Coach Fages and the coaching group

David King no doubt would think Scott whilst his team lost, brained Fages, because you know you can win but still get beaten in the coaches box.

Get. A. Life. Enjoy a positive analysis of Fages, and a great win and leave the flogging horse at home.

Brisbane 13-2 since Stewy Dew joined the Lions.

#DoTheDew
It's hard not to think something's kicked in isn't it.

Remember the old down the line from every defensive stoppage ?

That's gone out the window. You can see our defenders looking for offensive options every time they get it. Obviously you need the cattle to implement it and your midfielders to provide the options.

Zorko cops lots for the defensive aspects of his game but overall what he does wins you games. And that's the mindset that's got us where we are this year.

It's hard not to think something's kicked in isn't it.

Remember the old down the line from every defensive stoppage ?

That's gone out the window. You can see our defenders looking for offensive options every time they get it. Obviously you need the cattle to implement it and your midfielders to provide the options.

Zorko cops lots for the defensive aspects of his game but overall what he does wins you games. And that's the mindset that's got us where we are this year.

Have to play with risk to get through modern defences.

It makes me super nervous and it can look really bad when you stuff it up, but overall we've got so much more out of being daring with our ball movement and playing on instinct rather than going long and slow down the line this finals series.

Have to play with risk to get through modern defences.

It makes me super nervous and it can look really bad when you stuff it up, but overall we've got so much more out of being daring with our ball movement and playing on instinct rather than going long and slow down the line this finals series.
Absolutely.

And it's done wonders for the confidence of many players .

If anyone had told me 2 years ago Froggy would do what he did yesterday in a cut throat prelim. I would've had them certified.

Just goes to show what some players could have under the bonnet given the right mindset.

Ripper thread from Ricky Mangidis who runs the Shinboner website, an excellent place for analysis, on how we managed to break through the Geelong team defence in the third quarter:

...but I thought the narrative was that our coaching guys were clueless nuffies who are strategically challenged and we need to go all in on Chris Scott 'cause he is the strategy genius that we need..

or is that the Media nuffies with their Big Footy follower nuffies who are clueless and challenged?

...but I thought the narrative was that our coaching guys were clueless nuffies who are strategically challenged and we need to go all in on Chris Scott 'cause he is the strategy genius that we need..

or is that the Media nuffies with their Big Footy follower nuffies who are clueless and challenged?
Combination of both.

If something works and you win you're a master tactician. If you lose and do nothing or what you do doesn't work you're clueless.

The funny thing is what you do might work and you still lose the game in which case you're still clueless.

What's unknown is what would've happened if you had or hadn't done something.

Which is why we have genius analysts in the media to explain why we did or didn't win and what we should've done if we didn't.

Combination of both.

If something works and you win you're a master tactician. If you lose and do nothing or what you do doesn't work you're clueless.

The funny thing is what you do might work and you still lose the game in which case you're still clueless.

Which is why we have genius analysts in the media to explain why we did or didn't win and what we should've done if we didn't.

I think the media's idea of a tactical change is pretty much Worsfold sending Adam Hunter forward or vice versa.

Or in the words of Robert Walls, if a tallish player is underperforming "Give him a run in the ruck."

Kingy and Montagna are a bit better than this level but I think they usually look at what particular teams are doing that they already rate (pies, cats, etc) and work backwards to argue that a particular gamestyle is the best.

I think the media's idea of a tactical change is pretty much Worsfold sending Adam Hunter forward or vice versa.

Or in the words of Robert Walls, if a tallish player is underperforming "Give him a run in the ruck."

Kingy and Montagna are a bit better than this level but I think they usually look at what particular teams are doing that they already rate (pies, cats, etc) and work backwards to argue that a particular gamestyle is the best.
Barassi bringing Teddy Hopkins on at half time to kick the only 4 goals in his life when the Pies had the GF sewn up went down in folklore as the ultimate genius coaching move and ever since then the mantra has been you need to make a 'move'.

