Nov 27, 2003
Brisbane
Brisbane Lions
Sydney/Brisbane

7.30 LIVE - NRL Friday Night Football Game 1
9.30 DELAY - NRL Friday Night Football Game 2

7.00 LIVE - AFL Friday Night Football

I reckon AFL could make an early dent by scheduling 7pm kickoff times and not 7.30pm or 8.00pm kickoff times.

Thoughts on AFL FNF start time?

I think both AFL and NRL have their own niche markets, the time they are on are probably not going to have a major factor on the numbers in the short-term.

AFL wants the football on during prime time to influence the young, and as of yet unloyal kids. So it would be desirable to put it on as early as possible to give it maximum impact.

The only issue is how well do regular programs rate for the early evening and how would that affect their overall ratings and their advertising income.

My guess is the stations would prefer to push the games later, perhaps to 8:30, it would allow them to put on a show in the 7:30-8:30 timeslot that will significant outrate a sports show (including NRL) and then have the viewer have the option of either switching to an NRL game that is currently at the half-time break (bad time to switch) or to just watch the AFL.

A lot depends on the show that would be put on from 7:30-8:30. Obviously what the stations want and what the AFL want are different things but they will try and draw a schedule which both would find acceptable.

littleduck said:
Sydney/Brisbane

I reckon AFL could make an early dent by scheduling 7pm kickoff times and not 7.30pm or 8.00pm kickoff times.

Earliest you will get AFL Football in any state is 7:30 pm on Channel 7 as Home and Away is a rating winning and will not get moved.

It will not happen Home and Away will not get moved for AFL football in a market that is not guaranteed to win its time slot.

There is no way FNF will be on 7 in Sydney or Brisbane unless Sydney or Brisbane are playing. Which you would expect only a few times in 2007 anyway, I wonder if the NRL would have the balls to schedule a non-Broncos game against a Lions game on FNF? :D

Rob said:
There is no way FNF will be on 7 in Sydney or Brisbane unless Sydney or Brisbane are playing. Which you would expect only a few times in 2007 anyway,
Assuming Fox Footy televise FNF in Syd/Bris... do you think 7 would want to retain the right to pinch back the telecast if the Swans/Lions are playing? If so, wouldnt that significantly devalue the amount FF might be willing to pay?

I wonder if the NRL would have the balls to schedule a non-Broncos game against a Lions game on FNF? :D
With 3 Queensland playing in 3 seperate games most weekend I think its fair to assume that the LIVE 7.30 game on Friday Night will always involve one of the Queensland teams... which means even if the Lions werent up against the Broncos, they would be up against another Qld team, which history shows does not really affect the audience...

Rob said:
There is no way FNF will be on 7 in Sydney or Brisbane unless Sydney or Brisbane are playing. Which you would expect only a few times in 2007 anyway, :D

Friday night footy will be on free to air according to Andy Demetriou in todays Herald sun.

littleduck said:
Assuming Fox Footy televise FNF in Syd/Bris... do you think 7 would want to retain the right to pinch back the telecast if the Swans/Lions are playing? If so, wouldnt that significantly devalue the amount FF might be willing to pay?

No idea, but the AFL might insist on it.

With 3 Queensland playing in 3 seperate games most weekend I think its fair to assume that the LIVE 7.30 game on Friday Night will always involve one of the Queensland teams... which means even if the Lions werent up against the Broncos, they would be up against another Qld team, which history shows does not really affect the audience...

Big deal. The Lions would probably outrate any non-Broncos game.

littleduck said:
Sydney/Brisbane

They played friday night games at 7.10 back in the mid 90's and it didn't work. Half the crowd got stuck outside until 1/4 time with some fans not getting in until midway thru the second quarter. People can't get from work to inside the ground at that time. It hasn't worked before and it won't work now as even 7.40pm is pushing it for a lot of people.

littleduck said:
.....I reckon AFL could make an early dent by scheduling 7pm kickoff times and not 7.30pm or 8.00pm kickoff times.
Ch7/Ch10 might do it for a home team's game (whether home or away). Maybe not exactly live against the gate but close to it.
Especially early in their contract it'd get slaughtered, two or three years in it might get a better audience.
It's unimaginable it'd be commercially competitive with NRL or ARU so I can't see it ever being done with other than the home team. But so long as it isn't broadcast at 1am anymore it'll be a better deal.

littleduck said:
Assuming Fox Footy televise FNF in Syd/Bris... do you think 7 would want to retain the right to pinch back the telecast if the Swans/Lions are playing? If so, wouldn't that significantly devalue the amount FF might be willing to pay? ......
This is a long article and it's best to read it all to keep things in context. But it is a long way from certain that Foxtel will be of much relevance.

Used to dream of the day AFL would be on live on Friday Night. However, I fear that the AFL to leave it up to 7 & 10 to decide whether to show the games live (or at a reasonable time) on Friday night will be a disaster. I wouldnt suggest 7/10 would show all Friday nights games live, but I would at least want the AFL to be able to have some say if it being shown at stupid times (which channel 9 constantly did).
It really doesnt give me any hope when Demetriou assures that games will be on Free-to-air, since games have always been on free to air, but often not at a reasonable time to watch them.

ANother thing, recently Brisbane only ever have one game not on Sat Night or Sun arvo and that is usually season opener or easter thursday night. Which is another thing that ********s me but i'll leave that for a different thread.

