is also a concern..

Not sure how to fix this but the league must be a bit concerned..

Stax, nothing to add re the Strathmore exodus info from "knowitall".
Turbo, all good mate just an observation. Maybe jump on EDFL TV and educate those two.
No mate, I'm still sulking after last weekends hiding at the hands of Pacco. I'm unaware of any discontent at Lebanon Reserve. Not saying that knowitall is mistaken. There'll always be the odd falling out in any club, but haven't heard of anything out of the ordinary.

Hey Stax,
I have now watched 3 games of premier this year (incl good Friday) and have to say the umpiring has been very good. Yes a few questionable decision's but overall it's been pretty good as they seem to have control, letting the play move and interacting with players.
From the game Sat (Pacco v Strathmore) they had control and paid free kick quickly for a couple of late contests and controlled the situation during a small melee. On the late hits (1 from each side) it was great to see both players get straight back up and get on with it.
Or am I seeing better umpiring as Pacco are winning. What did you think Stax as your usually a pretty good judge mate..

Hears a funny story - On Saturday I was watching from the Pacco side of the ground (near the EDFL van) by myself (no alcohol) and amongst all us was an elderly Strathmore couple who watched from near there car. Looked like they loved there footy and pretty passionate. Good on them!! But then he said something about Pacco's player expenses so I couldn't help myself but put him straight on some comparisons about what his club pays. He wasnt impressed with my numbers. Anyway Im not raising this topic, just thought it was quite funny as he was starting to get agitated about the result but I didn't go any further. You really have to give credit to this supporters who really love there local club/footy.."but they did leave early though" Lol

EDFL Premier Division