Exciting Prospects

Who are the players you are most looking forward to for 2012 and beyond?
This may have been covered before, but it's still preseason and lots of people are discussing this in my circles, so apologies etc. but here goes.
I am genuinely excited by:
1. Travis Varcoe. His GF form is hopefully the promise of his future, and he should become our excitement machine and most desirable player, desirable as in other teams wanting him.
2. Daniel Menzel. Who could not be impressed by his late season amazing form? Can not wait for his return. Equal ranking with Varcoe for me.
3. Nathan Vardy. Promises to be our future in the ruck and as a forward with mobility, marking and goal kicking.
4. Mitch Brown. Will he be the next Gumbleton, or the key forward to assist Tomahawk as the basis for our future. Those who have seen him are really excited by his potential.
5. Billy Smedts. Huge plaudits on his potential.
6. Tom Hawkins. Have ALWAYS liked him, been patient , and he delivered during ALL the 2011 finals. The future is exciting.

They are my top 6. Would like to read about some others like this group.Unfortunately, that whole group has been injury plagued.

Ziebell
Harper
Cunnington
Hansen
Tarrant
Atley
Black
Bastinac
L. Delaney
Speight
Wright
Garlett
Greenwood
McKenzie
Mangan (Keep an eye on this bloke, played in the powerful 2008 Murray Bushranger premiership team with Ziebell, Rockliff, Sidebottom and Wright and should have been drafted. Kept Fevola goalless in a VFL final)

Ziebell
Harper
Cunnington
Hansen
Tarrant
Atley
Black
Bastinac
L. Delaney
Speight
Wright
Garlett
Greenwood
McKenzie
Mangan (Keep an eye on this bloke, played in the powerful 2008 Murray Bushranger premiership team with Ziebell, Rockliff, Sidebottom and Wright and should have been drafted. Kept Fevola goalless in a VFL final)

In other words anyone that wears a blue and white vertically striped jumper.
What happened to Majak?

Carlton:

Exciting by way of exciting to watch:
Yarran & Tuohy: People will come just to watch these guys play

In other words anyone that wears a blue and white vertically striped jumper.
What happened to Majak?

He's had a knee clean out, this will set his fitness back.

IMO, he is only slight chance to debut this season.

Carlton:

Exciting by way of exciting to watch:
Yarran & Tuohy: People will come just to watch these guys play

You can add Watson to your list. Kid can play.

Howe and Watts: Both had good years last year, really want to see what they can do in the new look dees forward line.

Grimes: Good pre-season and we all know about his abilities if he can stay out on the ****ing park.

Im gonna go with a different angle and nominate players from other teams...

Jurrah. I reckon a big preseason and a coach with some mongrel in him will see this bloke explode.

Matera Just looks to have it all... and learning under Ablett's expertise... gold

Goldstein I know he was lauded this year, but with an improved side around him and another year under his belt, AND Mcintosh giving him a chop out.... gonna be huge.

Hawkins Will be the number one/premier key forward by Sept, overtaking Cloke.

Vickery Dont know why, but just have a feeling he will take that next step this year. Come back bigger, stronger and will start genuinely owning teams, bot in the F 50 and in the ruck.

Christensen Will be an elite midfielder at some stage soon... has a full bag of tricks. Pace, finishing, is tough as a cats head and most importantly, his decision making is super. I love this kid and cant wait to say "I told you so"...;)

Jordan Roughead Exactly the sort of player Mcartney will get the best out of, Like all big men has taken a bit longer, but will be a jet and I reckon this year he will really step up.

Pies Players I am excited about:

1. Witts - Looked Very Promising in VFL Games late in the Season including 1 BOG.
  2. Mooney - Big Wraps on this Irish Boy said to be Lighting Quck
  3. Elliot - Looks like another Medhurst and Played a Really good game in u-18 Champs vs Tassie
  4. Paine - Looks like a Very Nice Prospect and can play as a 3rd Tall in our Forward Line
  5. Yagmoor - Said to have a Great Kick

1. Watts - honestly think this kid has all the goods and all he's needed is confidence. Started to get that last year. Hoping he takes the next step this year.

2. Cotchin - the next Ablett. Want to see it happen sooner rather than later, for Tigers fans.

3. Day - I still think he'll be quite easily the best forward in the comp in a few years. It'll get to a point where Gold Coast will just bomb it in and he'll be expected to grab it.

And from my club, Hartlett and Butcher. JOHNNYBUTCHAAAAAAAA

Who are the players you are most looking forward to for 2012 and beyond?
This may have been covered before, but it's still preseason and lots of people are discussing this in my circles, so apologies etc. but here goes.
I am genuinely excited by:
1. Travis Varcoe. His GF form is hopefully the promise of his future, and he should become our excitement machine and most desirable player, desirable as in other teams wanting him.
2. Daniel Menzel. Who could not be impressed by his late season amazing form? Can not wait for his return. Equal ranking with Varcoe for me.
3. Nathan Vardy. Promises to be our future in the ruck and as a forward with mobility, marking and goal kicking.
4. Mitch Brown. Will he be the next Gumbleton, or the key forward to assist Tomahawk as the basis for our future. Those who have seen him are really excited by his potential.
5. Billy Smedts. Huge plaudits on his potential.
6. Tom Hawkins. Have ALWAYS liked him, been patient , and he delivered during ALL the 2011 finals. The future is exciting.

