McCarthy and Watson at Carlton
McKernan and Grigg at Adelaide
Colyer at Essington bowls club
Roberts and Morabito at Fremantle
Shepperd and Lycett at WCE
Harper, Cunnington and Atley at North
Witts at Collingwood
Winmar at Saints

Im gonna go with a different angle and nominate players from other teams...

Jurrah. I reckon a big preseason and a coach with some mongrel in him will see this bloke explode.

Matera Just looks to have it all... and learning under Ablett's expertise... gold

Goldstein I know he was lauded this year, but with an improved side around him and another year under his belt, AND Mcintosh giving him a chop out.... gonna be huge.

Hawkins Will be the number one/premier key forward by Sept, overtaking Cloke.

Vickery Dont know why, but just have a feeling he will take that next step this year. Come back bigger, stronger and will start genuinely owning teams, bot in the F 50 and in the ruck.

Christensen Will be an elite midfielder at some stage soon... has a full bag of tricks. Pace, finishing, is tough as a cats head and most importantly, his decision making is super. I love this kid and cant wait to say "I told you so"...;)

Jordan Roughead Exactly the sort of player Mcartney will get the best out of, Like all big men has taken a bit longer, but will be a jet and I reckon this year he will really step up.

Unfortunately Jurrah has been on a modified program all pre season, so that may hinder his year

start training champ. Hawkins has clicked. He will kick 80+ and rag doll most defenders this year.

I think everyone is frothing too much about Hawkins

He may and probably will become a very good player, however, lets see him string it together for the first 12 rounds before we earmark him as the next plugger

Genuinely excited by Carlisle. Could be in the top 15 contested marks in the comp. He's about the only Bombers "kid" I think will play a lot of games.
Browne should get an extended run, too. The draftees from this year are very, very light.

Genuinely excited by Carlisle. Could be in the top 15 contested marks in the comp. He's about the only Bombers "kid" I think will play a lot of games.
Actually forgot to list Carlisle.

IMO he has the potential to be the premier swing man in the comp.

My club:
Liam Jones - Awesome contested mark, and if he gets his kicking right will turn into a machine.
Mitch Wallis - After being hyped up pre-draft, has seemed to slip the mind of a lot of people. Played 6 games last year, and I expect him to step it up a lot this year.
Michael Talia - Built to play right now. A couple more cm's wouldn't hurt, but he wont be finished growing yet, so they will come. Needs to work on his kicking too.

Other clubs:
Tom Ledger (StK) - Very quick, and has been underrated because everyone thinks the Saints have no good kids. This kid can play.
Devon Smith (GWS) - Saw a lot of him in Geelong, and I have no doubt he will end up a very, very good player for GWS.
Tom Lynch (GC) - Along with Sam Day, will be very good KPF's for GC.

Blease - I remember his game against GC last year where he just carved his way through the field and gathered nearly 30 possessions. If he can stay fit he'll be a very good addition to the Half back line of Melbourne.

Yarran - Put him down for a bit more of wing/midfield this year. Silky skills and pace to burn make him a very exciting package.

I really don't knock other teams players and other posters but I am happy to make this following comment...

IF Hawkins becomes the premier forward in the competition (and in doing so overtakes not only Cloke but Franklin and Riewoldt), I will walk backwards naked (until arrested and then I will do it in a catwoman outfit) from Sydney to Melbourne in time for the GF. I will ensure I arrive at the 'G' midday GF day.

Anyone who seriously thinks he can take the mantle is delusional.

cheers

I can't see how catsmaninamerica's hyping up of Hawkins is any different to how Collingwood fans are talking up Witts or Hawthorn fans are talking up Gunston.

At least we've seen how Hawkins performs in the blue and white hoops. The other two haven't pulled on the boots for their current sides yet. Hawkins is now 23, which is about the age most KPPs start to peak. While I don't necessarily share catsmaninamerica's optimism in saying Hawkins will be the premier forward in the competition by the end of the season, I'd be very surprised if he isn't our best forward by season's end.

