Coach Fages and the coaching group

They discussed this in one of the footy shows leading up to the game during the week. Geelong's half forwards (namely Close and Miers) often bring themselves up to the contest and force their opponents to essentially match them up in the midfield.

The showed a few plays during our game against Geelong earlier in the year where those two half forwards were able to lose their opponents (Starcevich and McKenna I think) and beat them out running towards goal.

Answerth played some midfield earlier in the year in the VFL, which appears to have held him in good stead when they tried the tactic again.
Not so tactically inept then :grinning:

Answerth played some midfield earlier in the year in the VFL, which appears to have held him in good stead when they tried the tactic again.
i thought that was probably the best game i’ve seen Answerth play. He was certainly visible at stoppages, so certainly it looks like Geelong tactic played into our hands in this instance.

Thought the same on rewatch. Really impacted at stoppages. Stat sheet says one clearance, but had at least 4 clearing kicks from stoppages or congestion. Did a bit of this last week, but looked much more confident at it this week. As did Fletcher.

Combination of both.

If something works and you win you're a master tactician. If you lose and do nothing or what you do doesn't work you're clueless.

The funny thing is what you do might work and you still lose the game in which case you're still clueless.

What's unknown is what would've happened if you had or hadn't done something.

Which is why we have genius analysts in the media to explain why we did or didn't win and what we should've done if we didn't.

Makes perfect sense now that the known knowns are known and the unknown unknowns aren’t…

Personally, I just try to always remember that you can coach poorly and win or coach well and not win…in football terms, this is The Wisdom, this is the The Way 🙏

Thought the same on rewatch. Really impacted at stoppages. Stat sheet says one clearance, but had at least 4 clearing kicks from stoppages or congestion. Did a bit of this last week, but looked much more confident at it this week. As did Fletcher.
Fletcher was starting to worry me but he gritted his teeth on Saturday and really helped the defence mopping up when the pressure was on.

Brisbane 13-2 since Stewy Dew joined the Lions.

#DoTheDew

In the last two games we have won the tight games in the end minutes which is a new strength.

The just belt the ball into green space that ended both games is either something I've missed previously or it's new. If it's new I reckon that's from from Dew.

I think it’s really interesting that Fages highlighted in his presser that Geelong weren’t necessarily match fit due to easy game - bye - easy game - bye. I remember one of his bugbears in our early finals exits was the one game in 28 days. Looks like he’s proving his own theory there.

The AFL will have to change the pre-finals bye when Tassie come in. Imagine a top four team have a bye in the last round. Could go rnd23 - bye - bye - QF - bye - PF. They get over their injuries, but would need to put in a serious training block not to lose match fitness.

He's playing mind games with our guys. You aren't tied and sore, you're match fit.

I saw a stat re: Stuzza Dew and how he's the four year groundhog of grand finals for five wins, one loss and a TBD:
  1. 1996 - Central Distrcts U17s win (player).
  2. 2000 - Central Districts SANFL win (player).
  3. 2004 - Port Adelaide win (player).
  4. 2008 - Hawthorn win (player).
  5. 2012 - Sydney win (assistant coach).
  6. 2016 - Sydney loss (assistant coach).
  7. 2020 - COVID ruins everything.
  8. 2024 - Brisbane ??? (assistant coach).

I saw a stat re: Stewart Dew and how he's the four year groundhog of grand finals for five wins, one loss and a TBD:
  1. 1996 - Central Distrcts U17s win (player).
  2. 2000 - Central Districts SANFL win (player).
  3. 2004 - Port Adelaide win (player).
  4. 2008 - Hawthorn win (player).
  5. 2012 - Sydney win (assistant coach).
  6. 2016 - Sydney loss (assistant coach).
  7. 2020 - COVID ruins everything.
  8. 2024 - Brisbane ??? (assistant coach).

His name is STUART.

1727043931551.jpeg

Yeh Fages! Wow that’s so deserved! Can’t imagine the pressure he’s been under with all the Hawthorn racism issues - that alone is such a challenge to weave your way through when you can’t answer those allegations in public - let alone contend with the pressure of being an afl coach. Congrats Fages!

Coach Fages and the coaching group

Write your reply...