Analysis FINALS! - Who and where will we play?

Now we're made finals what are your expectations?

• Runners up

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Straight set exit (lose QF, lose SF)

Votes: 0 0.0%

There’s only 0.3% separating WC and Hawthorn. It means another result falling into place but I think Collingwood and Hawthorn winning (albeit against Sydney) and WC losing would most likely result in us hosting Hawthorn at the MCG and WC dropping to 4th.

This is a very good point. Is it crazy that I want another crack at the Dawks? When was the last time we beat them to win a premiership? We beat them to make a grand final in 1977, but they were knocked out by the Dees in 1990, and Dockers in 2010.

Sure, let other teams kiss us on the dick, but I want some vengeance. They were so good for so long, I thirst to break the duck and throttle them for once.

Growing up losing all but about four or five since 2000? Round one was another pinch of salt in a gaping wound. Imagine the level of saltiness if we illustrate our progress since then? I'm frothing at the prospect :cool:

This is a very good point. Is it crazy that I want another crack at the Dawks? When was the last time we beat them to win a premiership? We beat them to make a grand final in 1977, but they were knocked out by the Dees in 1990, and Dockers in 2010.

Sure, let other teams kiss us on the dick, but I want some vengeance. They were so good for so long, I thirst to break the duck and throttle them for once.

Growing up losing all but about four or five since 2000? Round one was another pinch of salt in a gaping wound. Imagine the level of saltiness if we illustrate our progress since then? I'm frothing at the prospect :cool:
Hawthorn did not play finals until 1957 - their 33rd season. They weren't there in 1958. So we've never beaten them in a final on the way to a premiership. We have a 2-3 record against them in finals.

If it's a question of eagles or tigers first week I'll take the eagles away.
Get the interstate trip out of the way.

I'd rather play the prelim at the MCG then Optus stadium.
Reward for the members who can go.

But as I have said elsewhere the lions aren't without a chance. 30-40 mills of rain expected at the Gabba on the weekend.
That makes it a 50/50 game .

Your logic is weird IMO.

I have no fear about playing anyone in the finals.

The season starts again in the finals just in case anyone was wondering.

Reminds me of the sentiment held in the NBA. Have only been watching this a few years, but 81 game season might be long, but four rounds of potentially best of seven series lasts from March until late June.

Fair dinkum, the number of times Spurs have beaten Golden State in the regular season, and gotten belted come finals time, illustrates your point perfectly.

Doesn't matter about the personnel but about the fall of the ball on the day. Seems like some of the blokes who haven't played finals are super hungry. My bet is the instensity goes up, who did the Tigers have against them last year? Nobody. They were the hunters, and look what happened to the Crows on the last day in September.

Testament is the fact Richmond have been obsessed with us all year. They know a wrong bounce will be the death knell to their hopes of going back to back. CarlLOLton did it to them in 1982, and that ushered a period of 35 years.

We are in for the fight I reckon :D

I think if both Darcy & Adam are available 1st week finals...then I would definitely slot Moore straight in.
Treloar May need a run in the VFL (assuming we are still alive).
He has missed too much footy...then again he is ultra fit...

76woodenspooners any chance of adding a poll? I'm curious what people's expectations are before we kick off finals.

Perhaps...

Now we've made finals what are your expectations?
  • Premiership or bust
  • Runners up
  • Lose a preliminary final (win QF, lose PF)
  • Lose a preliminary final (lose QF, win SF, lose PF)
  • Win 2 finals (win EF, win SF, lose PF)
  • Win 1 final (win EF, lose SF)
  • Straight sets exit (lose QF, lose SF)
  • Happy to just make finals (lose EF)

76woodenspooners any chance of adding a poll? I'm curious what people's expectations are before we kick off finals.

Perhaps...

• Premiership or bust
  • Runners up

Maybe wait until after this weekend? Determine for sure what kind of final we're in.

Perhaps...

• Premiership or bust
  • Runners up
No expectations apart from give our all. If we are good enough, we will go far. There will be no shame in losing if we hold our heads high. I am concerned our lack of tall defenders will catch up with us eventually, but my expectation after the last 6 weeks, hell, the season, is not to use injuries as an excuse. Leave it all on the park, and Ill happily wear my pies scarf at the wedding I have to go to in Vancouver on Grand final eve. Looked ok to commit to that 9 monthes ago...

