• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

EDFL Premier Division

Hey long kick, agree with you. Someone mentioned to me that Abers ruckman Blake wants to go to another club who had made him a bigger offer. Now it's fact his on huge money at Abers, so not sure of the club but if this is true, it just goes to show some players are only in it for the $$ and have no loyalty..Leaving into a season is pretty poor.. But they coped yesterday without him..
Interested to hear what others know about this, but it was from a good source..

Now on what Abers spend it's purely speculation but they do have a good list and a good twos side so they have good depth.. I'm sure the rumours we hear are true but I don't wish to criticise, because if you can raise the money then it's your right to spend. I hate clubs who promise but don't pay on time.. But from what I seen yesterday they have a lot of supporters and the rooms were packed, so clearly they generate a lot of money.

I hear Jackson Barling has retired due to injuries..

I see Shaun Wyatts name in Marbys goals. Must be back from injury during a pre season game. Great to hear as his a very good player. Marby will like his commitment & passion..

Totally agree with you Turbo, it's definitely not ideal for the future of the competition to have the No.1 team beat the No.2 team by 60+ points.

It's also not ideal for the future of the competition to have the No.1 club spend 20%+ more on total player payments than any other club in the competition, it can and will have many ongoing affects on the competition unless restraints are put in place.

And yes, GFL follower, it definitely diminishes the art of coaching when your club is spending 20%+ more than any of your rival clubs on player payments.

If and when restraints are put in place, a strong focus will be placed on club administrations to develop quality strategies from within, especially if their club wishes to remain competitive on a consistant basis.
How long to Abers say they are now going to adopt a playing youth policy? That is what normally happens when clubs run out of money.

Hey Kaboose,
I kind of get where your coming from and you have good input on big footy "but" can't see the money running out at Abers any time soon. I'm pretty sure they pay there players each year and stay within there budget!!

Hey Puff,
I didn't see many 17-19 year olds in yesterday's side but I could be wrong. Can you confirm? I do agree you have a few homegrowns but need to push through a few young ones to give them experience. Pacco played 3 kids under 18 in yesterday's team.

No wasn't suggesting Abers disrespected Pacco as it was a good atmosphere in the rooms with both supporters and players mingling..I did happen to snag a slice of pizza but think it was vegetarian.. Lol

I'm just not sure it's a good look to go over to supporters and you agree. Some players won't like that type of stuff as it's a bit "we are good". Some players like playing for the underdogs is what I mean. Bit more down to earth. Even VFL sides don't do this. What's next handing out signed footballs or caps.. Anyway we have different opinions which is fine..
*i do seem to be getting told lately I'm posting some crap which is a bit hard to accept.. It's only my opinion and I know a lot of players.. Haha

On the flip side it's good all your supporters congregate in the one area and you had a few supporters but so did Pacco on the outer wing side. I don't mind the goal celebrations by players like Reimers to the crowd but the after game stuff doesn't do anything for me..

The game wasn't very physical but played at a high tempo. Pretty clean skills by both sides but Abers hit more targets and linked up better through the middle. I think everyone was a bit shocked at half time as it looked like Abers were way on top. Most people (and there was plenty) were expecting a close contest..

How many people you think was at the game? It was like a finals crowd..

Probably need to sell beer and food on the other side of ground as well but it does require extra helpers. I have noticed an increase in crowds this year. How about you??

Well you must make hay while the sun shines, look how the Marby army have diminished, a couple of years ago they took the Marby Barby on the road, but not this year.
I reckon 12 to 1500 at Clifton Park yesterday, biggest crowd since the Oak Park Sunday games. Plus over 200 at the ladies lunch.
There was a lot of people there for a look, saw plenty of tops from other EDFL teams and with the inter league games on in the bush, it was the place for a footy fix.
Abers would have made plenty, probably broke even versus matchies for the day haha.
Abers social group are cashin in on those on the band wagon, selling tops like hot cakes, as I said cash in while you can, we know it won't last forever.
If Abers set up food etc. on the outer side people would say they are up them selves, when you're on top you can't win in some people's eyes.

Hey long kick, agree with you. Someone mentioned to me that Abers ruckman Blake wants to go to another club who had made him a bigger offer. Now it's fact his on huge money at Abers, so not sure of the club but if this is true, it just goes to show some players are only in it for the $$ and have no loyalty..Leaving into a season is pretty poor.. But they coped yesterday without him..
Interested to hear what others know about this, but it was from a good source..