Back on topic, I can't wait to see Smedts run around. Stephen Wells has said he's been the best youngster he's seen enter the club. High praise indeed, considering Wells has seen the likes of Bartel and Ablett enter the club as juniors. Mitch Brown could be an exciting mobile third tall if he stays injury free, and of the new recruits, Chris Scott has been impressed with how Lincoln McCarthy's been travelling over the pre-season.

just for something different, reel off all your teams kids here

Haha, it was going to happen from the first post.

start training champ. Hawkins has clicked. He will kick 80+ and rag doll most defenders this year.

Yeah, nah. Had an OK finals series. Also very much doubt anyone will kick 80+ either.

Luke Parker
Amos Frank
Jack Darling
Zac Smith
Ryan Harwood

I can't see how catsmaninamerica's hyping up of Hawkins is any different to how Collingwood fans are talking up Witts or Hawthorn fans are talking up Gunston.

At least we've seen how Hawkins performs in the blue and white hoops. The other two haven't pulled on the boots for their current sides yet. Hawkins is now 23, which is about the age most KPPs start to peak. While I don't necessarily share catsmaninamerica's optimism in saying Hawkins will be the premier forward in the competition by the end of the season, I'd be very surprised if he isn't our best forward by season's end.
This time last year, Dawes was overtaking Cloke and about to take the league by storm. Fizzle.

Hawkins should continue to improve, but 80 goals/best in the league is a bit ridiculous. Only two blokes could hope to get near 80, IMHO.

Hawkins should be aiming to be the best for Geelong - that would be a good start, and all anyone could really ask.

Blease - I remember his game against GC last year where he just carved his way through the field and gathered nearly 30 possessions. If he can stay fit he'll be a very good addition to the Half back line of Melbourne.
Like. :thumbsu:
Watson - Will be a key defender and has the size already
Watson won't be a gun overnight. Like Josh Kennedy and Hawkins who were kids, he needs to get fitter and improve his recovery to be a player. We don't want to "Livingston" Watson and wreck his confidence by playing him on KPF before he's ready.

Luke Mitchell was the Carlton tall I was looking forward to watching. If not for injury, he may have come on quickly like Butcher and Sam Reid. I hope Watson plays forward and back in the VFL. He'd be the last player you'd want to have the ball within 60 metres of goal. In a VFL game last year, Watto roved Henderson's contest on the 50 and slammed it through off a step. Kicked another from the centre square after taking it below his knees on the run. Super boot.

Back on topic, I can't wait to see Smedts run around. Stephen Wells has said he's been the best youngster he's seen enter the club. High praise indeed, considering Wells has seen the likes of Bartel and Ablett enter the club as juniors. Mitch Brown could be an exciting mobile third tall if he stays injury free, and of the new recruits, Chris Scott has been impressed with how Lincoln McCarthy's been travelling over the pre-season.

There is a massive difference mate. No Hawthorn or Collingwood supporters are saying Gunston or Witts will be the premier forward in the competition.

The arrogance and ignorance of Geelong supporters now posting on this board is ridiculous. Hawkins had 3 good games for the year and luckily for Geelong they were in the finals. The rest of his year was average at best. But now suddenly hes going to overtake;

Franklin
Cloke
Brown
J.Reiwoldt
N.Reiwoldt
Tippet
Kennedy

and become the best forward in the competition. Please this is an insult to all of these players above.

Any Geelong supporter would trade Hawkins for any of the players listed above.

HA HAWKINS BETTER THAN FRANKLIN OR CLOKE? LET ALONE REIWOLDT, TIPPET OR KENNEDY. YOU ARE A JOKE

From St Kilda:

Jack Steven: Want to see his rise continue on the same track from last year

Arryn Siposs: Looked very very comfortable at full forward in the games that he played, and has bulked up alot over the summer. Hoping for G-Train MKII :D

Jamie Cripps: Was the supersub for us last year, but couldn't play more due to his compartment syndrome. If he can clear up his injury problems I expect him to be our most exciting youth player.

From other clubs:

John Butcher: Love the way he plays and love even more that he turned down offers to leave Port Adelaide. Shows real class and strength of character and I look forward to seeing if he can back up the end of year form he showed.