The truth is the Pies stopped , Mckenna got injured ,the Blues played a whole lot better and the ball kept falling into Teddy's lap because the Pies knew he wasn't much good.

A lot gets missed even by hardcore fans. Not a mention by anybody here or in the media about why Answerth was pulled up to stoppages and was playing a midfield role. This move was quite effective and helped us win the game.

I saw it and wondered who he was playing on - could only assume one of the Cats' half forwards had pulled him right up but boy was he effective.

I think it’s really interesting that Fages highlighted in his presser that Geelong weren’t necessarily match fit due to easy game - bye - easy game - bye. I remember one of his bugbears in our early finals exits was the one game in 28 days. Looks like he’s proving his own theory there.

The AFL will have to change the pre-finals bye when Tassie come in. Imagine a top four team have a bye in the last round. Could go rnd23 - bye - bye - QF - bye - PF. They get over their injuries, but would need to put in a serious training block not to lose match fitness.

I think it’s really interesting that Fages highlighted in his presser that Geelong weren’t necessarily match fit due to easy game - bye - easy game - bye. I remember one of his bugbears in our early finals exits was the one game in 28 days. Looks like he’s proving his own theory there.

The AFL will have to change the pre-finals bye when Tassie come in. Imagine a top four team have a bye in the last round. Could go rnd23 - bye - bye - QF - bye - PF. They get over their injuries, but would need to put in a serious training block not to lose match fitness.
All this talk of the pre-finals bye is not going to change anything.
Isn’t it already confirmed that there is going to be a wild Card round next year?
So therefore there is going to be a Pre-Finals bye for the teams 1-6 on the ladder no matter what.
And there ain’t no way they will then add a pre-Grand Final bye as well.
Otherwise we are then heading into October.

They discussed this in one of the footy shows leading up to the game during the week. Geelong's half forwards (namely Close and Miers) often bring themselves up to the contest and force their opponents to essentially match them up in the midfield.

The showed a few plays during our game against Geelong earlier in the year where those two half forwards were able to lose their opponents (Starcevich and McKenna I think) and beat them out running towards goal.

Answerth played some midfield earlier in the year in the VFL, which appears to have held him in good stead when they tried the tactic again.

They discussed this in one of the footy shows leading up to the game during the week. Geelong's half forwards (namely Close and Miers) often bring themselves up to the contest and force their opponents to essentially match them up in the midfield.

The showed a few plays during our game against Geelong earlier in the year where those two half forwards were able to lose their opponents (Starcevich and McKenna I think) and beat them out running towards goal.

Answerth played some midfield earlier in the year in the VFL, which appears to have held him in good stead when they tried the tactic again.
Not so tactically inept then :grinning:

i thought that was probably the best game i’ve seen Answerth play. He was certainly visible at stoppages, so certainly it looks like Geelong tactic played into our hands in this instance.

Thought the same on rewatch. Really impacted at stoppages. Stat sheet says one clearance, but had at least 4 clearing kicks from stoppages or congestion. Did a bit of this last week, but looked much more confident at it this week. As did Fletcher.

Combination of both.

Makes perfect sense now that the known knowns are known and the unknown unknowns aren’t…

Personally, I just try to always remember that you can coach poorly and win or coach well and not win…in football terms, this is The Wisdom, this is the The Way 🙏

Thought the same on rewatch. Really impacted at stoppages. Stat sheet says one clearance, but had at least 4 clearing kicks from stoppages or congestion. Did a bit of this last week, but looked much more confident at it this week. As did Fletcher.
Fletcher was starting to worry me but he gritted his teeth on Saturday and really helped the defence mopping up when the pressure was on.

Brisbane 13-2 since Stewy Dew joined the Lions.

#DoTheDew

In the last two games we have won the tight games in the end minutes which is a new strength.

The just belt the ball into green space that ended both games is either something I've missed previously or it's new. If it's new I reckon that's from from Dew.

He's playing mind games with our guys. You aren't tied and sore, you're match fit.

Coach Fages and the coaching group