EDFL U16 thread

Had to head out to windy tullamarine today. Thought it was rather funny when I saw who the kids first officer was for Keilor in the u14s. How you can be booted from 2 clubs and given that job is beyond me. Especially when it wa clear he was coaching the side. Fantastic game in the 16s withAbers getting up by a point. Tried to get a feel of things after the game on the ground and heard a certain player say "at least I've got senior finals ahead."
Mmmm not the best attitude I would have thought. Anyway, can't wait to see how close greenvale get next week. Good luck. Remember, it doesn't matter how many people back you up. The law is the law.
Don't get the first comment , Keilor 14s didn't play and I would swear I was watching abers v cburn in the 14s

I think he meant U12's, I noticed he was involved on the sidelines in some role.
What 2 clubs did he depart from? Douttas & ?

The guy thinks he's beyond rules. Seen him totally disregard rules at Little aths.

I think he meant U12's, I noticed he was involved on the sidelines in some role.
What 2 clubs did he depart from? Douttas & ?

The guy thinks he's beyond rules. Seen him totally disregard rules at Little aths.
OK didn't see any under 12 s so wasn't sure what was meant.
I assume the guy is Jose.

Fixtures indeed.

The big dance isn't far away and this week will see us down to 3 teams left in each division.

Lets start with the elimination finals through the 3 grades.

In div 3 at Hansen Reserve Oak Park play Northern Saints and my tip is Oak Park by 28

In div 2 at Leo Dineen Reserve Hadfield play Westmeadows and it's a toss of the coin IMO. Hadfield should win and I'll go with them by 10 although ramadan could play a part in the possibility of Haddy fatiguing.

In div 1 at Goonawarra Rec Keilor play Aberfeldie. Abers surprised with a win over Hillside, but can they do it again over a Keilor side who will welcome back Vujanic and Wunhym? Keilor are priming themselves for a shot at the GF again and only losing by 7 last week was a very good result in the scheme of things. I think they'll be too strong and will win by 56.

Onto the Qualifying finals.

In div 3 at Hillside Reserve Glenroy take on Avondale Heights. I just can't see the Heights winning, but you never know. For me it's Glenroy by 44

In div 2 Maribyrnong Park play Airport West at Charles Mutton Reserve and a beauty should be on the cards. For some reason I'm sensing an upset. I just don't know. I'll go with AW by 4

In div 1 at Jacana Reserve Essendon Doutta Stars play Greenvale. Douttas have been the best team all year and play an exciting brand of footy, while Greenvale are tenacious and will fight all day. Both sides are stacked with quality right across the ground. Everything that went on before means nothing if you don't front up to play on the day.

For the 1st time in about 8 weeks EDS will be at full strength. I'm told Josh Flower will be back for Greenvale and that will help. I think Douttas will show just what a good side they are and win by 38

Good luck to all teams right across the whole league and especially all you coaches who will be under lots of pressure too.

Hey guys, here is a list of the top few players at each club in division 1,2,3 this year who I have frequently kept tab of and have preformed well this season. feel free to have a say. please note that most of these players have played a majority of all the Home and Away Games.

DIVISION 3 :
Avondale Heights- George Abboud, Blake Laverie, Jake Scardamaglia
Burnside Heights- Suren Bowala
East Keilor- Matthew Cook, James Riggio
Glenroy- Joel Cauchi, Josh Trembearth, Mamdouh Ayoubi
Northern Saints- Joshua Inzillo, Liam Stacey-Bradford, Carlo Graziano-Barry
Oak Park- Liam Molloy, Bradley Cox, Chrishtopher Drew
Tullamarine- Michael Gatt, Samual Delaney

DIVISION 2 :
Airport West- Tyson Young, John-Carlo Ravenello, Joshua Bistisi-Nguyen, James Tedesco
Hadfield- Hisham Kerbatieh, Judd Brewster
Marbiyrnong Park- Max Philpot, Connor Maher,
Moonee Valley- Connor Hobbs, Matthew Lauk,
Pascoe Vale- Adam Clemente, Anthony Petrocco
Roxburgh Park- Jaidyn Caruana, Matt Walker
Taylors Lakes- Ben Nelson
Westmedows- Ryan Blair, Clayton Campbell, Aaron Evans

DIVISION 1 :
Aberfieldie- Alexander Hymer, James Peters, Stefan Rasinac
Craigieburn- Travis Faulds, Ricky Zwagerman
Essendon Doutta Stars- Bruno Laguda, Koolyn Briggs, Lachlan Myers, Tom Wallis, Shaun Stewart, Nathan Palumbo
Greenvale- Matthew Condo, Matthew Stillman, Josh Flower, Bobby Curuill
Hillside- Jackson Valpato, Brandon Colletta, Jack Burns, Tristan Costa, Rusiate Komaitai, Kyall Parker
Keilor- Zachary Antovski, Nicholas O'Kearny, Tylar Vunjavic, Matthew Butterworth, Liam Di Martino
Strathmore- Thomas Condon, Mitchell Leathers, Alexander Coutts, Liam Weightman
West Coburg- Walid Karaan, Adam Trovatello

I know I may have left some players out, so feel free to put in your opinion.

