Opinion Fan misery index by team supported

Most Port fans have seen multiple premierships at state and national level, they also saw their club make it to the national league where every non Vic club failed including Ports most bitter rivals in SA.

They’ve always been a battler club and it’s always been an ‘us against the establishment’ thing, albeit a very successful one, so money issues and dealing with the big bad arseholes at league head office etc are day to day that the club have always overcome.

Moving to a proper ground at AO and being free from SANFL control alleviated the misery of being held back by those that hated us the most.

From the misery angle, there’s the Guernsey issue and the fact we have to share the state with the West Lakes Franchise as well as not being able to win multiple AFL premised ships as yet, so that would put us pretty high again I guess 😂.

In contrast, The Crows have had literally every advantage possible handed to them on a silver platter and have just won the spoon.
I see the original name still reverberates with some of you.

I’ve seen 12 in my lifetime, and I recently turned 50. That’s more or less a flag every 4 years for my entire lifetime. My ‘misery’ levels are extraordinarily low. Basically non-existent.
Yeah, there’s literally no misery for a Hawk fan, unless you expect to win the flag every year and get down on that.

With 10 flags in my lifetime the index is broken.

Wealth isn't a great predictor for happiness (plenty of rich, depressed people out there).
Yes it is. Various studies have found that wealth is a huge factor in overall happiness. But it is diminishing returns. I'm going from memory here and it was a few years ago but I think an Australian study found after about $200k annual income further wealth doesn't add anything to your happiness.

Most Port fans have seen multiple premierships at state and national level, they also saw their club make it to the national league where every non Vic club failed including Ports most bitter rivals in SA.

They’ve always been a battler club and it’s always been an ‘us against the establishment’ thing, albeit a very successful one, so money issues and dealing with the big bad arseholes at league head office etc are day to day that the club have always overcome.

Moving to a proper ground at AO and being free from SANFL control alleviated the misery of being held back by those that hated us the most.

From the misery angle, there’s the Guernsey issue and the fact we have to share the state with the West Lakes Franchise as well as not being able to win multiple AFL premised ships as yet, so that would put us pretty high again I guess 😂.

In contrast, The Crows have had literally every advantage possible handed to them on a silver platter and have just won the spoon.
This here is some deep psychological shit.

St kilda are getting close to a century and a half of existence and presently have one flag, by one point, to show for it.

Probability, good management or sheer dumb luck would all indicate they should have done better.

The term "long suffering" undoubtedly should have a St Kilda logo next to it.
I suspect that one day the saints will do a four-peat when all their good luck finally hits!

No, in general I am still happier than Tiges supporters. Since 1980, we have 9 flags and they have 3. In my lifetime, we have 12, they have 5. Way, way, way ahead in the happiness stakes.
You are no spring chicken.
I tried to vaguely normalise the index to a median age with a bias toward bigfooty posters.
I made up (without any actual knowledge) that the median bigfooty poster was about 45 odd.

St kilda are getting close to a century and a half of existence and presently have one flag, by one point, to show for it.

Probability, good management or sheer dumb luck would all indicate they should have done better.

The term "long suffering" undoubtedly should have a St Kilda logo next to it.
True. But plenty of that misery now rests with the dead.

I'm not counting that misery.

I consider it extinguished or lapsed misery.

Was just talking about this yesterday from my POV as a geelong supporter. I started in 93. We had Ablett, Hocking, etc etc etc. We never hit rock bottom, or were wooden spooners... we make finals and Grand Finals (yes, losing GFs but thats not my point here)... i had a blast following Geelong back then. Yes, except for the obvious matches.

And yep, obviously its easy for me to say this since 07.
BUt flags are like heroine. One hit and you want more. So im still hanging out for me next hit...

For me Melb and St Kilda should be equal ladder leaders.
Saints fans had one heck of a ride olin 09 and 10.

not sure many demons fans have had many highs in the last 50 years.

This view is distorted by recency bias. It's like a minimum wage earner feeling great coz they found $50 on the ground today compared to a rich bloke whose portfolio lost several thousand. Today you might say the rich bloke feels miserable financially, while comparatively the poor bloke is elated with his lot.

Taking a broader perspective however, this wouldn't be the case.

It's interesting though. Maybe it's got something to do with the individual doing the assessment and whether they're a short term thinker or a long term thinker.
Sorry but loads of people have told me that I have recency bias and it is absolute nonsense!!!

Seems to people who think they have some knowledge of statistics.

But ur just wrong wrong wrong

I'm not measuring "which club has the most flags".