Israel Folau: Like Hunt last year, I want to see how the switch from Rugby to AFL is. Definitely an interesting prospect.

Tom Mitchell: I have a Sydney following mate who will tell me and everyone who'll listen that he would've gone top 2 in the draft if Sydney didn't F/S pick him. Looking forward to seeing if that's legit.

There is a massive difference mate. No Hawthorn or Collingwood supporters are saying Gunston or Witts will be the premier forward in the competition.

The arrogance and ignorance of Geelong supporters now posting on this board is ridiculous. Hawkins had 3 good games for the year and luckily for Geelong they were in the finals. The rest of his year was average at best. But now suddenly hes going to overtake;

Franklin
Cloke
Brown
J.Reiwoldt
N.Reiwoldt
Tippet
Kennedy

and become the best forward in the competition. Please this is an insult to all of these players above.

HA HAWKINS BETTER THAN FRANKLIN OR CLOKE? LET ALONE REIWOLDT, TIPPET OR KENNEDY. YOU ARE A JOKE

Disappointed you left J.Watts off that list :D :p

Otherwise good post :thumbsu:

From other clubs:

Anthony Morabito - To see how good this kid is, he has massive wraps but coming off a knee he might battle.

Clay Smith - Seeing his U18s stuff he looks absoloutley kamakaze the way he tackles and attacks the footy. Looking forward to NAB cup!

Patrick Dangerfield - Can he be more than a highlights package?

Mitch Wallis - Hear he is having a good pre season. Like the way he goes about it.

Dayne Beams - Still young-ish, would like to see him get back to the form of his early footy.

Issac Smith - Love watching him burn up and down the wing, real excitement machine IMO.

Essendon players:

Dyson Heppell - If he can back up last year, i think we have a genuine star on our hands

Trav Colyer - Love watching this bloke, so zippy around the ground, has added muscle which will hopefully give him confidence.

Melksham - IMO a fairly classy player, hopefully takes the next step.

Micheal Hurley - Breakout year?? if not next!

Franklin
Cloke
Brown
J.Reiwoldt
N.Reiwoldt
Tippet
Kennedy

Comprehension not your strong suit? I wasn't the one saying Hawkins would surpass those you listed above, Catsmaninamerica was. I also said I didn't agree with his prediction either, so I don't know why you're going off at me.

Hawkins 2nd half of the year was good after we decided to shelve the "Hawkins as 2nd ruck" experiment and play him as a permanent forward. Considering he kicked 22 goals in his last 8 games, it's not inconceivable if he played to the same level for the entire season that he could kick 60+ goals for the season, which would put him at a similar level to what Tippett and Kennedy could produce.

What can I say, we have a lot of prospects.

Harper, Cunnington and Atley should all establish themselves as long term players by the end of 2012.

I hear ya.:thumbsu:

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/...1=1721&tid2=10&pid2=1759&type=A&fid1=C&fid2=C

Agree re Harper and Atley. Not sure what you've seen to justify the Cunnington call though? So far what I've noticed is that he's hard at it, very professional in his preparation etc, but unfortunately is very very slow and couldn't hit the side of a barn door with his kicks. Brad Scott has already said if you can't hit a target, you won't get a game. Cunners has a long way to go IMO.

I am not sure if he fits the criteria but i am really looking forward to if/when Sam Reid starts living up to his potential.

That seems a little rough to me. He wasn't ripping games apart, but he did hold down CHF all year, no mean feat for a 2nd year kid.

(Assuming you're talking about the Sydney one, not the Dogs one)

I really don't knock other teams players and other posters but I am happy to make this following comment...

IF Hawkins becomes the premier forward in the competition (and in doing so overtakes not only Cloke but Franklin and Riewoldt), I will walk backwards naked (until arrested and then I will do it in a catwoman outfit) from Sydney to Melbourne in time for the GF. I will ensure I arrive at the 'G' midday GF day.

Anyone who seriously thinks he can take the mantle is delusional.

cheers

IMO he can over take everyone except for Franklin

N.Reiwoldt and Brown are on the way down IMO

As for the rest of the top KPF they don't exactly have unbeatable records themselves

Exciting Prospects