EDFL Premier Division

He's not alone though, many people have a short sighted viewpoint as they only think about the league that they're affiliated with when discussing the ramifications of a points system/or salary cap.
There are plenty of clubs and leagues across the state that are struggling in the current climate where an arms race of clubs stockpiling ex afl/vfl/tac cup talent is common place.
Reality is despite the money thrown around, it is still local footy and blokes should still be able to roll down to their local club on a Saturday arvo and have a kick with their mates.
Its not short sighted...what is short sighted is believing that you need to equalise a competition that throughout is history has equalised itself. Aberfeldie won its first flag in 40 years. In that time period 11 different clubs have won the A grade premiership. How is that not equal. This is an elite competition.

Again, there are clubs and leagues across the state going under atm, regardless of the state of EDFL premier, something needs to be done to promote junior participation and limit excessive spending.

Sent from my SM-N915G using Tapatalk

Again, there are clubs and leagues across the state going under atm, regardless of the state of EDFL premier, something needs to be done to promote junior participation and limit excessive spending.

Sent from my SM-N915G using Tapatalk
Since 2008, 6 different clubs have won flags in the EDFL..the perception the EDFL is not an even comp is a myth and every single club playing A grade has played finals in the last decade.

This may be true but what about the financial cost to clubs , the cost to buy a Premier division premiership has escalated dramatically over the last 10 years. Most clubs that have brought premiership in this time except for possibly Greenvale have slipped down the ladder for a time as they can not sustain the match payments.Unless you are in the inner sanctum we will never know of the debt the clubs are in or are carrying and trying t get rid of so they can move on

Its called inflation, the cost of everything has escalated out of control over the last decade. Additionally there has been a massive demographic change within the area, the whole area used to be very much a blue collar community made up of tradies and factory workers this hasnchanged with even suburbs like Oak Park and Coburg having houses reguarly sell for 1mil+. The means of the people involved at the clubs has grown as the demographic became wealthier and these people are prepared to invest into there community club, why should we change that..

The clubs have also got far smarter at the offering they provide corporate sponsors. Long gone are the days when businesses simply hand over ten thousand dollar just so they can get a sign on a board around the oval, the businesses want to see a financial retun on there investment, and the clubs that work this to there advantage are the ones that get ahead.

An example of this woukd be say Nelson Alexander at Aberfelidie (i dont know if this true) but they could have a deal in place that .5% of any sale that is referred from Aberfeldie FC is returned to the club.. Not hard to see how that benifits both the business and the club..

Its called inflation, the cost of everything has escalated out of control over the last decade. Additionally there has been a massive demographic change within the area, the whole area used to be very much a blue collar community made up of tradies and factory workers this hasnchanged with even suburbs like Oak Park and Coburg having houses reguarly sell for 1mil+. The means of the people involved at the clubs has grown as the demographic became wealthier and these people are prepared to invest into there community club, why should we change that..

The clubs have also got far smarter at the offering they provide corporate sponsors. Long gone are the days when businesses simply hand over ten thousand dollar just so they can get a sign on a board around the oval, the businesses want to see a financial retun on there investment, and the clubs that work this to there advantage are the ones that get ahead.

An example of this woukd be say Nelson Alexander at Aberfelidie (i dont know if this true) but they could have a deal in place that .5% of any sale that is referred from Aberfeldie FC is returned to the club.. Not hard to see how that benifits both the business and the club..

your name says it all I=(ItsAllAboutMe) you just don't get it try looking at the big picture, Local and country footy is in danger of being irrelevant and a non entity in 15 -20 years .We as a sport are under threat from basketball ,Soccer and a whole lot of other less dangerous collision sports. Think about this from about u16 to u18 there is work and school commitments to keep young footballers away from clubs little own teams being beaten by 100 + points every week. Also a lot of mums don't want the little boys or girls getting hurt playing footy , So if the senior club is getting belted every week because they can not raise the finance of the rich clubs to compete, then the flow on affect is this ,the parents of prospective young kids looking to play footy in this area of a struggling club start looking else where to a more successful club for their kids to play. So a struggling club then looses its junior program and continues to struggle and eventually fold as they can not get enough senior players for ones or twos little own under 18/19 .Community footy as a whole need to rethink their ideas or footy will die right across the board

This is simply not true. If a club struggles at A grade, they move down to B Grade and then to C Grade.. In a competetive sport someone is always going to finish last. Local football has evolved clubs and sometimrs leagues merge or disappear as demographics change, this is simple reality of suburban and country football and has been for 100 years.

I simply dont believe that the socialiasm of local footy by bringing down the strong to make it 'fairer' for the weak is the right way forward and I am certain that the ramifications for football as a whole will be negative.

itsallaboutme mate we will agree to disagree as you must be from one of the powerful clubs with heaps of money .As from my point of view if a club drops from A Grade to C grade then its a long hard struggle to get back to A grade it not impossible but there would not be too many clubs around that have climbed back to A grade. You say "Local football has evolved clubs and sometimes leagues merge or disappear as demographics change, this is simple reality of suburban and country football and has been for 100 years." this may be so but in the past football has not had to compete with as many other distractions and other sports I am looking at the over all long term and the big picture not just the points system

You are wrong on this, as I have no affiliation to any club, and it is the 'big' clubs who will advantage most out of the points system. The issues with jnr participation in sport I dont think have anything to do with this and are far more broader social issues. I was told recently that the club i grew up playing for in Melton was struggling to field juniors in each division... this was astounding to me as the population of Melton has exploded in recent times and shoukd be no shortage of kids to play. Why is this so? I suspect in lower socio economic areas its hard to get parents to drop kids off at training and games each week as they are working longer hours, shift work etc and the parents have bigger priorities and probably a fair amount of laziness.

