EDFL Premier Division

If Morgan is still the coach then the Pacco committee weren't watching the final last year. The bloke had no idea. All he did was hold his stupid cardboard with nothing written on it. Made no structural moves all day. What made it worse was when a player came to the bench they had no idea who was coming on. Contessa should take over then they will able to move forward as a club. Can only see them going backwards in a hurry

I don't except written apologies, so a beer and a handshake when we play pacco will be fine.

Played golf with my mate Harry the hirer yesterday and told him "is" the mail he gave me on Clouston to Abers correct and he told me he said Avondale not Abers. No more golfing with Harry as is lead me up the garden path.

Mango I've paid for the stubby of VB and placed it in the fridge at Pacco with a note saying Mangos stubby PAID. Now hopefully I can get to the game for the handshake before we get to drunk and watch the game go down to the wire, but predicting Pacco by 8 points.. Lol

If Morgan is still the coach then the Pacco committee weren't watching the final last year. The bloke had no idea. All he did was hold his stupid cardboard with nothing written on it. Made no structural moves all day. What made it worse was when a player came to the bench they had no idea who was coming on. Contessa should take over then they will able to move forward as a club. Can only see them going backwards in a hurry

Hey knowitall, not sure you are telling the whole truth. Great effort for Pacco to get to the finals but let's be honest here, they were hit hard by injuries in the latter half of the season, and then were forced to play some injured players in the finals. Also consider there main ruckman was out, and up against Browne was always going to be a battle. Any side missing there ruckman in finals will struggle. Take out Browne, Graham & Deluca and see how things go!!

Pretty sure all clubs would have been carrying some sore bodies come finals time - it goes with the territory.

You seem to know a lot about heights Sounds like you were part of club history but was moved on
What a limp reply. No I have never been involved at Avondale(thank god) or any EDFL club for that matter however yes I do know what's going on there and that is why I can challenge you re the accuracy of your statements which you haven't taken up probably not surprisingly as they are made up. Football is not and never will be an exact science and there are so many factors and circumstances that contribute to success or failure . One of these factors is a club sticking fat with each other , displaying integrity in the tough times and having a basic support infrastructure in place to prevent people like you from basically posting crap on these forums. You wouldn't even realise the damage you are causing your club doing this. Now I'll challenge you again to check you numbers and while you're at it seek some advice from someone you respect at your club and get them to judge YOUR contibution.

Well said mate. Clueless. Only coaching because he is the money man $$$$

I'm not saying they should have one the game. But when a team
Kicks 10 goals in the 3rd quarter and you don't try different things then somethings not right. He just stood there and watched his team loose. Try something different. Try Warren on the ball, TK in the backline. Maybe play 2-3 loose behind the ball to clog up the Keilor fwd 50 to stop the momentum.

Well said mate. Clueless. Only coaching because he is the money man $$$$

Oh now you have jumped on monkey.. Seriously you have little idea. A money man is more like a GA who puts in plenty of $$. Have you ever coached or meet the person? He has coached a team into the finals of one of the best metro leagues in the country. I would hate to think what you would say about all the other coaches. Write something worthwhile!!

I'm not saying they should have one the game. But when a team
Kicks 10 goals in the 3rd quarter and you don't try different things then somethings not right. He just stood there and watched his team loose. Try something different. Try Warren on the ball, TK in the backline. Maybe play 2-3 loose behind the ball to clog up the Keilor fwd 50 to stop the momentum.

Knowitall, coaching is not an easy task. If your going to be honest Pacco limped into the finals and were up against it. Lost players like Veszpremi, Randello, Robbins, Wells, Kerlin, Austin etc and Ross & Tydell were playing injured. This is just a brief explanation of the team list.
In hindsight his options were a bit limited so give it a rest. Let's inform the readers that the Pacco coach is very passionate about HIS club and it's common knowledge his doing the job for a lot less than other premier coaches and the 3 others coaches in the finals were on huge $$.
Furthermore he has been a big influence of putting Pacco in a good position moving forward in times when a lot of clubs are struggling in today's footy. Almost all the 2015 playing list has committed for 2016 which is a sign of a club with stability and purpose, and I'm sure you will see Pacco go well in 2016.

