Player Watch Edward Allan

He is such an interesting prospect, still can't put my finger on what exactly he's going to be, but a good first up game despite facing nothing opposition. How good is his kicking? Hits targets and absolutely roost it. That's a weapon there. I was looking for instances of him using his speed, and didn't see it a lot, and was thinking he might be one of those guys that test well but don't show it in games, but that bit of play at the start of the 3rd where he got the ball in the center and took off, wow. We need to foster the confidence for him to do that because that's salivating for a guy that size to do that. Has AFL traits out the wazoo, let's see him put it together.
You’d prefer him to play like Treloar and Degoey running around like headless chooks missing every second target.

Composure and poise is more important than speed, you can kick the ball further and faster than you’ll ever be able to run it.

He’s a natural footballer, has IQ. I wouldn’t be worried about the speed he shows.

He’s already extended to a 4 year contract. If he wanted to go home would never have signed

Many were surprised we went so early, but it could give the young player the job security he needs to allow him to apply for a mortgage and put down roots.

I dont think he would have ever have gone top 5. I think he sits outside that but not by much.
Cadman went 1 is a sort after key fwd. Ashcroft at 2. Sheezel at 3. Wardlaw 4 didnt play much more than Allan but looks a gun. Id take Phillipou ahead of him. Essendon felt Tsatas was better. McKenzie also looks really good as well.
If I had a choice and I was Carlton I would have chosen Allan over Hollands at 11(who is a good player) because playing a similar role Allan has more upside longer term.
Edward was picked off the back of only 5 games actually. Playing for the Colts. If he had played the full season he would have gone top 5 in the draft.
Callum Twomey had him top 15.
Fastest in the draft tests, top 8 in agility and vertical leap.
He averaged 24 disposals as an inside midfielder with the Colts.

What impressed you PD?

Haven’t seen any VFL yet. So wondering whether he showed signs of being a class above…and what weapons is he possessing?
Tall

Long kick

Had time and presence

Classy player

Also like to say reef and ginni didn't dominate however you can see they well above vfl (ginni obviously)

Would like to see Wilson given a go in the seniors

I dont think he would have ever have gone top 5. I think he sits outside that but not by much.
Cadman went 1 is a sort after key fwd. Ashcroft at 2. Sheezel at 3. Wardlaw 4 didnt play much more than Allan but looks a gun. Id take Phillipou ahead of him. Essendon felt Tsatas was better. McKenzie also looks really good as well.
If I had a choice and I was Carlton I would have chosen Allan over Hollands at 11(who is a good player) because playing a similar role Allan has more upside longer term.
Apart from Cadman and maybe Sheezel, doesn’t Allan match up at least equal to the other guys here who are all mids, but with height giving him more versatility?
So Top 5 doesn’t seem a stretch.

Apart from Cadman and maybe Sheezel, doesn’t Allan match up at least equal to the other guys here who are all mids, but with height giving him more versatility?
So Top 5 doesn’t seem a stretch.
Exactly and he's faster than all of them. Won't be surprised if he grows another 2 or 3CM..
Still 18 years old.
In WA he was considered the most exciting prospect along with one or two others.
Clubs were scared to pick him because of his growth related back issues.

He’s got a lot of developing to do which is all to do with his lack of games. I hate the word but his upside is through the roof.

He floats around and doesn’t use his pace yet. He has a great frame but not much meat on those bones. When he gets that muscle and power he will be more likely to attempt to use his pace I reckon.

He looks like he has a mighty boot on him. Kicked a goal from around his body from the 50 that sailed through. He also had a kick from near the centre circle deep into 50 that must have travelled 60-65 metres. He needs to work on this short kicking which I think will come with more games. His kicking action looks great.

Doesn’t have an aerial presence yet so we’ll see what happens over time. His height will advantage him over other midfielders.

Big plus is he knows how to find the footy, probably a skill that rights up there as a midfielder!

Genuinely exciting prospect

He’s got a lot of developing to do which is all to do with his lack of games. I hate the word but his upside is through the roof.

He floats around and doesn’t use his pace yet. He has a great frame but not much meat on those bones. When he gets that muscle and power he will be more likely to attempt to use his pace I reckon.

He looks like he has a mighty boot on him. Kicked a goal from around his body from the 50 that sailed through. He also had a kick from near the centre circle deep into 50 that must have travelled 60-65 metres. He needs to work on this short kicking which I think will come with more games. His kicking action looks great.

Doesn’t have an aerial presence yet so we’ll see what happens over time. His height will advantage him over other midfielders.

Big plus is he knows how to find the footy, probably a skill that rights up there as a midfielder!

I will take your word about the meat. Obviously, what I thought was layers of flesh and muscle beneath the jumper was in fact an expanse of thick bone stretched around oversized internal organs.

He grew a lot in a short time, so he's probably still getting his head around using his height to advantage, but he has speed & endurance as well a footy brain & skills to match.
That snap from 50m out was great.
He has all the tools to become a great player in time.

He grew a lot in a short time, so he's probably still getting his head around using his height to advantage, but he has speed & endurance as well a footy brain & skills to match.
That snap from 50m out was great.
He has all the tools to become a great player in time.
Exactly. His ceiling is unknown.

Player Watch Edward Allan