Perhaps...

• Premiership or bust
  • Runners up
If we go out...it also depends how we go out...
A tight game...just pipped OR a shellacking...would be sad.

Hawthorn did not play finals until 1957 - their 33rd season. They weren't there in 1958. So we've never beaten them in a final on the way to a premiership. We have a 2-3 record against them in finals.
Yeah thanks. I was aware of them being the last of the three teams who joined in 1925, to play finals. Time we squared the ledger in finals win-loss against the Dawks, don't you think Daics?

If we go out...it also depends how we go out...
A tight game...just pipped OR a shellacking...would be sad.
I don't think we'll make the GF, but it would be good to win one final and I agree I'd hate for us get smashed.

Yeah thanks. I was aware of them being the last of the three teams who joined in 1925, to play finals. Time we squared the ledger in finals win-loss against the Dawks, don't you think Daics?
Yes, I do think so! I hate losing to Hawthorn, it happens too bloody often. My best mate is a Hawks supporter and he's had it way too good over the years! Making it worse he likes to act as if the competition only really started around 1970 (when Hawthorn finally started to come good), and happily talks down the significance of our achievements from the earlier years. I think I need better friends!!

We're all your friend here mate, you're one of our legends!
Well thanks!! Strange but true: despite being 60 years old I've only ever known a handful of Collingwood supporters in terms of relatives, workmates or close friends. There's been a few 'pub friends' over the years who I've got on well with (who are Pies fans), but I don't bump into them all that often these days. Having lived my entire life in SA (for some reason!) no doubt has something to do with it, but given that there are so many of us I've always found this surprising.

So coming on here and chatting with our people is wonderful, because I just don't have many people in the 'real world' who are happy to talk about how well the Pies are travelling!!

I just don't have many people in the 'real world' who are happy to talk about how well the Pies are travelling!!
I reckon that old real estate line applies here - location, location location.
If you were over here in Vic. you'd have an endless supply of ear bashers:)

Perhaps...

• Premiership or bust
  • Runners up

Great idea, done!

Maybe wait until after this weekend? Determine for sure what kind of final we're in.

People can change their vote later if they want to

Yes, I do think so! I hate losing to Hawthorn, it happens too bloody often. My best mate is a Hawks supporter and he's had it way too good over the years! Making it worse he likes to act as if the competition only really started around 1970 (when Hawthorn finally started to come good), and happily talks down the significance of our achievements from the earlier years. I think I need better friends!!

Had a mate in high school who went for the Bloose. Fair dinkum flog. Wouldn't hear from him when we belted them in the period 2002-2008, but if they fluked one, especially after they paid overs with incentives for Chris "I won't get cancer" Judd, I knew ALL about it before the body had gone cold.

I don't know what it is about the Dawks, but I suspect it was post 2006 when Buddy came along. The bloke is a machine and that's what got me so crook when we lost to the Swans the other week. Without him getting off the leash when Darcy went off, and to be fair Darcy hadn't done much but stand in front of him and intercept a couple, we would have won without his influence, having given Madge a baptism of fire.

The satisfaction I got seeing us do them in in 2011, despite Buddy's goal of the decade, was immense. Did you get across from that game at all? What did your mate think of that one?

We're all your friend here mate, you're one of our legends!

I wouldn't say friend.....unless he becomes a Victorian by residence, he remains in the category of shady :p

Wishing you guys luck over the next few weeks, three of my lifelong friends are die hard pies supporters so I've hopped on the wagon. CARN THE PIES

Thanks Arnie. A few wobble supporters west of the Nullarbor courtesy of no AFL entity existing before the Weirdos in 1987. I had a mate whose Dad was from over there, and he followed Collingwood in the 80s as a kid courtesy of Swan Districts. Who did you follow in the WAFL mate, and what should we expect to be served up by Generalissimo Lyon this week?

Eagles without Kennedy are a pretty average team. Their last month of footy has been rubbish.

Problem is Kennedy will be back by first week of finals. I’m still keen to face Richmond, Eagles intercept marking was a problem for our smaller forward line. But if Kennedy is out then Eagles hands down.

Analysis FINALS! - Who and where will we play?