Football Mallet Brawl

In 1984 I was playing U/16s in the Geelong and District Football League. We played in the GF and lost by about 2 goals. Us and the team that beat us had clearly been the best 2 teams all year. It was a high quality game played on a beautiful Saturday morning.

As we were walking off shaking hands with the opposition, their senior players who had been there supporting them and were mostly drunk (the game started at 10am) decided it would be a good idea to attack half our side. They held our Captain down (reminding you that we were only U/16s) and smashed both his cheeks in with the base of an empty stubby.

I thought that was the lowest of the low, now this.

Go figure, what's wrong with people?

Northern Saints, not North Coburg. You've clearly got no idea - while the incident was disgusting, I've never seen that guy at the club and it is definitely not a reflection on the character of those involved with the club.

Another post bookmarked. It's an incredibly weak throw away line to make that call. When any problems arise we can all say "I've never seen that guy"
The club can change it's name but not it's history.

Another post bookmarked. It's an incredibly weak throw away line to make that call. When any problems arise we can all say "I've never seen that guy"
The club can change it's name but not it's history.

And what history would that been? Only went to the club when it was North Coburg back in 2005 but never in my time have we had any cultural problem.

There'd be multiple people at every club with a friend of a brother/friend/uncle/father who's an idiot. Unfortunately this one decided to rock up to a game.

And what history would that been? Only went to the club when it was North Coburg back in 2005 but never in my time have we had any cultural problem.

There'd be multiple people at every club with a friend of a brother/friend/uncle/father who's an idiot. Unfortunately this one decided to rock up to a game.
next.

Merger between north coburg saints and fawkner park i believe.

Someone correct me if I'm wrong but I think Fawkner Park came into the Diamond Valley League about fifteen years ago. I had a friend playing at Hurstbridge and another at Diamond Creek at the time and they said there was always trouble with Fawkner Park and its supporters.

You mean stating facts?

Do you still call Brisbane the Fitzroy Lions?

We merged with Fawkner Park and are not even located in Coburg any more - have moved some 5 minutes to Fawkner Park.

The club is the Northern Saints, not North Coburg.

By pulling out the "you didn't name my club by the right name card" (you're club has changed it's name 3 times..and for good reason )when being quizzed about a shonky supporter base is as weak as piss :thumbsdown:

I played quite a bit of footy in B grade (until my club went up) and i can say that this club has been trouble before..... Nth coburg,Northern Saints or whatever they call themselves now. You can change your name and merge with others, but you cant erase the past. Their fans are idiots.:thumbsdown:

Anyway, disgusting act and i hope the mongrel cops the full brunt of the law.:thumbsu:

I played quite a bit of footy in B grade (until my club went up) and i can say that this club has been trouble before..... Nth coburg,Northern Saints or whatever they call themselves now. You can change your name and merge with others, but you cant erase the past. Their fans are idiots.:thumbsdown:

Anyway, disgusting act and i hope the mongrel cops the full brunt of the law.:thumbsu:

Spot on.:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Football Mallet Brawl