Final v Hawks discussion thread

I think we may have them covered in our forward line, with Minson, Welsh, Aker, Murph, Hahn, Johnson all very hard to match up on. Who would go to them?
We would need to win the midfield battle though, that's where the game will be won. I have a weird feeling that Buddy will go into the midfield during the game:confused:

I believe it is as simple as who wins the midfield.

If the Dogs win the midfield battle then I don't think the Hawks can win.
If the Hawks win the midfield battle then I don't think the Dogs can win.

So pretty much whoever wins clearances and probably as a result the midfield battle and inside 50's. From memory in round 10, while we didn't have our best team we not only got beaten in the midfield but absolutley smashed in the inside 50's. If we get enough footy inside our foward 50 the Dogs defence won't be able to hold Buddy/Roughy and Rioli/Williams. But if guys like Cooney/Eagleton/Akermanis are left 60-80 metres out without pressure on them to deliver to guys inside 50 like Murphy/Hahn/Welsh/Johnson with the kicking skills the Dogs have then we will be carved to peices by them and won't be able to hold their small/medium fowards, especially Murphy who we don't really have a player smart enough to play on him I believe.

I don't see this match being close, I see it being a comfortable win either way, whoever leads at qtr time will most likely win the game, I think a trend will emerge very early on.

I think so he is so crap he has talent but doesnt use it.
in 2 or 3 yrs in mite b a decent player but eagleton is just a bald eagle who cant do anything

how is he not a baldy? he cant even bloody play the game properly!!

Showing a lot of intelligence there, just happens to have been playing for over 10 years at AFL level but he can't do anything. Maybe get some tapes out of some games and watch them after school little one instead of just falling into the "I hate Eagleton, Ray and Gia no matter how they play club" which has a number of toss bag members. You are a Sheep bah bah

i know what he has done in his career and he has done well
im saying that he isnt playing that good at the moment unlike 3 or 4 yrs ago he looks a bit out of and seems that the game is getting 2 quick 4 him and he cant handle the more intense footy
and sorry 4 the lacking intelligence but i think the game is getting 2 him.
and also i agree that ryan griffen is a super player my fav

i know what he has done in his career and he has done well
im saying that he isnt playing that good at the moment unlike 3 or 4 yrs ago he looks a bit out of and seems that the game is getting 2 quick 4 him and he cant handle the more intense footy
and sorry 4 the lacking intelligence but i think the game is getting 2 him.
and also i agree the griffen is a super player my fav

Pal, do you watch football???

Who are our most important players in this game?

For me its:
Morris- because its now more than likely he will get Buddy.
Aker- finals player. We have played better when he has played. and Cooney- Our best player. We need him firing. Simple.

excuse me folks, but I speak 'noob'

What Tom Fraser is trying to articulate is that Egos contested skills remain terrible and his defensive effort has, in general, been poor, although improved somewhat recently. Tom acknowledges his work rate and long kicking can be an asset.

In relation to Josh Hill, I think he is trying to point out that, while talented, his contested skills are somwhat limited by his experience and physical build, and this deficiency might be exploited by the opposition in a finals environment.

excuse me folks, but I speak 'noob'

What Tom Fraser is trying to articulate is that Egos contested skills remain terrible and his defensive effort has, in general, been poor, although improved somewhat recently. Tom acknowledges his work rate and long kicking can be an asset.

In relation to Josh Hill, I think he is trying to point out that, while talented, his contested skills are somwhat limited by his experience and physical build, and this deficiency might be exploited by the opposition in a finals environment.
finally someone knows what i am on about

Good luck doggies.. I will be at the game cheering you boys on.. I hope you smash those dorks!!!

I still reckon they will go out in straight sets... Too me they are just pretenders... they target the players rather than the ball..

I look forward to meeting you in the prelim, should be a ripper!!!

Back to the game guys.

A couple posts back, I explained my opinion on our three most important players for the game.

Who are your most vital players for the game?

Here is the Round 22 team for the Dawks.

HAWTHORN
B: Campbell Brown, Stephen Gilham, Brent Guerra
HB: Rick Ladson, Trent Croad, Grant Birchall
C: Jordan Lewis, Sam Mitchell, Clinton Young
HF: Michael Osborne, Lance Franklin, Chance Bateman
F: Mark Williams, Jarryd Roughead, Cyril Rioli
Foll: Robert Campbell, Luke Hodge, Brad Sewell
Int: Stuart Dew, Thomas Murphy, Brent Renouf, Cameron Stokes
Emg: Beau Dowler, Xavier Ellis, Jarryd Morton

In: Campbell, Hodge
Out: Shane Crawford (rested), Simon Taylor (general soreness)

I assume Crawford and Taylor will play in the final. Who else may be in or out/in?

Back to the game guys.

A couple posts back, I explained my opinion on our three most important players for the game.

Who are your most vital players for the game?
coons (winning the ball)
morris (on buddy)
akermanis (kicking goals)

Here is the Round 22 team for the Dawks.

HAWTHORN
B: Campbell Brown, Stephen Gilham, Brent Guerra
HB: Rick Ladson, Trent Croad, Grant Birchall
C: Jordan Lewis, Sam Mitchell, Clinton Young
HF: Michael Osborne, Lance Franklin, Chance Bateman
F: Mark Williams, Jarryd Roughead, Cyril Rioli
Foll: Robert Campbell, Luke Hodge, Brad Sewell
Int: Stuart Dew, Thomas Murphy, Brent Renouf, Cameron Stokes
Emg: Beau Dowler, Xavier Ellis, Jarryd Morton

In: Campbell, Hodge
Out: Shane Crawford (rested), Simon Taylor (general soreness)

I assume Crawford and Taylor will play in the final. Who else may be in or out/in?

I think Ellis would be in there best 22. Would replace one of Dew, Young or Murphy.

Final v Hawks discussion thread