FOOTY FULL ON What The?

i have the last five years worth of bumper stickers up on the inside of one of my closets and in 2005,6,7 they simply say Member 2005, 2006 member, 2007 member. That's not the slogan is it??
2004 was "Get it on". That one i don't understand. I do understand "Footy Full On" and it is definitely better than "Get it on" although i agree with those posters who have said "We are Geelong" as a slogan.
That would've been perfect, it wopuld have given everyone a real sense of pride in the club and the town i reckon

Its not as good as 'Geelong - Total Footy' ;)

Both slogans get their inspiration from the Dutch slogan, 'total football', but adopt an Australian slant. Its not meant to be chant or anything like that, its statement of the determination of the club to succeed at every level.

The slogans fit with the current mantra of focusing on getting every aspect of footy right, from tactical excellence down to the literature the club sends out.

Yes that would be very cool, but it could be confusing to non soccer fans as well, I like though but then again I also like soccer.

Do you mean stuff like "Get It On" (circa 2004) and even "Cats-On Fire" from 1997?
Yep. We also used 'Stand up and fight' and 'Fighting with all our might' in the early 2000s when we were on our knees. I'm sure we've had others too.

I'm not one who likes change for the sake of change.

Was there any need to change the logos? Not that I am aware of.

The club are lucky we won a Premiership and had an awful 2006 because it gave them the perfect reasoning for the new logos and (at least those who like it) bought it hook, line and sinker.

They say it represents a new Geelong, the new Geelong we saw come out in 2007. Why then, if it represents "new" Geelong, were they working on it pre-2007 when we were "old" Geelong? They were changing it regardless, and our attitude change in 2007 gave them the perfect PR spin and people bought into it.

'Footy - Full On', well that's just plain cringeworthy. I understand the philosophy behind it, but it's just a poor slogan. It sounds very plastic. Then again with the plastic slogan, new logos and now referring to ourselves as Geelong Cats we are getting more plastic (read American) every day. And that is not a good thing.

"We are Geelong!" encapsulates everything so well. Tom delivered it with such conviction on GF day that I am sure that phrase now has a new meaning to every Geelong fan.

I just don't see why there was such a massive need for such a massive overhaul of our clubs identity. I'll not deny that the clubs marketing is sensational, but could that same marketing not have been done with an old logo? Did we need to be 'Geelong Cats' to do this marketing? Did we need to have a plastic slogan to do this marketing? No. All of this could still have been done with the old logo and a better slogan.

The old shield logo was modern, yet traditional and had a real class about it. Whilst I don't like the new logos, I sure as hell hope that they are around in 50 years so that they have a bit of history and tradition behind them. I'd hate to see us change our identity every few years because some marketing graduate thinks it's a nice idea.

I do like "Total Footy", but "WE ARE GEELONG" would be perfect, those words are etched into the memory of every cat fan, Tom's conviction when he delivered them was spine-tingling.

Footy Full On is an EXCELLENT slogan and mantra.

It's what Geelong do (nowadays).

I have nothing against Collingwood, the OP's team, and I like Nathan Buckley, but if you don't like our slogan , I SO don't give a shit. We play the best footy around at the moment.

Better our slogan than Collingwood's - "We're the best at grinding teams into the earth and sometimes winning". Yeah, that rocks. BDP, I invite your comments.

And for you Geelong BF supporters that can't embrace change, well that's OK, but the new logo, slogan and WAY OF PLAYING is NOW. Get over yourselves and accept that the old Geelong is dead, LONG LIVE THE NEW GEELONG!!!! Premiers 2007 and hopefully Premiers 2008 (no guarantees of course, but here's hoping)!

LOL does it really say sometimes? because that's just weak

No need to be like that he is not annoying anyone here and just about all of us agree with him. What he said about umpiring is also true. Who knows, maybe we could be the next team to be screwed by hopeless umpiring/interpretations?

Also why say "it's ok" for Geelong supporters who "can't embrace" change and then go on and tell us to "get over ourselves"? If we all personally think it's a crap slogan then that's it whether we get over ourselves or not. Should have been changed to something else.

I am not unhappy or whinging I just think that your the premiership club and it should be marketed better.
And the comment about change, mate I live in Geelong and people are scared to change, I work with a bloke and he has been at the company for 14 years and is like a robot. The town is slow. Thats why its called sleepy Hollow
There is nothing wrong with change as long as it's for the right reason.
Explain another one hot shot Mooney d'King when the club released the premiership DVD boxset why did it come out with the new logo on it. Again smart marketing I guess, that's why some clubs are millions in debt, because of poor management. Geelong is the best in the comp no arguments there but the club itself should make big bucks from it and feel they struggle.
Best example is North Melbourne they were a power house team with Carey in the 90's yet struggled to get 30,000 members.