But again, none of this has anything to do with a points system that will do nothing more than further engrain the strong clubs who also have the strongest juniors and give the ambitious clubs underneath no way of challenging the mighry.

Very good conversation boys.

Point 1- Talking about junior numbers, would zoning work? I assume most juniors go to there closet club during there first few years and play with there school friends. Probably suits parents as well. The question is why do kids change clubs? I guess some juniors might play where there dad played and that should be accepted into the zoning proposal if there dad has played over 100 games maybe, like the AFL.
Would this be better than a points system?

Point 2- Is the price of junior registration fees turning away some parents? Why are fees different at club to club. Should AFL vic set a fee? Would this encourage more junior participation?

ItsAllAboutMe, the subject on junior participation in the area of Melton is interesting as you would think sides like Melton & Melton Sth should be a lot stronger than they currently are. They should have lots of kids!!

Very good conversation boys.

Point 1- Talking about junior numbers, would zoning work? I assume most juniors go to there closet club during there first few years and play with there school friends. Probably suits parents as well. The question is why do kids change clubs? I guess some juniors might play where there dad played and that should be accepted into the zoning proposal if there dad has played over 100 games maybe, like the AFL.
Would this be better than a points system?

Point 2- Is the price of junior registration fees turning away some parents? Why are fees different at club to club. Should AFL vic set a fee? Would this encourage more junior participation?

ItsAllAboutMe, the subject on junior participation in the area of Melton is interesting as you would think sides like Melton & Melton Sth should be a lot stronger than they currently are. They should have lots of kids!!

I personally know a family that grew up in Westmeadows but had there kids play jnr footy at Strathmore because of the percieved better parents and less riff raff.. I also know a family in Brunswick whos kid now play jnr footy at Aberfeldie and another in East Keilor who also play at Abers because of the junior set up, coaching and environment they feel is far superior to there local clubs.

I think zoning will be too difficult, however i think restricting each club to 2 sides each age group will distribute the players to more of the smaller clubs rather than having the power clubs stockpile all the jnr talent.

That's false!

Ok Mango, whatever. Pretty sure he signed late last week. I'm not sure why you deny this as good for you guys. He will be a very good player and hard to contain, as he gets around the ground well.

So when clearances open, or maybe a news article comes out, I hope you remember to say Turbo was right..

Are you going around again as think it's great to see players at the end of there career ( no offence intended) sticking around and giving something back..

One says clouston a definite signing and one says definitely not? What's the go? My money is on turbo off the mark...Any other departures around the league?

Ok Mango, whatever. Pretty sure he signed late last week. I'm not sure why you deny this as good for you guys. He will be a very good player and hard to contain, as he gets around the ground well.

So when clearances open, or maybe a news article comes out, I hope you remember to say Turbo was right..

Are you going around again as think it's great to see players at the end of there career ( no offence intended) sticking around and giving something back..

Mate we would love to have him but we have not signed him, Keff, Johns, Jack Mac and Remo, I don't think we need any more fire power up forward, so when you find out we haven't signed him I hope you remember to say Mango was right

No offence taken, I'll have a run around again, keeps me fit and enjoy playing.

Of course he'll play again. He gets 400-500 a game to play 2nds. I'm sure he'll admit this as rubbish.

Ummm, not sure if this is serious or not but I actually agree with paying 1 or 2 "older" type players to stay at your club and play twos BUT they need to train at least 1 night and be a leader and develop/teach the younger players for future club success. I'm not sure about 400-500 but think 300 is reasonable. At least it might sway them to stay rather than play a lower division for say 500. I think it's the way forward under this points system to assist with developing your own talent. BUT you need the right player and I guess Mango is that type of player.

Just checking the Abers Facebook page and see they had there presentation night at the clubrooms. Bit unusual as these types of events are normally held in a function centre. And charging $65 per head which only included a 3 course meal. Gee like to know what was on the menu?

What are you stalking us Turbo?

The menu for memory was along these lines but it was a month ago mind you
Entree - QLD spanner crab or spiced quail
Main - David Blackmore 9+ wagyu with roast kipfler and seeded or hot english mustard
Cheese platters

Outstanding feed, great atmosphere with drinks at bar prices!!

Main - David Blackmore 9+ wagyu with roast kipfler and seeded or hot english mustard
Cheese platters

What no Lobster or french champayne !!!!!

Cheese platters

Hey PuffPuff, just wanted to know if you were still around, and keeping an eye on what's happening over there. How did you fit them all in your rooms with 3 senior teams & 2 under 18 sides? Lol
Is Abers the team to beat again? I would assume so.

EDFL Premier Division