Ellinbank Football League p2

Yeah Leo would've been hard going, certainly not blaming the staff behind the jump. But i reckon that tent was about half the size of previous years. Deliberate ploy to stop people drinking as much probably.

Yep i understand what ya mean Tumble, they gave us about 4 of those blue plastic tubs, 1 small table and a till, thats it. Lucky we found an old bath tub near by to use with the beer or we would not have even been able to keep up at all. Hopefully next year whoever does it gets a better set up to make it a bit easier for everyone.

For anyone who hasn't heard, Garfield was voted into the EDFL for next season at a special meeting last night.

Hopefully the league can manage to schedule a 20 round season with 2 byes per side so that we still play 18 games.

How do people expect they will go in the EDFL next year? Will they be able to attract back some of the players they have lost?

got to agree with BPGM it is a party with a game of footy in the middle. and this was evident with the numerous different groups around the ground all with dance music on the go, usually we would be the same with all of our mates in one area

this year was different though and didnt care much for the pre sporty parties around the ground.

number one social day of the year.

That's great news for Garfield. They really weren't big enough to compete in the WGLFL and the EDFL is a much better fit especially for their junior sides. Not sure how the seniors will go next year, they will probably finish high up but over time I think they will be a good fit for the EDFL.

I know a lot of people don't like the idea of a bye, but I reckon it is good. Breaks the season up a little especially when sides get injuries and what not. A 20 round season sounds ideal.

Very interesting how they will work a 15 team comp, would hope they make it 20 teams with 18 games a year. I know a league with 13 clubs plays 18 games in 20 rounds so they should be able to work it out. Garfield should have some good rivalries again with Bunyip, Catani, Cora Lynn all being so close. Now all we need is burra, island and Bass and make it a 2 division comp.

A lot left for drouin last year so they would hope to get some back as well as the Allens maybe? Eastwell will prob stay and coach.

i dont see what the problem is with a bye. i for will look forward to being able to go away for the weekend or simply have the chance to check out my mates at different clubs play.

Very interesting how they will work a 15 team comp, would hope they make it 20 teams with 18 games a year. I know a league with 13 clubs plays 18 games in 20 rounds so they should be able to work it out. Garfield should have some good rivalries again with Bunyip, Catani, Cora Lynn all being so close. Now all we need is burra, island and Bass and make it a 2 division comp.

A lot left for drouin last year so they would hope to get some back as well as the Allens maybe? Eastwell will prob stay and coach
has said he'll never play against buln. but im tipping he might also stay at garfield. hes a great player to watch.

For anyone who hasn't heard, Garfield was voted into the EDFL for next season at a special meeting last night.

Hopefully the league can manage to schedule a 20 round season with 2 byes per side so that we still play 18 games.

How do people expect they will go in the EDFL next year? Will they be able to attract back some of the players they have lost?

good luck to garfield in the edfl, its where they should be playing but at least they had the balls to step up and play against the big boys unlike some other clubs in the gippsland region. if they can get back a few of the players they lost this this year they'll definately be right up there i think. they will have to work really hard in the off season to create some depth as there reserves were atrocious and they had no thirds. that will be there biggest hurdle going forward i think

A lot left for drouin last year so they would hope to get some back as well as the Allens maybe? Eastwell will prob stay and coach.
Agree with you leo on this bring in Bass, island and burra and have a 2 division comp, great for the club's doing it tuff.

good luck to garfield in the edfl, its where they should be playing but at least they had the balls to step up and play against the big boys unlike some other clubs in the gippsland region. if they can get back a few of the players they lost this this year they'll definately be right up there i think. they will have to work really hard in the off season to create some depth as there reserves were atrocious and they had no thirds. that will be there biggest hurdle going forward i think

They will be a strong club in our league no doubt but they caused there own problems.

Dont really think ya know the full story of how they ended up in the WGLFL, its nothing to do with having Balls. They were the team that pushed paky and beacy out of the league cos they were too strong. Then when garfied, warragul and ROC dominated, cora lynn, NNG, PI and Bass wanted out so the league folded and Garfield had no where to go so ended up in WGLFL with Warragul and Drouin.

Agree with you leo on this bring in Bass, island and burra and have a 2 division comp, great for the club's doing it tuff.

Actually i reckon Burra should play Gippsland league now that Woni is there. With gatha, woni, drouin and warragul there is no more travel than they have now. Games with Gatha would create a huge rivalry cos the towns hate each other. They made 2nds, 3rds ant 4ths GF's and there juniors are consistenly as good as, or probably better than Woni. They have great facilities and lots of sponsorship and support.