We know that already mate.

I'm not measuring all the joy of dead people!

I'm measuring joy of current and active fans with a focus on bigfooty readers.

I'm not counting the joy that Cecil Flanagan had in 1930.

So no I totally reject the recency bias criticism.

I am totally discounting old flags.

What true and actual joy do you get from reading about a flag before u were born???

Sorry. But it's not true joy.

If I'm wrong, then please explain to me how you enjoyed the 1938 flag??

I'm all ears. Did u dance in the streets? Call ur mates? Go to the post game party?

OP has a big dose of recency bias. Tigers with a score of 1???

Up until a few years ago there was hardly a more suffering supporter base over the last 30 years.
Mate.

Tell me how much joy U get from flags before u were born?

I'm open minded.

Give me a try.

How many times have u watched the 1908 season DVD?

Mate.

Tell me how much joy U get from flags before u were born?

I'm open minded.

Give me a try.

How many times have u watched the 1908 season DVD?

Even as a neutral supporter i have watched that one several times actually. Love me a good early 1900 Grand Final :thumbsupv1:

I was thinking about which team's supporters suffered the most misery.

I came up with a simple fan misery index.

Obviously the higher the score the more that teams fans have suffered.

Poor buggers supporting Melbourne FC have had a wretched old time.

AFL team fan's misery index by team supported:

Melbourne 57
Saints 30
Blues 25
North 22
Freo 21
Bombers 21
Lions 18
Port 17
Swans 15
Crows 12
Pies 9
GWS 6
Hawks 6
Bulldogs 5
Eagles 3
Geelong 3
Richmond 1

[Gold Coast NA]

It depends a lot on age. I've seen 4 flags in my lifetime so still more than most clubs despite our recent crapness.

Sorry but loads of people have told me that I have recency bias and it is absolute nonsense!!!

What true and actual joy do you get from reading about a flag before u were born???

I'm all ears. Did u dance in the streets? Call ur mates? Go to the post game party?

“Focus on Big Footy readers” ... How?

Haven' 'ignored' anything - Geelong were certainly the best side of that time- bigger/stronger/faster and bigger again are the words that come to mind - way way way ahead of every other side in the competition as far as team fitness and strength and speed all over the park - amazing huh ....just amazing the sports 'scientist' and 'conditioner' employed there by BomberT certainly knew what they were doing...so far ahead of every other team's fitness regime...

I guess if 'whatever it takes' to make fans happy is fair - then Geelong fans should be happy.

I won't mention COLA though - that sort of gets Sydney supporters feeling miserable.
Not very subtle JaB (pun intended).
Ironic coming from someone following the paper bag club.

The human experience in general is distorted by recency bias PLUS we feel loss much more strongly compared to when we gain something (see loss aversion).

So it only makes sense that a Tigers fan is much happier in general right now than a Hawks supporter, especially as it looks like the Hawks are looking at a relatively extended period down the ladder (and their fans are starting to realise it).

And your analogy of rich vs poor bloke isn't really accurate. Wealth isn't a great predictor for happiness (plenty of rich, depressed people out there).
Raised the level of thinking of thread. Well done.

Rambling on about strawman arguments only demonstrates how weak your position is. Either that or you have the limited perspective of a 12yo.

So good for you, you didn't count older flags. And good for me, because of that, I think your index suck ass and is utterly pointless.

Not bothering to reply to you from here. Wasted enough time opening this stupid thread.

Yeah, there’s literally no misery for a Hawk fan, unless you expect to win the flag every year and get down on that.

With 10 flags in my lifetime the index is broken.
Just wait. If the Hawks meander in mediocrity for some time yet (which they will), check your index then. Your club will be knocking on the door of irrelevance if you don't return to the top in the next 6-10 years, and personally, I can't see that happening. Particularly, if the push to get a Tassie team gathers steam and the Tasmanian government doesn't extend your lucrative deal. You'd need to find some more budgies to sign up.

Whilst it wasn't 10, I saw 5 before I turned 20 and was feeling quite smug. 3 decades was a long time to wait.

Richmond before their breakthrough in 2017 reminded me of Parramatta. Highly successful in the 70s/early 80s then a massive drought.
I still remember missing the 09 NRL GF because I was out to dinner with the missus and had recorded it. I was going to great lengths not to find out the score. We pulled into a servo on the way home and sitting in the car I look across the road to the pub and there is the most despondent guy I have ever seen, viciously beating the street lamp with his Eels scarf. I never ended up watching that game.

Opinion Fan misery index by team supported