For the record I will post the following about the said coach:

Has taken a club that was in b grade for 20 years , 9th in b grade in 2008 to 3 grand finals and a premiership in 2011 , then 5th in a grade 2012 , stepped down and took over again in 2014 after the club was nearly relegated in 2013 winning only 3 games and left with 7 senior players , himself and Anthony Crowther rebuilt the club from the ground up in that pre season (something not many people/coaches would even consider taking on ) winning 5 games in this season and retaining a list , season 2015 8 wins 1 loss mid season , injuries hit , winning 13 games finishing 3rd not a bad effort for a bloke with no idea and taking the club backwards hey!!
Oh yeh one last thing he doesn't rape the club for money to do the above mmmmmmm .......

NOW move on to another subject..

Knowitall, coaching is not an easy task. If your going to be honest Pacco limped into the finals and were up against it. Lost players like Veszpremi, Randello, Robbins, Wells, Kerlin, Austin etc and Ross & Tydell were playing injured. This is just a brief explanation of the team list.
In hindsight his options were a bit limited so give it a rest. Let's inform the readers that the Pacco coach is very passionate about HIS club and it's common knowledge his doing the job for a lot less than other premier coaches and the 3 others coaches in the finals were on huge $$.
Furthermore he has been a big influence of putting Pacco in a good position moving forward in times when a lot of clubs are struggling in today's footy. Almost all the 2015 playing list has committed for 2016 which is a sign of a club with stability and purpose, and I'm sure you will see Pacco go well in 2016.

For the record I will post the following about the said coach:

Has taken a club that was in b grade for 20 years , 9th in b grade in 2008 to 3 grand finals and a premiership in 2011 , then 5th in a grade 2012 , stepped down and took over again in 2014 after the club was nearly relegated in 2013 winning only 3 games and left with 7 senior players , himself and Anthony Crowther rebuilt the club from the ground up in that pre season (something not many people/coaches would even consider taking on ) winning 5 games in this season and retaining a list , season 2015 8 wins 1 loss mid season , injuries hit , winning 13 games finishing 3rd not a bad effort for a bloke with no idea and taking the club backwards hey!!
Oh yeh one last thing he doesn't rape the club for money to do the above mmmmmmm .......

NOW move on to another subject..
I'll give you facts that if Denis Bicer wasn't at Pacco then you'd still be divvy 1 maybe even divvy 2. So don't think it was all him. Fact 2 he was the one that told to club to sack Paxman because he said he'd take away is money. fact 3 at half time you were in a good position to win the game against Keilor and thorough his in ability to coach couldn't swing the momentum back to even win Keilor got a run on. Yes you had lots of injuries but they weren't playing the first half when you were close maybe even in front at half time.
Stop sticking up for your mates and maybe with the right coach you can win the flag, you have just as much ability as Greenvale and abers. Difference is the coaching box.

Played golf with my mate Harry the hirer yesterday and told him "is" the mail he gave me on Clouston to Abers correct and he told me he said Avondale not Abers. No more golfing with Harry as is lead me up the garden path.

Mango I've paid for the stubby of VB and placed it in the fridge at Pacco with a note saying Mangos stubby PAID. Now hopefully I can get to the game for the handshake before we get to drunk and watch the game go down to the wire, but predicting Pacco by 8 points.. Lol

Ah you're a good man, I don't care what the bigfooty community say about you!

I'll give you facts that if Denis Bicer wasn't at Pacco then you'd still be divvy 1 maybe even divvy 2. So don't think it was all him. Fact 2 he was the one that told to club to sack Paxman because he said he'd take away is money. fact 3 at half time you were in a good position to win the game against Keilor and thorough his in ability to coach couldn't swing the momentum back to even win Keilor got a run on. Yes you had lots of injuries but they weren't playing the first half when you were close maybe even in front at half time.
Stop sticking up for your mates and maybe with the right coach you can win the flag, you have just as much ability as Greenvale and abers. Difference is the coaching box.

