• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Ellinbank Football League p2

Dore struggled to get a regular senior game at Frankston & they weren't much good hope he kicks 140 but doubt it Sweeney won Casey seniors goalkicking but struggled to kick big bags.
Days of multiple century goal kickers are gone yes the comp has got stronger.
Interesting comments by Big Mal in Gazette "EDFL was stronger than I thought" was told by a mate earlier in 09 that Luke James would kick 150 in the EDFL on his form in the SFL from 08. Yes I know he kicked 90 odd but that's not 150
Yes the EDFL has got stronger & would now be close to the Alberton and would think the WGFL is not that much ahead of either Reserves & Unders yes but seniors not so sure.

On another subject the EDFL should let Killy Bass in have 2 divisions and have a promotion/relegation system don’t care who goes on league board they couldn’t do any worse

Whoever said luke would kick 150 clearly knows nothing about footy. He is a freak but its his 3rd go in the EDFL and he never kicked 100 before. SFL is crap, worst Metro league by far.

I have said this heaps but Ellinbank has passed alberton these days, Nilma and Cora Lynn had bloody good sides and would beat any alberton team easily.

correct tumbleweed, with other comments saying dorey play up forward i belive the player too be announced has kicked quiet a few goals in the eastern league, before moving to the C.C, which means dorey could play anywhere needed..

Dore could be a gun anywhere, just play him whereva they need him. This year i reckon he would play forward.

so who is the forward from eastern league, noonan??

true goon defintly need a ruckman at the moment, pretty sure the player is luke mcconnel played ay beacy as well as noble park..

yeah should be a handy pick up for them, also saw in the gazette garfield has joined the edfl for 2010, this will now mean byes and only teams to play 16 games instead of 18, i think if there going to keep bringing in sides they will need to have a div 1 and 2.

Also an interesting one with goon signing andy oldmeadow... not true doing a full preseason at casey then decideing where he wants to play next year.

20 week season would push the finals back so the grand final would be later and won't clash with a lot of the other leagues like it did this year.

Not necessarily, there are other options such as starting earlier and playing on Queens Birthday and Easter. I've got no idea what's actually going to happen, just don't think it's certain that the finals will be pushed back.

You will never win with clashes with other league grand finals. If the granny was a week later this year it would have clashed with West Gippy & Casey Cardinia. Since half the league now lives in the Casey Cardinia region I don't think it would be a great idea to clash with their granny.

Not necessarily, there are other options such as starting earlier and playing on Queens Birthday and Easter. I've got no idea what's actually going to happen, just don't think it's certain that the finals will be pushed back.

You will never win with clashes with other league grand finals. If the granny was a week later this year it would have clashed with West Gippy & Casey Cardinia. Since half the league now lives in the Casey Cardinia region I don't think it would be a great idea to clash with their granny.
Agree totally Axe. I Think those leagues are the 2 that we should avoid clashing with at all costs. Start a little earlier and play Queens Birthday. The size of the crowd and atmosphere Grand Final day was fantastic and with so many players from WGLFL and Casey Cardinia at our clubs it would be pretty stupid to schedule a clash.

The warragul gazette said that it would be a 20 week season with each club having 2 byes. I think thats fine

if thats true that would be much better than 16 rounds, thats nearlly like junior footy, 20 is much better plus you get 2 weeks off during the year, but if they keep briging teams in they are going to have to make a div1 and div2...

As I'm sure there are a number of issues with having a bye, the main one I can think of is the massive disadvantage you will have if you have a bye in rd 20, finish top 2 and end up with the first week of the finals off as well. thats 21 days break between games. I think the sooner the edfl chase up at least one more, possibly 5 more clubs, split into 2 divisions with 2 final fives the better. The league will not want 2 divisions of 8 teams with a final 4 as they would lose out on finals games and revenue.

They could use a system of a floating Round 15-20. By this I mean we look at the ladder after everyone has played everyone up to round 15.

Then those teams that are most likely to play finals, say the top 8 sides in the 15 team comp all have their 2nd byes in round 17-18. This will only see about 2-3 games for those weekends, but then you dont have the problem of teams missing 2-3 weeks of footy simply because they have a bye in the last round.

You would need to set up who was due to play who when the fixture was made and get this happening in the other rounds.

1 team has a bye in each of the first 15 rounds then eveyone gets another bye from Round 16-20. Have the final 5 rounds floating.

Easy.

that's a little optimistic. we're dealing with gwynney & gallasch here......

Not sure what your problem is with these guys bigpapagman but I don't think you can argue with the results these guys are getting. As I mentioned in the other thread the EDFL is thriving. Gates are at an all time high and the standard of football is improving all the time. Is seems the EDFL is thriving while country football is dying all around it. Clubs are lining up to join the EDFL as you have seen with Garfield plus another couple that cannot be mentioned on here at this point in time. I just can't understand why you are taking potshots at the two people doing such a fantastic job running the league.

They could use a system of a floating Round 15-20. By this I mean we look at the ladder after everyone has played everyone up to round 15.

Then those teams that are most likely to play finals, say the top 8 sides in the 15 team comp all have their 2nd byes in round 17-18. This will only see about 2-3 games for those weekends, but then you dont have the problem of teams missing 2-3 weeks of footy simply because they have a bye in the last round.

You would need to set up who was due to play who when the fixture was made and get this happening in the other rounds.

1 team has a bye in each of the first 15 rounds then eveyone gets another bye from Round 16-20. Have the final 5 rounds floating.

Easy.

Plugger I can tell you that the league will not be introducing a floating fixture in 2010 due to administrational and logistical reasons. While your idea does have merit it would be too difficult to implement at grass roots level. The AFL have been looking at a similar floating fixture but they are also yet to implement it due to ground and television rights. We would love to implement it in the EDFL being the true pioneers of grass roots football that we are, however clubs and supporters need to know at the start of the year where and when games will be played. Fixtures and the like are printed at the beginning of the year and need to be concrete so supporters are kept in the loop.

Not sure what your problem is with these guys bigpapagman but I don't think you can argue with the results these guys are getting. As I mentioned in the other thread the EDFL is thriving. Gates are at an all time high and the standard of football is improving all the time. Is seems the EDFL is thriving while country football is dying all around it. Clubs are lining up to join the EDFL as you have seen with Garfield plus another couple that cannot be mentioned on here at this point in time. I just can't understand why you are taking potshots at the two people doing such a fantastic job running the league.

what clubs are keen to join without mentioning any names...

you have no cred unless you tell us what teams they are.

I am sure you will understand when I say there are some things that I cannot reveal due to professional etiquette. In the industry I am in you rely on your sources for stories and if you burn your sources the stories will dry up and there will be nothing to read. Hold on patiently though, all will be divulged in due time.

bobmo, as your involved in the league, can you tell me why there is no interleague side and also a team of the year at the end of the year i would of thought with the talent the edfl is producing of late surely they could form a decent interleague side...

I can inform you that I am not involved at the league.

Interleague is no longer on the agenda though due to the unwillingness of the players to participate, as well as the difficulty in finding suitable opposition and a vacancy on the calendar to play the game. It is going to be even less likely now with the season set to expand to twenty rounds.

As for the team of the year, the Pakenham Gazette does select a team of the year, however it would be nice if the league were involved in the selection and presentation, similar to that done with the MPNFL. I will make sure I bring it up when next in discussions with Gwynne or Gallasch.