Also, Broncos games mostly outrate Lions game (if only just), but over the last 4 years, the AFL ratings have rose tremendously.

Tas said:
I think both AFL and NRL have their own niche markets, the time they are on are probably not going to have a major factor on the numbers in the short-term.

AFL wants the football on during prime time to influence the young, and as of yet unloyal kids. So it would be desirable to put it on as early as possible to give it maximum impact.

The only issue is how well do regular programs rate for the early evening and how would that affect their overall ratings and their advertising income.

My guess is the stations would prefer to push the games later, perhaps to 8:30, it would allow them to put on a show in the 7:30-8:30 timeslot that will significant outrate a sports show (including NRL) and then have the viewer have the option of either switching to an NRL game that is currently at the half-time break (bad time to switch) or to just watch the AFL.

A lot depends on the show that would be put on from 7:30-8:30. Obviously what the stations want and what the AFL want are different things but they will try and draw a schedule which both would find acceptable.
I think you have hit the nail right on the head. Channel 7 would definitely benefit from running a program at 7.30 that would appeal to the non-hardcore Rugby League fans. As you say, then when they switch to Channel 9 they catch the half time break with the very annoying Sterlo (among others) and would then switch back to Channel 7 to watch a game that is about to commence (admittedly delayed).By the time it is half time, the after match summary for the first NRL game would be on with more of the annoying Sterlo & Rabbit Warren thrown in for good measure. Should work well for 7.

Cant see primetime FNF happening in NSW/QLD unless if the Swans or Lions are playing on Friday Night.. which would be 3-4 times this year at least.

The best time for non-lions/swans games would be 9:30pm imo (IF SEVEN are WILLING to risk it). But can't see it go any earlier than 10:30pm.

Sunny said:
Cant see primetime FNF happening in NSW/QLD unless if the Swans or Lions are playing on Friday Night.. which would be 3-4 times this year at least.

The best time for non-lions/swans games would be 9:30pm imo (IF SEVEN are WILLING to risk it). But can't see it go any earlier than 10:30pm.

The earliest seven would show AFL in syd/bris is 9.30 for a lions/swans game and 10.45 for all other games.

You see it would be a massive ratings hit for seven to put it on any earlier.
Rugby League is your freind in NSW, QLD........AFL will get smashed in the ratings.

Even a movie would rate higher in syd than an AFL match head to head.

ChrisFooty said:
The earliest seven would show AFL in syd/bris is 9.30 for a lions/swans game and 10.45 for all other games.

You see it would be a massive ratings hit for seven to put it on any earlier.
Rugby League is your freind in NSW, QLD........AFL will get smashed in the ratings.

Even a movie would rate higher in syd than an AFL match head to head.

Prove it.

How well have 7's "movies" or whatever fare they've been dishing up against Nine's NRL been rating on a Friday night so far?

How about 10?

Got some ratings info?

And please don't give me any of the crap that Littleduck has been serving up about building shareholder wealth, Corporate responsibility or Pythagoras' theorem of Verbose Multiplicity.

luthor said:
Prove it.

How well have 7's "movies" or whatever fare they've been dishing up against Nine's NRL been rating on a Friday night so far?
thats really the key isnt it, AFL doesent need to beat the NRL on a friday night, it just needs to rate better than what 7 would have otherwise. or even slightly worse, because of the big investment they have in it. thats all that is required to see AFL FNF in NSWQLD

what do you think, chrisfooty, littleduck et al. how would the ratings in QLD and NSW compare between a movie going against the NRL to FNF going against the NRL?

zero said:
what do you think, chrisfooty, littleduck et al. how would the ratings in QLD and NSW compare between a movie going against the NRL to FNF going against the NRL?

A movie would outrate an AFL game in NSW even with the swans playing and winning all the time.

Rob said:
There is no way FNF will be on 7 in Sydney or Brisbane unless Sydney or Brisbane are playing. Which you would expect only a few times in 2007 anyway, I wonder if the NRL would have the balls to schedule a non-Broncos game against a Lions game on FNF? :D
The NRL don't have any say in who plays in the Friday Night games. Part of the Ch.Nein (PBL) brodcast contracts give them the only say in which game gets chosen for that timeslot :mad:. (same thing applies to the Ch.Nein Sunday NRL game as well)

Ch7/Ch10 can create an AFL market in NSW/QLD, but not by going head to head with NRL or ARU, especially on Friday nights. NRL or ARU are part of those state's cultures and to try and supplant them will simply get people's backs up and create an anti-AFL backlash. Ch7/Ch10 need to gradually nurture a market serving those who are already AFL fans plus those who don't mind a bit of something different.
However on Friday nights Ch7/Ch10 have to be able to schedule the game better than 1am in the morning. The use of lead in part-entertainment/part-football programs like Ch10's "Before the Game" will help. Then perhaps play home games near live but delay away games. AFL fans will have to cut some slack cut for the commercial realities the stations face.

ChrisFooty said:
A movie would outrate an AFL game in NSW even with the swans playing and winning all the time.
I don't doubt that. People who think that Ch7/Ch10 will be able to just play AFL at peak viewing times and get a decent audience need to consider how it would be if Ch9 tried that with NRL or ARU in Perth, Adelaide or Melbourne.

FNF in Sydney/Brisbane