EDFL U16 2015

Just a numbers issue I think - someone pointed out that from the round 1 team there were 9 changes.

The ones I know who didn't play were:
Podjaski - VIC metro
Hanna - VIC metro
Tanner - injured
Tuan - injured
Consiglio - unavailable due to illness
McDonald - injured
Ibrahim - injured
Marcola -'injured
Evans - didn't start the game

Plus before the year Riley scarce and horomidis and a couple of others who are yet to play this year due to injury

So given the above I reckon they did ok

Cannot recall who asked for best 18 for u/16(1) a couple of weeks ago and unfortunately no one commented. Is it time we had a shot at it.

I started it but realised I personally didn't have enough knowledge of the boys to do a comprehensive list.

Cannot recall who asked for best 18 for u/16(1) a couple of weeks ago and unfortunately no one commented. Is it time we had a shot at it.

I started it but realised I personally didn't have enough knowledge of the boys to do a comprehensive list.
This is bottom ages included
The best under 16 - 24 squad

walk up starts
Caluzzi eds mid/fwd
Rayner eds mid/back
Hitch Kei mid/back
Mustafa Kei mid/fwd
Podajski Abers mid/fwd
Hanna Abers ruck
smokaravic Abers fwd/back
Balta eds fwd/back/wing

Next group of players
Caines Kei mid/fwd
Bulzomi Kei back
Riboni eds defensive mid
West strath mid
Roumeliotis eds fwd/ruck
Saad wc fwd/mid
Murat wc fwd/mid
Browning cburn fwd
Boag. Wc fwd
Camilleri Kei full back
J.evans Abers fwd
Vendramini cburn not quite sure
Brookes eds wing
McBride eds wing
Pickering kei defence
Sir eds defensive
Mid

I've picked some players for offence and defence. And also some midfield guns.

Canplaythisguy I believe your walk up starts are spot on. Geez what a side.
Although I don't have enough knowledge of the boys hopefully nearing the end of the year I can form a more educated opinion.

walk up starts
Caluzzi eds mid/fwd
Rayner eds mid/back
Hitch Kei mid/back
Mustafa Kei mid/fwd
Podajski Abers mid/fwd
Hanna Abers ruck
Balta eds fwd/back/wing

Next group of players
Caines Kei mid/fwd
Bulzomi Kei back
Riboni eds defensive mid
West strath mid
Roumeliotis eds fwd/ruck
Saad wc fwd/mid
Murat wc fwd/mid
Browning cburn fwd
Boag. Wc fwd
Camilleri Kei full back
J.evans Abers fwd
Brookes eds wing
McBride eds wing
Pickering kei defence
Sir eds defensive
Mid

I agree with you on this but rayner is more valuable down forward I believe

walk up starts
Caluzzi eds mid/fwd
Rayner eds mid/back
Hitch Kei mid/back
Mustafa Kei mid/fwd
Podajski Abers mid/fwd
Hanna Abers ruck
Balta eds fwd/back/wing

Next group of players
Caines Kei mid/fwd
Bulzomi Kei back
Riboni eds defensive mid
West strath mid
Roumeliotis eds fwd/ruck
Saad wc fwd/mid
Murat wc fwd/mid
Browning cburn fwd
Boag. Wc fwd
Camilleri Kei full back
J.evans Abers fwd
Brookes eds wing
McBride eds wing
Pickering kei defence
Sir eds defensive
Mid

Ripper list, Vendramini would be in the guts no doubt.
I think Tom Muscat, Zain Neicho, Reid Nilsson and Mark Furnari are some names that should be there. Would take out a keilor/doutta boy or two and the bottom agers are very very lucky to be in that mix.

Ripper list, Vendramini would be in the guts no doubt.
I think Tom Muscat, Zain Neicho, Reid Nilsson and Mark Furnari are some names that should be there. Would take out a keilor/doutta boy or two and the bottom agers are very very lucky to be in that mix.
Mark furnari? Havent heard of him who does he play for?

walk up starts
Caluzzi eds mid/fwd
Rayner eds mid/back
Hitch Kei mid/back
Mustafa Kei mid/fwd
Podajski Abers mid/fwd
Hanna Abers ruck
Balta eds fwd/back/wing

Next group of players
Caines Kei mid/fwd
Bulzomi Kei back
Riboni eds defensive mid
West strath mid
Roumeliotis eds fwd/ruck
Saad wc fwd/mid
Murat wc fwd/mid
Browning cburn fwd
Boag. Wc fwd
Camilleri Kei full back
J.evans Abers fwd
Brookes eds wing
McBride eds wing
Pickering kei defence
Sir eds defensive
Mid

I think josh Rocco from wc should be in that watched him play twice now and both times starred. Nobody could touch him, not tall but very elusive and classy by foot. I'd say he is better than m.borg from what I've seen. Just my opinion though. Anybody else noticed him?

Borg missing from WC, Bytel missing from Abers, Comito from Abers has been very consistent this year so far. Would have all of these 3 before Neicho.