Please excuse my insults last night, I was pissed and tired.

I still stick by what I say about the slogans and marketing though.

I don't understand what you mean BUCKS THANKS about the logo on the Boxset though... - that we are capitalising on the new marketing or that we're not?

Please excuse my insults last night, I was pissed and tired.

I still stick by what I say about the slogans and marketing though.

I don't understand what you mean BUCKS THANKS about the logo on the Boxset though... - that we are capitalising on the new marketing or that we're not?

All I mean is that you have put the new logo on something that was last years product you should have the old logo on something that happened last year, I am tired and pissed today but in a different way you were, (tired of rule changes that ruin this game and pissed that the pies were rolled in a game that is pooly umpired for BOTH teams cos the actually game was high quality considering the conditions)

I see what you mean, but I like the idea the the Grand Final win represents a new era.

I've got the replay of the game on now, last quarter coming up, so I'll keep an eye on the umpiring.

I see what you mean, but I like the idea the the Grand Final win represents a new era.

I've got the replay of the game on now, last quarter coming up, so I'll keep an eye on the umpiring.

trust me I'm not one eyed like the rest of the pies ferals the umpiring was bad for both teams. the thing that annoys me most at the moment is 0 tolerance of telling the umpire is was a crap decision 50 metres if you chat back. Just dont see the point in having press conferances either you cant say anything.

Better stop there starting to whinge, the game is just not the same anymore I find myself not watching it much anymore cos the AFL are changing it all the time and its just not enjoyable, there is no toughness about it what so ever.

I am not unhappy or whinging I just think that your the premiership club and it should be marketed better.
And the comment about change, mate I live in Geelong and people are scared to change, I work with a bloke and he has been at the company for 14 years and is like a robot. The town is slow. Thats why its called sleepy Hollow
There is nothing wrong with change as long as it's for the right reason.
Explain another one hot shot Mooney d'King when the club released the premiership DVD boxset why did it come out with the new logo on it. Again smart marketing I guess, that's why some clubs are millions in debt, because of poor management. Geelong is the best in the comp no arguments there but the club itself should make big bucks from it and feel they struggle.
Best example is North Melbourne they were a power house team with Carey in the 90's yet struggled to get 30,000 members.
Well said BUCKS THANKS..

the quality of marketing is downright embarrassing. The dingbats are &%$#& for such a meek promo. Greatest Team Of All.. why not.

FULL ON?? pffft! sounds like something that Terry Wallett would say.

Well said BUCKS THANKS..

the quality of marketing is downright embarrassing. The dingbats are &%$#& for such a meek promo. Greatest Team Of All.. why not.

FULL ON?? pffft! sounds like something that Terry Wallett would say.
You just worry about your club and we will worry about ours.

trust me I'm not one eyed like the rest of the pies ferals the umpiring was bad for both teams. the thing that annoys me most at the moment is 0 tolerance of telling the umpire is was a crap decision 50 metres if you chat back. Just dont see the point in having press conferances either you cant say anything.

Better stop there starting to whinge, the game is just not the same anymore I find myself not watching it much anymore cos the AFL are changing it all the time and its just not enjoyable, there is no toughness about it what so ever.

here here ... the AFL is in TURMOIL. The media are sitting on their hands which is killing the opportunity to HAMMER the incompetence of the AFL.. sure there are a few media pppl that have digs at the AFL time to time but hopefully Mick Malthouse rounds up all the coaches & even the cardboard cut out of the AFLPA (B.Gale) to extract a digit and DO SOMETHING before the game is indeed a laughing stock. can't wait for Sept.. not the finals.. the NFL !! Not for the faint hearted.

We're ok mate.. last team to beat your PROUD mob on your own turf if you don't mind me saying. ;)

Think you'll find that was the Power in Round 21 actually..

And we did the same to them in the GF (give or take a few goals) as we did to you in the QF!

Would like to say that we were the last team to beat your mob on your own turf but alas, that honour falls to the Bummers!

Back in your box roo boy! :p

Think you'll find that was the Power in Round 21 actually..

And we did the same to them in the GF (give or take a few goals) as we did to you in the QF!

Would like to say that we were the last team to beat your mob on your own turf but alas, that honour falls to the Bummers!

Back in your box roo boy! :p
They don't have their own turf.

Nup, I'm fully behind it. I think it's a great slogan and adopts a perfect frame of mind in regards to the way Geelong FC in it's entirety go about things. As for people asking "What does it mean?" what do you think it means? To me it means that everything we do as supporters, players, staff etc. is done with precision, persistence and to our best ability.