Cheers

Well, the Doutta Stars bubble exploded with a mighty bang today when they were well beaten by a hungrier, more determined, more accurate and more passionate Greenvale side.

Inspired by great performances by, Jack Formosa, Matt Condo, Ryan Townsend and Josh Flower the Jets were just simply too good. Douttas started well, but a rather weak high shot which left the Douttas starting winger flat on his back seemed to turn the game around. Instead of firing up, it seemed to have the other effect with them being far too standoffish in the contest. A 31-14 free kick advantage, with something like 17 of them in the forward 50 played its part for the Jets too, although It's hard to be too critical though of some odd decisions as even a fairer dispersion of frees would hardly of made much difference the Jets were that much better.

Douttas live to fight another day and a host of kids with little finals experience will be better for it. They surely can't play that badly again. Well, hopefully. :) A match against Keilor awaits next week after they beat Aberfeldie.

All results went pretty much as expected, apart from an upset win by Avondale over Glenroy.

Gee, I thought that was a pretty fair rap and hardly worthy of petty name calling.

Was merely going off the stats provided by the club and yes, it was probably just the kick up the arse the team needed.

As for going out in straight sets, well yes that's a possibility too if the boys don't pull their fingers out. We are pretty confident they can turn it around.

Well, the Doutta Stars bubble exploded with a mighty bang today when they were well beaten by a hungrier, more determined, more accurate and more passionate Greenvale side.

Inspired by great performances by, Jack Formosa, Matt Condo, Ryan Townsend and Josh Flower the Jets were just simply too good. Douttas started well, but a rather weak high shot which left the Douttas starting winger flat on his back seemed to turn the game around. Instead of firing up, it seemed to have the other effect with them being far too standoffish in the contest. A 31-14 free kick advantage, with something like 17 of them in the forward 50 played its part for the Jets too, although It's hard to be too critical though of some odd decisions as even a fairer dispersion of frees would hardly of made much difference the Jets were that much better.

Douttas live to fight another day and a host of kids with little finals experience will be better for it. They surely can't play that badly again. Well, hopefully. :) A match against Keilor awaits next week after they beat Aberfeldie.

All results went pretty much as expected, apart from an upset win by Avondale over Glenroy.
What game were you watching who does your stats a blind man douttas clearly had more free kicks last quarter alone would have been like 10 to 2 douttas way .

Crickey. Never thought a free kick count would cause people to join the forum and get so angry about it.

We all acknowledge the right team won on the day and kudos for that have been given. Yes we were disturbed by the umpiring and especially the lack of action on the early hit, but that's life. Onward to this week. Enjoy your break chicken hopefully we will see you in a couple of weeks.

This work of art courtesy of AuckMel's iPhone.

Happy to provide as your free kick is nearly spot on but around the other way i didn't count out of bounds but if you counted that it was almost spot on.

Really? Well I'm genuinely shocked. It certainly looked the other way around. If I quoted them wrong then I apologise.

Anyway, I'm not sure if I really want to watch that all over again. :)

Your guys played a great game and deserved to win.

I hear rumours that Hadfield Superstar Hisham 'H' Kerbatieh is going to leave the club in hope to play in a better team to support his footy. I believe Doutta Stars and Airport West are most likely the teams that he could be heading to as they push to become powerhouse teams in the under 18's next year.

I thought I might throw my 2 bob in and say that I didn't notice the umpires kick any goals on the weekend. Beaten by a hungrier side that's all there is to it. The boys will learn from that.

What game were you watching who does your stats a blind man douttas clearly had more free kicks last quarter alone would have been like 10 to 2 douttas way .
Auckmel is right on the money with stats. The early hit was a ripper. Yes it was a bit high but it was in the play and a taller kid bumping a smaller kid was always going to get him a bit high. No problem with it at all.

Hey guys, here is a list of the top few players at each club in division 1,2,3 this year who I have frequently kept tab of and have preformed well this season. feel free to have a say. please note that most of these players have played a majority of all the Home and Away Games.