Now on what Abers spend it's purely speculation but they do have a good list and a good twos side so they have good depth.. I'm sure the rumours we hear are true but I don't wish to criticise, because if you can raise the money then it's your right to spend. I hate clubs who promise but don't pay on time.. But from what I seen yesterday they have a lot of supporters and the rooms were packed, so clearly they generate a lot of money.

Exactly - speculation. Who cares??

Great to see many Pacco players & supporters stick around last night and as mentioned earlier our very important ladies day took the limelight in the after match therefore no address from President or Senior Coach - one out of nine games I think we can be forgiven for..

It's round 8 - plenty of footy left ahead and Greenvale still the favourites..

Hey Kaboose,
I kind of get where your coming from and you have good input on big footy "but" can't see the money running out at Abers any time soon. I'm pretty sure they pay there players each year and stay within there budget!!

Hey Puff,
I didn't see many 17-19 year olds in yesterday's side but I could be wrong. Can you confirm? I do agree you have a few homegrowns but need to push through a few young ones to give them experience. Pacco played 3 kids under 18 in yesterday's team.

Turbo, Abers had 4 19 year olds and a total 9 home growns yesterday, yes that includes Brock.

Hey Kaboose,

Hey Puff,

We had three yesterday including a debutant but King would've been your only "kid" as Raji was 18's last year wasn't he? Am I missing one?

We've played 6 graduates this year - a great result.

Yesterday's team had 8 home growns and I reckon Craven, Johns, El Houli and Allen are Abers staunch given they've given 5 plus years to the club..

We had three yesterday including a debutant but King would've been your only "kid" as Raji was 18's last year wasn't he? Am I missing one?

Yesterday's team had 8 home growns and I reckon Craven, Johns, El Houli and Allen are Abers staunch given they've given 5 plus years to the club..

I had Craven in my 9, so your right 8.

We also had Holland. Anyway you do reliase I'm not criticising Abers in any of my posts just asking how many kids were playing yesterday that's all.

Very funny saying Greenvale are favourites. Abers are very short with the bookies.

Over and out boys. GO PACCO..

We also had Holland. Anyway you do reliase I'm not criticising Abers in any of my posts just asking how many kids were playing yesterday that's all.

Very funny saying Greenvale are favourites. Abers are very short with the bookies.

Over and out boys. GO PACCO..

Splitting hairs here but isn't Holland from the Bachus Marsh?

Understand you may think you're not potting Abers but why go on this rant about Blake and how much money is being spent again? Perhaps just talk about the game as I'm sure people would rather hear about that than the old money discussion/speculation again...

Marbi result over Avondale was huge given Avondale had gained some momentum in recent weeks.

I'm sure Strathmore were happy to escape with the points after Northern came hard in the third..

Sikora, Stapelton and Horne playing two's wouldn't have helped though..

Understand you may think you're not potting Abers but why go on this rant about Blake and how much money is being spent again? Perhaps just talk about the game as I'm sure people would rather hear about that than the old money discussion/speculation again...

Marbi result over Avondale was huge given Avondale had gained some momentum in recent weeks.

I'm sure Strathmore were happy to escape with the points after Northern came hard in the third..

Thoroughly enjoyed the game at Mutton Reserve. Unfortunately they couldn't field their U18 team with 2 16 YO and a third U18 playing seniors. By the way those kids played well.
The bloke behind the BBQ made a sensational Steak sanga, thanks fella, luv the food down at Mutton. As for the game, Strathmore's height advantage and class shone through in the final 10 or 15 minutes and the young guys from the Saints ran out of a little puff. They will get better and it was great to see a very disciplined team, even after a couple of the NS boys came off with a split eye and fat lip, nothing untoward and game was still played in very good spirit. The weather was decent so made it a good day for footy.

I thought Courtney Johns was mamoth in the ruck, if his body holds up playing this role then could be a huge wild card for Abers

Exactly - speculation. Who cares??

Great to see many Pacco players & supporters stick around last night and as mentioned earlier our very important ladies day took the limelight in the after match therefore no address from President or Senior Coach - one out of nine games I think we can be forgiven for..

It's round 8 - plenty of footy left ahead and Greenvale still the favourites..
Come on "puffpuffgivemo", you know yourself it's not speculation, you only need a calculator to do your sums to realise how much clubs are spending on total player payments..