Fact Check:

2008 Finished 9th in B Grade Coach Alan Ezard
2009 Finished Grand Final Runners Up Coach David Morgan
2010 Finished Grand Final Runners Up Coach David Morgan
2011 Premiers in B Grade Coach David Morgan
2012 Finished 5th on % in Premier Coach David Morgan- Co Coach Denis Bicer/Steve Paxman
2013 Finished 9th Coach Steve Paxman- Director of Coaching David Morgan
2014 Finished 7th Coach David Morgan
2015 Finish 3rd
clip_image001.png
Coach David Morgan Playing Coach Adam Contessa

David Morgan started playing at PVFC when he was 10 years old, 300 game player, club captain, life member, Premiership Coach & coached in 3 GF's on anyone's measure that is a successful record and a great example of a Homegrown leading his club going on 7 years. That looks pretty consistent and successful to me.

Transitioning from B Grade into Premier and trying to stay there is very hard and definitely comes with ups and downs, it has been a real wrestle for all clubs trying to do that and from the outside it can look messy at times but as they say you can only do your best.

Highly respected and loved at PVFC, steps in to help mentor young players transitioning out of the AFL and very generous with his helping pass on his business skills & knowledge to anyone who needs his support.

People like David Morgan personify what local football can and should be about, committed life time club people who go beyond the call of duty year in year out to be with their mates, to share in the good and bad times (Keilor Loss) and to step up and try again.

"It is not the critic who counts; not the man who points out how the strong man stumbles, or where the doer of deeds could have done them better. The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood; who strives valiantly; who errs, who comes short again and again, because there is no effort without error and shortcoming; but who does actually strive to do the deeds; who knows great enthusiasms, the great devotions; who spends himself in a worthy cause; who at the best knows in the end the triumph of high achievement, and who at the worst, if he fails, at least fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who neither know victory nor defeat. "

EDFL Knowitall I know blokes who would run through and have run through walls for this guy on and off the field, he is a true leader of men in footy and life in general. He would never pot shot anyone having a crack like you, because he is too busy getting his hands dirty trying to help PVFC or run his business life, he wouldn't even know you exist and unless you jump into the arena to battle with him face to face on behalf of your club you don't deserve to be known by him.

Sorry I forgot to address your LONG BOW............

How did you think he coached when PVFC beat Keilor at Keilor early in the year? No idea? Luck? Mick had a bad day?
or......................
Vespremi, Robbins 1st rover, Randello, Kerlin (1st ruckman), Shaun Austin, Ben Ross capt. with 2 arms not 1 was told to miss 4 more weeks before playing, were missing?
Keilor full strength on both occasions.
Keilor deserved the win and were the much better side on the day and even if PVFC had those guys playing in the final they may still have lost as Keilor were very good, BUT stay balanced in your views if you want people to listen to you with an open mind.

No one is saying David Morgan is the best coach to walk the earth BUT coaching moves were not the reason PVFC got a touch up from Keilor on that day.

Keep it Simple EDFL Knowitall it makes life easier.............

While I respect the passionate defence of the fella, you've established that he is a good bloke and is in it for the right reasons but can he actually coach?

Sent from my SM-N915G using Tapatalk

Fact Check:

2012 Finished 5th on % in Premier Coach David Morgan- Co Coach Denis Bicer/Steve Paxman
2015 Finish 3rd
clip_image001.png

David Morgan started playing at PVFC when he was 10 years old, 300 game player, club captain, life member, Premiership Coach & coached in 3 GF's on anyone's measure that is a successful record and a great example of a Homegrown leading his club going on 7 years. That looks pretty consistent and successful to me.

Transitioning from B Grade into Premier and trying to stay there is very hard and definitely comes with ups and downs, it has been a real wrestle for all clubs trying to do that and from the outside it can look messy at times but as they say you can only do your best.

Highly respected and loved at PVFC, steps in to help mentor young players transitioning out of the AFL and very generous with his helping pass on his business skills & knowledge to anyone who needs his support.