Quality slogan, quality club.

Get on it.

Nup, I'm fully behind it. I think it's a great slogan and adopts a perfect frame of mind in regards to the way Geelong FC in it's entirety go about things. As for people asking "What does it mean?" what do you think it means? To me it means that everything we do as supporters, players, staff etc. is done with precision, persistence and to our best ability.

Get on it.

Good point mate well said

Get on it.

Here here.

'Footy - Full On', well that's just plain cringeworthy. I understand the philosophy behind it, but it's just a poor slogan. It sounds very plastic. Then again with the plastic slogan, new logos and now referring to ourselves as Geelong Cats we are getting more plastic (read American) every day. And that is not a good thing.

Don't mind the 'full on footy' slogan. The darkened pictures that go with it are pretty good as well. The players look very determined. And after watching todays game that's a pretty good way to describe our team at the moment. 'Full on'

"We are Geelong!" encapsulates everything so well. Tom delivered it with such conviction on GF day that I am sure that phrase now has a new meaning to every Geelong fan.

When Tom said those words I'm sure it sent shivers up all our spines. When watching the reply it still does mine. But I'm not sure how it would look as an official slogan. The Geelong football club has to distance itself from being solely about the Geelong city. I'm not saying this has to happen often. Only at times. Having an official slogan like "We are Geelong" could alienate people who've don't live in Geelong but do support the football club. In saying that I think it's great that the GFC is probably the only AFL club that could use a slogan like this. Imagine Crawford coming out and saying "We are Hawthorn" It just wouldn't work as well. They're the Hawthorn football club but they're certainly not Hawthorn.

The old shield logo was modern, yet traditional and had a real class about it. Whilst I don't like the new logos, I sure as hell hope that they are around in 50 years so that they have a bit of history and tradition behind them. I'd hate to see us change our identity every few years because some marketing graduate thinks it's a nice idea.

It's funny. Just when I'm starting to get used to the new logo someone brings it back down again. And rightly so. Just tonight my girlfriend was watching the sports section of the news. Now shes not a football follower and has never laid eyes on the new logo. The conversation went something like this.

Her.. "whats with the cats new logo"
Me.. "um. yeah. Thats our new logo".
Her.. "Looks gay"

Don't mind the 'full on footy' slogan. The darkened pictures that go with it are pretty good as well. The players look very determined. And after watching todays game that's a pretty good way to describe our team at the moment. 'Full on'

When Tom said those words I'm sure it sent shivers up all our spines. When watching the reply it still does mine. But I'm not sure how it would look as an official slogan. The Geelong football club has to distance itself from being solely about the Geelong city. I'm not saying this has to happen often. Only at times. Having an official slogan like "We are Geelong" could alienate people who've don't live in Geelong but do support the football club. In saying that I think it's great that the GFC is probably the only AFL club that could use a slogan like this. Imagine Crawford coming out and saying "We are Hawthorn" It just wouldn't work as well. They're the Hawthorn football club but they're certainly not Hawthorn.

It's funny. Just when I'm starting to get used to the new logo someone brings it back down again. And rightly so. Just tonight my girlfriend was watching the sports section of the news. Now shes not a football follower and has never laid eyes on the new logo. The conversation went something like this.

Her.. "whats with the cats new logo"
Me.. "um. yeah. Thats our new logo".
Her.. "Looks gay"

HAHAHAHAHAHAHA LOL:D

"naah, footy full-on maaaate"

"blows yer tweeters?"

"yeeea, full-on ......maaate!!"

just sounds like a bogan conversation. a ghey bogan conversation.

and as for the logo it just looks so temporary. and the re-branding, as has been stated before, was in development long before the success of last year. watching thtat 94 prelim last nite, with recent greats such as Gary snr wearing that shield, and then his son winning a flag wit the same logo brought home a feeling that something got lost while plasticating our image.

"naah, footy full-on maaaate"

"blows yer tweeters?"

"yeeea, full-on ......maaate!!"

just sounds like a bogan conversation. a ghey bogan conversation.

and as for the logo it just looks so temporary. and the re-branding, as has been stated before, was in development long before the success of last year. watching thtat 94 prelim last nite, with recent greats such as Gary snr wearing that shield, and then his son winning a flag wit the same logo brought home a feeling that something got lost while plasticating our image.
Pretty sure Ablett Senior never wore the shield.

"pretty sure"????????? i just said "94 prelim" - it's on their gear. may be on it well before then.

surprised me too, how long it had been around.
Sorry you're right, I thought you were talking about the guernsey.

FOOTY FULL ON What The?