Tooradin might be a better fit in our league. They seem to struggle in the CC comp.

They will be a strong club in our league no doubt but they caused there own problems.

Dont really think ya know the full story of how they ended up in the WGLFL, its nothing to do with having Balls. They were the team that pushed paky and beacy out of the league cos they were too strong. Then when garfied, warragul and ROC dominated, cora lynn, NNG, PI and Bass wanted out so the league folded and Garfield had no where to go so ended up in WGLFL with Warragul and Drouin.
Garfield will go ok but need depth it's the year after worry's me.Please what ever you do Rogar and Peter don't let Soumilas be on the league board.

Ben Souma won't be heading back to Garfield so there is no want for his old man to jump onto the board. There will be quite a few of their players return back to the club although I dont think the Allen boys will be part of those. It will be interesting to see what Easty does do because I do know he was contemplating heading back to Buln in 2010. Drouin will be quite an outfit again next year if they can retain most of their players from this year, and a lot of the Garfield boys that are at Drouin have the alter ego that EDFL is rubbish football and would never play in our league. So it will be an interesting pre season!!

Nar Nar Goon have signed 3 big names for 2010 with a few more in the wings...

And, in other news, a few clubs have signed a few players. As per Bigpapa's post, don't bother posting ridiculous comments like that unless you are going to name who they are.

Oh, and, whilst we are on stupid comments, I think that one of the teams in the EDFL will win the flag next year, that is my prediction.

They've signed Brett Dore. Retained Dean Kelly but this time as a full time NNG player (not with Casey). They have signed another player but can't announce it until next week. I assume they are the 3 Aussie bloke is talking about.

Also close to signing a ruckman from C.C which is dearly needed.

They've signed Brett Dore. Retained Dean Kelly but this time as a full time NNG player (not with Casey). They have signed another player but can't announce it until next week. I assume they are the 3 Aussie bloke is talking about.

Also close to signing a ruckman from C.C which is dearly needed.
I would really like to see NNG play Dore as a full time Full Forward. That would be awesome. Would kick 140 plus.

Yeah i reckon he'd probably kick a ton, not sure about 140 though.

But i think he could be more valuable on the pill or at CHF/CHB than in the square. Especially with the other signing who could possibly kick 70 plus from closer to goal. And Jones then could go deep along side him, who's probably worth another 50 plus.

But anyway, that's all up to the coaching staff, not me!

Is too good to play just a a full forward, would imagine he will play in a variety of positions through the year.

Agree he would kick a few goals playing 1 out from the square.

Would assume Dorey would play as an on baller/CHF. He is so fit at the moment it would be a waste to sit him in the square.

Yeah i reckon he'd probably kick a ton, not sure about 140 though.

But i think he could be more valuable on the pill or at CHF/CHB than in the square. Especially with the other signing who could possibly kick 70 plus from closer to goal. And Jones then could go deep along side him, who's probably worth another 50 plus.

But anyway, that's all up to the coaching staff, not me!

Dore struggled to get a regular senior game at Frankston & they weren't much good hope he kicks 140 but doubt it Sweeney won Casey seniors goalkicking but struggled to kick big bags.
Days of multiple century goal kickers are gone yes the comp has got stronger.
Interesting comments by Big Mal in Gazette "EDFL was stronger than I thought" was told by a mate earlier in 09 that Luke James would kick 150 in the EDFL on his form in the SFL from 08. Yes I know he kicked 90 odd but that's not 150
Yes the EDFL has got stronger & would now be close to the Alberton and would think the WGFL is not that much ahead of either Reserves & Unders yes but seniors not so sure.

On another subject the EDFL should let Killy Bass in have 2 divisions and have a promotion/relegation system don’t care who goes on league board they couldn’t do any worse

Dore struggled to get a regular senior game at Frankston & they weren't much good hope he kicks 140 but doubt it Sweeney won Casey seniors goalkicking but struggled to kick big bags.
Days of multiple century goal kickers are gone yes the comp has got stronger.
Interesting comments by Big Mal in Gazette "EDFL was stronger than I thought" was told by a mate earlier in 09 that Luke James would kick 150 in the EDFL on his form in the SFL from 08. Yes I know he kicked 90 odd but that's not 150
Yes the EDFL has got stronger & would now be close to the Alberton and would think the WGFL is not that much ahead of either Reserves & Unders yes but seniors not so sure.

On another subject the EDFL should let Killy Bass in have 2 divisions and have a promotion/relegation system don’t care who goes on league board they couldn’t do any worse

What? No he didn't...