People like David Morgan personify what local football can and should be about, committed life time club people who go beyond the call of duty year in year out to be with their mates, to share in the good and bad times (Keilor Loss) and to step up and try again.

"It is not the critic who counts; not the man who points out how the strong man stumbles, or where the doer of deeds could have done them better. The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood; who strives valiantly; who errs, who comes short again and again, because there is no effort without error and shortcoming; but who does actually strive to do the deeds; who knows great enthusiasms, the great devotions; who spends himself in a worthy cause; who at the best knows in the end the triumph of high achievement, and who at the worst, if he fails, at least fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who neither know victory nor defeat. "

EDFL Knowitall I know blokes who would run through and have run through walls for this guy on and off the field, he is a true leader of men in footy and life in general. He would never pot shot anyone having a crack like you, because he is too busy getting his hands dirty trying to help PVFC or run his business life, he wouldn't even know you exist and unless you jump into the arena to battle with him face to face on behalf of your club you don't deserve to be known by him.

How did you think he coached when PVFC beat Keilor at Keilor early in the year? No idea? Luck? Mick had a bad day?
or......................
Vespremi, Robbins 1st rover, Randello, Kerlin (1st ruckman), Shaun Austin, Ben Ross capt. with 2 arms not 1 was told to miss 4 more weeks before playing, were missing?
Keilor deserved the win and were the much better side on the day and even if PVFC had those guys playing in the final they may still have lost as Keilor were very good, BUT stay balanced in your views if you want people to listen to you with an open mind.

No one is saying David Morgan is the best coach to walk the earth BUT coaching moves were not the reason PVFC got a touch up from Keilor on that day.

I'm not saying that he doesn't love the club or isn't respected. I'm saying for the best interest of the club and to win a premier division flag then he shouldn't coach. He should see that the best for his football club. Maybe he should step aside and let someone else with fresh ideas talk control.
Looks like for the past 7 years his had his chance to bring success and hasn't. Maybe he should step back and be a sponsor/supporter and let contessa and the likes coach and help bring success to this club.

Fact Check:

2015 Finish 3rd
clip_image001.png

or......................

Fact Check:

2015 Finish 3rd
clip_image001.png

Well Spoken Mate , Morgan has given everything for the Club.
Even played a year at Marby as well !!!

or......................

I'm not saying that he doesn't love the club or isn't respected. I'm saying for the best interest of the club and to win a premier division flag then he shouldn't coach. He should see that the best for his football club. Maybe he should step aside and let someone else with fresh ideas talk control.
Looks like for the past 7 years his had his chance to bring success and hasn't. Maybe he should step back and be a sponsor/supporter and let contessa and the likes coach and help bring success to this club.
Hey Knownothing ..... They appointed a new coach a while back ...... Surely someone that knows so much about local footy such as yourself would have kept up with the news....... or maybe you are just a hate filled dill

If you look at keepitsimples post it says Morgan either been coach or director or coaching. All I'm saying is for him to just be a supporter. Let the coaches coach the way they want. It hasn't work with him let someone else take charge. They have players like contessa, Harris, Ross and warren. Let those boys bring the success to club.
It feels like his trying to boost his ego buy trying to win the flag.

I'm trying to keep an open mind here but its hard when you cherry pick elements of my reply and omit to address the parts that don't suit you, in my world my friend that's called selective omission. I won't treat your post with the same cherrypickingitis :) I will examine it fully, BUT you might not like what I find my friend..... so Mr EDFL Knowitall just roll over and let me get my glove .......

