Bumped Experience meeting/seeing Collingwood players + Coaches

I was told to f*** off by Daics about 16 years ago back when I was 18. He was having a quiet beer with Mark Harvey at a bar in Ascot Vale, I'd had a few drinks too many and walked over exclaiming "it's the Macedonian Marvel!". His response was fair enough really.

Got told to **** off by the great man, what a privilege! :D

I was told to f*** off by Daics about 16 years ago back when I was 18. He was having a quiet beer with Mark Harvey at a bar in Ascot Vale, I'd had a few drinks too many and walked over exclaiming "it's the Macedonian Marvel!". His response was fair enough really.
In one of life's great ironies
That sentiment led to Daicos' children, so to speak

'Hi Nathan buckley' made me cringe and I'm just reading words... RIP.

I once asked James Hird at Heathrow Airport if he was James Hird because I wasn't sure... I was 10 and wtf was he doing in England. He signed a piece of paper which probably went into the bin a few days later

I cringed straight away as soon as I bloody said it.

Spoke to Kevin Worthington a few years ago, very briefly, at a Mining Expo over here in Perth. He was rude and not very complimentary about the club. Basically thought we deserve to be on the bottom.
Obviously something happened at the club that pissed him off. I was really disapointed with his attitude. Loved him as a player.

Spoke to Peter Daicos outside the MCC gate before the 03 GF. Was really cheerful and chatty. A good thing it was before the game i suppose!

Others have just been at training etc when my kids were little. Most of them were great and the one that stood out to me was Brodie Holland. We had a good chat and it was like talking to a mate you've known for years. Seemed like a real genuine good bloke. Shane O'Bree on the other hand....

When I was about 7 (I think) several members of the team + Leigh Matthews came up to Marysville golf club for a round while I was there with my Dad. Got Leigh's signature on a scorecard, and then woke up the next day to find out in the paper he'd got a hole in one. It was pretty cool :)

Had a long conversation with Leigh Matthews when he was coaching us
Had a long conversation with Eddie in about 2005
Spoke to Bucks at the old Casino
Had many long conversations with Anthony Rocca

Had a beer with Ben Johnson last night in the Sorrento pub. Licca and Michael Christian were there also but didn't talk to them. Ben was really friendly and chatty. Asked him about how difficult it was doing all the meeting and team structures etc they have these days. He said it was easy. Moreorless said he was a footballer so all that stuff just came naturally and was easy. Said that didn't mean it translated into being good at other stuff

Nothing wrong with just saying G'day.

Time and place for it imo, it would be bloody painful every 5 secs having to smile and entertain strangers.

We may "feel" we "know" them following them weekly but really they are a stranger most of us have no idea about the real them "the person" rather then the footballer we cheer on weekly and follow across the year.
They sure as hell don't know us except for maybe a few that staunchly go to trainings etc and slowly build a real relationship with them.

I don't worry too much about meeting etc players.
They do it on the field, that's enough for me.

My not exception was, Gordon Carlyon, I loved talking Collingwood history with him, as I used to write some Collingwood stuff here and there. He was an encyclopaedia on our team.
But that's years ago.

Then there's racing, that's a whole other thing
I was also lucky enough to sit with Gordon and his wife at the footy for a meal and the match on a number of occasions. Great man and as you say knew everything

Yes lovely couple.
I met Mrs Kyne, Phonse's widow nice in match day as she was its Gordon.
Imagine she's passed by now. Alas, a fate awaiting us all - well may it be a long time away

'Hi Nathan buckley' made me cringe and I'm just reading words... RIP.

I once asked James Hird at Heathrow Airport if he was James Hird because I wasn't sure... I was 10 and wtf was he doing in England. He signed a piece of paper which probably went into the bin a few days later
Did he say he was, did Mrs hird let him sign
All jokes aside, he was a terrific player, probably less so as a person, but he would have gone well in our tea that's for sure

I also gave Paul Medhurst a little tap on the backside at the vfl in 2008, it was a dare and I easily succumb to peer pressure.. I did it in a nonchalant way after a photo with him and Harry O'brizzle. Just a little 'thanks for the photo, oh I've missed your lower back' tap
Maybe if Ronaldo comes to town you could do that to him.
May get you all sorts of results :eek: :p :D

When I was about 7 (I think) several members of the team + Leigh Matthews came up to Marysville golf club for a round while I was there with my Dad. Got Leigh's signature on a scorecard, and then woke up the next day to find out in the paper he'd got a hole in one. It was pretty cool :)
Leigh was good at that ;)
Actually he was good at many things - great coach greatest player

Met Eddie at Stone's (?) in Prahran, went to see Vince Jones.

He didn't seem that overawed to meet me.
Lol very good obese one.
Happy new year.

As an aside I've never seen on big footy anyone ever have a go at Eddie, everyone else seems fair game, not Eddie for some reason.
I've no issues, at all, just something I've noticed in my time here

Was struggling with a pram taking my youngest into the Ryder stand at Vicci Park one day when Lethal grabbed hold of the front of the pram and basically carried it up the steps for me (daughter intact). He gave me a wink and said "You'll be doing it tougher than I will today" and then offered to stow the pram at the base of his ladder that led to the coaches box atop the stand.

Top bloke Lethal. Couple of months later he delivered us that flag we all cherished!

Was struggling with a pram taking my youngest into the Ryder stand at Vicci Park one day when Lethal grabbed hold of the front of the pram and basically carried it up the steps for me (daughter intact). He gave me a wink and said "You'll be doing it tougher than I will today" and then offered to stow the pram at the base of his ladder that led to the coaches box atop the stand.

Top bloke Lethal. Couple of months later he delivered us that flag we all cherished!

Did we win that day?

Sat with Eddie and Carla on the Carltons presidents table for a Coll v Carl match one. They were both great operators. Ian Collins was the host and Eddie one upped him that day. Sat with Collo at another match when he had a heart attack. Hot in the sun that day and he looked grey and terrible. Went off and did his after match duties then drove himself to the Epworth where he was admitted. Stupid thing to do really but he is a tough bloke.

Bumped Experience meeting/seeing Collingwood players + Coaches