EDFL Team of the Decade 2000 - 09 ???

I'll start
Abers nominees Woods, Casey, Dennis and Shep (and with Oak Park).
Oh to have them running around with us now instead of somewhere else!

Greenvale's best in the last ten years from:
Zeraffa, Bicer, Garbutt, paxman, R.Pekes, Aloi, Kuret, Randello, Canning, Keenan, Bloomfield, Rohan, Lenne, Bakoulos, Willoughby, Budge, Hassall, Jorgenson, Tait...
Fair team to pick from just there... all premiership players... and they'd be more but i'm in a hurry...

Great question that really gets the mind ticking over but would really be almost impossible to pick, you would think it would be made up of the early 00s of keilor, oak park and strathmore and then the late 00s of greenvale and keilor but their are alot of very good footballers that played in those sides not to mention the rest of the blokes running around in the other teams at that time at the other clubs like abers and douttas

I'll start
Abers nominees Woods, Casey, Dennis and Shep (and with Oak Park).
Oh to have them running around with us now instead of somewhere else!

Agree with all them, if Winace Imbi had played more years he would be another. Haro was another awesome player but he probably played his best footy in mid nineties?? Albones and Magic are a couple from Oakers but they'd definitely have heaps considering they went back to back.

The best player in last ten years would have to be Simon Minton-Connel though?

Agree with all them, if Winace Imbi had played more years he would be another. Haro was another awesome player but he probably played his best footy in mid nineties?? Albones and Magic are a couple from Oakers but they'd definitely have heaps considering they went back to back.

Tim Harvey & Adam Winter from Strathmore were guns early in the decade. Houcher is a certainty. Tough ask, very hard to compare years and eras. How do you compare Minton-Connell at his peak to Harvey when he kicked tons? Then you compare them to Kade Carey(who dominated the interleague game last year)

I will have a crack no doubt will miss many and happy to take criticism.

Albones, Minton-Connell, Winter
Bicer, Carey, Magic
Turbo, Long, Marcy
Ogston, Paxman, Jorgenson
Tate, Little, Ziros

Rucks, Kemp, Haucher, Ayres, Fraser

Interchange, Randello, Woods, Docherty, Ogston

Reckon would be hard pressed to find a better line up.

Not a bad team you have picked there ItsAllAboutMe :) although im not sure Ogo would be happy with you,i know he has probably put on a few Kg's but to have hime twice lol in all seriousness not a bad team there :D

Its got me thinking and being from D.S. i would say Kade and Docs for sure,Loaf is one of the best ive seen,Kempy was a wonderful ruckmen,i played against him a couple of times and fukn hated it.Boner and Doc Mcartney were a powerful forward combo a few years back and Oakers had some fantastic players in that era of the dual premierships,Keilor and Strathmore have always had good players and more recently Gvale and even more recently teams like Marbo.

I know its the end of the last decade but when i played against Avondale they had a fair team and im sure some went on to be good players in the last decade,Ibrahim comes to mind.

Cheers THE DREBSTER

:thumbsu:

Bicer, Carey, Magic
Turbo, Long, Marcy
Tate, Little, Ziros

very good effort mate, would be unfair to criticise as i probably couldnt pick a better team myself.
Would love to see steve vernon and robbo in the team, i know that there are alot of people down oakers that rate robbo one of the best they ever played with and i think steve is extremely underrated, well done though bud:thumbsu:

Bicer, Carey, Magic
Turbo, Long, Marcy
Tate, Little, Ziros

Pretty ****ing good team, Jason Casey instead of Ogston twice though hehe. Vernon, Robson and Doc McCartney are 3 i'd try squeeze in. What about the ruckman from Keilor in early 2000's?

ruckman from Keilor in early 2000's?

Would that be Jamie Cuffe? if so he was a very good player,didnt he leave for a few years though and play in another comp and then came back?

And Myles Quinn was a star but only 2 years in the comp i wouldnt have him in,like when we had Aaron James he dominated and was one of the better players ive seen but i wouldnt have him in either.

I reckon Marcus Pappa from A/west wouldnt be out of place in that side.

Cheers THE DREBSTER

Forgot about Loaf - sorry. Harro very good but would rate the other 5 a bit higher

What about Warren Cook, Taco, Guru, Bret Cook and Dean Grey, the list goes on hehe. I would rate Haro as good as anyone in his hay day...best in comp at least once, flags with East Keilor and Douttas and Abers B Grade 1995 and even bloody Marbi B Grade two years ago. Plus 2 consecutive GF's for Abers...not a bad resume hehe.

Here's the team I thought I'd logged earlier

Basic criteria I’ve set is minimum 2 seasons and as you can see a healthy representative from the successful teams listed below.

A GRADE PREMIERSHIPS (2000 – 09)
KEILOR 3 (FINALS X 10)
GREENVALE 2 (FINALS X 6)
STRATHMORE 2 (FINALS X 8)
OAK PARK 2 (FINALS X 5)
MARBY PARK 1 (FINALS X 1)

B: Ziros (OP) Little (SM) Paxman (GV)

HB: Jorgenson (GV) M James (K) Casey (AB)

C: O’Brien (SM) A Aloi (GV) Chalmers (OP)

HF: Bicer (GV) Carey (DS) Docherty (DS)

F Marcy (K) Minton Connell (AB/DS/MV) Albones (OP)

Rucks Cuffe (K) Houcher WC Ayers MP

Int: Winter (SM) Milner (OP) Long (K)

Basic criteria I’ve set is minimum 2 seasons and as you can see a healthy representative from the successful teams listed below.

KEILOR 3 (FINALS X 10)
GREENVALE 2 (FINALS X 6)
OAK PARK 2 (FINALS X 5)

Not a bad effort. Im a bit biased but would have to find room for Jason Dennis on ball. Also would have to have Woodsy in the side somewhere.

Also is it patterson (no 3?) for Keilor early 2000s. He was best CHF I have seen. Carey not far behind tho.

Bicer, Carey, Magic
Turbo, Long, Marcy
Tate, Little, Ziros

Cameron Eaton who rucked for APW early 00's was a brilliant mobile big man?

KEILOR 3 (FINALS X 10)
GREENVALE 2 (FINALS X 6)
OAK PARK 2 (FINALS X 5)

what about a team of home grown no imports at all
had to play juniors with your club?

HOME GROWN PLAYERS:

That's a tough one - dochs, Tankard (DS), Woods, Warren Cook, Montileone, Harro, Casey (Abers), Bloomfield, Burns (GV), Micca James, Lambo?, Marcy? (Keilor), D. May, Robson, Watts (S'more), Haucher (WC), Trewin, Lloyd (AH), S.Sheperd (OP)...there's a decent start

EDFL Team of the Decade 2000 - 09 ???