Lets unpack the logic (for want of a better word) of your above post:

• The premise of the above statement is that not finishing higher than 3rd in the Premier Home & Away season and 4th after finals is NOT SUCCESSFUL by direct deduction from your statement.. you with with me, just nod your head..
  • Next if a coach of a side cannot get his side to be higher than 3rd in the Premier Home & Away season and 4th after finals then the coach has failed..... Yes? .... we still nodding.....
  • This means that the solution is to remove that coach and have a new coach to ensure SUCCESS can be achieved. Agree? I hope so because you said it;))
  • So I have deduced by your not mentioning other factors that could effect SUCCESS that all other factors that could contribute to the SUCCESS as measured by you, "3rd in the Premier Home & Away season and 4th after finals" are irrelevant or not influential, like list quality, strength of opposition in any given year, injuries etc... etc... still nodding ? yes, maybe ok...... I'm coming to my point
  • How do you rate Mick McGuane as a local football coach? How has he measured against your criteria in recent years? I think he is a ripping coach, just as an aside;) I will assume you agree and if you don't then most reading this thread won't take you seriously anyway. JOB DONE. But lets say you agree....
This is where your logic hit a hurdle, you must be sensing what's around the corner here Barree/Typo sorry EDFLKnowitall

It MUST FOLLOW based on your logic that Mick McGuane should be replaced, so Keilor can bring Success to their club? You agree? are you nodding? OHHH your shaking your head, no no your nodding again, no shaking .. ? You seem confused EDFLKnowitall why don't you lie down, take a break and see whether you might like to re-frame your position with some:

Context
Facts
Reason
Balance

You may still come to the same conclusion that you think PVFC would be more likely to be successful without David Morgan as coach but you will need to come up with a better argument that this one.

P.S David Morgan has been looking to transition the coaching role for many years and his desired choice of succession Denis Bicer retired due to work commitments and pulled out of that plan, to come out of retirement to play for Greenvale again the same year he was to take over head coach of PVFC.

PVFC and David Morgan have a few scars in trying to get this right and want to do it well, not just for the sake of it or under the tidal wave of serious pressure from Heavy Weights such as EDFLKnowitall.

Stay posted maybe your assumptions about David Morgan's not wanting to leave the role or transition it might be tested in 2016. But whether that happens or not, doesn't take away from your poor argument of trying to call into question PVFC's most successful coach in its history to make your point.

It's simple Morgan can't coach. With talent he had he should have gone further regardless of injuries. These days unless you got a good coach you can't win a flag. Talent alone won't do it. Abers tried it, Avondale heights did the same. If you look at the last 7-8 GF's in premier division the side that had the better coach won the grand final. In some cases cause upset wins.
Keilor 08
Marby 09,10
Strathmore 11
Greenvale 12,13
Strathmore 14
This year is the only exception where both teams had quality coaches but abers had more ability.
I said that same thing about Ghazi afew years ago and got potted. Look likes I was right in the long run. Pacco people can deny it all they want but Morgan will not win a flag for Pacco as senior coach. I'll apologise to the whole Pacco community if I'm wrong. All clubs are moving forward with there senior coaches except Pacco living in the past.
Let's hope I get an apology when I'm proven right.

It's simple Morgan can't coach. With talent he had he should have gone further regardless of injuries. These days unless you got a good coach you can't win a flag. Talent alone won't do it. Abers tried it, Avondale heights did the same. If you look at the last 7-8 GF's in premier division the side that had the better coach won the grand final. In some cases cause upset wins.
Keilor 08
Marby 09,10
Strathmore 11
Greenvale 12,13
Strathmore 14
This year is the only exception where both teams had quality coaches but abers had more ability.
I said that same thing about Ghazi afew years ago and got potted. Look likes I was right in the long run. Pacco people can deny it all they want but Morgan will not win a flag for Pacco as senior coach. I'll apologise to the whole Pacco community if I'm wrong. All clubs are moving forward with there senior coaches except Pacco living in the past.
Let's hope I get an apology when I'm proven right.
I registered to this forum a few months ago after hearing about people posting out and out untruths . I'm not sure why this happens. I understand that this can be used for some light hearted, good natured banter between footy people who love the game and their clubs. I have read some really interesting well documented views and opinions put forward since. However I just cannot just stand by and not defend some great football people have their reputations and efforts torn apart by faceless individuals who hide behind a keyboard. Now Mr Knowitall why don't you post your list of achievements so us readers can scrutinise and comment on your short comings. I don't know David Morgan from bar of soap but he sounds like a champion bloke who puts himself out of his comfort zone and leads from the front. He also probably doesn't give a damn what you think.

EDFL Premier Division