They are my top 6. Would like to read about some others like this group.Unfortunately, that whole group has been injury plagued.

Ziebell
Harper
Cunnington
Hansen
Tarrant
Atley
Black
Bastinac
L. Delaney
Speight
Wright
Garlett
Greenwood
McKenzie

Im gonna go with a different angle and nominate players from other teams...

Jurrah. I reckon a big preseason and a coach with some mongrel in him will see this bloke explode.

Matera Just looks to have it all... and learning under Ablett's expertise... gold

Goldstein I know he was lauded this year, but with an improved side around him and another year under his belt, AND Mcintosh giving him a chop out.... gonna be huge.

Vickery Dont know why, but just have a feeling he will take that next step this year. Come back bigger, stronger and will start genuinely owning teams, bot in the F 50 and in the ruck.

Christensen Will be an elite midfielder at some stage soon... has a full bag of tricks. Pace, finishing, is tough as a cats head and most importantly, his decision making is super. I love this kid and cant wait to say "I told you so"...;)

Jordan Roughead Exactly the sort of player Mcartney will get the best out of, Like all big men has taken a bit longer, but will be a jet and I reckon this year he will really step up.
Varcoe, Hawkins (x2), Ziebell, Hansen, Tarrant, Jurrah, Goldstein & Vickery aren't prospects. They've all been around for a few years and have had a few years AFL experience.

If I use your logic Buddy Franklin trumps every prospect noted in this thread before and after this post.

just for something different, reel off all your teams kids here

Feeling left out?

Other clubs

Watts - He's about to click up a gear
Watson - Will be a key defender and has the size already
Hartlett - Will arrive

Just because he had Strong Finals and Beat Reid who was way below 100% does not mean he become the Next Great Forward

I really don't knock other teams players and other posters but I am happy to make this following comment...

IF Hawkins becomes the premier forward in the competition (and in doing so overtakes not only Cloke but Franklin and Riewoldt), I will walk backwards naked (until arrested and then I will do it in a catwoman outfit) from Sydney to Melbourne in time for the GF. I will ensure I arrive at the 'G' midday GF day.

Anyone who seriously thinks he can take the mantle is delusional.

cheers

I really don't knock other teams players and other posters but I am happy to make this following comment...

IF Hawkins becomes the premier forward in the competition (and in doing so overtakes not only Cloke but Franklin and Riewoldt), I will walk backwards naked (until arrested and then I will do it in a catwoman outfit) from Sydney to Melbourne in time for the GF. I will ensure I arrive at the 'G' midday GF day.

cheers

start training champ. Hawkins has clicked. He will kick 80+ and rag doll most defenders this year.

Watts
Gysberts
Tom Mcdonald - looking amazing imo, played a few games late last year, capable forward and back, second in our 3 km time trial with a time under 9:40......
GAWN - if his knees hold up

Rest
Dangerfield - expecting a big year
Agree on Vickery - he looks a natural talent
Butcher
Coniglio - looks good in youtube
Swallow David
O'meara - due to the intense hype

Feeling left out?

Other clubs

Watts - He's about to click up a gear
Watson - Will be a key defender and has the size already
Hartlett - Will arrive

not at all. It just doesn't take any nous or footy knowledge to nominate your own teams' youngsters, and there's too much bias involved. Take your list for example, was there anyone under 23 from North you didn't list? They might be exciting for you, but not all your kids are going to be guns or excite other supporters.

Obviously, if I'm going to bang on, I need to provide a list myself. The most exciting young(er) prospects for mine (excluding this years draftees) are:

Sloane
Rohan
Howe
Harper
Atley
D Swallow
Prestia
Butcher
McKenzie
Z Smith
Shiels
Savage
Darling
Caddy
Conca

These are the players from opposition teams I am really going to enjoy watching this year.

This is the sort of thing that just shows you are completely biased.

I think most supporters would acknowledge that Hawkins may have turned the corner late last year and could very well improve a lot and become a good forward.

But to claim he will kick 80+ goals is just biased rubbish.

And lol @ OS/Teffy the king of bias. Why didn't you just post your whole list?

Jake Carlisle from my club is one that i am very excited about and think he has the potential to be at the very least a very good KPP.

Why didn't you just post your whole list?

What can I say, we have a lot of prospects.

Harper, Cunnington and Atley should all establish themselves as long term players by the end of 2012.

cheers

I hear ya.:thumbsu:

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/...1=1721&tid2=10&pid2=1759&type=A&fid1=C&fid2=C

Most of the Gold Coast list would be exciting prospects with Swallow and Smith as the chief ones.

At the Bulldogs would be a couple of players. I'm saying Redpath of course because the man is 21 but already nearly built like Hall and is the fourth fastest at the club over 20 metres.

Jason Tutt
Luke Dahlhaus
Jack Redpath

Exciting Prospects