Who cares?? Aberfeldie FC should be caring as when the points system and possible restraints are applied, Aberfeldie's current recruiting policy will no longer be able to be applied..

As for the reason given for not addressing the crowd that had assembled in the clubrooms on Saturday after the game! PLEASE.. What a missed opportunity for both the President and the senior coach of the Aberfeldie FC to acknowledge the many Pascoe Vale people which included their administration, coaches, players and supporters that had been so humble on such a disappointing day for the club. Not to mention the opportunity to address their very own loyal and long time supporters, or maybe they did address them with their players over on the hill after the game during the Premiership like celebrations for one and all to see..

There seems to be differing definitions of home grown talent! Home grown talent is clearly what it states, talent that has been developed within the walls of your very own club, progressing from the junior ranks of your club through to the U/18's and then onto the senior ranks. This only becomes achievable when club administrators employ club coaches that can achieve this.

'Home grown talent' definitely differs from 'talent returning home', the price tag on 'talent returning home' is always much more significant than actually 'home grown talent'..

Would be a good exercise for yourself to actually openly name the 'home grown talent'..

You may also need a calculator when doing your sums on which clubs top the charts in providing ample opportunity for "home grown talent".. As Aberfeldie FC definitely doesn't top this chart..

Although there is many other charts that they do top, to name a few:
1. Betting for 2015 Premiership.
2. Player payments for 2015.
3. Longest serving club in Premier Division without winning a Premiership.
4. The most senior club coaches in the last 10 years.
5. The club everyone else loves to hate.

There must be issues at Avondale as they have been building for a few years now and seemed to have slipped even with a better list than last year. Young was a big loss though as in my opinion one of the better players in EDFL over the last few years that I seen.
I know Marby are competitive and not taking anything off there win, but would have expected Avondale to win this one at home. Did Marby expose Avondales lack off leg speed through the middle as Marby are pretty young.. I see Rose didn't play but there list is pretty good, however depth in the reserves is not good.

The thing with Abers, Greenvale & Strathmore they have good reserves sides which is a big plus coming into the second half of the year.

Do we see Greenvale as the major challenge to Abers? They probably do match up better as both sides have a bit more height than Pacco. Let's remember Pacco are coming from further back and have done really well thus far. At full strength they can challenge IMO but whatever they achieve this year has been a massive improvement on previous years and will hold them in good stead for future years. Strathmore appear to be a bit light on for leg speed but could find someone if they continue to play some kids. There good players are getting a bit older now but they are the 2014 premiers against the odds so who knows.
I won't go through each team but certainly the competition has improved again however there is a bit of a gap appearing from 3rd down as Greenvale beat Keilor pretty easy on Sat by the looks of it..

There must be issues at Avondale as they have been building for a few years now and seemed to have slipped even with a better list than last year. Young was a big loss though as in my opinion one of the better players in EDFL over the last few years that I seen.
I know Marby are competitive and not taking anything off there win, but would have expected Avondale to win this one at home. Did Marby expose Avondales lack off leg speed through the middle as Marby are pretty young.. I see Rose didn't play but there list is pretty good, however depth in the reserves is not good.

The thing with Abers, Greenvale & Strathmore they have good reserves sides which is a big plus coming into the second half of the year.

Do we see Greenvale as the major challenge to Abers? They probably do match up better as both sides have a bit more height than Pacco. Let's remember Pacco are coming from further back and have done really well thus far. At full strength they can challenge IMO but whatever they achieve this year has been a massive improvement on previous years and will hold them in good stead for future years. Strathmore appear to be a bit light on for leg speed but could find someone if they continue to play some kids. There good players are getting a bit older now but they are the 2014 premiers against the odds so who knows.
I won't go through each team but certainly the competition has improved again however there is a bit of a gap appearing from 3rd down as Greenvale beat Keilor pretty easy on Sat by the looks of it..

Turbo - Agree there is a massive divide between the top 3 and the rest but i don't understand why everyone is assuming that Marby are like last year? They have improved and have now beaten Keilor and Avondale on their home turf... They too are suffering with injuries, but if they overcome these and hold form they hold a legitimate claim to 4th spot.