DIVISION 3 :
Avondale Heights- George Abboud, Blake Laverie, Jake Scardamaglia
Burnside Heights- Suren Bowala
East Keilor- Matthew Cook, James Riggio
Glenroy- Joel Cauchi, Josh Trembearth, Mamdouh Ayoubi
Northern Saints- Joshua Inzillo, Liam Stacey-Bradford, Carlo Graziano-Barry
Oak Park- Liam Molloy, Bradley Cox, Chrishtopher Drew
Tullamarine- Michael Gatt, Samual Delaney

DIVISION 2 :
Airport West- Tyson Young, John-Carlo Ravenello, Joshua Bistisi-Nguyen, James Tedesco
Hadfield- Hisham Kerbatieh, Judd Brewster
Marbiyrnong Park- Max Philpot, Connor Maher,
Moonee Valley- Connor Hobbs, Matthew Lauk,
Pascoe Vale- Adam Clemente, Anthony Petrocco
Roxburgh Park- Jaidyn Caruana, Matt Walker
Taylors Lakes- Ben Nelson
Westmedows- Ryan Blair, Clayton Campbell, Aaron Evans

DIVISION 1 :
Aberfieldie- Alexander Hymer, James Peters, Stefan Rasinac
Craigieburn- Travis Faulds, Ricky Zwagerman
Essendon Doutta Stars- Bruno Laguda, Koolyn Briggs, Lachlan Myers, Tom Wallis, Shaun Stewart, Nathan Palumbo
Greenvale- Matthew Condo, Matthew Stillman, Josh Flower, Bobby Curuill
Hillside- Jackson Valpato, Brandon Colletta, Jack Burns, Tristan Costa, Rusiate Komaitai, Kyall Parker
Keilor- Zachary Antovski, Nicholas O'Kearny, Tylar Vunjavic, Matthew Butterworth, Liam Di Martino
Strathmore- Thomas Condon, Mitchell Leathers, Alexander Coutts, Liam Weightman
West Coburg- Walid Karaan, Adam Trovatello

I know I may have left some players out, so feel free to put in your opinion.

Cheers
Just for the record you have listed a few bottom agers in this list. Drew, Tedesco, Burns and Trovatello are all bottom agers and I'm fairly certain Abboud is too.

Not sooking at all mate. As for you Stars. I'll tell you the context of the conversation I had and you canaletto your mind up and maybe buy me a drink when you see me at Buckley park.
I spoke to the committee member about a family member of mine that played at Abers last season in U14s and has gone back to Douttas because hes parents we're offered to wave the membership. That's when the conversation lead to coaches actively recruiting other players and the Douttas U16 coach came up. Which is why I said in my previous post I don't know how you could police it. So get that chip off your shoulder Stars and try to understand that this forum can also be about active conversation and not just be about potting other people and clubs. As for you Aukmel, I do recall reading your first couple of posts and getting absolutely cained by other posters. So you of all people should know that a simple post on this forum can be taken the wrong way.
Lastly don't try and tell me that membership waving doesn't go on because when you see it happen to a family member (and his friend), it certainly does.
Have a nice day
Geez I haven't been on this forum for about 12 months and this is what I come across. Let me tell you something and you can take this as absolute gospel. This family member that you speak of, if at all they exist are liars or you are a liar, which one is it. I can tell you categorically that every single kid pays rego fees from the last Under 10 kid right up the best U16 kid. Rego fees have only ever been waived when a family has approached the club and requested a break due to financial issues. So the rumour that you have started here is as baseless as your credibility.
By the way here's a rumour for you. Werent you the junior coach that was suspended by his own club? That being the case you have no business commenting on or having anything to do with junior footy. Whack!!! That's my 2 bob well spent.

I hear rumours that Hadfield Superstar Hisham 'H' Kerbatieh is going to leave the club in hope to play in a better team to support his footy. I believe Doutta Stars and Airport West are most likely the teams that he could be heading to as they push to become powerhouse teams in the under 18's next year.

I think you'll find he's already played at about 5 different clubs...

On a sode note can someone tell me What are his chances of being drafted when he's eligible?

not true...someones taking the piss out of u..

So here we are. Two weeks of junior footy left and Prelim Final time.

In Division 3 the mighty Northern Saints face the best team all year in Glenroy. I'm thinking a bit of complacency crept into their game last week too and I just can't see that happening again. As much as I'd love to see Northern win, it's Glenroy by 32 points for me.

The Division 2 game should be an absolute belter between Airport West and Hadfield. The big test for Airport West will be how to stop the effect "H" has on the game. At the end of the day, that's where this game will be won and lost. Hadfield by 18 points.

On to the Division 1 game and what an epic encounter this may well be. Douttas found out very quickly being the best team during the regular season means nothing when it comes to finals. If they don't come to play this week their stellar season will mean little.

The battle of the midfields will be a beauty. Cannons duo O'Kearney and Wunhym v Palumbo and Leaney. Tyler Vujanic will be more than a handful for the Douttas backline if he starts at full forward as expected. So much more quality across both sides should ensure the game will be close all day. I don't think there will be much in it, maybe a goal or two. My heart says Douttas by 8 and my head seems to saying the same thing.

Good luck to all teams right through the grades and especially those playing Grand Finals this weekend.

EDFL U16 thread