Autopsy Essendon v Hawthorn

So the AFL has come out and said that Puopolo's "throw" was an incorrect call, and that it was a tap.

http://www.afl.com.au/video/2015-04-14/was-poppy-pinged-correctly

Luke ball then defends the decision that you're gonna get 50/50 calls go either way from time to time.

Well perhaps the umpire shouldn't make a call from 100 m away if it's so line ball?

So the AFL has come out and said that Puopolo's "throw" was an incorrect call, and that it was a tap.

Luke ball then defends the decision that you're gonna get 50/50 calls go either way from time to time.

Well perhaps the umpire shouldn't make a call from 100 m away if it's so line ball?

Surprised they admitted the mistake considering the final score, not that we get the points back or anything

"In the slow-mo it almost appears like Paul grabs it and throws it out... Fast motion, it looks like a tap... So we can see totally understand the reason he paid a throw in this particular instance."

Wonder where they find these umpires with the ability to see the action unfold in slow motion... o_O
Because unless that umpire does possess that amazing ability then there should have been no doubt it was a tap by their explanation.

EDIT- And the claim that had it gone our way it wouldn't have had an impact on the final result...? Are you ****ing serious? :drunk:

it really wasn't our day...beaten by a genius coach, beaten by the siren...just beaten by life really in the end!...Hope I don't get bitten by a dog this week!

Don't forget that they out-Hawthorned us.

Funny that it was one of our worst games ever, but one of their greatest wins!

I finally got to watch the replay and I continue to be amazed that we can play so badly and yet still get back to basically even, by minimising damage and having a burst of scoring.

Initially my biggest disappointment (besides it being the injectors) was that we let a ten point lead slip with 100 seconds on the clock, but after watching it my biggest disappointment was the ten minutes prior to that when we did not seem to learn that going long to the forward line did not work when they had Hooker and Hurley outplaying our talks when delivered that way. Their pressure was good, and kudos to them, but we didn't seem to vary it and lower our eyes enough!

Still, as others have said, it can't be too bad when we had the pre-game and during game injuries, the bounce just did not seem there and we still should have won the game. 9/10 we would have. This was that one (just why did it have to be against them!)

The way we bombed it inside 50 reminds me of how we used to play against the cats and get picked off. Hopefully we learn a bit quicker this time and change the plan for round 13.
I was reflecting that the game kind of reminded me of the 2012 (?) Hawkins goal after the siren game.
Similar story, didn't show up for a half, came back and then fluffed it in dying minutes

Here is the source: Taken from;
A question of proof: might an ASADA appeal have legs?

"As you are no doubt aware, the S0 category of the WADA Prohibited List includes all substances which do not have approval for therapeutic use. The notion of identity, or provenance, of a substance is inextricably bound to its approval for therapeutic use. Put simply, no drug approval agency would approve any unidentified, or inadequately identified, substance for therapeutic use.

Further, the identity, or provenance, of a substance (including all its constituents) must be known and/or traceable throughout the supply chain. No reasonable person would assert that a substance is approved for therapeutic use if its identity is lost, the make-up of its components becomes uncertain, or its provenance can no longer be determined.

I believe this would mean that any inadequately identified substance automatically becomes an S0 substance and is therefore prohibited for use by athletes.

If my interpretation is correct then any substance for which the supply chain is “broken” must be classified as S0. This would mean that any athlete who admits to injecting a substance but cannot establish its provenance would have committed an offence under the WADA code.

Ironically, the “dog ate my homework” defence becomes an admission of guilt. " By Natalie Hickey, April 3, 2015
that is a comment from Joe Public, right?

It's also wrong.

I reckon there's a fair chance that's Argy!

So the WADA code does say that, why would you deny it, why would you pretend it didn't exist. Oh of course that is your entire defense. Of course we are innocent because they couldn't prove it just like OJ simpson and lance Armstrong and Essendon*. Go back to the lab where you came from FLOG.
it doesn't say that at all. WADA code is publicly available. You don't have to rely on the word of internet nobodies you know

Should we take this result to the Federal Court?
I hope Tanya was taking notes.
Clearly another example of how the World/AFL is against Essendon.

#standbypuopolo

it doesn't say that at all. WADA code is publicly available. You don't have to rely on the word of internet nobodies you know

I'm pretty sure you are a bot. Maybe a creation of Tanya Hird to auto-response any criticism levelled at your Essendon*

I have not watched the replay but watching the recovery report video reminded me of Brad Hill's injury. 15 seconds was shown on the clock and the Umpire asked if Hill could get to his feet. Our trainers helped him to his feet and the Umpire called play on effectively leaving us one man short. Should we have called for the stretcher which would stop the game and allow a replacement to come onto the field?

Fascinating the social response from Hawthorn losing a game. People at work were so gleefully attempting to give it to me (even though I've never flaunted the success of my club in front of them), yet they were acting like we just lost an important final or something. And these are non drug cheat supporters. So much pent up 'tall poppy syndrone' they just needed to release. They seemed rather disappointed that I was like 'meh' about the result, my reply being along the lines of 'as long as that shit doesn't happen in September, then I'm okay with it'. Yes folks, it is only April and it was only four points we didn't collect at the end. Opposition supporters wanted it to be so much more.

As for the drug cheat supporters, facebook would have you thinking they actually have just won a premiership. Poor deluded souls. By the way, I'm getting quite a few 'likes' from big footy drug cheat supporters from the game day thread. Don't know about anyone else. Funny, the only other gutless lowlifes who have done that in the past are handbag supporters. I guess it's not too hard to categorise both sets of supporters together. Reality will hit them too, pretty soon, just as it has the handbaggers. But it shows the intellect of certain groups of supporters who troll boards with 'likes'. No danger of any of these flogs growing a pair any time soon, I'd imagine.

Anyway, on to next week where hopefully we'll see just a little more effort from certain players instead of merely spectating the game...
Exactly. Luckily for me, after Rnd 1 I was also a bit "meh" so I just gave the same response - "you do realise it's still only April?"

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk

I have not watched the replay but watching the recovery report video reminded me of Brad Hill's injury. 15 seconds was shown on the clock and the Umpire asked if Hill could get to his feet. Our trainers helped him to his feet and the Umpire called play on effectively leaving us one man short. Should we have called for the stretcher which would stop the game and allow a replacement to come onto the field?
we def should have called for a stretcher. Thought the same thing during that moment. Rookie error.

"In the slow-mo it almost appears like Paul grabs it and throws it out... Fast motion, it looks like a tap... So we can see totally understand the reason he paid a throw in this particular instance."

Wonder where they find these umpires with the ability to see the action unfold in slow motion... o_O
Because unless that umpire does possess that amazing ability then there should have been no doubt it was a tap by their explanation.

EDIT- And the claim that had it gone our way it wouldn't have had an impact on the final result...? Are you ******* serious? :drunk:

Hilarious isn't it.

So does that mean that every single ruck tap ever is technically a throw? Punches only from now on I guess :confused:

Autopsy Essendon v Hawthorn