KeenSpectator, yep it's quite possible they could grab 4th spot as those 2 away wins will be telling. I suppose people are seeing the Marby results and making opinions as I was surprised they got beat by 120pts to Greenvale at Marby. Anyway they do appear to be playing some youth which can cause these types of results but long term will be beneficial. Looks like Robbie Castello is doing a good job and he was a good pick up as was chased by a lot of clubs last year.. Best of luck.,

Do some research on the premier clubs - home grown players, playing kids etc. and come back with some facts..

Greenvale, Strathmore & Abers top 3..
Honestly I don't know the answer but can I have the facts on the following;
-about what % of the are regular players are home grown?; 2. how many of the 'home grown' started from under 14 qnd below and, how many started in the under 18's? This is relevant because those who joined at under 16 or 18 level from other clubs should not be included as home grown.

Honestly I don't know the answer but can I have the facts on the following;
-about what % of the are regular players are home grown?; 2. how many of the 'home grown' started from under 14 qnd below and, how many started in the under 18's? This is relevant because those who joined at under 16 or 18 level from other clubs should not be included as home grown.

Hey Kaboose, like to read your comments on big footy and you do create some good conversation but maybe best to let this pass mate.
You, as per most EDFL footy followers think Abers has recruited a lot of players when they have a very good junior structure and good 18s that should be playing regular senior footy. But they are striving to win the premiership just like most other clubs.
#need to remember other sides have spent big to win premierships in the past. Marby, Greenvale, Strathmore even Pacco in B Grade a few years back.

I'm not a believer in this points system but would like a system where all clubs must play min 3 kids that have come from there 18s and a total of 5 players 19yrs and under. This will encourage clubs to put resources into there juniors as well as be able to recruit..
The current points system is Brock McLean is worth 1 point compared to say Ben Ross who is worth 6 points. Is this fair, I'm not sure but agree it's great his gone back to his local club and will be another ace up Abers sleeve under the points system..
Also if players have played at clubs for a number of years they have points deducted so again Abers win out with some players..
There must be balance and equality in any system.

What do you think mate?

Do some research on the premier clubs - home grown players, playing kids etc. and come back with some facts..

Greenvale, Strathmore & Abers top 3..

Mate you can play whoever you like during the year but you aren't even in the ball park.

In both GF team's for the past two years you have had btw 4-6 Home growns run out. Any single way you cut it Abers have been incredibly poor in this area for arguably the strongest junior club in the league. (which is a compliment and reflection of great parents/ppl/organisation and admin regardless of what some say)

I eagerly await to see the side run out in this yr's grand final. You'll be on selection so get back to us then and let us know. You have the chance to prove us all wrong.

Think you'll find avondales depth is one area that is hurting them but also hearing big murmurs that big name players (galea, cravino to name a few) are starting to lose faith in the coach that has gotten them to 2 finals series over the past 2 years. The club will be left with a big call to make possibly within the next couple weeks as to whether they side with Saade Ghazi and back the coach in or they make a move to ensure they keep players and move Saade on. My word is the commitee has had enough and will make that call unless something drastic happens.

Mate you can play whoever you like during the year but you aren't even in the ball park.

In both GF team's for the past two years you have had btw 4-6 Home growns run out. Any single way you cut it Abers have been incredibly poor in this area for arguably the strongest junior club in the league. (which is a compliment and reflection of great parents/ppl/organisation and admin regardless of what some say)

I eagerly await to see the side run out in this yr's grand final. You'll be on selection so get back to us then and let us know. You have the chance to prove us all wrong.

I'm sorry but this makes no sense at all

Think you'll find avondales depth is one area that is hurting them but also hearing big murmurs that big name players (galea, cravino to name a few) are starting to lose faith in the coach that has gotten them to 2 finals series over the past 2 years. The club will be left with a big call to make possibly within the next couple weeks as to whether they side with Saade Ghazi and back the coach in or they make a move to ensure they keep players and move Saade on. My word is the commitee has had enough and will make that call unless something drastic happens.

Footy lover - your on the money I think but it's strange if these players are not with the coach as he bought them into the club, especially "dogga" Cravino as they are pretty close and isn't he captain. The players that left over the past few years were there originally, so the club wouldn't be happy these guys left and maybe that is due to Ghazi. I'm not sure his the best coach and the club has spent some big coin over recent years but haven't got to the GF which they would be disappointed with. I'm hearing there support has fallen away and the atmosphere down there is pretty low at the moment on & off field.

I stand to be correct though..

EDFL Premier Division