Mark furnari? Havent heard of him who does he play for?
Douttas scores after four rounds:
For - 496
Against - 202
Douttas aren't just the best attacking side, they also have the best defence in the league.
Mark Furnari played rep in 14's and 15's then going on to play cannons...
I believe he is part of the leadership group at the stars and is definitely the general in defence, knows how to shut down the opposition is a bit of a talent.
Josh Rocco is fast and smart, just doubting his actual skills with the football but very close to the top 18.
As for Fastandloose, I think he means Borg when he made a typo "Boag".

Douttas scores after four rounds:
For - 496
Against - 202
Douttas aren't just the best attacking side, they also have the best defence in the league.
Mark Furnari played rep in 14's and 15's then going on to play cannons...
I believe he is part of the leadership group at the stars and is definitely the general in defence, knows how to shut down the opposition is a bit of a talent.
Josh Rocco is fast and smart, just doubting his actual skills with the football but very close to the top 18.
As for Fastandloose, I think he means Borg when he made a typo "Boag".
Believe josh Rocco has some of the best ball skills in the comp. if you get the chance to watch him play Pay attention. Very talented player, I'd say more so for his ball skills than speed any day.

I think josh Rocco from wc should be in that watched him play twice now and both times starred. Nobody could touch him, not tall but very elusive and classy by foot. I'd say he is better than m.borg from what I've seen. Just my opinion though. Anybody else noticed him?

Yep ive seen Josh Rocco play, hes a very smart footballer, Fantastic left foot and knows where the goals are such a talent

Borg missing from WC, Bytel missing from Abers, Comito from Abers has been very consistent this year so far. Would have all of these 3 before Neicho.
Borg is in this list

Josh Rocco is a great talent, I've watched him play over the last two seasons and he has been a stand out in amongst the West Coburg teams and also the league.

I dont think Westmeadows has anything to prove. Keep in mind they won a flag in Div 3!! last year so the Div 1 sides have more to prove in beating them.
I think it's great for division 1 footy and westmeadows seeing someone different challenge in division 1. They are now 6 points clear of 3rd and seem to be more than capable to finish in the top 4

I'm sure within a few weeks we will probably be adding a few westmeadows players if they continue the way they are.
Would it be fair to say the captain for this side would be out of rayner, caluzzi and hitch? Except for 1 coach(whom I have never personally met) I would not have any idea on the other coaches and their credentials. If we are picking the best side I'm sure they will require a coach. Any suggestions?

I'm sure within a few weeks we will probably be adding a few westmeadows players if they continue the way they are.
Would it be fair to say the captain for this side would be out of rayner, caluzzi and hitch? Except for 1 coach(whom I have never personally met) I would not have any idea on the other coaches and their credentials. If we are picking the best side I'm sure they will require a coach. Any suggestions?
Hard call given that most coaches move through the age groups with their kids.
Douttas coach seems to have been in the gig for a while and given their strength that may be a starting point - however I think some may debate the recruiting policy of Douttas over the period - then again do good players go to good systems? Just a point to debate.....

Would be interested to get the view of where do players learn their craft? I.e. Is Caluzzi a product of Douttas or East Keilor in terms of his skill acquisition? Is Rayner better at douttas than at hillside? Bytel at Abers than Marby? It goes on

Hard call given that most coaches move through the age groups with their kids.
Douttas coach seems to have been in the gig for a while and given their strength that may be a starting point - however I think some may debate the recruiting policy of Douttas over the period - then again do good players go to good systems? Just a point to debate.....

Would be interested to get the view of where do players learn their craft? I.e. Is Caluzzi a product of Douttas or East Keilor in terms of his skill acquisition? Is Rayner better at douttas than at hillside? Bytel at Abers than Marby? It goes on

Those type of players are always going to be good players regardless of the club. It's the structures around them that help take them to the next level. Caluzzi for example was recruited to Douttas by the former Rep coach because he was obviously a good player. I don't think he would have been recruited with the thought process of "I think I can make this ordinary player good"

Isn't that the problem - that a good player is recruited by a Rep coach to his club because he is already a good player. Isn't it more sustaoinable and the foundation of a strong club and coaching culture to want to get the "ordinary" player and coach them to be a good player??

From all that I read Caluzzi, rayner etc are going to be good to elite players no matter where they play and largely who they are coached by.

The development phase will generally come from EDFL representative level and more so at the TAC programme levels.

Isn't that the problem - that a good player is recruited by a Rep coach to his club because he is already a good player. Isn't it more sustaoinable and the foundation of a strong club and coaching culture to want to get the "ordinary" player and coach them to be a good player??

From all that I read Caluzzi, rayner etc are going to be good to elite players no matter where they play and largely who they are coached by.

The development phase will generally come from EDFL representative level and more so at the TAC programme levels.
Good point you make. Have nothing against Doutas stars but would question how many of their top players were 'products of the club'. All the same a very strong side.

EDFL U16 2015